Venturing into Agriculture & Aquaculture, Co-Ordination & Implementation is KEY

Kg Teratai
post May 22 2013, 11:58 AM

85 posts

Hi All,

I just read on Argo World magazine recently. There is an article that mention the way to graft/bud directly to old durian. However, there is no details in it. In order for you to know how, there is course provided in Kedah to learn about this skill.

My current practice in my orchard is to chop the old tree and wait for the new stock is available to graft. It take times to wait for the new stock and to be grafted successfully.

With the way mention in the magazine, it save few months times for waiting the new stock to be ready.

If any bro here has information about this skill, please share.
TSParaOpticaL
post Jun 3 2013, 05:40 PM

Planter - Durian, Jackfruit, Papaya
2,348 posts

Hi People....

how is everyone's farm ??

how are you guys dealing with the heat wave we are having now ???

i just had my irrigation done for my jackfruit trees as there is severe drought at my farm and hopefully the irrigation helps them biggrin.gif
poks
post Jun 5 2013, 04:39 PM

--[2013 : Going Farming]--
1,567 posts

Hello Mr Para,

Sabah at the moment is at the end of monsoon season. still raining here & there. expanding my farm this month biggrin.gif.

Btw Para, you mentioned before that your farm housed around 200 cavendish. I'm wondering if you know any person who operate any fruit ripening facility.

I'll really like to know the cost of setting up small ripening facility.
thanks..
jhito
post Jun 6 2013, 04:52 PM

23 posts

Good day amazing farmers, i am so amazed to see a very agriculture section in an IT related forum smile.gif me and my family is into agriculture also and wanted to expand here in Malaysia, we are into Organic Fertilizer and I wanted to ask where can we start expanding our product here
MrFarmer
post Jun 6 2013, 05:39 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(ParaOpticaL @ Jun 3 2013, 05:40 PM)
Hi People....

how is everyone's farm ??

how are you guys dealing with the heat wave we are having now ???

i just had my irrigation done for my jackfruit trees as there is severe drought at my farm and hopefully the irrigation helps them biggrin.gif
No idea how is the Farm. I left my farm in early April, as I had to come home due to my wife's health issue. Shall only goes back after my wife's issue had been sorted out.
TSParaOpticaL
post Jun 6 2013, 06:41 PM

2,348 posts

Hi Poks,

whats the expansion plan for your farm ??

sorry bro dont have any contact on fruit ripening facility...cant help you on this

QUOTE(poks @ Jun 5 2013, 04:39 PM)
Hello Mr Para,

Sabah at the moment is at the end of monsoon season. still raining here & there. expanding my farm this month  biggrin.gif.

Btw Para, you mentioned before that your farm housed around 200 cavendish. I'm wondering if you know any person who operate any fruit ripening facility.

I'll really like to know the cost of setting up small ripening facility.
thanks..
Hi MrFarmer,

sorry to hear about your wife's problem. hope she get well soon.

QUOTE(MrFarmer @ Jun 6 2013, 05:39 PM)
No idea how is the Farm. I left my farm in early April, as I had to come home due to my wife's health issue. Shall only goes back after my wife's issue had been sorted out.
Kg Teratai
post Jun 8 2013, 10:31 PM

85 posts

Hi Farmer

Hope your wife get well soon.

Currently the weather is very extreme. Extremely hot... and rain...
There goes my durian. The coming session will be really low productivity.

TSParaOpticaL
post Jun 8 2013, 10:41 PM

2,348 posts

Hi Bro,

what makes you think that there will be really low productivity ???

for your durians ?

QUOTE(Kg Teratai @ Jun 8 2013, 10:31 PM)
Hi Farmer

Hope your wife get well soon.

Currently the weather is very extreme. Extremely hot... and rain...
There goes my durian. The coming session will be really low productivity.
poks
post Jun 10 2013, 07:12 AM

1,567 posts

Mr Para,
Extension mostly on palm oil.
Thinking of expanding banana but not really sure which type to go for since cavendish require ripening.

Mr Farmer, hope your wife will be ok soon.
MrFarmer
post Jun 10 2013, 09:49 AM

478 posts

QUOTE(poks @ Jun 10 2013, 07:12 AM)
Mr Para,
Extension mostly on palm oil.
Thinking of expanding banana but not really sure which type to go for since cavendish require ripening.

Mr Farmer, hope your wife will be ok soon.
Thanks guys. My wife is recovering. This is a very traumatic period of our life, thank goodness we manage to pull though. We had also learned a lot since this episode.

Pok, my experience indicate a mix of Berangan and Saba to be a better choice, if you are looking into banana. Both are hardy and easy to manage. Demand is also readily available in the city (Kota Kinabalu).

poks
post Jun 10 2013, 11:32 AM

1,567 posts

Good to hear that Mr Farmer.

Yes, Berangan & Saba is a good combination. I'm thinking of the same thing.

Will be looking on that option while waiting for my other banana to propagate.

ah_suknat
post Jun 10 2013, 10:12 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

guys, how do you usually market your agri products?
I dont know how to expand my product (salted egg) to the more up market like super market...

its sad cuz here in sabah they prefer the salted egg in the form of non salut tanah liat...they like the clean one...which the process is making the egg to spoil faster than the salutan tanah liat method... sad.gif

the extreme weather also causing my ducks to die...luckily only 3 this month out of 2000 ducks...
ah_suknat
post Jun 10 2013, 10:14 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

also I wanted to ask if any of you guys actuaklly received any help from the ministry of agriculture...what kind of help? consultation? moneytary?
Kg Teratai
post Jun 12 2013, 11:01 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(ParaOpticaL @ Jun 8 2013, 10:41 PM)
Hi Bro,

what makes you think that there will be really low productivity ???

for your durians ?
The weather is extreme. It was very hot from morning until afternoon and suddenly there was heavy rain that cause the small durian drop down. Majority farm in my village are affected. Only very few farm that take pre-caution that watering their farm daily can sustain to have more durians.

How about your sifu's farm in Raub?
TSParaOpticaL
post Jun 13 2013, 07:03 AM

2,348 posts

Hi Bro,

OIC. its quite true that proper irrigation and fertiliser management and actually help minimise flower drop.

my sifu's farm in Raub is doing fantastically. as of 2 months back he had already on the tree 6 ROUNDS of DURIAN (from flower to anthesis to fruit).

so in essence it can be said that he has durians every 2 months. which is really out of this world.

QUOTE(Kg Teratai @ Jun 12 2013, 11:01 AM)
The weather is extreme. It was very hot from morning until afternoon and suddenly there was heavy rain that cause the small durian drop down. Majority farm in my village are affected. Only very few farm that take pre-caution that watering their farm daily can sustain to have more durians.

How about your sifu's farm in Raub?
Kg Teratai
post Jun 13 2013, 03:54 PM

85 posts

then you sifu must make a lot of profit. Musang king carry a very good price. Farm price for musang king is rm25++ last week.

This post has been edited by Kg Teratai: Jun 13 2013, 03:57 PM
MrFarmer
post Jun 15 2013, 03:31 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(Kg Teratai @ Jun 13 2013, 03:54 PM)
then you sifu must make a lot of profit. Musang king carry a very good price. Farm price for musang king is rm25++ last week.
Jaya Jusco selling $50 less 30% = $35.00 . Opened packed in styrofoam.
MrFarmer
post Jun 18 2013, 12:46 PM

478 posts

Root Hormone / Rooting Gel / Rooting Powder

Some interesting information to share.
Looks like we can substitute the above with honey.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fyQX9kUAohk

Happy Farming.

MrFarmer
post Jun 18 2013, 01:06 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Jun 10 2013, 10:12 PM)
guys, how do you usually market your agri products?
I dont know how to expand my product (salted egg) to the more up market like super market...

its sad cuz here in sabah they prefer the salted egg in the form of non salut tanah liat...they like the clean one...which the process is making the egg to spoil faster than the salutan tanah liat method... sad.gif

the extreme weather also causing my ducks to die...luckily only 3 this month out of 2000 ducks...
Hi ah suknat,
What I did was that I went to the market (meet lots of potential prospect). Try selling to them. Get feed back. Decide what is my market segment, what tier. Hit on those, feedback and adjust to fit. This is an on-going exercise.

With these information, you can adjust/time your production, harvesting. Improve post harvesting, transportation, lessen spoilage & etc.

Super Markets, those big guys, you'll need to visit the top people, purchaser at the central office, get your product listed first (approval), then liaise with the ordering clerk.

You can try FAMA to request for help on Marketing your products.

I had been to the Pertanian to request for assistance as I got wind that there is a program for growing Papaya back in February. I was told that the program had closed and that there had submitted it for approval. When I probe further, I found that I don't qualify. A planting land size of no less then 20 acres (may join up with your neighbors). All land must have titles. Upon approval, must attend a course to plant. Seeds and fertilizers shall be given. They may help you to market you produce. I also found out that they take a couple of months to get things moving, approval, seedlings. Maybe about 9 months. This may be a problem if it's a rented land.

Hope these help.
TSParaOpticaL
post Jun 19 2013, 10:25 PM

2,348 posts

Hi People,

the latest Agri & Aqua Culturing Newsletter is released. Clink the link below or from my signature

http://www.mediafire.com/download/hfiq7ja2...3_Quarterly.pdf

119 Pages « < 78 79 80 81 > » Top

0.0253sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 04:02 PM