119 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Venturing into Agriculture & Aquaculture, Co-Ordination & Implementation is KEY

TSParaOpticaL
post Sep 3 2007, 11:13 AM

Planter - Durian, Jackfruit, Papaya
2,348 posts

QUOTE(kelvintan_mobile @ Aug 18 2007, 07:21 PM)
Hi  i am new here , interested in managing aquaculture / agri also . paraoptical how s the progress of ur farm? n hope u dont mind me asking , are u full time , if not wat is ur job ??
welcome to the thread kelvintan_mobile.

just started re-planting after finding out that my soil too acidic until the plant is cacat
so remedy it with Organic Fertiliser.

now planting some herbs from my house and see how it will be.

my present full time job is not important.

TSParaOpticaL
post Sep 5 2007, 09:16 AM

2,348 posts

will be going to my farm later in the afternoon.

will update with some pictures for your viewing and some pic of the tanks and herbs that i am growing... biggrin.gif
TSParaOpticaL
post Sep 18 2007, 09:37 AM

2,348 posts

hi,

updates as promised.

rearing some :-

a) Soon Hock - started 18/8/07
b) Tilapia - started 13/9/07
c) Jelawat - started 13/9/07
d) Patin - started 13/9/07

let's see how things go from here.

1) user posted image

2) user posted image

3) user posted image

4) user posted image

5) user posted image

This post has been edited by ParaOpticaL: Sep 18 2007, 06:21 PM
rexis
post Sep 18 2007, 10:14 AM

*** 7-star status Old Bird ***
3,590 posts

whao your soon hock so big already? I thought u r buying some tiny fish baby.

I read about an article that the fish farmer keeping some mature talapia in his soon hock pool to breed up some baby talapia for the soon hock as snack. Consider that too.

And since u said u hv a river nearby? So water shouldn't be an issue, try change water a lot instead of relying heavily on filter, and also try to figure out a way to harness the river energy to pump your water(water mill, gravity, etc) it is really a good idea to lower your utility bill.

This post has been edited by rexis: Sep 18 2007, 10:17 AM
kelvintan_mobile
post Sep 18 2007, 11:07 AM

221 posts

QUOTE(ParaOpticaL @ Sep 18 2007, 09:37 AM)
hi,

updates as promised.

rearing some :-

a) Soon Hock - started 18/8/07
b) Tilapia - started 13/9/07
c) Jelawat - started 13/9/07
d) Patin - started 13/9/07

let's see how things go from here.

looks interesting!! , pls update us with more pics when they grow bigger . u found buyers ad?

QUOTE(rexis @ Sep 18 2007, 10:14 AM)
whao your soon hock so big already? I thought u r buying some tiny fish baby.

I read about an article that the fish farmer keeping some mature talapia in his soon hock pool to breed up some baby talapia for the soon hock as snack. Consider that too.

And since u said u hv a river nearby? So water shouldn't be an issue, try change water a lot instead of relying heavily on filter, and also try to figure out a way to harness the river energy to pump your water(water mill, gravity, etc) it is really a good idea to lower your utility bill.
harnessing the energy ? is there a device to do so in the market ad?? sounds interesting to me as im an 3rd year engineering student who studied energy harnessing. if theres no such device , i would love to create a prototype to make small buck , hehe.
rexis
post Sep 18 2007, 11:46 AM

3,590 posts

QUOTE(kelvintan_mobile @ Sep 18 2007, 11:07 AM)
harnessing the energy ? is there a device to do so in the market ad?? sounds interesting to me as im an 3rd year engineering student who studied energy harnessing. if theres no such device , i would love to create a prototype to make small buck , hehe.
Haha, dun imagin a complicated generator with one end dip in the river and another end hook up with power cables. Im just talking about some plain mechanical water mill that use river flow to spin a pump or something, there isnt any commercial design on the market as far as i know. Perhaps you can really work out some design and prototype! Remember, our country is doing lots of agriculture and we are having lots of river too, tats a big market for it.

Its nothing too complicated, serious, i hv seen(book, tv, natgeo) bamboo water pump that able to scoop water and pour them on a higher point to a leading bamboo pipe and lead it to padi field, theres even a fish catcher that able to scoop up salmon from river using the river flow energy.
kelvintan_mobile
post Sep 18 2007, 01:38 PM

221 posts

haha , i c ic .. dint know got simple way , too , thx , will look up on the internet.
TSParaOpticaL
post Sep 18 2007, 03:48 PM

2,348 posts

QUOTE(kelvintan_mobile @ Sep 18 2007, 11:07 AM)
looks interesting!! , pls update us with more pics when they grow bigger . u found buyers ad?

havent found buyers yet. still early. maybe in 3 mths time will start looking...

harnessing the energy he meant was relative. he meant using gravity and nature to get water to the tanks so save on utility.

actually its a good idea. but my pumps and filters are there for different reasons and the tanks do have a pipe.

cktwai
post Sep 18 2007, 04:57 PM

NaraPikamaru
541 posts

QUOTE(ParaOpticaL @ Sep 18 2007, 03:48 PM)
havent found buyers yet. still early. maybe in 3 mths time will start looking...
harnessing the energy he meant was relative. he meant using gravity and nature to get water to the tanks so save on utility.

actually its a good idea. but my pumps and filters are there for different reasons and the tanks do have a pipe.

dude the water looks a bit cloudy... is it normal to be like that? smile.gif or is it reflecting your roof's colour
TSParaOpticaL
post Sep 18 2007, 06:07 PM

2,348 posts

QUOTE(cktwai @ Sep 18 2007, 04:57 PM)
dude the water looks a bit cloudy... is it normal to be like that? smile.gif or is it reflecting your roof's colour
which picture are you referring to ?
CityLife
post Sep 18 2007, 06:26 PM

325 posts

Certainly is an interesting and nice field to adventure.
rexis
post Sep 19 2007, 11:24 AM

3,590 posts

QUOTE(ParaOpticaL @ Sep 18 2007, 03:48 PM)

Once u got good product, dun worry about buyers smile.gif

If u say that ur pump is there to supply oxygen, consider adding more twist or maybe some stair case in the leading in water to create more swirl, it helps. Of course, mechanical pump is desire for constant supply, but I think your fish density is not tat high yet.

QUOTE(ParaOpticaL @ Sep 18 2007, 06:07 PM)
which picture are you referring to ?
I think he means all the pic except the first one, why so milky ah? But as far as i know, in nature, water usually wont be crystal clear.
TSParaOpticaL
post Sep 19 2007, 03:31 PM

2,348 posts

QUOTE(rexis @ Sep 19 2007, 11:24 AM)
Once u got good product, dun worry about buyers smile.gif

If u say that ur pump is there to supply oxygen, consider adding more twist or maybe some stair case in the leading in water to create more swirl, it helps. Of course, mechanical pump is desire for constant supply, but I think your fish density is not tat high yet.

I think he means all the pic except the first one, why so milky ah? But as far as i know, in nature, water usually wont be crystal clear.
yeah actually not worried about the market yet. more worried about the well being of the fish as i had only started for 1 month. will update when available.

actually there is a outlet to create whirlwind in the tank so its like going round and round.

for the picture the pump was not on 100% capacity thus you still find the water is bit murky but now its better. i just came back from place and the water is quite clear though obviously not crystal clear.

hehe

TSParaOpticaL
post Sep 19 2007, 05:16 PM

2,348 posts

This Patin died because it was CARNIVORED. sigh...add more feed to them.

strace
post Sep 19 2007, 08:59 PM

Ayy
700 posts

Is anyone into goat farming?
beh_yo_rabbitry
post Sep 19 2007, 11:48 PM

Beh & Yo Rabbitry
518 posts

Hello to all senior members. I am Beh. I breed Pet rabbit. I have involved in rabbitry since 2004. Now my farm in Semenyih.

I am interested in fish farming also.
TSParaOpticaL
post Sep 20 2007, 08:22 AM

2,348 posts

QUOTE(beh_yo_rabbitry @ Sep 19 2007, 11:48 PM)
Hello to all senior members. I am Beh. I breed Pet rabbit. I have involved in rabbitry since 2004. Now my farm in Semenyih.

welcome to the forum...

is your farm along the main road of Semenyih ?
opposite a drug rehab centre ?
rexis
post Sep 20 2007, 04:18 PM

3,590 posts

QUOTE(strace @ Sep 19 2007, 08:59 PM)
Is anyone into goat farming?
Got a few articles about goat farming, interested? Basically if u are interested i have some contacts and so on here. Also refer to this following website, they just got updated quite recently, more info then my last visit a few months back.

http://jamnapari.com/index_e.html

Basically our gov is encouraging people to get into goat farm, as our mutton is mainly relying on import market(>97%), by getting into goat farm you have a few source of income:

Meat
Most of our mutton are relying on import stock, a whopping 97% of them(last year data), this implies a very big market potential for local market alone. Of course, your farm need to be efficient enough, and with the proper economical scale to really compete with imported cheap mutton.

Milk
1kg of goat milk is being sold for around RM20, but drinking goat milk is not as common as cow milk, this mean that the exsisting consumer market is small, but this also mean that the potential of goat milk is still have a lot of room to grow, hard work and dedication required, of course. Some nutritional facts about goat milk is those people who allergy to cow milk might be able to torelate goat milk, as it is a little bit easier to digest.

Breed
Breeding goat to sell to people who want to set up a goat farm or whatever purpose, usually selling kid(baby goat), adult goat for breeding purpose. They must be selected to ensure healthy and strong. Breed goats are very expensive, their kids is sort of like a side income thou.

Your farm can focus on any single topic above, for example, breed goat solely for milking. Or you can do everything above: sell weaker goats for meat, breed goats for sell or expand ur farm, milk those goats tat just had kids, etc.

Heres one case study about a guy who work on a cow farm, he buy in young cow and feed them for a few months, then sell off as meat cow. So he focus on feeding the cow and keep them clean only. This might apply on goats.

QUOTE(beh_yo_rabbitry @ Sep 19 2007, 11:48 PM)

Great to have a rabbit expert here smile.gif Lets be reminded that pet market is also part of agriculture, be it pet fish, pet rabbig, hamster, pet frog, etc etc.

I know semenyih got a ostrich farm too. Near there? Pet rabbit means u r not supplying stocks to kajang satay biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by rexis: Sep 20 2007, 04:51 PM
beh_yo_rabbitry
post Sep 21 2007, 03:09 AM

Beh & Yo Rabbitry
518 posts

[quote=ParaOpticaL,Sep 20 2007, 08:22 AM]welcome to the forum...

is your farm along the main road of Semenyih ?
opposite a drug rehab centre ?

[/quote]

My farm is situated at Jalan Hulu Rinching2, is about 5 minutes from the town. My neighbour is a huge rabbit farm. They supply rabbit meat. I only breed pure breed for pet. You all are welcome to visit my farm.

Added on September 21, 2007, 3:12 am

I know semenyih got a ostrich farm too. Near there? Pet rabbit means u r not supplying stocks to kajang satay biggrin.gif

[/quote]

Not near the ostrich farm. My farm at Rinching. I am not breeding rabbit for meat. I breed rabbit for pet.

I am really happy that i can know you all are really support agriculture sectore. Now a day, not many young man interested to involve in agriculture.

This post has been edited by beh_yo_rabbitry: Sep 21 2007, 03:14 AM
kelvintan_mobile
post Sep 21 2007, 08:45 AM

221 posts

[quote=beh_yo_rabbitry,Sep 21 2007, 03:09 AM]
My farm is situated at Jalan Hulu Rinching2, is about 5 minutes from the town. My neighbour is a huge rabbit farm. They supply rabbit meat. I only breed pure breed for pet. You all are welcome to visit my farm.

Added on September 21, 2007, 3:12 am

[/quote]

Not near the ostrich farm. My farm at Rinching. I am not breeding rabbit for meat. I breed rabbit for pet.

I am really happy that i can know you all are really support agriculture sectore. Now a day, not many young man interested to involve in agriculture.

[/quote]

hi is ur rabbit breeding ur main source of income? can describe abit about difficulty, experience , whether its a good prospect to venture into agri aqua , how much capital u put in ? thank u

119 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0270sec    1.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 07:30 PM