Sony-Ericsson ~ Sony Ericsson K790i/K800i V5 Discussion Thread ~, A picture paints a thousand words!

KayZer
post Mar 21 2007, 11:52 PM

hey guys..
new k800i user here..
wanna ask if any of u used the HPM-82 with ur K800i..
how do u guys find it?
is all the buttons functioning well or not that good..
thx in advanced yea~
raptar_eric
post Mar 22 2007, 12:04 AM

Live life to the fullest!
1,367 posts

erm regarding the thread, i volunteer to take up the k800i user list smile.gif i visit this thread everyday. Although i'm not really a pro k800i user, but if it's ok, maybe i can help out abit? heh

btw, i updated my AP set via SEUS. No more chinese characters sad.gif
yhtan
post Mar 22 2007, 12:33 AM

8,653 posts

QUOTE(raptar_eric @ Mar 22 2007, 12:04 AM)
erm regarding the thread, i volunteer to take up the k800i user list smile.gif i visit this thread everyday. Although i'm not really a pro k800i user, but if it's ok, maybe i can help out abit? heh

haha....same as me
well,if u really can do it,just do it thumbup.gif
sniper msia
post Mar 22 2007, 12:45 AM

Do U Scratch?
1,127 posts

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Mar 21 2007, 11:03 PM)
got a problen anybody got any ideas whats wrong ?

took out simcard to put in  my older phones
put back in the phone
now the phone won`t turn on sweat.gif
the ir-port there got a red led blinking 1-2 times when i press the power button but nothing else happens  ...

so anybody got any ideas what happened ar ?
try plug your phone to a charger and see.

i'm afraid your phone has experienced one of those 'suddenly-went-dead' syndrome which is very common among K800i units when the battery is removed or if the battery goes to a flat charge.
raptar_eric
post Mar 22 2007, 12:46 AM

1,367 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Mar 22 2007, 12:33 AM)
haha....same as me
well,if u really can do it,just do it thumbup.gif
no la..better get confirmation from mod first..later kena scold sad.gif
kelvin9986
post Mar 22 2007, 12:54 AM

r3t|R3d p|ggy(R)
3,572 posts

i can do it also wink.gif
not a problem wink.gif
sonic_cd
post Mar 22 2007, 12:56 AM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(sniper msia @ Mar 22 2007, 12:45 AM)
try plug your phone to a charger and see.

i'm afraid your phone has experienced one of those 'suddenly-went-dead' syndrome which is very common among K800i units when the battery is removed or if the battery goes to a flat charge.
i tried.. no luck though ... means i think the phone`s dead ... sweat.gif well anyway , tomorrow gonna hop down to the service centre and see what they can do about it...
yhtan
post Mar 22 2007, 01:00 AM

8,653 posts

QUOTE(raptar_eric @ Mar 22 2007, 12:46 AM)
no la..better get confirmation from mod first..later kena scold sad.gif
haha....sure pana willingly to offer this job to u laugh.gif
sniper msia
post Mar 22 2007, 01:01 AM

Do U Scratch?
1,127 posts

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Mar 22 2007, 12:56 AM)
i tried.. no luck though ... means i think the phone`s dead ...  sweat.gif well anyway , tomorrow gonna hop down to the service centre and see what they can do about it...
k. do let us know here if it is covered by warranty and if not, then how much it costs to repair such a problem. thanks.

apparently i read in other forums that it just has something to do with reflashing the firmware (not to be mistaken with updating the firmware).
sonic_cd
post Mar 22 2007, 01:06 AM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(sniper msia @ Mar 22 2007, 01:01 AM)
k. do let us know here if it is covered by warranty and if not, then how much it costs to repair such a problem. thanks.

apparently i read in other forums that it just has something to do with reflashing the firmware (not to be mistaken with updating the firmware).
will let you all know ... well mine`s an ap set(you knowlah thier warranty how .. i know, should bought original) if its like what you said reflashing the firmware , then it shouldn`t be that exspensive to fix ... i hope(there goes my v6 plans out the window already ...lol )
sniper msia
post Mar 22 2007, 01:11 AM

Do U Scratch?
1,127 posts

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Mar 22 2007, 01:06 AM)
will let you all know ... well mine`s an ap set(you knowlah thier warranty how .. i know, should bought original) if its like what you said reflashing the firmware , then it shouldn`t be that exspensive to fix ... i hope(there goes my v6 plans out the window already ...lol )
well, AP set basically covers nothing 'except' for serious problems like problem related to calling and i believe if the phone can't turn on, it is counted a serious problem as well and it should be under the warranty.

however, with even ORI sets concerned, the worst thing to happen is the amount of time they spend repairing your phone (even if free and under warranty). so maybe you could ask them to try the reflash if it is related to your problem, so at least you can use back your K800i immediately.

good luck btw.
sunauto
post Mar 22 2007, 01:21 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(KayZer @ Mar 21 2007, 11:52 PM)
hey guys..
new k800i user here..
how do u guys find it?
thx in advanced yea~
It works perfectly. I'm using one but make sure you get the ori one lah, there are many fake ones especially in Plaza Low Yat. Dirt cheap and too good to be real. doh.gif

I guess your AP region code is not APAC so that's why when you update, you'll loose all those Chinese characters lor. The AP companies very smart, just simply flash it for you so that you can read and compose Chinese sms but actual fact, the region code is still locked to the original country so if the phone is from Iraq, even you flashed it with Chinese text firmware, it won't be permanent especially when you update it via SEUS, it will check the region code and update it according to the region your phone is located.

QUOTE(sniper msia @ Mar 22 2007, 01:11 AM)
well, AP set basically covers nothing 'except' for serious problems like problem related to calling and i believe if the phone can't turn on, it is counted a serious problem as well and it should be under the warranty.

however, with even ORI sets concerned, the worst thing to happen is the amount of time they spend repairing your phone (even if free and under warranty). so maybe you could ask them to try the reflash if it is related to your problem, so at least you can use back your K800i immediately.

good luck btw.
It depends, some AP companies have the guts to charge you b'coz they claimed that you abuse the phone and didn't use it properly, they can come out with 101 excuses. AP sets might be cheap, but warranty is a problem. I do have a few AP sets but since my friend knows how to repair handphones, hai ...... why worry, right? I trust my friend than to send it to these so called AP companies. Later charge you for nothing. Better check with them first before handling your phone to them. Just my advice.

raptar_eric
post Mar 22 2007, 01:33 AM

1,367 posts

that's why sometimes ori phones are better than AP phones.. Their cust service is better too...If anythin happens, more safe leh atleast
sonic_cd
post Mar 22 2007, 01:35 AM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(raptar_eric @ Mar 22 2007, 01:33 AM)
that's why sometimes ori phones are better than AP phones.. Their cust service is better too...If anythin happens, more safe leh atleast
that depends leh .

wait , so far i`m the only one in the entire thread to kena this problem ? sweat.gif
sunauto
post Mar 22 2007, 02:02 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Mar 22 2007, 01:35 AM)
that depends leh .
wait , so far i`m the only one in the entire thread to kena this  problem ?  sweat.gif
You probably got the first batch of K800i gua (remaining old stocks). It might happen. It's an isolated case since most of us are happy with our phone, you should bring it to the service centre immediately.
sonic_cd
post Mar 22 2007, 02:14 AM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Mar 22 2007, 02:02 AM)
You probably got the first batch of K800i gua (remaining old stocks). It might happen. It's an isolated case since most of us are happy with our phone, you should bring it to the service centre immediately.
prolly i think i got it.. cause i got the phone way back in august last year . no wating for tommorow to come when i can get to the service centre ..

did a bit on reading on the net, seems a rather weird and may not workl method measure would be to short out the internal battery contacts with a spoon rclxub.gif shocking.gif sweat.gif .. judging by the replies on the esato boards, seems the phone has a good chance of getting fixed
Yapmy
post Mar 22 2007, 02:29 AM

Don't count your lucky stars.
1,334 posts

For my K800i i updated my firmware and the chinese characters were still supported.
Andrewhajime
post Mar 22 2007, 03:24 AM

2,171 posts

QUOTE(KayZer @ Mar 21 2007, 11:52 PM)
hey guys..
new k800i user here..
how do u guys find it?
thx in advanced yea~
the earphone works
i heard from my friend , it work good

huh.... serius ? you update your AP set via SEUS
the chinese characters gone ?
i gonna check with my housemate 1st
he just update using SEUS
domo_kun
post Mar 22 2007, 08:49 AM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Mar 22 2007, 01:21 AM)
It works perfectly. I'm using one but make sure you get the ori one lah, there are many fake ones especially in Plaza Low Yat. Dirt cheap and too good to be real.  doh.gif
I guess your AP region code is not APAC so that's why when you update, you'll loose all those Chinese characters lor. The AP companies very smart, just simply flash it for you so that you can read and compose Chinese sms but actual fact, the region code is still locked to the original country so if the phone is from Iraq, even you flashed it with Chinese text firmware, it won't be permanent especially when you update it via SEUS, it will check the region code and update it according to the region your phone is located.
It depends, some AP companies have the guts to charge you b'coz they claimed that you abuse the phone and didn't use it properly, they can come out with 101 excuses. AP sets might be cheap, but warranty is a problem. I do have a few AP sets but since my friend knows how to repair handphones, hai ...... why worry, right? I trust my friend than to send it to these so called AP companies. Later charge you for nothing. Better check with them first before handling your phone to them. Just my advice.
now we know who to look for when we have problems with our phones
icon_idea.gif

sniper msia
post Mar 22 2007, 08:57 AM

Do U Scratch?
1,127 posts

i also have a friend who is in the business of repairing phones.

but things are not as simple as they are. if some part of your phone is spoilt beyong repair which is very common, you will still need to get the spare part which is expensive.

126 Pages « < 122 123 124 125 126 >Top

0.0301sec    1.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 12:14 PM