10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Sony-Ericsson ~ Sony Ericsson K790i/K800i V5 Discussion Thread ~, A picture paints a thousand words!

sunauto
post Jan 17 2007, 02:22 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(akxj @ Jan 17 2007, 12:12 PM)
well i wasnt aware of the promotion extension ..

you dont have to utilize your 3g first when you get a 3g phone, as i know alot of people are just waiting for it to be ALOT ALOT more mature than what it is now ..

it just isnt a viable statement to say that you MUST use your 3g(if your area has coverage) because for some people .. its not about utilizing your resources its about the money that matters .. so i'm sorry if your parents are pretty much loaded ..

try not to give arguments like that ..

i myself was using a k800 .. and i do admit that the free vid calls at the off peak hours is pretty much fun, but i myself dont find much point in it .. its pretty hard to use it outside unless you have a headset with you .. and also, even with the coverage here in klang valley it is still pretty crappy ..
I think you have misinterpreted what I have said. I was saying that if you don't need to use 3G, then better save the money to get a normal phone. It's that simple. What's there gotta do with my parents? Use 3G only mah, the charges ain't that expensive if compared to the price you're paying for your K800i. tongue.gif Come on, lets be realistic, Maxis or Celcom ain't forcing ya to use 3G, if you feel that it's expensive, then don't use lor but seriously, as a new user of K800i, you should try every each and every function of your phone, you wouldn't know if it's working or faulty unless you try them all. Anyway, for making a video calls, just use your free bluetooth headset, PV-705 which comes free with every K800i (Midland set) till end of this month, that's what I call utilizing our resources. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(alienfighter @ Jan 17 2007, 01:16 PM)
yet, even i ithink in shah alam, there is so many 3g phone users...
here...still no 3g coverage....
Well, Maxis is expanding the 3G coverage and Astro transmission quality by this year. I'm not sure about Celcom though but my friend from Maxis told me that they're trying to achieve 50% coverage for 3G by end of this year. I guess we'll get more free video calls when 3G is introduced to other states as they'll be having more roadshows this year which is an added plus for us. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(STERN @ Jan 17 2007, 01:34 PM)
just bought my 2nd 3g phone,k800i.b4 this used my nec e616v to make video call.but they said,my e616v produce better video call rather k800i.is it true?
btw bought my k800i,2nd hand,from lyn forumer oso.1k ony. smile.gif
not having any probs like some k800i AP user..saw lots of complaint in the forum.
thanks God nothing happens to my k800i icon_rolleyes.gif
I'm not sure about that I've made a comparison, SE K800i vs Nokia N73, the video calls on the N73 were slightly sharper and the colours were more vivid. Well, my friend made a video call from his N73 so we sorta compared the quality with our phones put side by side. Anyway, all 3G phones are using VGA camera so it will be a while before we get something like a 1.3 megapixel camera for video calls, probably that's under the 3.5G specs. sweat.gif

sunauto
post Jan 17 2007, 09:51 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jan 17 2007, 06:15 PM)
1st, K790 isnt officially available here, if so i'm sure most would buy it.
2nd, i would say most ppl here are buying the phone based more on its camera and multimedia functions.

my first 3G phone was the Nokia 6630, almost 2yrs ago.
that time also 3G was nothing great, just using to watch TV once in awhile.
now also nothing much has changed.
thats why my 3G is always turned off, and i only turn it on when i need it.
else to me its just a stupid waste of battery.
I'm just curious lor, why can't the 3G be left untouched, I mean it's faster to send a MMS, download a game or two, surf the net, etc with 3G isn't it? Besides, there are no additional charges for this, it will be the same rates like GPRS since we're not talking about video calls or any value added 3G services. Battery life is not that bad, my 3G is on everyday but the bluetooth is switched off as I only use the bluetooth headset when I'm driving. It's a hassle to carry the bluetooth headset with me, it's like carrying a hearing aid. It's freaking big and bulky. sweat.gif

QUOTE(kelvin9986 @ Jan 17 2007, 06:26 PM)
why the night shot kinda blur rclxub.gif
I guess the K800i flash is not powerful enough for a landscape shot especially when it was shot at night, the flash will not reach even 5 metres so it's possible to take a picture that far with a clear shot. Not an issue with my Canon G7 though but it's not a fair comparison but for close up portrait shots, the flash is good enough even at night.

QUOTE(ficxky @ Jan 17 2007, 08:03 PM)
dude, mine IME number not same as box. what its mean ?
mad.gif
cry.gif
vmad.gif
if something fishy , gonna tiao teh sg wang shop.  shakehead.gif
want to check and register. go to

http://www.sonyericsson.com
Well, it's either they put in the wrong box by mistake, happened to me before but the shop was reluctant to get the right box for me, they said that small matter only, why make a big fuss. Secondly, AP sets arrive in Malaysia without boxes because a LYN member selling handphones here (no mention of name here) told me that if I want AP, I need to wait because Comsat only has the phone but without the box so clearly, they're buying the boxes from somewhere. I think it's not much of an issue unless you sell it here second hand, then, you'll get 101 questions from the respective buyers interested in your set because all types of questions will pop out when you wanna sell something second hand here especially a handphone. doh.gif Sometimes, it's easier to trade it in directly to the shop. smile.gif

sunauto
post Jan 19 2007, 11:12 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

[quote=vikingw2k,Jan 19 2007, 12:23 AM]
[QUOTE]3. Is that an issue if the box IMEI doesn't match with the set's IMEI
[/QUOTE]

Well, of course, it is an issue especially if it was a Midland set, AP ones I have nothing to say, most of the time, the phone's IMEI doesn't match with the box. Put it this way, will you buy a second hand car if the engine's registration number is different from the insurance policy? What happens if say Alienfighter decided to sell the phone one day in LYN and the buyer asks him why the phone's IMEI is different from the box? How do you expect him to answer? I dunno? Later the buyer go and complain or accuse him that it's a recond or stolen phone, then what happens to Alienfighter? Awarded with a dispute tag? doh.gif You're a seller yourself, if a buyer complains the same thing to you, will you tell him that it's a small matter, why make a big fuss, do you think the buyer will accept this reasoning? I guess you should know the answers. As a seller, it is important to take care of the buyer whether it is for a few ringgit or for a few thousand. Just my advice.

[quote=Everdying,Jan 19 2007, 12:28 AM]
[QUOTE]yes it is an issue if the IMEI on the set doesnt match with the box.

for SE it may not be obvious.
but for other authorised sets like Nokia...
the box has 3 stickers, 2 of which must be peeled and put on the warranty card for customer and manufacturer copy.
those stickers obviously have the IMEI number on it.

for SE, when receipts are written for authorised sets.
the only place the IMEI number is mentioned is...yea on the box.[/QUOTE]
Precisely, you're absolutely correct on this matter. notworthy.gif

[quote=Naka7a,Jan 19 2007, 12:45 AM]
[QUOTE]yea. we should all move on. i got not enough stars to make a difference. sorry alienfighter. hope you can get your satisfying answer from her soon[/QUOTE]
You don't need stars, ranking or a moderator tag to speak up, everyone is equal here, feel free to speak up. If it's the truth or the obvious fact, we'll back you up. thumbup.gif

[quote=alienfighter,Jan 19 2007, 01:13 AM]
[QUOTE]btw, this also in k800i discussion thread, so that new users can have a guidence before they buy this phone...[/QUOTE]
Alienfighter, I have posted the battery thingy in the trades and disputes thread here, http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...=60&p=10059990& and maybe you can mention your phone's IMEI doesn't match the box and other related problems in that thread.

[quote=annielee,Jan 19 2007, 01:37 AM]
[QUOTE]if we've bought a midland set, n the shop gave us an AP battery, can we go back and ask them to change to original battery...[/QUOTE]
I think very unlikely that they will change it for you even if you report it to KPDN because they can say that you switched the battery mah. They can accuse you with all sorts of nonsense so it's better to check everything carefully on the spot before paying. Just my 2 cents.

[quote=Everdying,Jan 19 2007, 03:27 AM]
[QUOTE]well, i'm sure out there somewhere there are some decent AP guys who dont replace the headset and battery with imitations tongue.gif[/QUOTE]
There are some honest people out there but I guess it's pretty rare these days so it depends on luck sometimes. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by sunauto: Jan 19 2007, 11:15 AM
sunauto
post Jan 19 2007, 11:17 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

It has been all the while for Midland ori batteries to use the square sticker, not the rectangle one. By the way, where did you buy your handphone?

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Jan 19 2007, 11:13 AM)
AFAIK, BST-33 got two type, oldest batch is 900 mAH, newer & onwards version is 950mAH.

My Midland w850i BST-33 is 950mAH, the white stick also rectangle, doesn't mean its AP. wink.gif

So... why so worry? wink.gif
sunauto
post Jan 19 2007, 11:32 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

You expect me to buy a Midland battery at RM168 to show you? Just head over to the BST-37 thread and check out those pictures. Anyway, how do you know the phone shop is reliable, there are many shops in KL pushing fakes as originals, even original PSP batteries were swapped with fake ones when the buyer is not aware of it. It's best to be careful sometimes.

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Jan 19 2007, 11:20 AM)
Lowyatt  plaza reliable phone shop wink.gif

oh? then show me BST-33 950 mAH with square white sticker  photo smile.gif
sunauto
post Jan 19 2007, 12:35 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

Girls use SE K618i red colour one lah, guys use SE K800i, God is always fair to us. No gender discrimination here. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(killerfly @ Jan 19 2007, 12:22 PM)
hahah.. im having brown too.. but i dun see any girls using k800 T_T too bad..
sunauto
post Jan 19 2007, 01:46 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(limyusiong @ Jan 19 2007, 01:15 PM)
hey, i joining u all for k800 community....at 1st, planning getting a casino royale edition, but market out of stock...(i pointing AP set), so no choice, getting k800 black set, no m2 card included, wif de price of rm1215, ok ah?

by de way, m2 card so expensive le...no money buy wo........sheh.....
You can get it from Transcend_2000, the 512mb version is around RM130 or maybe cheaper. You can PM him, a reliable seller, I bought my 1GB from him and yes, it's 100% genuine, I have checked it online. As for AP price, RM1215 is okaylah, acceptable but you must check everything carefully especially the battery as some AP sets come with fake batteries so you must be aware of this.
sunauto
post Jan 19 2007, 06:06 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

If your K800i a Midland or AP set? If it's Midland, can you tell us whether your battery is the same as Alienfighter? Thanks!

QUOTE(Yapmy @ Jan 19 2007, 03:27 PM)
yay...i just bought my K800i today. so happy. really love the looks of this phone. currently updating my software to the latest via SEUS
sunauto
post Jan 19 2007, 06:57 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

Yeah, you're absolutely right, those Tulen stickers can be duplicated, even those pirate cds from China has it. Well having a Midland sticker doesn't mean it's ori either because the sticker can be a fake or an inside job too. I'm trying to ask all members to share their pics of their ori battery so that we can compare here.

Anyway, one thing for sure, I've posted pictures of my BST-37 battery (from my mother's K610i) under the trade dispute helpdesk thread, also bought from Clareen this month before she went on her business trip in Japan, it's neither a Midland or AP battery either, you can see for yourself here, http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/396662/+60 This one definitely take boleh lari one because it's 100% fake (you check the photos there and you'll know what I mean) but the BST-33 battery is still debateable but it's still not right for her or her supplier to give me a fake battery because AP here doesn't mean it's a fake, it just mean an ori set distributed by other parallel importers, right? Hai ........ rclxub.gif

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jan 19 2007, 06:14 PM)
now i think to fully confirm this...
find someone who has a midland BST-33 950mAh battery and ask him to take pics.

remember, stickers can always be bought.
i'm sure ppl have seen the holographic original stickers before on pirated cds rite?
sunauto
post Jan 19 2007, 07:05 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

Errr...... Made In China but Assembled In Sweden???
My original BST-15 battery for my P900i stated Made In Japan but Assembled in Sweden, that's an ori battery, 100% confirmed.

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jan 19 2007, 07:01 PM)
battery C you sure you put correct?
BST-33? 770mAh?
say made in sweden, but i swear from that outline on the battery it says made in china.
if so, i say all 3 are fake.
sunauto
post Jan 19 2007, 07:19 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(hackerzx @ Jan 19 2007, 07:10 PM)
china also get SE kilang lo..xsmesti pirated..like adidas made in malaysia & indon..but still ori..cheap also~
The ori battery is also made in China for your info, we're not saying it's a fake because it's made in China. We have experts here who can detectl ori, AP and fake batteries so don't play play. tongue.gif

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Jan 19 2007, 07:13 PM)
hold on, i arranged wrongly, im uploading the right pic again
Sounds like you're giving us a teka-teki test here. I guess who gets the right answer can immediately report for duty in KPDN HQ on Monday. They certainly need someone to sniff out fake batteries sold in Malaysia. tongue.gif
sunauto
post Jan 19 2007, 07:25 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

How about this BST-33, made in Japan, finished in Japan? Ori, AP or fake? Sorry, no prize given for the correct answer. tongue.gif

sunauto
post Jan 19 2007, 08:19 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

Okay, for my case, Ori = Midland, if I'm buying a Midland set but given an AP battery, even though it's original but I can't accept it as I want everything to be in the package as it is.

Since there are no debates on my BST-37 battery that I have mentioned in my thread here, http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/396662/+60 so I can just assume that it's a fake. cry.gif

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jan 19 2007, 07:43 PM)
Ori as in Ori.
doesnt have to be midland.
and if midland is not bringing in Ori then a complain can be made.
sunauto
post Jan 19 2007, 08:24 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

S/N: 072609PTLDLV 06W43

Errr ..... why leh? Wanna buy 4D for tomorrow, ar?

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jan 19 2007, 08:18 PM)
just curious here...
sunauto and alienfighter...your batt whats the serial numbers?

yea, good replica = fake.
sunauto
post Jan 19 2007, 08:41 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

Midland is the only distributor for SE K800i, you can check from their website so we have narrowed down to one distributor here for ori set.

Yeah, this is Sui Teng's BST-33 S/N no: 103549PTLDLV 06W43 and she bought her K800i from Clareen, Midland set too.

Well, the serial numbers don't mean a thing, it can be randomly generated and passed as fakes too or the serial numbers are only assigned to AP models (from other countries outside Malaysia). The other BST-33 battery I posted here was from Denmark, made in Japan, finished in Japan, again the serial number is different.

My sister told me one thing, just weigh the battery lah, the ori battery is always lighter than the fake ones and all ori batteries have the same weight. She has experience in this for Nokia phones but I'm not sure for SE lah. Maybe you guys wanna try this experiment?

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jan 19 2007, 08:25 PM)
do remember midland isnt the only authorised distributor for SE.
if not mistaken there are also thorus and t-choice, depending on the models.

sunauto, just curious if theres any chance that your serial number will match with alienfighter's.

the serial number is the front part, of cos no two batteries can have the same serial number.
the 06W43 you see there is week of production, 2006 week 43.
sunauto
post Jan 19 2007, 09:09 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

Sui Teng,

Can you check your phone's IMEI number and see if it matches the IMEI number printed on the box. Midland set should have everything 100% matched. Do let me know ya. Thanks!

QUOTE(suiteng @ Jan 19 2007, 08:47 PM)
Same as sunauto...
sunauto
post Jan 19 2007, 09:30 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

Refurbished battery is possible but it's not acceptable, why a brand new phone with a refurbished battery? Do you know refurbished products are cheaper? Like PS2 and PSP, refurbished ones are significantly cheaper.

sunauto
post Jan 19 2007, 09:32 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

Mine is exactly the same, just wanted to ask Sui Teng to check her set. Who knows, maybe she's having Alienfighter's box leh, mistaken identity. laugh.gif

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jan 19 2007, 09:23 PM)
sunauto, your IMEI on box and phone also doesnt match?
sunauto
post Jan 19 2007, 10:14 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

The camera is decent enough and if you're a blogger, highly recommended to get one, just point and shoot. Very handy and useful. smile.gif

QUOTE(StratOS @ Jan 19 2007, 10:04 PM)
the camera not bad ar.. very nice pictures taken now..
sunauto
post Jan 20 2007, 01:24 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(annielee @ Jan 19 2007, 11:43 PM)
i've press the "+ n -" button, but there's no green + red light wor...

only green light wor..

what does that mean??
First of all, switch on your phone's bluetooth and make sure it's on. Next, press and hold the power button on your headset (the silver colour button) for a few seconds, it will flash red and green, your phone will be able to detect it within a few seconds, after that, enter '0000' and that's it. As simple as ABC. You're pressing the wrong button, not the '+' or '-' volume buttons. You should read the manual first. All the info is there but in future, you have no problems with SE phones as once you're familiar with the menus and everything, your future SE will be a piece of cake to you. If you still have any problems, please feel free to post here but of course, read the manual first lah, they have included it for a purpose. nod.gif

QUOTE(claxxion @ Jan 20 2007, 12:20 AM)
Had my k800i for a week now, and i find that the phone's just average lah. The only good plus for the phone is the superb camera and the gorgeous screen. Other than that, lousy music playback and i can hardly hear the other party when making calls! Well, i guess i can live with it..

I have a problem with my phone. When i put my phone into my pocket for some period of time, it often switches of by itself. Really weird. and yes, i locked my keypad. After a week of bingung, i found out that everytime i press the phone with a little force (around the right side of the lcd), it turns off automatically. Then i need to turn it on again. Many many times. Help! What's this? Se's quality's going down man. icon_question.gif
Lousy music playback? shocking.gif Bro, what do you expect? It ain't an iPod or even an audiophile mp3 player with Grado headphones lah. Come on, it's only a thousand plus, it can't do miracles. Your phone sounded more like a recond set ler, we don't have anything wrong with our phone and it doesn't turn off at all without a reason. If the shop cheated you with a recond set (some AP models might be a recond set), dun lah put the blame at SE for this. Investigate first before you start cursing around.

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0332sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 12:38 AM