128 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V12!

Koreyoshi
post Oct 18 2016, 03:18 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Oct 18 2016, 03:15 PM)
What monitor size are you looking to get?
Don't care , as long as it is cheapest and support Full HD
terence_nwb
post Oct 18 2016, 03:32 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Koreyoshi @ Oct 18 2016, 03:18 PM)
Don't care , as long as it is cheapest and support Full HD
Intel Pentium G4400 - RM 225
ASRock B150M-HDV - RM 283
Corsair 4GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 96
Kingston SSDNow UV400 120GB SSD - RM 185
CM Elite Power 350W - RM 126
Armageddon T1x - RM 95
AOC E2180SWDN - RM 329

Total: RM 1339 (ETech price inclusive of GST)
KChoon
post Oct 18 2016, 09:20 PM

32 posts

[B][Budget] Rm 4600 (+100 if really really worth, no more than that)

[Purpose]Engineering software+gaming+movie

[Hardwares that will be re-use] mouse+keyboard

[Monitor resolution] 24inch above (borderless would be nice)

[Games & softwares that use frequently] autocad/solidwork + Assasin creeds series, Battlefield 4, Overwatch, fallout 4

[Personal preferences] I wan to fit in a gtx 1070 if possible and at least i5 6500, SSD is a must. Powersupply , mobo and etc cheap and reliable as possible

[Location] kuala lumpur

Between a 980ti, 1060,1070. Are major performance difference for the games im playing?

noloveishere
post Oct 18 2016, 09:32 PM

119 posts

Hello, need some advice from pros here. not looking for anything particularly strong because i mostly plan on doing a few things. My intention is just to play tf2 at native res, i will be running fps configs as well and dx8 but if my specs allow i will push to dx9. also will be looking to play skyrim and final fantasy 13-2 lul

[Budget] 1000

[Purpose] playing games mostly

[Hardwares that will be re-use] none

[Monitor resolution] 1080p. looking to get 120hz monitor in the future. currently have 1400x900 75hz doh.gif

[Games & softwares that use frequently] tf2 and other light things that even potato can do

[Personal preferences] want to get some sort of ssd to start things up as i am even using <120gb of things in my hard drives right now. will buy some hard drive in the future after this rig

[Location] KL

i am not looking to upgrade a whole lot in the future so even apus can be considered but i heard that they just cost more in the long run and better to just get a cpu+gpu?
thanks for reading and any advice is appreciated smile.gif

This post has been edited by noloveishere: Oct 18 2016, 09:35 PM
Puteih
post Oct 18 2016, 10:51 PM

Dah ludah jilat balik
1,082 posts

Hi guys, don't know if this a right place to ask recommendations for upgrades. Right now I want to upgrade my SSD, monitor and add another hard disk. Current setup:-
H97 board
16gb HyperX ram
i5 proc
Intel 180gb SSD
2tb Western Digital Hard Disk black
650w Cooler Master PSU
Viewsonic 22inch monitor

So far I'm thinking to upgrade to Samsung Evo 850 240gb (replace current SSD). Monitor and hard disk I'm not sure which brand is good. Any suggestion? My budget is around 1.5k, hopefully the cheaper the better (as long best value for money)

This post has been edited by Puteih: Oct 18 2016, 10:54 PM
terence_nwb
post Oct 19 2016, 08:58 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(KChoon @ Oct 18 2016, 09:20 PM)
[B][Budget] Rm 4600 (+100 if really really worth, no more than that)

[Purpose]Engineering software+gaming+movie

[Hardwares that will be re-use] mouse+keyboard

[Monitor resolution] 24inch above (borderless would be nice)

[Games & softwares that use frequently] autocad/solidwork + Assasin creeds series, Battlefield 4, Overwatch, fallout 4

[Personal preferences] I wan to fit in a gtx 1070 if possible and at least i5 6500, SSD is a must. Powersupply , mobo and etc cheap and reliable as possible

[Location] kuala lumpur

Between a 980ti, 1060,1070. Are major performance difference for the games im playing?
GTX1070 > GTX980Ti > GTX1060

GTX980Ti is pretty close to GTX1070's performance but I will vouch for GTX1070 due to its newer architecture and better DX12 support, as well as more VRAM. All of them are Nvidia cards so expect them to perform the same across all generation unless Nvidia gimps the older generation cards again via driver update sweat.gif

Intel Core i5 6500 - RM 865
Gigabyte B150M-D3H (D4) - RM 379
Corsair 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 171
Palit GTX1070 8GB GDDR5 Jetstream - RM 1848
Kingston SSDNow UV400 240GB SSD - RM 287
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 215
EVGA 500B - RM 259
Tecware Alpha - RM 199
BenQ GW2470H - RM 473

Total: RM 4696 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

terence_nwb
post Oct 19 2016, 09:17 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(noloveishere @ Oct 18 2016, 09:32 PM)
Hello, need some advice from pros here. not looking for anything particularly strong because i mostly plan on doing a few things. My intention is just to play tf2 at native res, i will be running fps configs as well and dx8 but if my specs allow i will push to dx9. also will be looking to play skyrim and final fantasy 13-2 lul

[Budget] 1000

[Purpose] playing games mostly

[Hardwares that will be re-use] none

[Monitor resolution] 1080p. looking to get 120hz monitor in the future. currently have 1400x900 75hz  doh.gif

[Games & softwares that use frequently] tf2 and other light things that even potato can do

[Personal preferences] want to get some sort of ssd to start things up as i am even using <120gb of things in my hard drives right now. will buy some hard drive in the future after this rig

[Location] KL

i am not looking to upgrade a whole lot in the future so even apus can be considered but i heard that they just cost more in the long run and better to just get a cpu+gpu?
thanks for reading and any advice is appreciated smile.gif
1k for whole rig? Hmm, that's a bit hard, even a 120GB SSD will take almost 20% of your available budget already sweat.gif

ASRock H110M-HDV - RM 245
Pendrive Rapid X 120GB SSD - RM 149
Armageddon T1x - RM 95

Total: RM 936 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

I suggest you to look for used item in Garage Sales instead because building a new rig from scratch is very costly right now and you will end up with just a "half-baked" barebone that couldn't yield the performance you are looking to get. APU is better if you are on a low budget and don't have the plan to upgrade in short time, CPU + GPU is opposite of that but you will have to suffer in the first few months without GPU, the iGPU of G4400 is just a HD510 which packs the performance of GT720/R5 230.

QUOTE(Puteih @ Oct 18 2016, 10:51 PM)
Hi guys, don't know if this a right place to ask recommendations for upgrades. Right now I want to upgrade my SSD, monitor and add another hard disk. Current setup:-
H97 board
16gb HyperX ram
i5 proc
Intel 180gb SSD
2tb Western Digital Hard Disk black
650w Cooler Master PSU
Viewsonic 22inch monitor

So far I'm thinking to upgrade to Samsung Evo 850 240gb (replace current SSD). Monitor and hard disk I'm not sure which brand is good. Any suggestion? My budget is around 1.5k, hopefully the cheaper the better (as long best value for money)
What makes you feel like want to do the upgrade? Especially the SSD and HDD, I rarely see people upgrade them unless it is faulty/broken, not enough storage space, or upgrade to a completely different technology (like SATA to PCIe). Your HDD is a 2TB WD Black, that's the top tier consumer grade HDD that you can get it locally already, I don't know why you want to get rid of it sweat.gif

As for monitor, different people is having different personal preferences, you might want to list out some of your requirements, like screen size, resolution, refresh rate, design etc to scale down the total choices.
Puteih
post Oct 19 2016, 10:46 AM

Dah ludah jilat balik
1,082 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Oct 19 2016, 09:17 AM)
What makes you feel like want to do the upgrade? Especially the SSD and HDD, I rarely see people upgrade them unless it is faulty/broken, not enough storage space, or upgrade to a completely different technology (like SATA to PCIe). Your HDD is a 2TB WD Black, that's the top tier consumer grade HDD that you can get it locally already, I don't know why you want to get rid of it  sweat.gif

As for monitor, different people is having different personal preferences, you might want to list out some of your requirements, like screen size, resolution, refresh rate, design etc to scale down the total choices.
Well, that's the thing. Both my SSD and HDD are almost full, both are already on >90% usage hence the reason why I want to upgrade my SSD and buy another HDD tongue.gif I think that 240gb SSD should be a good replacement for my 120gb SSD, as SSD is still expensive.

My main usage for the HDD is watching movies and play games; others not much. Thinking of buying another black WD, but maybe could find other suggestions here.

For monitor, Prefer to have low response rate as I'm playing games. Right now using TN panel, but if can upgrade to IPS with similar response rate would be nice as well. Size is around 22" to 24", more than that I feel like it's a bit too large for my liking (and space as well).
terence_nwb
post Oct 19 2016, 11:59 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Puteih @ Oct 19 2016, 10:46 AM)
Well, that's the thing. Both my SSD and HDD are almost full, both are already on >90% usage hence the reason why I want to upgrade my SSD and buy another HDD tongue.gif I think that 240gb SSD should be a good replacement for my 120gb SSD, as SSD is still expensive.

My main usage for the HDD is watching movies and play games; others not much. Thinking of buying another black WD, but maybe could find other suggestions here.

For monitor, Prefer to have low response rate as I'm playing games. Right now using TN panel, but if can upgrade to IPS with similar response rate would be nice as well. Size is around 22" to 24", more than that I feel like it's a bit too large for my liking (and space as well).
Oh so it was storage issue. What's your mobo model? If it supports M.2 NVMe SSD then Intel 600P is a good choice, 256GB only costs RM 450+, around the same price of SATA based 850 EVO but with a much faster transfer speed.

HDD wise, well I will just grab any 7200 RPM HDD in the market, WD Black is a little overpriced to me, I will just get WD Blue (for 1TB) or Seagate Barracuda (1TB - 4TB), other choices like Hitachi can be considered too.

IPS never had a low response rate, the lowest it can go so far is 4ms, but it is hard to notice the difference with our naked eyes (1ms vs 4ms).

Acer R241Y (4ms)
Dell U2414H (6ms), U2417H (6ms), S2316H (6ms), S2415H (6ms)
AOC i2369VM (5ms), i2476VWM (5ms), i2481FXH (5ms)

All monitors listed above are 1080p 60Hz IPS.
DesktopLimousine
post Oct 19 2016, 02:18 PM

Born To Game, Force To Work
1,051 posts

Hello, Need some suggestion for my friend. Budget somewhere around RM1.5k-1.7k. mostly will dota 2.
noloveishere
post Oct 19 2016, 04:00 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Oct 19 2016, 09:17 AM)
1k for whole rig? Hmm, that's a bit hard, even a 120GB SSD will take almost 20% of your available budget already  sweat.gif

Pendrive Rapid X 120GB SSD - RM 149
Armageddon T1x - RM 95

Total: RM 936 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

I suggest you to look for used item in Garage Sales instead because building a new rig from scratch is very costly right now and you will end up with just a "half-baked" barebone that couldn't yield the performance you are looking to get. APU is better if you are on a low budget and don't have the plan to upgrade in short time, CPU + GPU is opposite of that but you will have to suffer in the first few months without GPU, the iGPU of G4400 is just a HD510 which packs the performance of GT720/R5 230.
Well what if I swap out the SSD with a HDD? 500gb is fine for the starting if it means a better upgrade potential. Also, if I just run with an APU, what would you recommend as well? Do list both HDD and SSD options if you could. Thanks a bunch! notworthy.gif
terence_nwb
post Oct 19 2016, 04:22 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(DesktopLimousine @ Oct 19 2016, 02:18 PM)
Hello, Need some suggestion for my friend. Budget somewhere around RM1.5k-1.7k. mostly will dota 2.
Rig only?

Palit GTX750Ti 2GB GDDR5 StormX - RM 488
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 215
FSP Hexa+ 450W - RM 166
Tecware F3 - RM 119

Total: RM 1629 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

QUOTE(noloveishere @ Oct 19 2016, 04:00 PM)
Well what if I swap out the SSD with a HDD? 500gb is fine for the starting if it means a better upgrade potential. Also, if I just run with an APU, what would you recommend as well? Do list both HDD and SSD options if you could. Thanks a bunch! notworthy.gif
500GB HDD costs more than a 120GB SSD nowadays, new 500GB HDD is around RM 185+, by adding RM 20+, you could get a 1TB, the value of 500GB is totally not worth sweat.gif

Well I checked the APU list, none of them suit your budget, low end APU is using R5 GPU which isn't far ahead of the HD510 only.
DesktopLimousine
post Oct 19 2016, 08:42 PM

Born To Game, Force To Work
1,051 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Oct 19 2016, 04:22 PM)
Rig only?

Palit GTX750Ti 2GB GDDR5 StormX - RM 488
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 215
FSP Hexa+ 450W - RM 166
Tecware F3 - RM 119

Total: RM 1629 (ETech price inclusive of GST)
Yes sir, rig only. Thanks u sir.
wulimaza
post Oct 20 2016, 12:02 AM

48 posts

Hi Terence

Intel Kaby lake/ AMD ZEN is coming around the corner, is it worth waiting? does it make huge different between the current generation? tq
terence_nwb
post Oct 20 2016, 09:10 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(wulimaza @ Oct 20 2016, 12:02 AM)
Hi Terence

Intel Kaby lake/ AMD ZEN is coming around the corner, is it worth waiting? does it make huge different between the current generation? tq
If you can wait then it is always worth the wait, just look at Haswell Refresh and Skylake CPU, the price is almost identical (within few bucks difference only), but Skylake packs more performance than Haswell (10% - 15% in average) sweat.gif

Some people might not care about the generation and performance, they will just grab whatever the market is offering, but some people prefer to play the waiting game and board the latest tech train ASAP when it reaches them, so it is really up to your personal decision whether to wait or not, if you are in need of a new PC then you can just get Skylake for now because next gen desktop CPU is only scheduled to arrive in Jan 2017 (according to many sources).
AizatSapphire
post Oct 20 2016, 05:11 PM

18 posts

Hi! smile.gif

Need your help.

[B][Budget] RM2400

[Purpose] Gaming and Programming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] 500W PSU and 18.5" (720p) monitor

[Monitor resolution] 18.5" (720p)

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Overwatch, League of Legends, OBS, Skyrim, Fallout 4

[Personal preferences] Intel processor & mainboard, Nvidia GPU

[Location] Gombak, Selangor

Thanks in advance. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by AizatSapphire: Oct 20 2016, 05:31 PM
terence_nwb
post Oct 20 2016, 05:45 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(AizatSapphire @ Oct 20 2016, 05:11 PM)
Hi!  smile.gif

Need your help.

[B][Budget] RM2400

[Purpose] Gaming and Programming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] 500W PSU and 18.5" (720p) monitor

[Monitor resolution] 18.5" (720p)

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Overwatch, League of Legends, OBS, Skyrim, Fallout 4

[Personal preferences] Intel processor & mainboard, Nvidia GPU

[Location] Gombak, Selangor

Thanks in advance.  biggrin.gif
Are you in need of a new PC? If no, then you consider to wait for the newly announced GTX1050/GTX1050Ti to reach Malaysia first before making the final decision.
d3ck
post Oct 21 2016, 10:43 AM

126 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Oct 20 2016, 05:45 PM)
Are you in need of a new PC? If no, then you consider to wait for the newly announced GTX1050/GTX1050Ti to reach Malaysia first before making the final decision.
RM550/RM650 possible?
terence_nwb
post Oct 21 2016, 10:50 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(d3ck @ Oct 21 2016, 10:43 AM)
RM550/RM650 possible?
You mean the price of GTX1050/GTX1050Ti?

If yes then RM 650 is quite possible with Palit/Zotac brand (maybe), that's for GTX1050.
AizatSapphire
post Oct 21 2016, 11:15 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Oct 20 2016, 05:45 PM)
Oh, ya, I just remembered, I'll wait for it then biggrin.gif

Already have the exact date?

128 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Top

0.0493sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:28 PM