43 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V12!

terence_nwb
post Jan 17 2017, 10:59 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(casio17 @ Jan 17 2017, 09:54 PM)
Thank you Terence, Kaby Lake need to add how much eh?
If swap to Kaby Lake CPU only then you need extra RM 50+, if you plan to swap the mobo to latest chipset (B250/H270/Z270) then you need another RM 200+/- (at least), at last, the native DDR4 RAM speed supported on these new chipsets is 2400MHz, so if you plan to upgrade from 2133MHz to 2400MHz, you will need another RM 25+/-.

QUOTE(Hans90 @ Jan 17 2017, 09:59 PM)
Hi All,

need some help in choosing casing.

1) Is it all casing almost same? just the different in design?

2) some casing writing 1 x 3.0 USB and 2 x 2.0 USB, while another is 2 x 3.0 USB and 2 x 2.0 USB. So is it more worth to get the more 3.0 USB slot one ?

Thank you in advanced for your help:)
1. Not the same, they come with different form factors, different purposes, different target of audience etc.

2. Ya of course laugh.gif
terence_nwb
post Jan 18 2017, 08:32 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(iskandarnazreen @ Jan 18 2017, 02:34 AM)
Can you help me complete this rig ?

FX-8350
NVIDIA GIGABYTE 1050 TI

Have a budget around 3k

only play dota
If only for Dota 2 then you don't need an aged FX8350, go for modern Skylake/Kaby Lake i3 will do.
terence_nwb
post Jan 18 2017, 03:33 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Lynox @ Jan 18 2017, 10:52 AM)
hyee

i have benq gl2460 (no hdmi). my dvi-d port at my gpu is not working.
SO, will there be a difference in quality if i use dvi-d(monitor) to hdmi(gpu) adapter?
AND, can someone suggest good dvi-d hdmi adapter? i dont buy gl2460HM cos i dont own console and no need audio from hdmi.
Technically there is no quality loss as they are using same digital signal and they both can carry the same amount of information (in 1080p 60) except audio.

QUOTE(seichirosano @ Jan 18 2017, 12:42 PM)
hi everyone, would like to buy a new rig that will last more than 5 years, and i can just upgrade GPU from time to time. ?. but i have a question first, i plan to sell my current rig. Estimate how much can i let go? All parts bought in 2011.

Proc : AMD phenom II x6 1075t
Mobo: Asus Crosshair IV Formula
PSU: Cooler Master Silent Gold Pro 800w
GPU: xfx 5670
Ram: x2 Dual Channel xTreem Dark edition 1600mhz cl-9 and x2 kingston x 4gb Ram; Total: 8gb
Cooler: Tuniq tower 120 extreme
Chassis: Cooler Master HaF 912 Advance
ODD: Sony x24 DVD writer.
[B][Budget] - rm1.5-2k

[Purpose] - gaming on 1080p

[Hardwares that will be re-use] - GPU / SSD / HDD

[Monitor resolution] dual monitor 24" inches and 22" inches

[Games & softwares that use frequently] - Moba / Fps, may play some AAA title from time to time

[Personal preferences] - case NZXT S340 or corsair 400c, Intel, a good PSU, not overclocking 
[Location] -
Not much you can get by selling your current rig, mostly around 1.1k - 1.5k, PSU can re-use for your new rig, same goes to chassis & ODD.

So you plan to re-use your GPU which is a very low end 5670 for gaming? Doesn't sound like a good idea to me unsure.gif

terence_nwb
post Jan 18 2017, 04:42 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(seichirosano @ Jan 18 2017, 03:44 PM)
ops, im so sorry. The 5670 was included for the sell out. my current gpu is 1060 3gb. im surprised i still can get rm1k+ for this rig, i was assuming rm500+. but thanks for replying! ODD planning to sell out is because of NZXT 340 doesn't have a place for ODD. was thinking to change to intel base rig.
1.5k if you are lucky tongue.gif

CPU - around RM 150?
Mobo - around RM 300?
RAM - around RM 150?
GPU - around RM 100?
Chassis - around RM 150?
ODD - around RM 30?
PSU - around RM 200?
CPU cooler - around RM 30?

Add the funds to your main budget and you should be able to get an i5 rig.
terence_nwb
post Jan 18 2017, 09:55 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(bewd85 @ Jan 18 2017, 05:27 PM)
[B][Budget]
6k (does not include monitor, mouse keyboard and speaker)
[Purpose]
pure gaming
[Hardwares that will be re-use]
none
[Monitor resolution]

[Games & softwares that use frequently]
starcraft 2, diablo 3
[Personal preferences]
prefer gaming without lost/drop FPS even at high graphic settings (prefer SSD as C drive as well.)
[Location]
KL
Intel Core i7 7700 - RM 1436
ASRock H270 FATAL1TY PERFORMANCE - RM 639
G.SKill Aegis 8GB DDR4 2400MHz RAM - RM 280
MSI GTX1070 8GB GDDR5 Gaming X - RM 2140
Kingston SSDNow UV400 240GB SSD - RM 338
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 219
EVGA SuperNova 550 G2 - RM 459
Phanteks Eclipse P400 RGB Tempered Glass - RM 379

Total: RM 5890 (ETECH price inclusive of GST)

BTW this is an overkill setup for SC2 and D3 sweat.gif
terence_nwb
post Jan 18 2017, 10:05 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(ikuru92 @ Jan 18 2017, 06:17 PM)
hi sifus! can you guys help recommend me any alternatives for the parts listed below so that i can reduce the total price without compromising the performance? and it is advisable for me to go for kabylake?

Gigabyte G1 SNIPER B7 - RM525
Intel i5 6400 - RM795
Gigabyte GTX1050 Ti G1 Gaming - RM859
Corsair Value RAM DDR4 8GB 2133 MHz - RM229

TOTAL: rm2444

and my build will be in black/green colour since im reusing my old psu with custom sleeving using the same colours. i will also be reusing the monitor, case, hdd and ssd.

btw, i am not planning to do any OC-ing and usage will be mostly for gaming, photoshop, autocad, solidworks, sketchup.

thanks!
If black & theme green is a must then it is pretty much the final build, Kaby Lake and B8 mobo upgrade would cost extra RM 150+, I wouldn't recommend you to go for this "upgrade" if budget is tight because the performance gain is just not worth the money.

And FYI RM 859 is very close to Leadtek/Palit branded GTX1060 3GB already, probably only need to add like RM 50 and you get extra ~30% performance boost.

QUOTE(seichirosano @ Jan 18 2017, 08:57 PM)
will prolly let go the whole set if rm1k, hard to sell seperately. if so whats the spec i can get.
Alright so assuming you got 1k from selling off your rig and you gonna add it into your existing budget, the final available budget would be around 3k (max).

Intel Core i5 7400 - RM 870
Asus H270-PLUS- RM 590
GSKill Aegis 8GB DDR4 2400MHz RAM - RM 280
GPU re-use
SSD re-use
HDD re-use
EVGA SuperNova 550 G2 - RM 459
Corsair Carbide 400C - RM 520

Total: RM 2719 (ETECH price inclusive of GST)

i7 7700 build is possible if you downgrade the PSU, mobo or casing.
terence_nwb
post Jan 18 2017, 11:12 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(bewd85 @ Jan 18 2017, 10:08 PM)
if go for 16GB ram?
by overkill you mean is total smooth FPS? sure no drop frame rate when ultra high settings?
Yes you can go for 16GB RAM, it is always good to have more RAM than relying on swap file partition.

My overkill here means those hardware will be heavily under utilized, this is because i3 + GTX1050Ti already can do the job well in D3 and SC2 laugh.gif

QUOTE(ikuru92 @ Jan 18 2017, 10:50 PM)
gtx1050 ti oc has 4GB of vram whereas the gtx1060 that you mentioned has 3GB of vram. i thought it is common perception that cards with more vram are always better? or are there any factors that need to be considered?  confused.gif
More VRAM != better.

Just take R7 250 as an example, 1GB GDDR5 model outperforms 2GB GDDR3 model due to faster memory type. If VRAM is not the main deciding factor (for those games which don't use more than 3GB VRAM), GTX1060 3GB will pull ahead of GTX1050Ti easily, VRAM is just the memory of the card, it doesn't represent the real world usage & its raw performance.

GTX1060 is running the GP106 (some sort of codename) while GTX1050/1050Ti is running the lower end GP107, the amount of transistors, core config, fillrates, processing power are not the same, and in this case, GTX1060 model has a higher specs than GTX1050/1050Ti. If GTX1050Ti 4GB is better than GTX1060 3GB then Nvidia will be stupid enough to price it higher than the stronger card (GTX1050Ti) sweat.gif
terence_nwb
post Jan 19 2017, 09:52 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(angah_as @ Jan 19 2017, 09:04 AM)
Hi Guys,

Im looking for a GC for my old RIG, currently my GC(G-BYTE HD6850) is dead.
Budget is below RM500
I just want to play Dota 2 smoothly at FullHD
Below is my rig setup

athlon II x4 635
Gigabyte 74GMT-S2 (AMD 740G + SB710 Chipset)
Kingston SSD
DDR 3 4Gb Ram

Please advise, Thanks  notworthy.gif
RX460 2GB if you can fork out extra RM 20.

If cannot then try to search for GTX750Ti (also around RM 500), but RX460 is significantly faster than GTX750Ti.
terence_nwb
post Jan 19 2017, 10:33 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Neomax3 @ Jan 19 2017, 10:26 AM)
Guys really need help..

my bro has an old rig with the following specs:

Processor : Intel Core i7 920 @ 2.67Ghz
Mobo : MSI X58pro
Ram : G.SKILL [ RipjawsX ] F3-2133C9D-8GXL / 8GB (4GB x 2) / 2133Mhz
GPU : PALIT GeForceR GTX 970 JETSTREAM
PSU : Cooler Master Silent Pro 600watt +80
Case : Cooler Master CM690
I want to built a new rig for him with latest kaby lake mobo n cpu since his mobo is showing signs of dying..
will be using back GPU, casing and maybe psu.. ram maybe sell with cpu or maybe just keep it..

Anyone can recommend best setup for kaby lake with a budget of max RM3k?
Intel Core i7 7700 - RM 1459
Asus H270-PLUS - RM 599
Corsair Vengeance LPX 8GB DDR4 2400MHz RAM - RM 279
GPU re-use
SSD re-use
HDD re-use
PSU re-use
Casing re-use

Total: RM 2337 (Viewnet price inclusive of GST)

This is a non-overclockable setup, you can switch to Skylake to save money, the performance difference between Skylake and Kaby Lake is almost non existence laugh.gif
terence_nwb
post Jan 19 2017, 11:03 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Neomax3 @ Jan 19 2017, 10:54 AM)
I see.. how bout performance of overclock system of skylake compared to kaby lake?
Intel bumped the base clock of Kaby Lake CPU by 0.2GHz (in average), I've seen a lot of 5.0GHz in review so I assume the overclocking ability of Kaby Lake CPU is pretty good, but yea that's likely ~0.3GHz advantage which doesn't really yield a big performance difference in gaming, those who rely heavily on processor speed will benefit more from this, such as rendering/simulation work etc.
terence_nwb
post Jan 19 2017, 01:56 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Neomax3 @ Jan 19 2017, 11:40 AM)
I see.. Thanks for the info  thumbup.gif Me really noob in this kind of things  sweat.gif

one more thing bro.. if I take core i5 k series it is still ok right? just overclock a little bit.. my bro just use for gaming most of the time so going for i7 is not too worth it I think..
If gaming only then go straight for locked (non-K) i7 instead of unlocked (K) i5, i5K requires Z270 mobo, this will jack up the total cost, you will need a decent 3rd party CPU cooler as well (not cheap due to our currency situation currently sweat.gif )

For example,
1. i7 7700 + B250/H270 + stock cooler (free) = ~ 2k
2. i5 7600K + Z270 + 3rd party CPU cooler = ~ 2.5k

terence_nwb
post Jan 19 2017, 04:55 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(kundek @ Jan 19 2017, 01:55 PM)
hi.wanna ask.which toshiba or seagate can send locally for warranty?.i forgoten
Hmm, I thought as long as you buy local set/locally distributed model, you should be able to send in for RMA locally? hmm.gif

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Jan 19 2017, 02:06 PM)
Good day to all,

My brother needs a new rig for university by this month. Main priority in order are, video editing, Photoshop, watching movies and non demanding games like Dota2,CSGO.

Budget would be 4.5K MYR. He wiill buy the rig at Digital mall near his home.

Preferences,
i7,H170 for RAID,16GB RAM, Case with dust filters at intake and optional RX470.

Thanks you.
Intel Core i7 7700 - RM 1499
Asus H270-PLUS - RM 590
Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 2400MHz RAM - RM 518
Palit GTX1050Ti 4GB GDDR5 StormX - RM 729
Kingston SSDNow UV400 240GB SSD - RM 359
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 219
Seasonic S12II 520 - RM 309
NZXT S340 - RM 315

Total: RM 4538 (Jayacom price inclusive of GST)

You can also consider Techview at SS2 (maybe can get a better price quotation).

terence_nwb
post Jan 20 2017, 09:21 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Jan 20 2017, 09:08 AM)
Ok thank You, I've edit it a little bit let me know if this hardware is compatible with each other.

Intel Core i7 7700 - RM 1499
MSI H270M Bazooka - RM 515
Kingston Value RAM D4 2133Mhz 16GB - RM 459
Toshiba 1TB HDD - RM 209
Samsung 750 EVO 250GB SSD - RM329
MSI RX 470-4G ARMOR OC GPU - RM915
Lite On DVD+RW 24x ODD - RM59
Seasonic S12II 520 - RM 309
Cooler Master N200 - RM209

Total = RM 4503
Compatible.
terence_nwb
post Jan 20 2017, 09:29 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(heatblast @ Jan 20 2017, 04:40 PM)
CPU: i5 2500
MOBO: Asus P8H67-M
RAM: Corsair Gaming Ram DDR3 2GB x2
GC: Sapphire ATI HD5670 1GB GDDR5
PSU: Silverstone Strider 500W
CASING: Cooler Master elite 370
HDD: Re-used

Currently with this spec. Budget around 2k for upgrade.
which part should i upgrade? I'm more into PES, GTA, BF1, GOW and light gaming.
thanks.
If you only accept new part, then it will be GPU and another 4GB of RAM, most likely it would be a GTX1060 which costs 1.2k (6GB model).

Look for used i7 3770 if you are ok with used item but you need to sell off your current i5 2500 first to cover up the total cost needed, i.e. i7 3770, GTX1060, 4GB RAM (around RM 800 + RM 1200 + RM 150).

terence_nwb
post Jan 21 2017, 01:47 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Xypheria @ Jan 21 2017, 12:26 PM)
hi terence_nwb
can you recommend me a RM3k rig? This is mainly for gaming(low to medium; I appreciate smooth experience than fancier graphic) and light browsing.  And RM600 for a 1080p monitor (gaming)

My preference will be 8GB Ram (upgrade in the future), 256gb SSD, 1TB HDD, Chassis Fractal Design Nano S.

Thanks terence!
Intel Core i3 7100 - RM 516
ASRock H110M-ITX - RM 283 (BIOS update is required)
G.SKill Aegis 8GB DDR4 2133MHz RAM - RM 255
Zotac GTX1050Ti 4GB GDDR5 Mini - RM 729
Kingston SSDNow UV400 240GB SSD - RM 338
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 219
FSP Hexa+ 450W - RM 169
Fractal Design Define Nano S - RM 339
Dell SE2417HG - RM 579 (TN panel 1ms "gaming" monitor, can swap to IPS if you don't want TN)

Total: RM 3427 (ETECH price inclusive of GST)

i5 7400 upgrade is possible with a top up of nearly RM 330.

terence_nwb
post Jan 21 2017, 04:09 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Xypheria @ Jan 21 2017, 03:10 PM)
Thanks for your suggestion. Do you mind if i ask one more thing.

Would you give up the lowest response rate for a better viewing quality in gaming?
TN vs IPS panel, 1ms vs 4ms/6ms
I will go for IPS anytime, TN display is too washed out for my comfort and the most important thing is I cannot really tell the difference of 1ms vs 4ms laugh.gif
terence_nwb
post Jan 21 2017, 06:41 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Xypheria @ Jan 21 2017, 04:32 PM)
I see, yeah it's hard to differentiate between 1ms and 4ms sweat.gif

If for IPS panel, which monitor do you recommend to take within my budget?
ViewSonic VA2419-SH (5ms, around RM 500), all the others are almost 600+ sweat.gif
terence_nwb
post Jan 21 2017, 08:31 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(heatblast @ Jan 21 2017, 08:09 PM)
Thanks for ur suggestions. Btw is my mobo support i7 3770 sweat.gif
Your mobo socket is LGA1155 so i7 3770 is definitely supported.
terence_nwb
post Jan 21 2017, 08:51 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Xypheria @ Jan 21 2017, 08:39 PM)
Ah, so the budget is kinda tight. What if I can make it to RM700, any significant upgrade from that viewsonic?
Dell S2316H (6ms, glossy screen, thin bezel)
Acer R241Y (4ms, matte screen, thin bezel, might cost slightly above RM 700)
Acer G247HYL (4ms, matte screen, typical bezel size)
terence_nwb
post Jan 23 2017, 08:43 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(RM50infrontofme @ Jan 23 2017, 02:04 AM)
Hello all experts, I need a part list that suits my budget, preferably under RM 3500 including monitor(don't need free sync and those fancy stuffs) I did some light research on parts and pricing and found out that according to my calculation it is possible to build one like this for RM 4000 including monitor. Now I was wondering whether is it possible to push it down even lower, to under RM 3500? Below is my preferred parts but do advice and change them if necessary.... (Hopefully no need la)

I am not experienced about these pc stuffs so please advice and give me a list of what to buy hehe.... Looks doesn't matter most importantly the performance

Thanks in advance
[B]RM 3500

[Purpose] Gaming on some AAA titles

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Non (brand new)

[Monitor resolution] planning to game on 1080p 60 fps

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Planning on AAA titles

[Personal preferences]
RX 480 8GB(preferred)/GTX1060 6 GB
I5-6500/7500
1TB HDD no need SSD
Monitor (1080p60fps)

[Location] Subang Jaya
Intel Core i5 7400 - RM 844
Asus H110M-K - RM 259 (BIOS update is required)
G.SKill Aegis 8GB DDR4 2133MHz RAM - RM 255
XFX RX480 8GB RS OC Triple X - RM 1339
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 219
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 195
Tecware F3 - RM 125
BenQ GW2270 - RM 432

Total: RM 3668 (ETECH price inclusive of GST)

You can save RM 110 by going for Palit GTX1060 6GB.

43 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Top

0.0280sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:42 PM