43 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V12!

terence_nwb
post Jan 13 2017, 08:52 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(akib_mullen @ Jan 13 2017, 05:30 AM)
Sorry if offtopic. Which one is good, buying parts myself and assemble it or buy all parts at one shop let them assemble. If thats the case, any shops recommended? In terms of warranty claim etc. One more thing, I plan to build my pc with i7 7700k but using only cryorig m9i, is it enough to do the job? I dont intend to overclock the cpu though.
Idealtech thumbsup.gif

M9i is ok for 7700k, even with mild overclocking.

QUOTE(Kidz1995 @ Jan 13 2017, 07:04 AM)
Hi Im looking to upgrade my current PC.
I want to be able to play at 144hz (1080p only).

My current specs are: i5 3570K, Sabertooth Z77, GTX 670, RAM 12GB.
Upgrade the GPU to a better one, since no budget is stated, I cannot proceed further.
terence_nwb
post Jan 13 2017, 08:27 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(spoil_ @ Jan 13 2017, 03:11 PM)
Hey guys,
Not sure if this is the correct place to ask. Was thinking to upgrade my ancient pc. Can u guys give rough estimate if i can sell these:
1. i5 760 + generic MSI mobo
2. MSI 6750 1GB

Thanks in advance! smile.gif
Around RM 400+/- for both items (RM 500 if you are lucky biggrin.gif )

QUOTE(Lynox @ Jan 13 2017, 03:41 PM)
hey, will i5-6500 bottleneck with gtx 1070? should go 144hz monitor if pick gtx 1070?
Certain games yes, such as Watch Dogs 2.

Not compulsory to go with 144Hz if you pick GTX1070, 144 FPS is still a difficult task for high end cards now in triple A titles, even it is just 1080p.

QUOTE(crazydjrock @ Jan 13 2017, 04:01 PM)
Hi I am looking for advice on building a PC rig.
[B][Budget]RM4.5k

[Purpose]3D rendering

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Monitor, mouse, keyboard, speaker

[Monitor resolution] 1080p

[Games & softwares that use frequently] 3D rendering software

[Personal preferences]

[Location] Kuala Lumpur

Thanks! smile.gif
Not sure which 3D rendering software you are going to use since it is not listed, if it doesn't require too much GPU power, then you can downgrade the GPU to save cost (and if it works better with workstation grade GPU then the build has to be altered to fit one FYI).

Intel Core i7 7700 - RM 1436
Asus B250M-A - RM 450
G.SKill Aegis 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 2400MHz RAM - RM 560
Palit GTX1060 3GB GDDR5 Dual - RM 940
Kingston SSDNow UV400 240GB SSD - RM 338
Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDD - RM 219
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 195
Tecware Alpha - RM 229

Total: RM 4367 (ETECH price inclusive of GST)
terence_nwb
post Jan 14 2017, 08:42 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Xypheria @ Jan 13 2017, 10:23 PM)
I need some insights from sifus here..

I am contemplating for my monitor selection. XL2411 vs XF240H
Both are similarly priced, similar specs except XF240H has FreeSync.

Which affecting my GPU selection, given that 1060 6gb vs RX480 8gb..

I play game (for example, Tree of Savior) which has a lot of screen tearing (like mobs exploded, toons everywhere) and I require a smoother game play.

I don't play AAA games so I don't expect that much.. Just games that I play.
As well moba like dota and league.

I've tried watching in youtube, but no help as for now. icon_question.gif
Go for RX480, FreeSync is cheaper biggrin.gif

And not all games support adaptive frame rate sync technology, it requires fullscreen (exclusive) and has a range of 35 to 144 (depends on the model you get) etc.

QUOTE(Lynox @ Jan 14 2017, 08:26 AM)
so, what proc is a good combo with gtx 1070? current mobo is h110
Recommend to go for at least i7 to reduce the bottleneck as much as possible.
terence_nwb
post Jan 14 2017, 01:09 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Xypheria @ Jan 14 2017, 12:46 PM)
Is RX480 almost equal to 1060 now?

So far RX480 + FreeSync monitor option is in my mind.. just need a little bit push  blush.gif
They are almost equal in terms of performance.

But generally you will get a better frame rate in DX11/OpenGL games with GTX1060 and DX12/Vulkan games with RX480, both have pros and cons.
terence_nwb
post Jan 14 2017, 10:40 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Acher13 @ Jan 14 2017, 04:06 PM)
Hi all, I'm at loss for what I want... any recommendation?

[Budget]1.6k++

[Purpose]Casual gaming, home cinema

[Hardwares that will be re-use]  peripherals and monitor

[Monitor resolution] 1080

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Steam games mostly JRPGs, Photoshop

[Personal preferences] Performance with 1050ti...

[Location] SS2
1.6k with GTX1050Ti is impossible, here is a build list for your reference, either top up your budget or downgrade the requirements.

Intel Core i3 6098P - RM 485
Gigabyte H110M-WW - RM 259
Corsair 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 255
Zotac GTX1050Ti 4GB GDDR5 Mini - RM 729
Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDD - RM 219
Corsair VS450 - RM 184
Tecware F3 - RM 125

Total: RM 2256 (Techview price inclusive of GST)

And this is based on 6th gen Skylake, 7th gen Kaby Lake is more expensive.

QUOTE(Hezegroth @ Jan 14 2017, 07:47 PM)
Hi all, i hope im posting this at correct thread. looking forward to sell some of my hw. can anyone give estimated how much i can get for item quoted below

i5 750
msi gd65 mobo
kingston ddr value ram 8gb
Around RM 500+/-, depends on the item status (and warranty if still got).

QUOTE(Kidz1995 @ Jan 14 2017, 09:51 PM)
currently using 23" 60hz monitor.
I want to upgrade my GPU, Monitor and maybe RAM in the future.
Sorry forgot to state my budget. GPU and Monitor under Rm4k.

Here is my current pc specs again:
i5 3570k
Sabertooth Z77
12GB RAM
GTX670
You got many choices:

1. GTX1070 + Dell S2417DG 24" GSync 1440p 144Hz TN monitor (will use up all the available budget)
2. GTX1070 + normal 24" 1080p 144Hz TN monitor (should be around RM 3000 in total, or pair with GTX1060 6GB at around RM 2500 in total)
3. RX480 + AOC AG322FCX 32" Curved FreeSync 1080p 144Hz VA monitor (around RM 3500 in total)
4. RX480 + ViewSonic XG2701 27" FreeSync 1080p 144Hz TN monitor (around RM 3000 in total)
5. RX480 + AOC G2460PF 24" FreeSync 1080p 144Hz TN monitor (around RM 2500 only in total)
terence_nwb
post Jan 15 2017, 08:50 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Jan 15 2017, 12:04 PM)
My current system is
i5 2320
GTX650Ti
Asrock H61M/U3S3
FSP Hexa 500
2x 4GB DDR3 RAM

I'm thinking whether just upgrading my GPU would be sufficient, otherwise I'd just sell off my current one and get a new set.

[Budget] RM4000 , planning to get GTX970/GTX1060, i5 7500 (pls advise)

[Purpose] racing simulator with oculus rift (Assetto Corsa, Rfactor 2)

[Hardwares that will be re-use] monitor, mouse, keyboard, HDD (SATA 3 and SATA 6)

[Monitor resolution] not needed

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Rfactor 2, Assetto Corsa
The requirements of Oculus Rift is i5 4590 and GTX970/R9 290, so new CPU platform and GPU are definitely needed.

Intel Core i7 7700 - RM 1436
Asus B250M-A - RM 450
G.SKill 8GB DDR4 2400MHz RAM - RM 280
Palit GTX1060 6GB GDDR5 Dual - RM 1229
HDD re-use
PSU re-use
Casing re-use

Total: RM 3395 (ETECH price inclusive of GST)

Not sure you gonna max out the budget or not, so I've put HDD, PSU and casing in item to re-use list, you may alter the build to fit your requirements (like adding SSD, better PSU, new casing etc.)

QUOTE(Pyjamas999 @ Jan 15 2017, 06:16 PM)
Hi all, I'm looking to build a custom gaming pc, sort of a tight budget around 3.5-4K with windows 10 installed.

So I'm wondering, aside from my cpu and gpu choices of intel i5 sixth gen and sapphire amd rx480 8gb, 16gb RAM, 750gb HDD (SSD too exp for me lol), I would like to know what are the other cheapest parts available e.g.:

-Motherboard (with wifi adapter?)
-Cooling
-Case
-any other parts I need?

I'm actually looking for the cheapest parts I can get aside from my cpu and gpu, as these tend to be the bottleneck of performance with each passing year. The rest I just want a figure to gauge the least amount it'll take for me to build this. Thank you!
Motherboard with on-board WiFi card usually only exists on mITX mobo and high end mobo, get a low end mobo and pair it with a 3rd party adapter is a better option to save money.

Cooling & casing - use stock cooler for locked CPU and try to get a PC casing with at least 1 intake and 1 exhaust, that's it for now (only add more in the future if needed).

If 3.5k - 4k budget doesn't include monitor then it is possible to have SSD in the build list.

This post has been edited by terence_nwb: Jan 15 2017, 08:50 PM
terence_nwb
post Jan 15 2017, 11:12 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Pyjamas999 @ Jan 15 2017, 10:04 PM)
Thanks smile.gif! What mobo and casing would you recommend? I've tried scouring the web but not sure which is currently the cheapest for my setup.
Cheapest mobo would be last gen chipset, such as H110/B150, they can run Kaby Lake CPU but BIOS upgrade is needed, B250 starts from RM 400 whereas H110 can go as low as RM 250, something like Asus H110M-K/Gigabyte H110M-WW will do.

As for casing, you can look for Tecware F3 (this is a mATX casing, future ATX mobo upgrade is not possible without changing the casing) or Tecware Alpha (ATX form factor), price is around RM 125 and RM 225 respectively, they come with 2 intake fans (1 only for F3) and 1 rear exhaust fan.

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Jan 15 2017, 10:57 PM)
Thanks man,

My current FSP Hexa 500 sufficient to support GTX1060?

Any compatibility problem I may face by reusing current HDD? SATA slots and power cables still the same on nowadays' board?

Instead of Asus B250M-A board, would Asus H110M-K 1151 D4 be a better option to save some bucks?

Maybe I'd go for i5-7500 instead of i7 7700 to save some bucks too, perhaps overstated my budget, but any reason I should not go for an i5-7500?
The gate to enter Oculus Rift is i5 4590 and i5 7500 is just slightly faster than i5 4590, if you have a lot of players (or AI) in AC, CPU computation requirements will increase, thus I decided to go with i7 7700, just to be safe biggrin.gif

Your PSU can support GTX1060, PC hardware is getting more power efficient nowadays, 500W is enough for normal gaming rig and yes Asus H110M-K can be paired with Kaby Lake CPU but BIOS upgrade is needed, if you go for this path, please downgrade the RAM to normal 2133MHz Value RAM because that's the highest speed H110 chipset can support.

Your HDD can be re-use as long as it is using SATA interface, power cable relies on your PSU so that's totally fine.

This post has been edited by terence_nwb: Jan 15 2017, 11:13 PM
terence_nwb
post Jan 15 2017, 11:19 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Hans90 @ Jan 15 2017, 11:03 PM)
Hi All,

I'm getting a RIG with i5 7400 + GTX 1060 3gb.

One of the supplier quote me MOBO - GIGABYTE B250M-HD3 - RM 390

another quote me MOBO - Asus H110M-K - RM 279

B250M is much more better? coz in price wise B250M is higher. any comment / recommendation from you guys? what is the difference between this 2 MOBO?
H110 is previous generation chipset, released together with Skylake CPU (6th gen), namely H110, B150, H170, Z170, C232, C236 etc whereas B250 is the latest generation chipset, released together with Kaby Lake CPU (7th gen).

Kaby Lake CPU can be installed on older generation chipset (the one mentioned above) because they are using similar socket which is LGA1151, you get more features like more PCIe lanes (12 vs 6), PCIe storage (NVMe), more RAM slots, more USB ports etc with B250.

If you don't really need those new features, then H110 will do the job just fine, but you need to upgrade the BIOS of the mobo to run Kaby Lake CPU.
terence_nwb
post Jan 16 2017, 08:59 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Jan 15 2017, 11:24 PM)
ic thanks for the explanation of different mobo gen.

would Asrock B250M-HDV be a good pick, seems like its the cheapest among all B250 mobos
If you are ok with 2 RAM slots but in need of new features like PCIe NVMe M.2 SSD support then you are good to go, or else the older chipset H110/B150 will do.
terence_nwb
post Jan 16 2017, 03:21 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(kenhoh91 @ Jan 16 2017, 02:27 PM)
Hi Sifus,

Is this a good computer build? Have a budget of between 6k to 7k.

Processor : Intel Core i5 7600K
Cooler : Cyrorig H5 Ultimate
MOBO : Asus ROG Strix Z270F
GPU : Evga GTX 1070 FTW
RAM : GSkill RipJawsV Black 2x8gb ddr4
PSU : Unsure over this??
Casing: NZXT S340
SSD : Samsung Evo 750 250gb
HDD : WD 1 TB

Any issues or parts are not recommended or probably can remove to get cheaper?

Thanks all sifus.
I'll probably go for i7 7700 build instead of the expensive Z270 and performance RAM, the exchange rate is terrible now, not worth to invest in an overclockable rig (and it's only i5 somemore with 6 - 7k budget sweat.gif ) if it is only for gaming.

terence_nwb
post Jan 16 2017, 08:26 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(dante1989 @ Jan 16 2017, 06:30 PM)
hello sifus, my current rig has served me well for 6 years, except for the gpu which i upgraded from gtx460 to gtx760

im looking to build a new one and i need help filling in the missing parts below:

budget: 3k - 4k (lower the better)

purpose: gaming

Processor :
MOBO :
GPU : GTX 1060 6GB (manufacturer undecided)
RAM : (value ram preferred)
PSU :
Casing: (mid tower preferred)
SSD :
HDD : WD 1 TB

planning to pair the gtx1060 with the Acer XB241H monitor on a separate budget

much appreciated!
Intel Core i5 7400 - RM 870
Asus B250M-A - RM 450
G.SKill 8GB DDR4 2400MHz Value RAM - RM 280
Asus GTX1060 6GB GDDR5 Dual - RM 1286
Kingston SSDNow UV400 240GB SSD - RM 338
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 219
Superflower Leadex Silver 550W - RM 359
Tecware Alpha - RM 229

Total: RM 4031 (ETECH price inclusive of GST)

To reduce total cost, you can:

1. Downgrade to Skylake i5
2. Downgrade the mobo to older chipset like H110/B150
3. Downgrade the PSU to entry level PSU like Corsair VS550 or FSP Hexa+ 550W etc.
terence_nwb
post Jan 16 2017, 09:17 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(dante1989 @ Jan 16 2017, 08:51 PM)
thank  you!  rclxms.gif

will adjust the parts to suit my budget

edit: for the skylake i5, which model to get?
i5 6500 if you can, or else i5 6402P/6400 will do as well.
terence_nwb
post Jan 16 2017, 11:04 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(DellMalaysia @ Jan 16 2017, 10:25 PM)
skylake procprice decreased already? or the kabylake proc came out with a higher price?
No decrease, Kaby Lake is slightly expensive here.

QUOTE(casio17 @ Jan 16 2017, 10:53 PM)
Guys, which pc shop can accept Bank Rakyat credit card?
For installment? If only for normal purchase, then I am pretty sure most of the shop do accept it if they accept credit card as payment option.
terence_nwb
post Jan 17 2017, 08:49 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(casio17 @ Jan 16 2017, 11:08 PM)
Oh ya. For instalment plan. Etech only accept maybank. How about Techview?
There is no installment plan support from Techview AFAIK. And most of the shop only accept Maybank for their EzPayment2U scheme.

QUOTE(NoKusshon @ Jan 17 2017, 07:10 AM)
Hello, can recommend me gaming desktop:

[Budget]: 3K - 3.5K

[Purpose]: Gaming & Editing

[Hardwares that will be re-use]: Monitor/Keyboard/Mouse

[Monitor resolution]: 1920 x 1080

[Games & softwares that use frequently]: Adobe Photoshop

[Personal preferences]: Shop from Idealtech, Case Razer NZXT S340, Intel
Intel Core i5 7400 - RM 865
Asus B250-A - RM 450
G.SKill Aegis 8GB DDR4 2133MHz RAM - RM 289
Asus GTX1050Ti 4GB GDDR5 Expedition - RM 769
Samsung 850 EVO 120GB SSD - RM 299
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 219
FSP Hexa+ 450W - RM 199
NZXT S340 Razer - RM 499

** Promotion: Rebate RM 20 with Kaby Lake CPU + B250 mobo

Total: RM 3569 (Idealtech price inclusive of GST)

Have to downgrade the GPU due to the cost of the casing sweat.gif

terence_nwb
post Jan 17 2017, 12:18 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(kundek @ Jan 17 2017, 11:53 AM)
i saw a youtube video got 1 casing selling at below usd 20 that have a handle ontop of it...got any link for that casing?
Do you have the link to the video?

20 USD is around RM 90, I don't think we have a RM 90 PC casing that comes with a handle in Malaysia hmm.gif
terence_nwb
post Jan 17 2017, 02:14 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(kundek @ Jan 17 2017, 12:54 PM)
https://www.google.com.my/search?q=raidmax+...KHW2RAjwQ_AUIBw
manage to find it
https://youtu.be/Sz9ZGioE3A4

i cant view it atm mobile data vey slow...i will recofirm again later
Raidmax Strato? Doesn't seem to be able to find in local store hmm.gif

QUOTE(xXAaronXx @ Jan 17 2017, 01:20 PM)
Wanna ask if its worth upgrading from Xeon 1230v2 to i7 7700 ? I got RM3k budget for CPU, Mobo and RAM the rest will reuse.

Current Specs

Xeon 1230v2
Asrock Z77 Extreme 4
16GB (8GB X 2) Kingston Fury X 1866Mhz
Gigabyte GTX1070
1000w Rosewill Tachyon
NZXT Phantom 630
Not really worth if you ask me, I will wait for AMD Ryzen and see the performance first before making the final decision.
terence_nwb
post Jan 17 2017, 03:16 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(blueyan @ Jan 17 2017, 02:39 PM)
hi i am looking for a GPU just for 2k support. Recently I wanted to upgrade my monitor to 27 2K resolution, however my onboard motherboard h110mk only support up to 1920x1200. Right now I need to get a GPU for 2k output only, no gaming. Please recommend ! thanks
Your new monitor got DVI port? If got then GT710 (RM 150+/-) is able to output 2560 x 1600 (16:10) with DVI port.
terence_nwb
post Jan 17 2017, 08:05 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(blueyan @ Jan 17 2017, 05:22 PM)
don't have DVI ports  sad.gif , here are the specs of the ports

Connectivity
2 HDMI(MHL) connector
1 Mini DisplayPort
1 DisplayPort (version 1.2)
1 DisplayPort out (MST)
1 Audio Line out (connect your speakers)
5 USB 3.0 ports - Downstream (4 at the back, 1 with battery charging)
1 USB 3.0 port - Upstream
Your monitor is U2715H or U2717D right? The HDMI port is labeled as MHL port, I have a quick search on the Internet and it seems that it doesn't support 1440p over HDMI, so you need DP connection (just to be safe), try to look for Sapphire R7 250 1GB GDDR5 Eyefinity edition, it comes with DP output port, by right should be the cheapest card with DP output in the market currently.

Or you can just upgrade the mobo to a better one with DP output on-board.
terence_nwb
post Jan 17 2017, 08:08 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(casio17 @ Jan 17 2017, 12:25 PM)
Hi all, does i3 can provide stable fps for Dota 2? Or i5 is a must?
Dota 2 is more on single core performance, just like CS:GO, so a highly clocked i3 will most likely to provide a better frame rate than i5, i.e. i3 7100's 3.9GHz vs i5 7400's 3.5GHz.
terence_nwb
post Jan 17 2017, 08:53 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(casio17 @ Jan 17 2017, 08:33 PM)
1. So means that i3 7100 + gtx 750ti will does the job?  Can you recommend the cheapest rig to play Dota 2 at ultra settings?

2. i3 7100 + gtx 750ti can play on 24 inch monitor?
GTX750Ti might not be enough for now, I have seen quite a number of reports stating that the recent 7.00 update has brought up the requirements to get a stable 60 FPS, go for GTX1050 just to be safe.

Intel Core i3 6098P - RM 480
Asus H110M-K - RM 259
G.SKill Aegis 8GB DDR4 2133MHz RAM - RM 255
Palit GTX1050 2GB GDDR5 StormX - RM 565
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 219
FSP Hexa+ 450W - RM 169
Tecware F3 - RM 125

Total: RM 2072 (ETECH price inclusive of GST)

Skylake is slightly cheaper than Kaby Lake.

Size of the monitor is not the deciding factor, resolution is, so if the 24" monitor is a 1080p monitor then it will be fine.

43 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Top

0.1172sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 11:29 PM