4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V12!

MagnificM
post Sep 28 2016, 10:07 PM

611 posts

QUOTE(am3rr @ Sep 28 2016, 08:48 PM)
hi all. i need 2 rig recommendations for bisnes use. budget 1500 mostly for accounting purpose and pos system usage.  thanks
for psu i think i can recycle from old pc.  no need monitor and mouse
better you stated the detail of your psu, just to ensure you're not using a 'cap ayam' psu sweat.gif
MagnificM
post Sep 30 2016, 12:04 AM

611 posts

QUOTE(Fouretoo @ Sep 29 2016, 11:43 PM)
Hi Sifu,
Need your help, first time noob build rig

[Budget] = RM 3.8k - RM 4.3k

[Purpose] = Gaming mostly.

[Hardwares that will be re-use]
-

[Monitor resolution]
-

[Games & softwares that use frequently]
CSGO, witcher 3 and fallout 4

[Personal preferences] build rig only (GTX1060 + i5 )

[Location] KL

Current target based on Ideal Tech: (Please advised ).

CPU: i5 6500  (RM835)
Cooling: Cryorig h7 (RM189)
Motherboard: Gigabyte H170-Gaming 3  (RM569)
Ram: GSKill Aegis 8GB DDR4 2133MHz (RM169)
GPU: Gigabyte GTX1060 Windforce OC 6GB (RM1289)
PSU: Xigmatec X-Calibre 500W (RM199)
Casing: Sharkoon VG4-W (RM199)
HDD : WD 1TB Caviar Blue (RM219)
SSD: Samsung 750 120GB (RM229) >
    worth to upgrade for Samsung 850 M.2 120GB (RM349)?

Total (RM 3897)
Extra budget to buy OS,wifi

Use the stock cooler 1st, if you're not happy with the temp only you get an aftermarket cooler. Those money you can use to add another 8gb of ram thumbup.gif
MagnificM
post Oct 25 2016, 06:33 PM

611 posts

A friend of mine need help on his rig

[Budget]
RM2k

[Purpose]
Photo and Video editing, 3D rendering

[Hardwares that will be re-use]
a monitor, keyboard + mouse and a 980Ti

[Games & softwares that use frequently]
Adobe softwares

[Personal preferences]
the best parts per his budget

and if he were to increase his budget to 2.5k, what can he get ?

MagnificM
post Oct 26 2016, 01:30 PM

611 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Oct 26 2016, 08:50 AM)
Intel Core i5 6400 - RM 802
Gigabyte B150M-D3H (D4) - RM 379
Kingston 16GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 396
Kingston SSDNow UV400 120GB SSD - RM 190
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 209
Superflower Leadex Silver 550W - RM 339
Tecware Alpha - RM 199

Total: RM 2514 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

For 2k one, you can drop the 8GB RAM, SSD and get a cheaper PSU.
thx bro, another question, what is the best low profile aio cooler that one can get at the market right now ? sweat.gif
MagnificM
post Oct 26 2016, 08:57 PM

611 posts

QUOTE(MagnificM @ Oct 26 2016, 01:30 PM)
thx bro, another question, what is the best low profile aio cooler that one can get at the market right now ?  sweat.gif
thx bro, ill try to look into the mentioned product above thumbup.gif
MagnificM
post Oct 26 2016, 11:15 PM

611 posts

Ok, another friend of mine have this discontinued Cooler Master Extreme Power Plus 500W. He was planning to get a 1060 next yr. Is 500W enough for the 1060 ? if not, ill suggest him to get 1050Ti
MagnificM
post Oct 27 2016, 07:29 AM

611 posts

QUOTE(ayaizafri @ Oct 27 2016, 12:24 AM)
Is this include CPU cooling?
yep, it does come with a stock fan. Dont bother getting an aftermarket cooler, get em only if you're not happy with the temperature of your cpu biggrin.gif
MagnificM
post Oct 27 2016, 11:31 AM

611 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Oct 27 2016, 09:24 AM)
360W max output on 12V rails, so yes this PSU is able to run a single GTX1060 provided you don't have any other high consumption components installed in the rig.

ok, ive checked at a website that the PSU only provide 1 6 pin cabel, if my friend want to get those GTX1060 with a 8 pin connector, he can just get an adapter right ? i mean some 6 pin to 8 pin adapter ? sweat.gif
MagnificM
post Oct 27 2016, 12:47 PM

611 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Oct 27 2016, 11:49 AM)
The TDP for GTX1060 is just 120W and it only requires 1 x 6 pin PCIe power cable, even those cards with the extra 2 pin are also very hard to go beyond this limit. My advise is to play safe, even we know there is a very high chance that the GPU won't be using the extra power from the last 2 pin, it is still better to get something that is compatible with each other.

So it either just stick with 6 pin card or upgrade the PSU and get a 8 pin card (this will double the cost which isn't worth at all).
i see, tq bro, will tell tell him later thumbup.gif
MagnificM
post Oct 30 2016, 10:10 AM

611 posts

QUOTE(casio17 @ Oct 30 2016, 09:26 AM)
Guys, which GTX 1060 got led? The cheapest one is G1 Gaming?
did you mean the RGB lighting ? if yes, those with RGB are these :

- Gigabyte (the gigabyte logo will light up)
- Asus (the branding and the shroud will light up, the ROG logo on the backplate doesn't compared to its bigger brother 1070 and 1080)
- MSI (I think it dont have RGB, but can still change colour which is a static one)

is there any that I've missed ? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by MagnificM: Oct 30 2016, 10:10 AM
MagnificM
post Nov 5 2016, 09:42 AM

611 posts

QUOTE(SnoopyDevil @ Nov 5 2016, 09:34 AM)
Thanks, looks awesome. Will this be able to handle the games i play smoothly at high or even ultra settings? Will there be much performance diff if i opt for the zotac 1060 amp for the extended warranty?
bro, this spec sure can handle high/ultra setting at 1080p, no worries. There is not much difference in FPS among different brands, it all comes down at the aesthetic and the price when you're going to get a graphic card, just go for zotac, 5 years warranty FTW thumbup.gif
MagnificM
post Nov 6 2016, 10:22 PM

611 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Nov 6 2016, 09:52 PM)
I would recommend at least a setup with i5 + GTX1060 for a decent frame rate (60 FPS PCMR standard  laugh.gif ) on high/ultra settings, this will cost you nearly 4k with monitor included.

Intel Core i5 6500 - RM 862
Gigabyte B150M-D3H (D4) - RM 379
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 219
MSI GTX1060 6GB GDDR5 OC - RM 1129
Kingston SSDNow UV400 240GB SSD - RM 296
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 215
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 188
Tecware Alpha - RM 229
BenQ GW2470H - RM 473

woah, where can I get that price for MSI 1060 ? shocking.gif
MagnificM
post Nov 10 2016, 07:46 PM

611 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Nov 10 2016, 05:37 PM)
After poking around some stuff myself... I migth wanna go for the following..

Skylake i5-6600 (about 23% improvement over my current instead of 14% for 6500) - RM952
MSI GTX1060 6GB GDDR5 OC - RM 1129
MSI B150 Gaming M3 - RM552 (is this a good idea?, any improvement over the Gigabyte?)
Casing : Fractal Define R5 - RM469 (the PC will be in our bedroom..)
PSU : BE QUIET! STRAIGHT POWER 10 600W CM 80 PLUS GOLD - RM497

haiz.. as always cannot keep to budget... sweat.gif
woah, that motherboard sure is overpriced for a B150 mobo. Just get a normal B150 is sufficient sweat.gif
MagnificM
post Nov 13 2016, 03:13 PM

611 posts

QUOTE(xhakox @ Nov 13 2016, 01:26 PM)
Hello all,

I have an i5 4440, looking to upgrade my processor into a better i5 or i7.
Planning to sell this + add RM500 to get a new processor.

Which processor can I get with this budget?
why would you want to upgrade ? if you want to upgrade, you have to consider the motherboard as they are on a different chipset board though sweat.gif
MagnificM
post Nov 13 2016, 06:46 PM

611 posts

QUOTE(kun5455 @ Nov 13 2016, 06:40 PM)
hi guys
need recommendation for gc as my hd6950 just dead... only for dota2 1080 full setting.

psu 550 80+
I think a GTX 750Ti is enough for you, it can maxed out dota on FHD
MagnificM
post Nov 13 2016, 10:03 PM

611 posts

QUOTE(kun5455 @ Nov 13 2016, 07:07 PM)
how bout rx460? which 1 is better?

btw im.not sure whether is the card dead or not. As i switch on the pc with dedicated card dvi will detect no signal... Although the fan & everything is moving.
If i boot with integrated display dvi then unplug & plug to dedicated dvi then it work fine.
a 750Ti will serve you well. If you have the money to get a RX460, why not ? regarding your old gpu, im not entirely sure what is the problem sweat.gif

MagnificM
post Nov 18 2016, 10:22 AM

611 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Nov 18 2016, 10:17 AM)
Seperately.

Heck the 500 bucks motherboard i bought only comes with 2 sata cable.... damn cheapskate

Alternatively u can buy a m.2 SSD and slot direct into your mobo (if supported by the mobo)
yeah bro, if someone get an ODD for his/her rig, sure need to get another SATA for the SSD doh.gif
MagnificM
post Nov 30 2016, 07:47 PM

611 posts

QUOTE(mental007 @ Nov 30 2016, 07:39 PM)
sorry might be an out-topic here... just asking can I mix different timings/capacity of RAM together?
For example,
Using Kingston DDR3L + Team Elite DDR3L or Kingston DDR3L + Corsair value DDR3L?

thanks.
i dont think you can, usually, ppl recommend to use RAM with the same speed/timing/. If one of the ram have more speed than the other one, it will downclock itself to the lower speed ram sweat.gif
MagnificM
post Nov 30 2016, 08:59 PM

611 posts

QUOTE(kelvin988 @ Nov 30 2016, 08:56 PM)
Bro, i have the me same  budget with u, sifu here intro me this
*Intel Core i5 6400 - RM 850
ASRock H110M-HDV - RM 245
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 232
Kingston SSDNow UV400 120GB SSD - RM 203
Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDD - RM 205
Corsair VS450 - RM 162
Armageddon T1x - RM 95
GTX 1050 2GB - RM 600
drop the ssd, and you can get a 1050Ti under 2.5k thumbup.gif
MagnificM
post Nov 30 2016, 09:10 PM

611 posts

QUOTE(kelvin988 @ Nov 30 2016, 09:03 PM)
Ssd is my request so the sifu add in haha, btw the 1050TI able to support most of the latest game from medium to high setting?? I saw most of the shop not selling 1050Ti. This desktop plan to use for auto cadd and dota 2 mostly, maybe some medium gaming haha
haha, ssd helps to improve the reading and writing speed of a file. It doesn't improve the performance of a game except its loading time only, a 1050Ti > 960 which currently I'm using, Dota 2 ultra setting can get 100-120FPS, for AAA games can go for a combination from med to ultra setting, depending on your personal preferences for your acceptable gameplay. Witcher 3 can go around 45-55 FPS for high-ultra setting. As 1050Ti is better, for sure no problem icon_rolleyes.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0974sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 05:29 PM