[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V12!

MagnificM
post Jan 15 2017, 10:36 AM

611 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jan 15 2017, 01:30 AM)
How about these?

Core i7-6700 or i7-7700 - 1399/1429
Gigabyte B250M-D3H (4 RAM slots) - 449
Kingston 8GB x2 or 16GB DDR4-2133 x1 (might be slower due to single channel) - 536
Transcend 370 256GB SSD - 424
WD Blue 1TB HDD - 210
Super Flower Leadex Gold 550W - 429
Additional 12cm fan - 25
Thermaltake Versa (pick your model) case - 199

RM3671/3701 total (C-Zone prices)

Optional:
Gigabyte GTX 1050 2GB DDR5 (for CUDA) - +589
well, i think need to avoid 200 series motherboard though, need to use windows 7 for the rig sweat.gif , and do you think worth it to go for a 1060 instead of 1050/1050Ti if have extra money ?
MagnificM
post Jan 15 2017, 11:22 AM

611 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jan 15 2017, 11:10 AM)
Don't worry, it has drivers for Win7.

http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-p...spx?pid=6119#dl

Not too sure about graphic card processing though. I know its CPU > RAM > GPU for graphic design.
Oh, i thought all of the 200 series doesn't support Windows 7 sweat.gif , she'll be using softwares such as 3D SketchUp, Lumion, etc. I think 1050Ti will do good
MagnificM
post Jan 15 2017, 12:04 PM

611 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jan 15 2017, 11:36 AM)
Up to you. You can try without graphic card first though. PSU can handle GTX 1050 Ti easily.
tqvm bro, ill use your quotation as a guide for her thumbup.gif
MagnificM
post Feb 9 2017, 10:09 PM

611 posts

QUOTE(dD_se7en @ Feb 9 2017, 03:17 PM)
CPU - i5-6600
CPU COOLER - Nil
GPU - ZOTAC GTX 1060 MINI 3GB
PSU - Silverstone ST45SF
OS - Win10
MOBO - ASRock H110M-ITX
RAM - Crucial 8GB
STORAGE Nil
CASE - RVZ02

how is this build? is 1060 mini with 3gb sufficient? without CPU cooler ok? anyway to cut budget?
hope sifu can advise.
any non-k/locked processor comes with HSF[Intel stock cooler] inside. Just use it, it'll work just fine
MagnificM
post Feb 15 2017, 03:26 PM

611 posts

Hi, need a recommandation for my friend. His firm need a new pc, solely for 3D Modelling and Rendering. Budget is around 5-6k. Do include a monitor too. Thx
MagnificM
post Feb 15 2017, 05:35 PM

611 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Feb 15 2017, 05:20 PM)
You can refer to the build above (the one with AutoCAD), it will be almost similar unless your friend is planning to get workstation card, GTX1060 is faster than any of the low end Quadro/FirePro card currently, if you friend really want to go for workstation card, it is advised to get those with at least 2k price tag one (like M2000 or wait for Pascal based Quadro card to reach Malaysia first).

As for the monitor, there is ~1k left for it, so it is pretty much up to your friend whether to go "all-in" with 27" IPS 1080p or save the money by choosing a lower end model (24" TN/VA 1080p).
ok2, thx a lot bro, i'll refer to the build above, btw, those spec above, if it is compared to the likes of Dell Precision Workstation 7910/5810, which one will you get in terms of performance, prices and aftersale services sweat.gif
MagnificM
post Feb 16 2017, 12:21 PM

611 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Feb 15 2017, 05:56 PM)
I checked the price of 7910, it starts from $2099, so I think this is already out of your choice right?

Then moving to T5810, there are few configurations found online, price starts from $1199, the specs are nowhere near the specs of a custom rig, I definitely won't fall for it, even with the excellent after sales services from Dell  laugh.gif

$1199 = ~RM 5400

CPU: Xeon E5-1603 v3 2.8GHz (4C4T) vs i7 7700 4.2GHz (4C8T)
RAM: 8GB 2400MHz ECC RAM vs 16GB 2400MHz NON-ECC RAM
GPU: Nvidia NVS 310 1GB vs Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB

Well, custom rig is a no brainer choice  biggrin.gif
I see, tqvm for the well explained informations and suggestions thumbup.gif
MagnificM
post Feb 23 2017, 04:54 PM

611 posts

Need a rig suggestion here

Budget : 6k

Software that will be used : Acad, PS, Lumion

Please include a monitor too, tqvm
MagnificM
post Feb 23 2017, 08:20 PM

611 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Feb 23 2017, 08:09 PM)
Any monitor requirement? Or just a normal 1080p60 panel will do?
So do mATX, you still have spare slots for expansion card, unless you plan to install more expansion card than usual, then that's different story and purpose.

But I don't think this is one of the requirements though, it is not mentioned in the list.
normal 1080p60 will do, ips panel also can, much better for his type of workload
MagnificM
post Feb 23 2017, 11:42 PM

611 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Feb 23 2017, 09:01 PM)
Since PS is in the software list, I decided to go for a high end premium IPS monitor that comes with excellent sRGB (99%) and NTSC (72%) coverage.

Intel Core i7 7700 - RM 1424
Gigabyte H270-HD3 - RM 519
G.SKill Aegis 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 2400MHz RAM - RM 560
Palit GTX1060 6GB GDDR5 Dual - RM 1229 (If it is only for minor Lumion work then you can downgrade this GPU)
Intel 600P 240GB M.2 PCIe NVMe SSD - RM 448
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 219
Superflower Leadex Silver 550W - RM 359
Tecware Alpha - RM 219
Dell U2417H - RM 1019

Total: RM 5996 (ETECH price inclusive of GST)
Alright, TQVM for the quote icon_rolleyes.gif

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0916sec    1.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 05:07 AM