43 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V12!

terence_nwb
post Sep 1 2016, 11:07 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(caprillachen @ Sep 1 2016, 10:10 AM)
My budget is Rm6500, no need monitor. ( Need extreme cooling for my pc because there's no aircobd in my room. Mostly for design and gaming. )
Intel Core i7 6700 - RM 1289
Gigabyte H170-HD3 (D4) - RM 446
Kingston 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 290
Gigabyte GTX1070 8GB GDDR5 G1 Gaming - RM 2299
Samsung 750 EVO 250GB SSD - RM 315
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 209
Superflower Leadex Gold 550W - RM 409
CM Hyper 212X - RM 152
Corsair Carbide 400C - RM 485

Total: RM 5894 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

To max out your budget, you can:
1. Go for OC build (might over budget a bit)
2. Go for GTX1080
3. Get water cooler AIO

terence_nwb
post Sep 1 2016, 01:57 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(najmul @ Sep 1 2016, 12:59 PM)
What if i upgrade to 6700k, or x99 platform, will it be worth it? My hands really itching right now, this is the longest i haven't upgraded my pc Haha
i7 6700K - good choice but if your task isn't that CPU demanding, you won't feel any difference at all.

X99 - enthusiast level, expensive and not worth if you aren't going for 28/40 PCIe lanes environment (more than 2 way SLI/CF etc) or heavy workloads which require or benefit from multicore architecture.

But of course you can still do the upgrade if you have lots of money to spend, I am just speaking for money wise (price/performance ratio).
terence_nwb
post Sep 1 2016, 04:17 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Sep 1 2016, 04:11 PM)
Hello.

Looking at this build you suggested, if I am getting the ASRock H110M-ITX D3 instead of the D4 version, my RAM has to be downgraded to DDR3/DDR3L right? Also, due to the space constrain, do the RAMs need to be low profile, or the normal ones also can?
http://www.kitguru.net/components/motherbo...damage-skylake/

No reason to go or invest in DDR3 anymore when the price of DDR4 RAM is the same as DDR3 now, some of them are even cheaper than DDR3.

Value RAM = low profile RAM unless you are going to install special CPU cooler which may take up certain slot or space of RAM slot.
terence_nwb
post Sep 1 2016, 04:45 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Sep 1 2016, 04:32 PM)
OMG! Didn't know that. I am currently comparing the ASRock H110M-ITX/D4 with the Asus H110I-PLUS DDR4.

Which one do you think is better?
Both having similar features, but Asus one comes with a better board design (at least 2 SATA ports at side vs all 4 at center) and color scheme in my opinion.
terence_nwb
post Sep 1 2016, 05:12 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Sep 1 2016, 05:08 PM)
Cool cool. Besides Kingston, any other (cheaper) DDR4 RAMs you recommend? I am not a brand-conscious fella, as long as the items are reliable, then I am fine.

-edit-

DDR4 low-profile RAMs.
Corsair, Adata, Apacer etc.

Value RAM will do (the one with green PCB exposed).
terence_nwb
post Sep 1 2016, 07:15 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Sep 1 2016, 06:36 PM)
There is a problem with the Asus motherboard. It does not have a slot for wifi module. Aiyohh come on lahh Asus. It's the 21st century now! A slot for wifi module also cannot give mehh???

sweat.gif

sweat.gif
ASRock one (H110M-ITX) also doesn't have, unless you get the AC model but it is not available in Malaysia.

You can always use USB WiFi dongle to connect to WiFi.
terence_nwb
post Sep 1 2016, 07:36 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Sep 1 2016, 07:32 PM)
Ehh ya wohh. I was looking at the D3 model. Sorry, my bad! Is there a reason they did away with the wifi module?
Cut cost.
terence_nwb
post Sep 2 2016, 09:19 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Generalissimo @ Sep 1 2016, 10:48 PM)
just a very quick question. R480 8GB and GTX1060 which is better? or someone can brief a little whats the difference?
GTX1060 - runs faster in DX11/OpenCL games (most of them now) and consumes less power

RX480 - runs faster in DX12/Vulkan games (only few of them but will become mainstream in next few years) but consumes more power

QUOTE(catalan90_V @ Sep 1 2016, 11:33 PM)
Guys wanna ask,

Is there any big different between 850 Evo and UV400/Sandisk SSD which is cost less than RM100++ other than reliability?

already did some googling but still cant decide either to fork up another rm100++ or just save it for another hardware upgrade.

Main use is gaming
Hard to detect or feel any difference in real life usage unless you benchmark both of them.

If only use for gaming (storing games files) then any entry/cheap SSD is fast enough for you to feel the difference between SSD and HDD.
terence_nwb
post Sep 2 2016, 09:26 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Epix @ Sep 1 2016, 11:42 PM)
[Budget] 4k-5k (lower the better) (including monitor)

[Purpose] gaming, programming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] mouse only

[Monitor resolution] 1920x1080 (prefer 144hz)

[Games & softwares that use frequently] dota2, aaa games (programming softwares not known yet)

[Personal preferences] an ssd, corsair air 240/ fractal define nano s for casing

[Location] kl

Is it possible to have a Gtx 1070 for this budget including monitor? Thanks for the help
Corsair Carbide Air 240 has GPU width limitation, please ensure the card can be fitted into this case if you are going to it.

Intel Core i5 6500 - RM 835
ASRock H110M-ITX - RM 315
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 145
Asus GTX1070 8GB GDDR5 Turbo - RM 2100
Kingston SSDNow UV400 140GB SSD - RM 265
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 209
Superflower Leadex Silver 550W - RM 339
Fractal Design Define Nano S - RM 339
BenQ GW2470H - RM 469

Total: RM 5016 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

Optional upgrade:
1. Acer XB240H 144Hz - RM 952
2. Acer Predator XB241H 180Hz GSync - RM 1899
terence_nwb
post Sep 2 2016, 10:47 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Epix @ Sep 2 2016, 10:10 AM)
Thanks! Does the motherboard come with wifi?
Nope, but can be bought separately. USB WiFi dongle will do.

And there is a typo in the build list, the SSD size is 240GB not 140GB.
terence_nwb
post Sep 2 2016, 11:40 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(ms749 @ Sep 2 2016, 10:37 AM)
[Budget] 3.5k -4k (lower the better) (including monitor)

[Purpose] games and work

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Logitech keyboard, Logitech Z623 speakers and some RM50 gaming mouse. That would suffice for now.

[Monitor resolution] 1920x1080 preferably

[Games & softwares that use frequently] only dota2 and many excels and words, movie and internet surfing

[Personal preferences] not really sure cause I'm noob (currently play dota on macbook. Anyway, not sure if wifi card would be included but definitely need that

[Location] KL
Intel Core i5 6402P - RM 707
Gigabyte H110M-DS2 (D4) - RM 276
Palit GTX950 2GB GDDR5 StormX - RM 609
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 209
Corsair VS450 - RM 162
TP-LINK TL-WN722N USB WiFi - RM 45
Tecware F3 - RM 125
BenQ GW2470H - RM 469

Total: RM 2747 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

Optional upgrade:
1. 240GB SSD (or 120GB if only for OS)
2. 16GB RAM (if you deal with many large Excel files)
3. PCIe based WiFi adapter for better stability
4. IPS monitor
5. Other case (your own preferences)

QUOTE(Epix @ Sep 2 2016, 10:54 AM)
Any wifi dongles you would recommend? I've had bad experience with USB wifi dongles. A Dlink on my htpc gives me 0.1mbps....
WiFi is prone to interference, obstacles and many external factors, for optimum connection experience, you are recommended to use ethernet cable.

You can swap to a mobo with onboard WiFi card like Gigabyte H170N-WiFi, but that would cost RM 200+ more.

As for USB dongle, any cheap TP-LINK will do if you are still using single band router (2.4GHz) only, it makes no difference to get dual band when you are being limited by the router itself sweat.gif
terence_nwb
post Sep 2 2016, 02:34 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Ivan Sac @ Sep 2 2016, 01:19 PM)
[Budget] RM1k

[Purpose] Basic use

[Hardwares that will be re-use] None

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Microsoft Office, Internet, AI & Photoshop

[Personal preferences] Currently using SFF Dell which has E8400 processor & 4GB RAM. This spec able to do multitasking and able to run AI & Photoshop CS6 too. Need 2 spec which is better than above spec.One is SFF and another one normal setup. G4400 able to perform better than the spec above right ?

[Location] KL
SFF one is totally out of your budget reach because the casing & mobo price already take more than half of it.

Intel Pentium G4400 - RM 230
Gigabyte H110M-DS2 (D4) - RM 249
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 151
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 225
Standard ATX casing + PSU ~ RM 100

Total: RM 950 (Techview price inclusive of GST)
terence_nwb
post Sep 2 2016, 02:42 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(cyclone9 @ Sep 2 2016, 01:49 PM)
Fractal Design Core 500
Asrock H110M-ITX

looking for computer shop in lowyat which carry both item above ?
Topmaid might have both of them, saw them just restocked FD case few days/weeks ago.

QUOTE(bb100 @ Sep 2 2016, 02:14 PM)
I am currently undecided between a modular PSU and a non-modular one:
Modular: Silverstone SX500-LG
Non-modular: Silverstone Strider Essential ST50F-ES500

Since I do not really care how the inside of the casing looks like (cable design, aesthetics and all), do you think going for a modular PSU is a waste of money?

The non-modular option is slightly larger in size (125 x 63.5 x 130 vs 150 x 86 x 140). Can the extra dimensions fit into the casing? Do you think such a small difference in clearance between the PSU and other parts in the casing will effect cooling much?

Below is the build recommended by terence_nwb, which was modified to suit my needs:
Intel Core i5 6600
ASUS H110I-PLUS
Kingston Value RAM 16GB (2x8GB) 2133MHz
Zotac GTX 1060 3GB Mini
Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Kingston SSDnow UV400 120GB
Silverstone SFX 500W (or ST50F-ES500)
Silverstone RVZ02

Thanks a lot in advance.
RVZ02 requires SFX or SFX-L PSU, that ATX PSU won't fit in the case, I explained before.

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Aug 31 2016, 07:44 PM)
PSU: RVZ02 requires SFX or SFX-L PSU, SFX is more preferred because it is smaller and you can have more space for better cable management. SFX and SFX-L PSU is more expensive than the standard ATX PSU.
Going for fully modular PSU can help you eliminate those unused cables and save some space for better cooling, you don't want to have a cramped up space in your PC right, do you?
terence_nwb
post Sep 2 2016, 04:06 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(ms749 @ Sep 2 2016, 03:41 PM)
Is that like the kind of spec that "maxing out" on Dota2? i.e. should I upgrade the CPU or GPU for a better performance? And what do you mean 120GB for SSD if only for OS?

Sorry for being such a noob. I've only used laptops so far. First time building my own rig.
For 1080p 60FPS yes.

If you play other games too then you can consider upgrading the GPU to a better one, if not it is enough.

Some people get a small size SSD (like 60/120GB) for OS installation only (to improve system boot time and responsiveness by a large margin over HDD), whereas all the other files will be stored in HDD instead to save cost.

terence_nwb
post Sep 2 2016, 04:25 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Generalissimo @ Sep 2 2016, 04:10 PM)
hello im an idiot here. can simplify what is DX11 and DX12? OpenCL and Vulkan?

for normal gaming like Dota 2 and CSGO which is better? i've searching in google but still dont get the meaning LOL

thank you so much first!
Those are multimedia API.

DX11 and DX12 are created and managed by Microsoft and is built into your Windows OS directly, DX12 is Windows 10 exclusive at the moment.

OpenCL/GL is another API that is being used widely to create video games on PC, it existed since a very long time ago.

While Vulkan is the one of the latest graphics API which aims to provide low overhead and cross platform support to the massive gamers out there, the ability of this API has gained significant attention from video game maker and gamers. Doom 2016 already had Vulkan support since last month and guess what, Titan Pascal is able to run this games at max settings 4K UHD 60 FPS without problem at all.

Dota 2 and CS:GO aren't GPU demanding games at all, either Nvidia or AMD will work just fine.

Dota 2 added Vulkan support few months ago and is still under beta tag, it doesn't benefit high end GPU though, mostly low end GPU and laptop for better performance (in terms of FPS).

This post has been edited by terence_nwb: Sep 2 2016, 04:25 PM
terence_nwb
post Sep 2 2016, 05:32 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(zulfadliwahab @ Sep 2 2016, 05:17 PM)
hi, just want to ask coz not found satisfied answer in google, is it worth it to build rig with i5 6600K or i7 6700 pair with GTX1070?
my concern is both proc investment is about a same amount ( i5 6600K + water cooler or i7 6700 + 3rd party air cooler).
If you go for i7 6700, you can actually stick with the provided stock cooler, temperature should be well within the safe range if the airflow is good.

And you need to spend more on the mobo if you go for i5 6600K.

i5 6600K + Z170 + decent CPU cooler - estimated to be around 2.2k+

i7 6700 + H110/B150/H170 + CPU cooler - estimated to be around 1.9k (if you pick H170 and sub-RM 150 CPU cooler, will be much lower if you get B150 and stick with stock cooler)

I will go for i7 > i5 anytime, core clock isn't the only important factors in gaming right now, we've started to see some newer games to utilize and benefit from multicore enabled CPU.
terence_nwb
post Sep 2 2016, 05:47 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Sep 2 2016, 05:44 PM)
If I don't play games, will it matter? Cuz I feel i7 for me will be seriously underutilised.
Depends on your usage, if only normal browsing, watching videos/movies and basic & light tasks then even i3 is enough.

terence_nwb
post Sep 2 2016, 06:08 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Sep 2 2016, 05:50 PM)
Yaya that's what I am thinking too. i5 6600 this processor ok?
i5 6500 worth the most in Skylake Core i5 family due to best price/performance ratio.

But of course the 6600 is also fine, just not that worth if you compare the gain from 6400 to 6500 and 6500 to 6600, the 6600 will become more "premium" in this case.

QUOTE(ms749 @ Sep 2 2016, 06:01 PM)
What about extra cooling system or fan? Do I need that as well? (Dota2 and microsoft office mostly). Thank you for being very helpful! thumbup.gif
Swap to Tecware Alpha case (RM 200+/-) then, it comes with more casing fans which can save you the hassle of buying more casing fans separately to improve the airflow of the rig.

The processor does come with stock CPU cooler so you don't have to get any 3rd party CPU cooler for the time being unless the temperature is not within your comfortable range.
terence_nwb
post Sep 2 2016, 10:00 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(munyen @ Sep 2 2016, 06:15 PM)
Hello sifu sifu, would like to seek advise.
Which MB should I look into if I would take i5 6500 + gtx 1070 + 16gb RAM (8gb x2)
And which casing is in recommendation?
Is Corsair Carbide Spec Alpha recommended??
Thinking about NZXT S340 and Corsair Carbide Spec Alpha.
Depends on your budget and usage, if don't care about form factor, then cheap entry level of H110/B150 mATX mobo should be enough, if you want standard ATX then you can look for H170.

Some examples:

Gigabyte H110M-DS2 (D4)
Gigabyte B150M-D3H (D4)
Gigabyte H170-HD3 (D4)
ASRock H170 Pro4 (D4)

From the 2 casing models you've listed down, it seems like your budget for the casing is around RM 300 - RM 400.

There are other options available too within this budget such as Phanteks Eclipse P400/Enthoo Pro M, CM MasterBox 5, Fractal Design Define S.

If I were to choose one from this list, I will go for Phanteks Eclipse P400 tongue.gif

QUOTE(padeipadei @ Sep 2 2016, 07:27 PM)
[Budget] RM1.5-1.7k

[Purpose] Mid-High Gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] None

[Games & softwares that use frequently] New AAA game

[Personal preferences] Can i get recommendation for both skylake and haswell build ,cause im still unsure which to go for

[Location] KL
Haswell has been phased out since few months ago and Skylake is now 1 year old, while Kaby Lake is due next year (Jan 17) so there is no reason to go for Haswell anymore now, the price is almost the same too.

But your budget is way too low for "mid-high gaming", 1.5k can only fit a duo core G4400 + GTX750Ti, after adding a cheapest 1080p monitor, it will go over 1.8k which is already out of your budget reach sweat.gif

This post has been edited by terence_nwb: Sep 2 2016, 10:02 PM
terence_nwb
post Sep 3 2016, 03:16 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(padeipadei @ Sep 3 2016, 05:13 AM)
Ahh i see ,what if pump it a bit to 2k and only tower as other peripherals already have
Intel Core i3 6100 - RM 470
Gigabyte H110M-DS2 (D4) - RM 276
Palit GTX950 2GB GDDR5 StormX - RM 609
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 209
FSP Hexa+ 450W - RM 166
Tecware F3 - RM 125

Total: RM 2000 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

QUOTE(bb100 @ Sep 3 2016, 03:07 PM)
terence_nwb Bro, the Silverstone RVZ02 does not have a slot for my 3.5-in HDD. So how ehh? Do I have to buy superglue and glue the HDD bracket to the side of the casing then slot the HDD there?

sweat.gif
Which GPU are you going to get? Zotac Mini card should be able to fit a 3.5" HDD alongside with it, there is a slot for you to slot in a 3.5" HDD if your GPU is not > 190mm.

43 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.1139sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:44 PM