The watch thread v13!

fuzzy
post Apr 17 2021, 11:19 AM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(Chinoz @ Apr 17 2021, 11:11 AM)
I salute him for doing the 10 minute buffet though, at a time when everyone is trying to be "exclusive" and playing the hard to get model.
I think Ming has made it clear, as with many of the smaller brands, is that they are not looking at limited edition for the sake of it, rather they can't scale as one might think they will.

People wants that artisan experience and is surprised when it comes with the fact that they can only do so much.

It's like wanting Van Gogh to draw them a Starry Night then gets mad when he can't produce 100 of them a day.

Or like hurling abuse at FP Journe because he can't do more than a handful a year.

I can guarantee you come March, there will be plenty of angry emails demanding their watches.
fuzzy
post Apr 21 2021, 04:20 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

Its just too big for my puny wrist. Else I'd be all over it.
fuzzy
post Apr 21 2021, 04:20 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(Kelvw @ Apr 14 2021, 05:26 PM)
the Overseas does wear a bit bigger due to the integrated bracelet. It flares out too much on my small slim wrist. I've tried it on so many times and had to give it a pass, and I've across the blue dial numerous times before all these crazes for one. But it's fantastic if you have a moderate to big wrist.

UK list has already closed and no longer accepting orders until maybe the orders has been fulfilled, most likely a 6 months opening. It's mad with all the  sudden rush for a sports model.
Btw, I remember you were talking about it, but VC is going to open or has opened a boutique in Pavillion KL.

fuzzy
post Apr 27 2021, 07:25 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(Chinoz @ Apr 27 2021, 04:16 PM)
I'm still not too sure about the new date window, but not like my opinion matters laugh.gif

Tried on the Defy again today - still on the fence on this one.
Maybe if they made it 2mm smaller...
Looks decent sizing though.
fuzzy
post Apr 28 2021, 02:05 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(footie_ft @ Apr 28 2021, 02:04 PM)
Anyone starting a micro brand watches thread? Would be nice to see what micro brand Malaysian's have and can recommend.
Ming cool2.gif
fuzzy
post May 2 2021, 05:56 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(swanlover @ May 2 2021, 10:50 AM)
IWC has got 8 years warranty now ..
Meh, give 10 year also I won't buy that shit.

fuzzy
post May 4 2021, 12:45 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(ellimistx99 @ May 4 2021, 11:59 AM)
Hey guys,

I got an Omega Speedmaster Professional as a gift. However, recently it broke, I think the main spring just broke inside.

When I went to the Omega store, they were asking somewhere around 3 - 4k to get it serviced.

However, I took it to a shop in Starling and they quoted me 1k. I understand that the 3/4k would be full servicing, but are there any decent aftermarket repair shops that I can trust?

My go-to is TSC in USJ. They were one of the more reputable ones in Amcorp before they shift to USJ.
fuzzy
post May 12 2021, 03:26 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(vankodoq @ May 12 2021, 11:14 AM)
Just a curious question, how do you guys see affordable watches?
I'm a relatively new watch enthusiast and to be honest, at first I felt intimidated when people are talking about watch as a hobby
Because from general middle-class point of view, it immediately connects to watches like Rolex, Patek, AP, Omega, and other brands that are largely unaffordable bye.gif

It's not until a friend of mine introduced me to a much more affordable brands, like Seiko or Orient, that I found my interest in watches
Of course in the end I want to have a couple of those atas brands, but since I'm in the hobby, I somehow want to share to the general public that it's not always about the expensive brands icon_idea.gif
They are largely inane items as well, so there's no need to own them to be a fan of them.

How many people can or want to own a lambo or ferarri for everyday use? But that doesn't mean one cannot be a fan of cars or supercars in general and talk about it.

I'm pretty sure we all own sub RM500 watches, in fact one of mine collection is a RM30 that shits proudly beside a figure figure piece. So price is really the last measure an enthusiast use as a benchmark for quality.

My advice is to actually go and try on the watches you think you like, regardless of the price point. You will find there are pieces that is "worth" the big ticket money, there are pieces that is absolutely garbage in your eyes. And just buy what you enjoy.

fuzzy
post May 24 2021, 06:37 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ May 22 2021, 11:58 AM)
Thanks man, it really does make things easier and fair for collectors when they have a time limited offering. Democratic even. Wonder why Ming opted to not do the same this time round though.
They did for the 17.09. The difference is Ming is using a Schwarz-Etienne 330.M1 while Kurono usings the stock standard 90S5 Miyota movement in the Toki.

So movement, parts and customisation is a challenge to Ming while Kurono can focus on the less taxing part of the watch.

Those that opt for the 17.09 open window is only expecting the watch after like 1+ years, which requires a huge faith in Ming and the ability to wait that period out.
fuzzy
post Jul 15 2021, 09:36 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Jul 14 2021, 11:06 PM)
Ah got it :thumbsup: So do you go to alternative person to do the battery change or still go back to auth service center?

Thank for the recommendation, totally forgotten about T-touch series existence and seeing how higher brand going into it as well.

Its being a while I left this hobby but was able to see plenty of changes over the years laugh.gif
Don't come back bro. Haha.
fuzzy
post Jul 16 2021, 01:49 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jul 16 2021, 12:21 PM)
seiko astron...back when u could get them for rm5k or so...now probably rm7-8k...
so yes dont come back... tongue.gif
u know market has gone mad when a 6694 also is rm10k...vintage airkings at rm20k...
Were the 6694's at like 6k not too long ago?

fuzzy
post Jul 19 2021, 01:15 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(Chinoz @ Jul 19 2021, 01:01 PM)
One shows both the day and date, while the other is just date.
Also the price tongue.gif
fuzzy
post Sep 18 2021, 05:13 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

Was outside when I got a call that I had a package.

Came home to a huge surprise, and a huge box, from Omega. Can't imagine this level of customer care with many brands these days.

fuzzy
post Sep 24 2021, 12:39 AM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

NWA. Straight out of lembah klang...

fuzzy
post Sep 24 2021, 05:21 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(r3kahsttub @ Sep 24 2021, 04:37 PM)
DigiFriYay:

Hows the visibility on this?

I tried it on one of the colourways, holy cow I can barely see much.
fuzzy
post Oct 2 2021, 10:36 AM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

Finally taking this for a ride.

fuzzy
post Oct 29 2021, 02:23 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Oct 29 2021, 11:37 AM)
I just whacked a Santos hahaha doh.gif

now looking at Reverso too  tongue.gif
where is wrist shot tax? where!?

I wanted a reverso for the wifey, but macheim too big for her so the excuse is gone sad.gif
fuzzy
post Oct 29 2021, 04:54 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Oct 29 2021, 04:52 PM)
I see ada some small small reverso ler... my wife suka also but price not so

frankly, I have not open up the Santos after I bought it
haven't size also ...
Got, but still pretty thiccboi because of the nature so tak suka.

fuzzy
post Oct 29 2021, 06:08 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Oct 29 2021, 05:55 PM)
Knowing him, its likely a g-shock of some kind, same like last year's budget when he wore the GA 900 2 ADR. Waiting for clearer pics.
It's a g-shock. He stopped wearing his expensive pieces the moment he became a minister as he knows the perception is bad.
fuzzy
post Oct 29 2021, 06:57 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(alternativehype @ Oct 29 2021, 06:40 PM)
Ok lah then, I also want to start wearing my G-Shock in day-to-day office. If boss ask why so juvenile, I'll say FM also wear...

Nowadays, feel very uneasy wearing nice watches. I feel like, there are many people suffering out there no makan yet I'm here flashing a shiny time piece...
Later get robbed also not so pain.

Good thing my pieces doesn't stand out so no one notice. Closest is someone asking me if the BB58 is the seiko 007...

25 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.1427sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:49 PM