QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 1 2022, 03:02 PM)
Time ramen cooking 😋The watch thread v13!
The watch thread v13!
Apr 1 2022, 03:22 PM
7,106 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Apr 1 2022, 03:54 PM
Apr 2 2022, 10:03 AM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(discretesound @ Apr 2 2022, 09:34 AM) Thanks. Some good point there. Speedy's always a classic. A strap monster too. Had a chance to try out last night, leaning towards the Speedy, but will have a few sleeps to think about it. Dislike the ceramic seamaster. The wave dial makes it too busy. [/IMG]But like someone said, can't compare it to a diver, so it's more personal preference. Seamaster is a GADA piece, but I went for the speedy as well over the Seamaster last time. |
Apr 2 2022, 12:38 PM
Yea, the low WR has never been an issue for me as well.
For swimming or seaside session, I have my divers and for the usual mundane day to say stuff, the moonwatch can handle it just fine. A few splash of water does it no harm unless you decide to go depress the buttons in running water or something. But yea, it depends on what are you planning to use the watch for and which catches you eye more. |
Apr 11 2022, 04:09 PM
QUOTE(waka14 @ Apr 11 2022, 03:04 PM) how do you guys normally wear your watches? the ones i got on the bracelet are comfortable, but as i walk to work and start sweating, they slide down to the bone...there are days i feel that bracelet straps are not suitable for our weather hahaha.....geng pls feel free to input sikit, tq geng Just change the straps bro.That's the fun part about watches also. waka14 liked this post
Oct 14 2022, 04:24 PM
QUOTE(ChnKngYp @ Sep 30 2022, 12:52 AM) Just bought a Swatch Sistem51 yesterday. So far it's keeping good time +/- 1s checked at various times. Would you wear a cheap plastic Swiss automatic? Considering Seiko 5 is significantly cheaper. Liddis? rx330 liked this post
Nov 14 2022, 03:03 PM
Dec 22 2022, 12:14 PM
Go to any Swatch shop, it's free. I just did yesterday for my 15yo Swatch. ffrozz liked this post
Dec 23 2022, 12:33 PM
Dec 23 2022, 08:01 PM
Dec 31 2022, 06:14 PM
I'm targeting the green Seamaster, one was offered but I didn't felt it was the right time to take it up.
Dec 31 2022, 07:05 PM
QUOTE(ck77 @ Dec 31 2022, 06:56 PM) I've cut down my watch purchases so it's okay la. Might cop a GS also if I see one I like. thomasyke liked this post
Jan 1 2023, 12:26 PM
QUOTE(Jason @ Dec 31 2022, 11:58 PM) GS has a dizzying array of watches and their website makes it hard to navigate. Maybe it’s just me. People usually call it by the nicknames la which I have absolutely no clue about.And it’s just model numbers instead of proper names? I feel the way the Swiss categorize watches makes more sense. My plan is just go see, put a few one if one catches my fancy I'd buy. I still am hoping they will have a 38mm SD at a reasonable price, but so far I see most is at 40mm size which I personally feel is big to be a dress piece. |
Jan 3 2023, 05:06 PM
QUOTE(ck77 @ Jan 3 2023, 01:57 PM) That's a great piece right there. ck77 liked this post
Jan 27 2023, 11:58 AM
QUOTE(QuickFire @ Jan 27 2023, 11:38 AM) Yeah I want to the GS in sunway. Can get 10-15% off. But there is no stock for the SBGY007 Omiwatari - apparently wait times are 2-3 months with a 30% deposit required. Hard to believe it's come to the state where even GS needs wait times. Got a little fed up as I was told previously by them that I could get it in 1-2 weeks' time. Got discount, but stock might not be as plentiful.This kind of swayed me a bit to look at the Cartier Santos medium or large automatic. I see it's in stock on the website. Does anyone know if Cartier offers any discount in store? Thanks. I think I wanted the solar beat and there was a waiting time so I moved on. |
Jul 20 2023, 09:31 PM
Jul 28 2023, 02:32 PM
Look at all these liars talking about exit watches 😛 Jason liked this post
Aug 23 2023, 11:45 AM
QUOTE(Jason @ Aug 22 2023, 06:43 PM) Well he did say “right now….” I'm failing in my quest to poison my SO on the Cartier. But she seems to start to be keen on the DJ, although I suspect because it's a Rollie.After he get endgame watch, then will have another endgame watch. Like MCU, got parallel universe. Never ending. I was eyeing GS with that pink flake dial, but rocking it with t-shirt and jeans feels very out of place for me. Then Cartier Tank Must came to mind, can’t seem to shake it. But now everyday also rocking SMPc300 diver with folding clasp on rubber. First time wearing watch on rubber (excluding G-shock) and homaigod it’s so good. If I knew it was *this* good I won’t bother buying the watch with bracelet. |
Sep 8 2023, 01:51 PM
QUOTE(Jason @ Aug 23 2023, 03:26 PM) Rollie is so... meh It's the "never wrong choice", which makes it so ubiquitous. Lack of..character. As much as I feel my vintage DJ with its acrylic crystal and tapestry dial is full of character, end of the day it is just another DJ. If anything, Cartiers are more uncommon. Ballon Bleu would be quite nice for a lady. Classy. An acquaintance have one on a red leather strap. Looks classy and sophisticated on her. And she was beautiful so that helped a lot. QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Sep 7 2023, 09:49 PM) Funny you mentioned Cartier… I showed my wife Cartier Dumont medium one time, she said it was nice but if she had the chance she’d preferred the DJ with the fluted bezel for some reason, maybe even an OP silver dial Heart wants what it wants haha.I'm trying again see how lo. |
Sep 19 2023, 12:27 PM
QUOTE(IMAX @ Sep 17 2023, 02:32 AM) where is the best place to purchase Tudor? Swiss Connection seems like offering lower than retail price, not sure about AD offering any discount? Not much difference. discount is based on model so see which one you are planning to get.QUOTE(jackhammer84 @ Sep 19 2023, 12:08 PM) Curious question for everyone here: Has anybody moved away from smartwatches and gone back to mechanical watches? Why did you do it and how was your experience like with that transition? Are you still tracking your fitness and how? I used to double-wrist with a MiFit or whatever you call it, but I realised I don't even use it for anything despite it tracking sleep, steps, HR etc... And the worse part is it had this digital creeping effect on me, that something isn't right when its not buzzing with message alerts or sometimes I keep getting phantom message syndrome.I've bought my first mechanical watch, a Montblanc Timewalker Chronograph UTC, when I hit a life milestone back in 2014 or so. Loved it to bits. And then I got bit by the Apple Watch bug. I bought Gen 2, and then upgraded to Gen 4 and have been using that ever since, while my mechanical watch just sat in its box untouched. Now I feel like I'm just tired with the Apple Watch. Realized I don't use much of the smart features except for fitness tracking when I'm working out. And I'm kinda tired staying hyperconnected with all the notifications etc. I have my phone for that and I seriously need to reduce the "digital noise" around me. Maybe it's also because I'm in IT and I'm a huuge tech nerd who's constantly dealing with tech, and now I really feel a need to draw a line somewhere. I suddenly feel "too much tech" is a thing now. Or maybe it's just me aging LOL. So, for the past 2 weeks, I did an experiment. I took out my old mechanical from its box, wound it up and wore it around daily to see whether I can get used to it again. Now I'm back in love. Things are waaaaay more peaceful, I don't feel a need to be super reactive to digital noise, and the feeling that there's something alive on my wrist ticking away is really something that a smartwatch cannot replace. I loved it so much so that I'm now looking to add one more mechanical soon. As for the Apple Watch, I'm still using it when I'm working out and when I'm sleeping (for sleep tracking). Although I'm thinking of getting something that is less obtrusive for fitness tracking, so that I can wear together with my mechanical without looking weird So back to my question above - wondering if anybody has had any similar experiences. Aaand if you have any suggestions for "minimalist"/less obtrusive fitness tracking alternatives too So I just ditched it completely and went back to mechanical watches as I don't see any benefits of a smartwatch to me. For alternative, I know a lot of people are looking at whoop or the ring, but i think a mifit would do well as long as you avoid linking it to alerts. |
| Change to: | 0.0362sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:49 PM |