It's Tuesday my dudes... Somehow I like those scars developing I'm the acrylic ...
The watch thread v13!
Dec 1 2020, 02:38 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
7,106 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Dec 8 2020, 04:05 PM
QUOTE(thxxht @ Dec 4 2020, 03:41 PM) Erm, haven't really checked. It has been in pools a good few times, but its certainly not my main choice when i need a piece near water. I certainly don't go diving with it, but I don't really baby it if it happens to be on my wrist near water. |
Dec 8 2020, 05:46 PM
That Thong Sia LE?
Dec 8 2020, 10:53 PM
QUOTE(r3kahsttub @ Dec 8 2020, 09:48 PM) ![]() I am perhaps quite boring, after all. Not the LE; decided to keep it safe and go for black... again. Then again, they don't make it in black anymore, at least not with the sapphire bezel. Only in blue (SBGJ237) or green (SBGJ239), both which are 36,000 hi-beat and with the former on bracelet and latter on strap. They have the more interesting bezel, but I really wanted something with Spring Drive sweep. ![]() |
Dec 9 2020, 09:55 AM
QUOTE(r3kahsttub @ Dec 9 2020, 01:48 AM) Um, they have such a thing. Its called the Snowflake SBGA211. It has the same RRP as my watch, and is sold with some discount. Yes, it is also available. I hope your wallet is ready ;-) I've been eyeing that for longest time. I have small wrist i feel, so 41mm for a dress watch feels inelegant if you catch my drift. If its like 38mm, would have been mine loong ago. |
Dec 9 2020, 01:36 PM
Dec 24 2020, 12:57 AM
QUOTE(Chinoz @ Dec 9 2020, 06:15 PM) Haha.. unfortunately...I also have a last pickup for 2020 that shall kill my hunger for awhile. Some work to be done on it though, given its as old as me and my body is breaking down as heck... ![]() sniper on the roof liked this post
Dec 24 2020, 12:30 PM
Jan 5 2021, 11:29 PM
Jan 6 2021, 01:23 AM
QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Jan 6 2021, 12:08 AM) So this one will be on the anti magnetic silicon hairspring train n catching up with all their other movements la eh? Hmmm I wonder what the actual price is gonna be like at retail. RRP for the hesalite is now 25.8k....I remember being quoted 16.8k for the previous iteration, mid of last year. How much discount room do we have to wiggle with, the same 20%? Less than that these days Even lesser if you masuk boutique. |
Jan 11 2021, 04:44 PM
QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Jan 10 2021, 10:37 PM) Not yet, my SO had recently gifted me a 10pc box so I would need to come up with a polite excuse to replace it Just say it's a gift from another female colleague.I do have an eye on the rapport optic eight - the wood grain appears to be ash, similar to one of my guitars, of which I'm quite fond of. She jeles then will buy you even better one. |
Jan 15 2021, 11:56 PM
Jan 23 2021, 10:55 PM
QUOTE(TomYummy @ Jan 23 2021, 03:51 PM) That is horrible. But I did read horrible experiences not only here but from other sources. That story is unfortunately more common than not. For a lot of the sellers or AD's, they simply don't need your business. Why would they bother to sell to someone they don't know a Sub, when they can find a waterfish that have no issue buying 40-50k of other high margin brands in order to get a Sub?I am planning to get my first Rolex watch in the near future. Now, after i put the work, effort, saving up the money into making one of my dreams to have a Rolex watch come true, i will get treated like sh*t and denied to make the purchase because some nonsense reason "we have the good stuff you are looking for, but you are not the right customer we are waiting for"? I do not like that, I'd trash the person on the spot. So unfortunately thats where the situation is. My dealer have shown me China folks that come in and spunk 30k on a Cartier just because there was nothing else he fancies to buy anymore from the place... He's top of the list to get whatever he wants. I've also seen people spunking 100k on a Hautlence as a favour to the dealer, so guess who gets a Daytona within weeks of request? |
Jan 25 2021, 06:31 PM
QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Jan 25 2021, 01:47 PM) Most of us here knows how it works but we don’t want to jump through hoops or build a “relationship” with the AD. Yea.. It's like saying you can easily earn money but whoring out your body. Not really a secret, but why would you need to go down that path for what essentially is a meaningless antique technology.Take the poster above that you replied to. He counts a Patek Philippe 5711 and Paul Newman dial Daytona in 18k Gold among his collection. Most of us have been collecting for decades and are amused by the amount of hype on these watches in recent years. |
Jan 25 2021, 11:22 PM
The way it's going, even the Speedy will soon be a 30-40k piece.
Given the new Zenith EP pushing it at 40k, Omega just need a couple of tweak to play the same game. |
Jan 30 2021, 06:28 PM
QUOTE(Everdying @ Jan 29 2021, 04:53 PM) wouldn't really call it spillover effect... as they have been selling since the bond smp300 days... Yep, the fact is Omega can do their usual new speedy LE and still sells them out says a lot about the fanbois around.there are also of cos omega fanbois, tho mostly in US / EU as they don't really care too much about what's on the other fellas wrist I asked about the new Snoopy, the boutique told me they don't expect to get any in the near future. |
Feb 1 2021, 01:09 PM
QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Jan 30 2021, 10:34 PM) Better to get the Ed White Speedmaster reissue than the Snoopy. The Ed White is equipped with a 321 movement. Imagine getting the original Moonwatch movement but in a modern current model. Not a fan of the sapphire nor the caseback. My base workhorse speedy covers most of the aspect I do like about a speedy.If I was still collecting watches, I would buy the reissue 321 in steel in a heartbeat. The snoopy, if ever I get a chance, will be something more fun to complement it. Ed white adds nothing to this for me. |
Mar 12 2021, 07:33 PM
Apr 3 2021, 07:39 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(subrok007 @ Apr 2 2021, 11:26 PM) hey guys, which brand of the following are worth to invest and nice to wear? Invest? None. Most watches don't make their money back, get that clear if you are considering it as one.Jaeger LeCoultre, IWC Longines, or any suggestion? Thanks Nice wise, I like the JLC Reverso. IWC's meh in my view and Longines only know how to go back to their catalogue and somehow mess it up. |
Apr 17 2021, 10:54 AM
QUOTE(Chinoz @ Apr 16 2021, 09:52 PM) I passed on this one - I have enough simple 3-handers already haha. It starts delivery on March, not by March so there might be more waiting still.Look forward to seeing wristshots 12 months later That was playing in my mind when I opted out. Those who are buying the first batch of around 300? is looking at October for delivery. So that's a lead time of about 6 months. Now the open window had about 2000 pieces so I'm wondering can do so it all by March, if the lead time for 300pcs is already 6 mths. But not bad, 10mins got them 20mil revenue lol. |
| Change to: | 0.1141sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:46 PM |