The watch thread v13!

Chinoz
post Apr 4 2021, 05:46 PM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(subrok007 @ Apr 2 2021, 11:26 PM)
hey guys, which brand of the following are worth to invest and nice to wear?

Jaeger LeCoultre,
IWC
Longines,

or any suggestion?

Do you already have an existing collection, or will this be your first piece?
Do you have a style preference - bigger, smaller, louder, quieter watches etc?

Agree with fuzzy in that none of these brands are considered investments.
Watch collecting is primarily a hobby.
Chinoz
post Apr 8 2021, 06:55 PM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(r3kahsttub @ Apr 7 2021, 04:46 PM)
That 5711 was already "leaked" some months back, but rumoured to be in Ti. Surprised this one in steel. Regardless, it will be very unobtainable. Nothing else W&W exciting for me so far, and also... won't be able to get.

Went ahead to just tick this one off my list.

Definitely didn't see that coming. Wear it in good health rclxms.gif
Chinoz
post Apr 13 2021, 06:28 PM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

Tried on something different today - I'm surprised by how much I like it sweat.gif

Chinoz
post Apr 14 2021, 12:59 PM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(funfunfun @ Apr 14 2021, 08:43 AM)
I heard Singapore has 1 year waiting list now for blue dial 4500v..

Actually even late 2019, Cortina KLCC has 3 months waiting list for 4500v

Source: I have one
Didn't realise it's so hotstuff now.
I tried on a fiftysix yesterday (please excuse the poor lighting) and it fit much better than the Overseas.
They had an ultra-thin Overseas PC on display too and that was a real beauty.

QUOTE(jflee169 @ Apr 14 2021, 08:46 AM)
What model is this? How much?
Zenith Defy Ceramic I think is the full name.
$11k AUD before discount.

Chinoz
post Apr 14 2021, 04:35 PM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

Hopefully someday they introduce a 39mm overseas for chicken-wristed people like me laugh.gif
Chinoz
post Apr 14 2021, 11:04 PM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

Way too dainty. Here's a side-by-side.

Chinoz
post Apr 15 2021, 06:18 AM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Apr 15 2021, 12:16 AM)
Eh but actually la kan, I'd say that 37mm looks alright la on ur wrist, quite ngam. Is it that it doesn't sit right because the lug-to-lug dimensions tak kena or the way the strap is attached to the case?  The 41 does look a tad overwhelming.
The dial felt small (too much bezel maybe?) And the thickness to case diameter ratio felt off.
I suppose that's also the thing with fixed lugs - it either fits you or it doesn't, no middle ground.

RO37 for comparison, seated in the same position.

Chinoz
post Apr 15 2021, 02:55 PM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 15 2021, 01:14 PM)
still not there yet to appreciate VS
but hor the 37 RO looks right at home there, so nice....
tat is the 15450 ar?
Yes, 15450. The lug-to-lug ngam ngam fit, I think it's meant to be haha.
I really love the side profile and how flush it sits, but I guess that comes at a cost of shitty water resistance.

QUOTE(jas029 @ Apr 15 2021, 02:39 PM)
very nice..

understand this model is only 41mm in diameter, around 11mm thickness and 45mm lug-to-lug.. so it probably is not as 'blocky'?

apart from the diameter, measurements are much 'smaller' than the OG Tudor BB 58 (which itself was termed as one of the few best size for smaller wrist)

just an observation through the measurements, haven't actually tried it myself though

where did bro tried the watch ah? available locally?
The rubber strap was also very soft and supple, so it didn't have the flaring issue as an Oysterflex. But for small wrists, I think the clasp might be an issue in trying to get it to sit centred.

I like what they did with the date window - subtle but effective.

I'm based in Aus, but it didn't feel like a difficult watch to get - they were quite willing to discount too.

Chinoz
post Apr 15 2021, 09:16 PM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Apr 15 2021, 09:04 PM)
Gawdammit, 9pm sharp n click buy also still kena sold out?! Ming oh ming...
I have a feeling we're gonna see a server meltdown from 9-910 tomorrow laugh.gif
Chinoz
post Apr 16 2021, 11:41 AM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 16 2021, 11:19 AM)
if my wrist can fit both 15450 n 15500
which model would be a better purchase ar? the price difference so little (retail)

26331 n 26315 anybody know the retail? tat one seems exp
Which design you prefer? The 450 and 500 looks and feels very different, with the 450 more classic and 500 more modern.

Also one thing to note - I don't think the 450 can take a 7+inch wrist. Iirc I only removed 2 links to fit 6.5".

Dial
I prefer the 450's balanced dial. 500 just looks like a dinner plate.
I also found the 500's minute track outside of the tapisserie a very lazy effort.
And I don't like the 500's skeletonised seconds hand.

Case
450 is thinner.

Movement
500 is better. You also see more of the movement due to how they carved out the rotor. And I really like how the AP stands out on the rotor.

450 rotor displays the founding family's coat of arms, which again rolls back to my comment on the classic vibe. The cal 3120 also has a longer proven service record.

---

No right or wrong - size aside, they're both different enough.

The chronos are both rm100+k - not sure exactly how much as I never looked into it.

This post has been edited by Chinoz: Apr 16 2021, 11:43 AM

Chinoz
post Apr 16 2021, 09:06 PM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Apr 15 2021, 10:22 PM)
I have a feeling I'm gonna see u post "I told u so" t'row đŸ¤£đŸ¤£đŸ¤£ alahai kekecewaan
Looks like server didn't crash. Hope you got your order in!
Chinoz
post Apr 16 2021, 09:52 PM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Apr 16 2021, 09:33 PM)
Hohoho ini kali lah! Finally got thru đŸ¤£đŸ¤£đŸ¤£

Did u also put an order in?
I passed on this one - I have enough simple 3-handers already haha.

Look forward to seeing wristshots 12 months later thumbup.gif
Chinoz
post Apr 17 2021, 11:11 AM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Apr 17 2021, 10:54 AM)
But not bad, 10mins got them 20mil revenue lol.
I salute him for doing the 10 minute buffet though, at a time when everyone is trying to be "exclusive" and playing the hard to get model.
Chinoz
post Apr 24 2021, 01:21 PM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 24 2021, 11:20 AM)
fren tried, they not very layan hahaha
and I dont think he was even asking for a 15202

I know how the game is played, dont think they will layan me for a 15202 hahaha
I see SG side can get the 450 or 500 or not, but pricing higher a bit
I help you add oil.

Chinoz
post Apr 24 2021, 07:30 PM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Apr 24 2021, 03:26 PM)
I love this color better than blue. It’s more lively.
Quite a different personality - less pop, but a more muted, industrial look.

Only issue is that under certain lighting, the dial blends in with the hands and you can't really tell the time.
But I guess there's the iPhone for that laugh.gif
Chinoz
post Apr 26 2021, 05:47 PM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(swanlover @ Apr 26 2021, 05:15 PM)
One of the reason I keen on AP is due to its intergrated Bracelet. They promised will allocate for me, but it looks like they are changing their strategic , keeping all the RO to bundle with 11.59 purchase? I dunno..
Double-edged sword - the bracelet gets micro-scratches just from the wind blowing at it cry.gif
Chinoz
post Apr 27 2021, 04:16 PM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(r3kahsttub @ Apr 27 2021, 02:40 PM)
One of those can see, cannot buy types. Ah well.

I'm still not too sure about the new date window, but not like my opinion matters laugh.gif

Tried on the Defy again today - still on the fence on this one.
Maybe if they made it 2mm smaller...

Chinoz
post Apr 27 2021, 09:03 PM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Apr 27 2021, 07:25 PM)
Looks decent sizing though.
The bottom lug is overhanging ever so slightly.
Chinoz
post Apr 30 2021, 04:28 PM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Apr 29 2021, 06:58 PM)
Audemars Service Center in Singapore is going to be permanently closed. Any idea on whether if they will start sending our watches to Hong Kong to be serviced from now on?

That's a real bummer. AP sub-contracts service to a 3rd party watchmaker here in Sydney. I was secretly hoping I could do a dial swap in SG sometime in the future, being a full-fledged APSC.
Chinoz
post Apr 30 2021, 06:11 PM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Apr 30 2021, 05:03 PM)
I heard dial swaps are allowed for non-blue dials. You can go from white to black or grey to white but never to blue.
I was thinking at least 5-10 years down the track, when I send it in for a service. Blue hype might have died down by then, who knows.

Will check in again with you guys as a data point when the time comes laugh.gif

9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.1306sec    0.90    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:04 PM