10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Lowyat Net - Proton Persona 2016 - Official Thread, Its New, Its Refined, Its Safe ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

zero5177
post Nov 5 2016, 10:44 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,553 posts

QUOTE(yunghui @ Nov 5 2016, 04:00 PM)
Which outlet provide manual unit for test drive?
Atiara, look for Alvin Tham
zero5177
post Nov 7 2016, 08:18 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,553 posts

Guys, I'm on my 1000 km service, is it ok to service the car at Puchong service centre? or just directly book for COSE?
zero5177
post Nov 7 2016, 08:20 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,553 posts

QUOTE(Kesh1018 @ Nov 7 2016, 07:33 PM)
How's the car so far? Planning to buy this, but past experiences with Proton is giving me a knockback.

Any issues so far with the car?

How's the QC? Would love some advises from the current owners?
Like many says, minor problem like dashboard rattling noise only.. meanwhile for MT, many is not satisfied with its low end torque below 2k rpm.. Mine I do find slight wind noise at driver side door above 90km/h
zero5177
post Nov 7 2016, 08:39 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,553 posts

QUOTE(Kesh1018 @ Nov 7 2016, 08:24 PM)
How noticeable is the dashboard rattling? What's COSE BTW?
For my car, you have to pay attention to notice that rattling noise, it happens when you going on an uneven road at low speed like say 40km/h.. its at passenger side.

COSE is proton service centre at Subang Jaya... should be the largest one. Many people prefer service their car there instead of some authorized service centre.
zero5177
post Nov 7 2016, 09:15 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,553 posts

MT Drivers: did any of u experience sudden rev of engine to 1.5k RPM for like 2 seconds after you clutch and free the gears while your vehicle still moving?
zero5177
post Nov 7 2016, 11:14 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,553 posts

QUOTE(Musikl @ Nov 7 2016, 10:03 PM)
My iriz 1.6 mt premium does. Same engine as persona, and prolly gearbox too. I read on fb group says its normal..
Hmm... wondering what's that for... since its normal mayb I shouldn't worry about it
zero5177
post Nov 8 2016, 09:34 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,553 posts

QUOTE(tat3406 @ Nov 8 2016, 09:04 AM)
I sent to Puchong service centre, you need do booking in advance. Long waiting time that day I went because too many car queue up.
QUOTE(cktang @ Nov 8 2016, 10:39 AM)
Puchong branch sc u need to go weekday as early as 8am in the morning, once go in u need to put your service book at the registrations table at the entrances, normal service will took only Went twice to this branch, they are helpful and solve my car problems. COSE are big but there are too many peoples waiting, go there look see the facility and car pameran only never do car repair.
I booked 10am at COSE, from my understand of what you guys said, the queue of service sounds like first come first served? Means if my service schedule at 10am, by that time my car very long queue already?

In a case like this can drop my service book at 8am instead?

QUOTE(Chinifity @ Nov 8 2016, 11:18 AM)
yes, but jus happened recently, my car ald ran for 2500km++, nt everytime the RPM will rise whn free gear, jus sometimes, 1 day will encounter 2-6 times i think
Hmm... wondering what's the purpose of this... should we raise this complain to service centre?
zero5177
post Nov 8 2016, 09:36 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,553 posts

QUOTE(Chinifity @ Nov 8 2016, 11:22 AM)
did u mention the problems to SC? especially the slow react of engine torque below 2k rpm, i wonder what will they solve for u or mayb jus said everything is fine dry.gif
My appointment at this Saturday, probably going to let them know this... abit annoyed to go from start after clutch release the car like suddenly "lazy mode" a while
zero5177
post Nov 8 2016, 10:05 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,553 posts

QUOTE(Jetz212 @ Nov 8 2016, 04:46 PM)
Just did my 1st servicing today . Send in at 930, done at 1100. The following are task being done :
Procare basic svc
Fuel lid fix ( as per memo)
Front case bolt under torque svc fix (as per memo)
Pillar padding ordered (pending, was told will arrive in 2-3 weeks time)
Ecu reset (was told there's no fix yet for MT power drop issue)

Anyone find that the clutch biting point is too high? I have to release around 3/4 for it to catch on. Was told by SC clutch cannot be adjusted, only brake can. Is that right?

So far so good only issue is the 3 years free service not reflected on the system. Got to follow up with dealer on this issue.
Hi, do you care to explain a bit about what these changes "as per memo" does to the car?
And what pillar padding is for? wind noise ?

Yes, I do feel the clutch biting point is a bit high, but easily get used to it after driving for some time..
zero5177
post Nov 9 2016, 09:03 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,553 posts

QUOTE(anthraxxxx @ Nov 9 2016, 08:45 PM)
I am currently considering Persona Manual transmission. Anybody using MT care to share their experience? How is the fuel consumption? Asked for a MT unit to be test driven, but they said they only have Premium Unit.
FC Report for Persona MT
2nd tank brought me 486km from full tank till last bar. current mileage about 850km

FC reading in average according to meter = 6.1l/100km

actual calculation got me 14.7km/l or 6.8l/100km

MT driving is good, gear ratios is designed for spirited drive + comfy drive due to 1-4 gear are short and close ratio while 5th gear has pretty tall gear ratio cruising at 110km got me around 3.1k rpm based on meter.

So far MT complain from this forum are low end torque is sluggish, for acceleration better keep RPM above 2k.. still waiting for Proton fix on this... Hopefully some 1.6MT Iriz driver can give some view on this
zero5177
post Nov 9 2016, 10:15 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,553 posts

QUOTE(cktang @ Nov 9 2016, 12:35 PM)
COSE i never sent car repair before, i follow my colleague go there around 12 something weekday, the center are very big but the waiting area are full of peoples. Passby to look see the facilities only going back from shah alam.

I went puchong branch last month Tuesday morning 7 something, there are a stool in front like few peoples waiting ady while seeing all the workers coming in, 8am sharp the door open, put your service book on the cd rack at the entrance table, then the lady will call your plate number accordingly ask u service only or repair problem. Then the sa will call u and follow u to see your car and u can tell him what's the problem ur car having. Then the rest is waiting until your car ready, there are more and more peoples coming in between while waiting my car to be fixed. Mine like took 1 hours to fix got water drop to my left foot problem but couldn't fix the dashboard rattling (Go home time no more but came back the other day)  ranting.gif . They will explain to u what they fix and what pending if they need to order the parts upon handing ur car. My advice is take the earliest booking time and be an early bird to get your car problem fix.

My cvt dont have power drop problem, but quite jerky when drive below 20km/hr random braking when traffic jam. Hit 160km/hr first time the other day, the stock tire not sticky enough so scare to press faster. After 1 of the back tyre kena paku and tampal back, now feel very bumpy when go uneven road, think need to sent for balancing this weekend, mileage 2700km only.
Noted, Guess I'll head COSE at 8... even my schedule booked at 10am... hopefully they are able to come with some fix for low end torque power drop for MT,
Wind noise at driver door and the dashboard rattling... mayb will report them on the sudden engine rev to 1.5k rpm when switching to free gear while car is moving

zero5177
post Nov 9 2016, 11:23 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,553 posts

Anyone changed the car horn to a better one?

The horn sound like ciput motorbike horn binn binnn

Heard my SA say the risk of voiding warranty is lesser, but he still don't recommend me to change incase warranty void I go blame him biggrin.gif
zero5177
post Nov 10 2016, 12:28 AM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,553 posts

QUOTE(cktang @ Nov 10 2016, 12:06 AM)
The 'bin bin' sound actually quite loud ady, try open window and press the horn. My old persona changed before bosch twin snail horn rm 45 only. That one if u horn the walking peoples from behind, u going to scare them to jump up. Got 2 brand bocsh or hella under rm 50 can buy online or sparepart shop then pay 15 to tyre shop to pasang. Dun go accessories shop they will say need to add relay bla bla and charge u around 200 bucks.
Ya ya the binn binn is loud, just that the tone of the sound is like motor horn sound... don't sound so convincing to me... like the car suddenly become so chaplang... even Proton are often labelled to be chaplang to begin with sweat.gif

I used the twin snail horn of bosch on my Iswara, and that's a good tone to me laugh.gif
Just not sure how likely I'm going to void my warranty for changing the horn sad.gif
zero5177
post Nov 11 2016, 12:38 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,553 posts

QUOTE(Tikki Mikk @ Nov 11 2016, 10:36 AM)
I had the exact same problem, the sound is very noticeable when you set the fan speed at 1.
It sounded like someone breath through their nose really hard for about 5 seconds. Forgot to tell the service personnel during my first car service.
Anyone had brought up this issue at the workshop? Curious what the mechanic has to say.
My flx also have this sound... Could be cooling coil sound I guess
zero5177
post Nov 11 2016, 12:43 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,553 posts

By the way, anyone know how the Hill hold assist works? I read from manual it says require certain steepness to activate, I tried with some quite steep Hill at stop, but it does not brake for me after I release brake pedal...

Other than that, there were twice I need to crank the second try to be able to start the car... Anyone experiencing this as well?
zero5177
post Nov 11 2016, 04:46 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,553 posts

QUOTE(sheahann @ Nov 11 2016, 04:36 PM)
is the new persona steering wheel adjustable ?
If you mean the steering wheel height, it is adjustable
zero5177
post Nov 11 2016, 09:07 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,553 posts

QUOTE(Boss262 @ Nov 11 2016, 07:45 PM)
Apparently the power drop issue in Iriz is minimal compare to persona. Something related with gear ratio didn't understand.
If something about gear ratio, I can assure that this car has rather short gear ratio for the first 4 gears, it should be accelerate real Quick compared to other MT variant. The rpm for the first 4 gears is even higher compared to other MT car I have drove before such as iswara 1.3, myvi 1.3, nissan sunny 1.3

Today I switched to my iswara and myvi I suddenly realize these car are so responsive compared to persona, and I become driving aggresively because I've used to persona throttle respond which require me to pedal more for power compared to those cars I've mentioned
zero5177
post Nov 11 2016, 10:35 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,553 posts

QUOTE(Tikki Mikk @ Nov 10 2016, 04:33 PM)
Both my front wheel's rim cap got stolen. Noticed it a few days before my first service, since I got it barely more than two weeks I decided to replaced them. RM50 burnt...
Also is it normal for the brake disc to rust so much? Became like this when I left the car idle for only 2 days. Most of the rust will disappear when I drive the car.
The rust seemed to only occurs on the 2 front wheels.

The rust is normal if being left unattended after some splash of water

Even Mazda CX3 having this rust
zero5177
post Nov 11 2016, 10:47 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,553 posts

QUOTE(Jetz212 @ Nov 11 2016, 09:35 PM)
This is the Gear ratio for our current Persona 2016 . Notice the drop between each gear .
Yes the gear ratio is pretty similar or same with Iriz. It has pretty short(higher number) 1-4th gear ratio, so these gears cruise at higher RPM which result in better pick up. Compared to other similar MT car, Even Myvi 1.3 has longer(lower number) 1-4th gear ratio which result in lower RPM at the same speed.

The unordinary gear ratio for this car would be the 5th gear which is quite far different with 4th gear compared to similar MT cars which require you to rev more at 4th gear before gear change to 5th gear

Of course the speed vs rpm not just depending on the gear ratio only, there's other factors like diameter of the tire and final gear ratios counts too

you can view this blog for more detailed on Gear ratio and RPM calculation by one of the infamous forumer in Inspira thread
K3nnYkl82 mintak borrow link for research purpose tongue.gif
http://lynspira.blogspot.my/2014/05/gear-ratio.html
zero5177
post Nov 11 2016, 11:29 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,553 posts

QUOTE(Boss262 @ Nov 11 2016, 11:19 PM)
If any one of you who want detail explanation, might as well email the protonwecare. They will take your request very seriously zero5177.
Thanks for the details, I think I may want to hear more on what they wanna express with this kind of gear ratio setup... mayb like what I expected, Spirited drive + comfort in one setup... whatever limiting them is the lack of a 6 speed MT to spread those ratio more evenly biggrin.gif

Who knows... mayb 6 spd MT is overkill for this car as well dry.gif

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0732sec    1.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:33 AM