124 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Official Honda Civic 10th Gen Owner/Fans Club V2, Turbo still kicking yo!

SKYjack
post Jul 19 2016, 04:43 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(berann @ Jul 19 2016, 03:59 PM)
Just curious. I find that civic turbo engine sound is very loud when really accelerate and rev more than 2.5k. Normal cruising is quiet. Is it normal for most turbo cars like Peugeot,VW,BMW,MB etc? Civic is my first turbo car that i have driven so I cant compare.

Very interested on your comment about loud engine noise on acceleration. I drive a Peugeot and my bro has BMW 328i. Both engines are reasonably quiet. In fact I noticed both are quieter than NA engines even on gear drags!

Recently tested a 520d, I am soooooo hooked on it! Toque is so good, effortless acceleration! This engine was smooth & silent. The start up clatter is there but not of any great concern IMO.
cybermaster98
post Jul 19 2016, 04:59 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(sexbomb @ Jul 19 2016, 04:11 PM)
Yea I think you get my point, which means a tone down in DRL brightness in "small lights". Im assuming this is normal?
Yes. Its called 'parking lights' in normal cars.

Yoona<3
post Jul 19 2016, 05:01 PM

QUOTE(berann @ Jul 19 2016, 03:59 PM)
Just curious. I find that civic turbo engine sound is very loud when really accelerate and rev more than 2.5k. Normal cruising is quiet. Is it normal for most turbo cars like Peugeot,VW,BMW,MB etc? Civic is my first turbo car that i have driven so I cant compare.

My friend drives BMW 535i which is twin turbo and I can say its very quiet even on high speed ... the RPM is pretty low on high speed -> (160km/h) and the RPM is at around 2k to 2.5k only ohmy.gif If I recollect correctly sweat.gif but then again its a 3.0 liter twin turbo car so yea, I don't think it should be compared to civic haha laugh.gif

back to your question = its very quiet on BMW

This post has been edited by Yoona<3: Jul 19 2016, 05:02 PM
sexbomb
post Jul 19 2016, 05:04 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Jul 19 2016, 04:43 PM)
Very interested on your comment about loud engine noise on acceleration. I drive a Peugeot and my bro has BMW 328i. Both engines are reasonably quiet. In fact I noticed both are quieter than NA engines even on gear drags!

Recently tested a 520d, I am soooooo hooked on it! Toque is so good, effortless acceleration! This engine was smooth & silent. The start up clatter is there but not of any great concern IMO.
My friend's 308 is loud in his own comment when he tried my civic 1.5T
Whos telling a lie here?
tongue.gif
cybermaster98
post Jul 19 2016, 05:18 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Jul 19 2016, 04:43 PM)

BMW engines are quite noisy during a cold start but once it reaches operating speed it quietens down significantly. But if u push it hard and then stop, the engine is again super noisy especially the aircon compressor. Im referring to the F10 520i here.
hoss
post Jul 19 2016, 05:26 PM

304 posts

Has anyone of u tried Llunmar diamond 6, ray tech RX before? Which one better?
berann
post Jul 19 2016, 05:32 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(Yoona<3 @ Jul 19 2016, 05:01 PM)
My friend drives BMW 535i which is twin turbo and I can say its very quiet even on high speed ... the RPM is pretty low on high speed -> (160km/h) and the RPM is at around 2k to 2.5k only ohmy.gif If I recollect correctly  sweat.gif but then again its a 3.0 liter twin turbo car so yea, I don't think it should be compared to civic haha  laugh.gif

back to your question = its very quiet on BMW
Don't get me wrong. civic turbo under normal acceleration and cruising even above 2500rpm or > 130kmh is quiet. Loud engine noise only when u really accelerate hard or floor it where turbo kick in for max power. Noise should be from the turbo. Once release the pedal, everything quiet again. biggrin.gif

sean2823
post Jul 19 2016, 05:38 PM

QUOTE(berann @ Jul 19 2016, 05:32 PM)
Don't get me wrong. civic turbo under normal acceleration and cruising even above 2500rpm or > 130kmh is quiet. Loud engine noise only when u really accelerate hard or floor it where turbo kick in for max power. Noise should be from the turbo. Once release the pedal, everything quiet again.  biggrin.gif
I suspect the CVT also contribute to those "noise", as BMW and other Turbo cars seldom use CVT GB, right?
cybermaster98
post Jul 19 2016, 05:41 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(hoss @ Jul 19 2016, 05:26 PM)
Has anyone of u tried Llunmar diamond 6, ray tech RX before? Which one better?
Check my posts on V1
loneboy62
post Jul 19 2016, 05:44 PM

337 posts

The lowest rate so far I heard is 2.63% for 5 years after adjusted. (MBB with 90-100k)
I am taking step down rate still maintain at 2.40%, since I have not yet get the car may have some time to think whether that is reduced.
Yoona<3
post Jul 19 2016, 05:44 PM

Don't get me wrong. civic turbo under normal acceleration and cruising even above 2500rpm or > 130kmh is quiet. Loud engine noise only when u really accelerate hard or floor it where turbo kick in for max power. Noise should be from the turbo. Once release the pedal, everything quiet again.  biggrin.gif
no worries biggrin.gif I gave my comment based on what I experienced when my friend drives it. He's quite a spirited driver I would say... but I don't really notice any loud significant sound from engine even when he floors it on the highway. But again, I might be wrong on this as its not my car. Just my 2 cent, based on my experience sitting in the car notworthy.gif
lionking7791
post Jul 19 2016, 06:11 PM

371 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jul 19 2016, 05:41 PM)
Check my posts on V1
I don't know the actual performance on both llumar diamond 6 and raytech RX, but base on both spec, raytech RX is slightly better than llumar diamond 6. That's why I will choose raytech RX.
berann
post Jul 19 2016, 06:29 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(lionking7791 @ Jul 19 2016, 06:11 PM)
I don't know the actual performance on both llumar diamond 6 and raytech RX, but base on both spec, raytech RX is slightly better than llumar diamond 6. That's why I will choose raytech RX.
rclxms.gif The same reason with me, slightly better spec & better price.(about 2-2.3k). So far satisfied with heat rejection of Raytech RX & RC (IRR 98%, TSER 62%) & good workmanship.

Also recommended by my boss Raytech for all his cars (Macan, Evoque, GLC), I believe top brands like Vcool, Llumar, Raytech, Vkool, Huper Optic are well established and should be good & comparable smile.gif

Alternation
post Jul 19 2016, 06:36 PM

912 posts

Bro, i havent driven a car, conti or japs which doesnt roar when u kick down. Its an engine for heaven sake laugh.gif

When revving high, a NA and turbo engine will sound exactly the same unless the latter is fitted with waste gate.

The civic on kick down is still pretty quiet due to its excellent NVH. Some would prefer the roar as it sounded quite alright.
lionking7791
post Jul 19 2016, 06:38 PM

371 posts

QUOTE(berann @ Jul 19 2016, 06:29 PM)
rclxms.gif The same reason with me, slightly better spec & better price.(about 2-2.3k). So far satisfied with heat rejection of Raytech RX & RC (IRR 98%, TSER 62%) & good workmanship.

Also recommended by my boss Raytech for all his cars (Macan, Evoque, GLC), I believe top brands like Vcool, Llumar, Raytech, Vkool, Huper Optic are well established and should be good & comparable smile.gif
You tinted with RX normal or RX black?
Alternation
post Jul 19 2016, 06:47 PM

912 posts

Dear bros and sifus, i'm considering to black (glossy) out my pearl white roof to look like merc's panaromic.

Will it look classy or ricey? comments?
hihihehe
post Jul 19 2016, 06:51 PM

13,784 posts

QUOTE(Alternation @ Jul 19 2016, 06:47 PM)
Dear bros and sifus, i'm considering to black (glossy) out my pearl white roof to look like merc's panaromic.

Will it look classy or ricey? comments?
it looks cool for me but i won't do it for any time now until i dont care about the original painting anymore

This post has been edited by hihihehe: Jul 19 2016, 06:52 PM
cchin8888
post Jul 19 2016, 06:52 PM

362 posts

QUOTE(berann @ Jul 19 2016, 06:29 PM)

u get Ultra 70 + RX with price RM2k to RM2.3k?? so damn cheap... They quote me RM2800. sad.gif
Alternation
post Jul 19 2016, 07:08 PM

912 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jul 19 2016, 06:51 PM)
it looks cool for me but i won't do it for any time now until i dont care about the original painting anymore
It will protect ur original paint better nod.gif
SackBoy
post Jul 19 2016, 07:12 PM

QUOTE(Alternation @ Jul 19 2016, 07:08 PM)
It will protect ur original paint better nod.gif
What is your approach to make it black? paint it? wrap it?

124 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0315sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:38 PM