124 Pages « < 57 58 59 60 61 > » Bottom

Official Honda Civic 10th Gen Owner/Fans Club V2, Turbo still kicking yo!

TSisr25
post Aug 4 2016, 08:31 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 3 2016, 09:37 PM)
Not really a fuss just make sure I'm not alone
My bad tongue.gif

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 4 2016, 02:01 AM)
I finally get a scratch at a right rum..painnn
How did it happen la? sad.gif
shinchan^^
post Aug 4 2016, 08:36 AM

K66
21,256 posts

QUOTE(whyip1988 @ Aug 4 2016, 08:21 AM)
AORTO LOCK how much ? smile.gif
I think the link he post got
around 290
hihihehe
post Aug 4 2016, 09:07 AM

13,790 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Aug 4 2016, 08:14 AM)
how it happen?
QUOTE(isr25 @ Aug 4 2016, 08:31 AM)
My bad tongue.gif
How did it happen la? sad.gif
Hit the curb when u turn. Small part of paint at right Fender also chipped off . very sad

dirtrun
post Aug 4 2016, 09:54 AM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 4 2016, 09:07 AM)
Hit the curb when u turn. Small part of paint at right Fender also chipped off . very sad

Oooff..

Sakit..
Time for new rims n PS4..
infinite81
post Aug 4 2016, 10:45 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Aug 4 2016, 08:12 AM)
how to last until 1000km only change  sweat.gif
My car hit 1000km less than 1 week haha..
And warranty parts you can go for inspection anytime.
shinchan^^
post Aug 4 2016, 10:57 AM

K66
21,256 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Aug 4 2016, 09:54 AM)
Oooff..

Sakit..
hard to find nice rims suit this FC

unless thai RS black rim
hihihehe
post Aug 4 2016, 10:59 AM

13,790 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Aug 4 2016, 09:54 AM)
Oooff..

Sakit..
Is this repairable?
sean2823
post Aug 4 2016, 11:04 AM

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 4 2016, 10:59 AM)
Is this repairable?
Any crack at the RIM? is no, I think should be ok.
hihihehe
post Aug 4 2016, 11:05 AM

13,790 posts

QUOTE(sean2823 @ Aug 4 2016, 11:04 AM)
Any crack at the RIM? is no, I think should be ok.
No crack. Just scratched. Where can I do it? Not sure if it require chrome filling
wkc5657
post Aug 4 2016, 11:10 AM

562 posts

QUOTE(limchee @ Aug 3 2016, 08:22 PM)
still torn in between Lunar Silver or Black... urghhhhhh
Then get both tongue.gif

QUOTE(hoss @ Aug 3 2016, 11:17 PM)
Well, it is really necessary to do coating? What is the benefits of do coating?
Not really, 99% of the cars on the road don't have additional coatings done.

Benefits of coating in general :
1) paint maintains shine better and longer
2) easier to clean dust off
3) some added protection to the original paint clear coat (debatable though)
4) nice water beading effect

I used to be a bit crazy of coatings stuff and so wanted to apply it onto my new car. But after thinking through sometime, i refrained and have some realisations...

My thoughts (and no offense to those that did their coating, but something for those that are sitting on the fence deliberating whether to get it done or not); if you want a proper protection, better get a genuine physical layer of material over it, ie a film/vinyl wrap. Colour, patterned, satin, matt, glossy, metallic finish or transparent, doesn't matter. When you're driving at speeds, when a nice stone hits the body panel, it will still leave a mark for those who does their coating. The sacrificial layer/thickness of the coating is just too thin/marginal to take on such impact.

Those hardness rating of 8H 9H or 10H that was being mentioned, i really have no idea it is comparable or measured against what metric. The only thing i can think of is the pencil hardness (which also uses the H rating for their hardness grades) that we see in the stationary shop. And if the coatings are as claimed to be so good at protecting the paint surface, i have no idea why watermarks, tree saps and bird poo can leave a permanent stain. I've not experimented, but I'm also suspicious that the coatings can't even stand the scratch of the finger nail....

If there's any vendor that can demonstrate that after coating, when you lightly run a key over the car panel without leaving a scratch mark, take my money pronto mega_shok.gif A stone hitting on your car's body panel is definitely much harsher than lightly running the key over. For those film/vinyl wrap, i know they can stand up to a light key scratch or the frequent finger nail scratch on the door handles and much better at stone chipping protection.

Other thoughts and opinions welcomed.
GeekinE90
post Aug 4 2016, 11:12 AM

266 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 4 2016, 12:05 PM)
No crack. Just scratched. Where can I do it? Not sure if it require chrome filling
Polished surface wheel is hard to repair as they can't use filler and spray over, and at best, shave off a layer and use machine polish which would mean the wheel will be slightly different in dimension vs. original. From your pics, it's not too bad la. Give the car a good wash, and then try not to look at the wheel too much instead of trying to repair it for now.

shinchan^^
post Aug 4 2016, 11:16 AM

K66
21,256 posts

QUOTE(limchee @ Aug 3 2016, 08:22 PM)
still torn in between Lunar Silver or Black... urghhhhhh
get the silver , wrap the roof to black
hihihehe
post Aug 4 2016, 11:19 AM

13,790 posts

QUOTE(GeekinE90 @ Aug 4 2016, 11:12 AM)
Polished surface wheel is hard to repair as they can't use filler and spray over, and at best, shave off a layer and use machine polish which would mean the wheel will be slightly different in dimension vs. original.  From your pics, it's not too bad la.  Give the car a good wash, and then try not to look at the wheel too much instead of trying to repair it for now.
What has been seen cannot be unseen. Sigh
If it just outer scratch then easy Hut deep scratch is making me paranoid
GeekinE90
post Aug 4 2016, 11:19 AM

266 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Aug 4 2016, 12:10 PM)
Then get both  tongue.gif
Not really, 99% of the cars on the road don't have additional coatings done.

Benefits of coating in general :
1) paint maintains shine better and longer
2) easier to clean dust off
3) some added protection to the original paint clear coat (debatable though)
4) nice water beading effect

I used to be a bit crazy of coatings stuff and so wanted to apply it onto my new car. But after thinking through sometime, i refrained and have some realisations...

My thoughts (and no offense to those that did their coating, but something for those that are sitting on the fence deliberating whether to get it done or not); if you want a proper protection, better get a genuine physical layer of material over it, ie a film/vinyl wrap. Colour, patterned, satin, matt, glossy, metallic finish or transparent, doesn't matter. When you're driving at speeds, when a nice stone hits the body panel, it will still leave a mark for those who does their coating. The sacrificial layer/thickness of the coating is just too thin/marginal to take on such impact.

Those hardness rating of 8H 9H or 10H that was being mentioned, i really have no idea it is comparable or measured against what metric. The only thing i can think of is the pencil hardness (which also uses the H rating for their hardness grades) that we see in the stationary shop. And if the coatings are as claimed to be so good at protecting the paint surface, i have no idea why watermarks, tree saps and bird poo can leave a permanent stain. I've not experimented, but I'm also suspicious that the coatings can't even stand the scratch of the finger nail....

If there's any vendor that can demonstrate that after coating, when you lightly run a key over the car panel without leaving a scratch mark, take my money pronto mega_shok.gif A stone hitting on your car's body panel is definitely much harsher than lightly running the key over. For those film/vinyl wrap, i know they can stand up to a light key scratch or the frequent finger nail scratch on the door handles and much better at stone chipping protection.

Other thoughts and opinions welcomed.
Only thing about clear wraps is that the optical clarity and shine of the wrap will never match that of a good clearcoat which has been detailed/coated. Coating is a good thing, as it eases maintenance of the car's paintwork (assuming you get a good coating which is not picky about type of car wash/shampoo applied).

Down sides is that it's costly and in many cases, cheaper less reputable coatings do not last at all.

GeekinE90
post Aug 4 2016, 11:21 AM

266 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 4 2016, 12:19 PM)
What has been seen cannot be unseen. Sigh
If it just outer scratch then easy Hut deep scratch is making me paranoid
I know the feeling man. I curbed my very rare and expensive forged wheels a few years back on my old car. Really sux, but after a while, try not to look. Time heals the pain smile.gif

This post has been edited by GeekinE90: Aug 4 2016, 11:23 AM
hihihehe
post Aug 4 2016, 11:36 AM

13,790 posts

QUOTE(GeekinE90 @ Aug 4 2016, 11:21 AM)
I know the feeling man.  I curbed my very rare and expensive forged wheels a few years back on my old car.  Really sux, but after a while, try not to look.  Time heals the pain smile.gif
Yes. But I still have to touch up the chipped off paint. Haiz
sean2823
post Aug 4 2016, 11:40 AM

REPEATED...

This post has been edited by sean2823: Aug 4 2016, 11:42 AM
SackBoy
post Aug 4 2016, 11:42 AM

QUOTE(GeekinE90 @ Aug 4 2016, 11:19 AM)
Only thing about clear wraps is that the optical clarity and shine of the wrap will never match that of a good clearcoat which has been detailed/coated.  Coating is a good thing, as it eases maintenance of the car's paintwork (assuming you get a good coating which is not picky about type of car wash/shampoo applied).

Down sides is that it's costly and in many cases, cheaper less reputable coatings do not last at all.
Well speaking about costly good coatings, it is still not as costly as clear wraps. FYI the workshop told me it is more expensive than my wrap... imagine that confused.gif (but it has something call self-healing tech)
wkc5657
post Aug 4 2016, 11:52 AM

562 posts

QUOTE(SackBoy @ Aug 4 2016, 11:42 AM)
Well speaking about costly good coatings, it is still not as costly as clear wraps. FYI the workshop told me it is more expensive than my wrap... imagine that  confused.gif (but it has something call self-healing tech)
The self healing type can go up to 5 figure territory, mostly used on exotic cars which the owners have plenty of money to spend nod.gif
blurjoey
post Aug 4 2016, 11:55 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 4 2016, 09:07 AM)

Can repair... No worries... Look for those rim shops that also got do repairs like King of Rims...

http://kingofrims.com.my/sports-rimwheel-repair/

Another
https://www.facebook.com/DentMasterWheelEnterprisePLT/

Or can DIY and wet sand with 1000 to 2000 grit sand paper... Another is to close 1 eye lor...

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Aug 4 2016, 11:58 AM

124 Pages « < 57 58 59 60 61 > » Top

0.0203sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:57 PM