LYN SUBARU CLUB v2, XV FORESTR WRX BRZ OUTBCK LEGACY LEVORG

clickNsnap
post Sep 7 2016, 11:49 AM

541 posts

QUOTE(ADJ @ Sep 6 2016, 07:03 PM)
Testdrove Forester a couple of times, and I think it's a great option if you don't mind the longterm running costs. Visibility is good, features vs price is good, ergonomics etc is all fine.

Best offer I got was from Old Klang Road, 2.0i is about RM118,xxx without insurance, comes with free tinting which I believe is a normal grade tint. 2.0i-P would be below RM145k without insurance.

I checked with AE Glenmarie and was advised that generally Subaru parts are more expensive than other Japanese brands, and there is more stuff to service:
- 5L engine oil as compared to less than 4L for other 2.0 Japanese engines
- original Subaru oil filter costs slightly more than other original Japanese oil filters
- CVT fluid and front/rear differential fluids require changing every 40,000km and there is a certain sum there.

2.0i get's 3 years/60,000km free service, 2.0i-P's gets 5 years/100,000km. If maintenance cost is acceptable after the free period, then I think it's a great buy - nice driving, good handling, good comfort, low NVH.
Since forester and xv having the similar engine, the service charges should be same...forester could cost a bit more. The xv's 5 year (100k km) service cost is about 10k in Subaru Sc, compare with Nissan X-trail 2.5's 5 year (100k km) cost around 7k. The Subaru forester/xv service cost almost 50% more than the X-trail sad.gif

X-Trail's service cost: http://www.tceas.com/servicemenuprice.html

This post has been edited by clickNsnap: Sep 7 2016, 11:50 AM
ADJ
post Sep 7 2016, 12:23 PM

..::fairlight::..
2,921 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Sep 7 2016, 09:33 AM)
For me i am willing to pay more to maintain my scooby, as subaru engineers sure did their job well even for after service items.. Just google around and you will amaze why Subaru OEM parts still being used widely..  brows.gif Even the simple oil filter already beat most of the famous aftermarket filters out there..  icon_idea.gif
I don't disagree with you. As long as potential owners have done their due diligence and are prepared for this cost of ownership after the free maintenance period has ended, then I believe they would get what they pay for thumbsup.gif

QUOTE(xSean @ Sep 7 2016, 11:12 AM)
free service is just labour only or include parts?
parts and labour, all in.

QUOTE(clickNsnap @ Sep 7 2016, 11:49 AM)
Since forester and xv having the similar engine, the service charges should be same...forester could cost a bit more. The xv's 5 year (100k km) service cost is about 10k in Subaru Sc, compare with Nissan X-trail 2.5's 5 year (100k km) cost around 7k. The Subaru forester/xv service cost almost 50% more than the X-trail sad.gif

Yes, definitely maintenance cost is higher for Subaru, hence if one can afford to go for the 2.0i-P and get 5 years free maintenance, I think that's a good idea. If due to budget concerns that one goes for the 2.0i and similarly not prepared for the maintenance costs (only 3 years free), then like what was mentioned earlier by other forummers, maybe this isn't the car for you.
Subang Nuclear Reactor
post Sep 7 2016, 12:35 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(xSean @ Sep 7 2016, 11:12 AM)
free service is just labour only or include parts?
Mine also parts and service
Depends on which offer u take
littlefire
post Sep 7 2016, 01:52 PM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(clickNsnap @ Sep 7 2016, 12:49 PM)

Bro, you comparing X-trail 2.0? X-trail 2.0 only FWD for sure it is cheaper to maintain coz you have less parts item to maintain.. Besides that, a lot of stuff nissan are using the so call local OEM APM parts... dry.gif Nissan for me is out of the league, as technical & safety wise is totally no go.. Only 2 Air-bags for 2.0i X-Trail.. bruce.gif

If you want to compare, should be comparing apple to apple. Like 4WD to 4WD car maintenance.. brows.gif

http://www.edmunds.com/mazda/cx-5/2015/st-...01/cost-to-own/
http://www.edmunds.com/subaru/forester/201...18/cost-to-own/
http://www.edmunds.com/nissan/rogue/2015/s...16/cost-to-own/

Total 5 years - Est. Ownership Cost
Nissan Rogue 2.5 AWD - $28,521
Subaru Forester 2.5 AWD - $29,093
Mazda CX-5 AWD - $32,308

Yes, Nissan AWD still cheaper to maintain but only a faction of extra $572 (Convert to 4.0 = RM2288 for 5 Years, Extra RM457.6/Year)

The most expensive to maintain is Mazda AWD which cost almost additional $3215 compare to Subaru Forester. That why now they only reserve AWD for 2.5L high spec. in Malaysia.

Anyway, most spare part MI Subaru service is from Japan and from previous post that their service parts really is quality stuff. So even with the extra money each year i paid for will keep my engine and gearbox last longer compare to other competitors. thumbsup.gif

http://www.subaru.com/why-subaru/reviews-awards/subaru.html
Built to Last - 96% of Subaru vehicles sold in the last 10 years are still on the road today

This post has been edited by littlefire: Sep 7 2016, 02:14 PM
ADJ
post Sep 7 2016, 03:30 PM

2,921 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Sep 7 2016, 01:52 PM)
Bro, you comparing X-trail 2.0? X-trail 2.0 only FWD for sure it is cheaper to maintain coz you have less parts item to maintain.. Besides that, a lot of stuff nissan are using the so call local OEM APM parts...  dry.gif Nissan for me is out of the league, as technical & safety wise is totally no go.. Only 2 Air-bags for 2.0i X-Trail..  bruce.gif

If you want to compare, should be comparing apple to apple. Like 4WD to 4WD car maintenance..  brows.gif

Mazda CX-5 AWD - $32,308

Yes, Nissan AWD still cheaper to maintain but only a faction of extra $572 (Convert to 4.0 = RM2288 for 5 Years, Extra RM457.6/Year)

The most expensive to maintain is Mazda AWD which cost almost additional $3215 compare to Subaru Forester. That why now they only reserve AWD for 2.5L high spec. in Malaysia. 

Anyway, most spare part MI Subaru service is from Japan and from previous post that their service parts really is quality stuff. So even with the extra money each year i paid for will keep my engine and gearbox last longer compare to other competitors.  thumbsup.gif

Built to Last - 96% of Subaru vehicles sold in the last 10 years are still on the road today
he mentioned X-Trail 2.5, which is 4WD only. Eventhough the dropdown box in TCEAS website mentions 2WD for 2.5, it's most likely a typo. The service schedule does mention a change for the diffential oil every 40k.
for accuracy purposes, we do have to look at Malaysian service centre costs.
littlefire
post Sep 7 2016, 05:43 PM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(ADJ @ Sep 7 2016, 04:30 PM)
he mentioned X-Trail 2.5, which is 4WD only. Eventhough the dropdown box in TCEAS website mentions 2WD for 2.5, it's most likely a typo. The service schedule does mention a change for the diffential oil every 40k.
for accuracy purposes, we do have to look at Malaysian service centre costs.
Yes, notice that. Anyway their CVT fluid interchange really stretch until 80,000km to change? For me it is quite risky with the hot weather we have in Malaysia as the fluid mostly will break down faster compare to other colder climate countries.

Anyway 1 of my friend driving the 2015 hybrid N.Serena just got his CVT gearbox broke down not long ago.. I wonder if this is the issue.. confused.gif Luckily manage to claim a new CVT gearbox but have to sit in the workshop for nearly a month..

http://my6thgen.org/f7/when-should-i-drain...nsmission-3153/

I think for Malaysia the CVT fluid for Nissan should be change at 30,000 miles or around 50,000km as safebet.. Even with normal drive, they claim can reach 60,000 miles before change which is near to 100,000km. ohmy.gif

This post has been edited by littlefire: Sep 7 2016, 05:44 PM
clickNsnap
post Sep 7 2016, 10:47 PM

541 posts

QUOTE(ADJ @ Sep 7 2016, 01:23 PM)
Yes, definitely maintenance cost is higher for Subaru, hence if one can afford to go for the 2.0i-P and get 5 years free maintenance, I think that's a good idea. If due to budget concerns that one goes for the 2.0i and similarly not prepared for the maintenance costs (only 3 years free), then like what was mentioned earlier by other forummers, maybe this isn't the car for you.
If you compare the forester 2.0i (118k with 3 years free service) and 2.0ip (145k with 5 years free service), minus the additional 2 year service worth roughly 4k... there will different of 23k, these 23k can be fund for servicing your forester many more years...of course trade off with those advance features-lah. Think LESS is MORE... less feature, less problem of fixing advance features in the future. I hardly uses the auto-cruise and paddle shift in mine xv, I don't mind without them and get more safety features smile.gif

I've settled with mine xv with only free labour service for 5 years, need to pay the parts (about 8k for 5 years/100k km)...no choice lol, since I paid discounted price for the xv, about 30k cheaper than forester 2.0i, hope the car can last me more than 10 years hahaha... rclxm9.gif

btw, personally, I think the forester 2.0i is a better buy, I will choose the forester 2.0i over the xv, if I can afford it.

QUOTE(littlefire @ Sep 7 2016, 02:52 PM)
Bro, you comparing X-trail 2.0? X-trail 2.0 only FWD for sure it is cheaper to maintain coz you have less parts item to maintain.. Besides that, a lot of stuff nissan are using the so call local OEM APM parts...  dry.gif Nissan for me is out of the league, as technical & safety wise is totally no go.. Only 2 Air-bags for 2.0i X-Trail..  bruce.gif

If you want to compare, should be comparing apple to apple. Like 4WD to 4WD car maintenance..  brows.gif

Mazda CX-5 AWD - $32,308

Anyway, most spare part MI Subaru service is from Japan and from previous post that their service parts really is quality stuff. So even with the extra money each year i paid for will keep my engine and gearbox last longer compare to other competitors.  thumbsup.gif

Hmmm...sorry, a bit hard to compare the service charges in the overseas, bro! I was comparing the service charges between the AWD or 4WD available in Malaysia, btw, I think the X-trail 2.5 is a 4WD not FWD, must be something wrong with http://www.tceas.com site, maybe I am wrong sweat.gif

If you take a look at Honda CR-V 2.4, it cost about RM10k to cover 1st 1,000km to 200,000km service (according to their site... https://www.honda.com.my/model/maintenance/crv?id=36 ) It is 50% cheaper than the Subaru smile.gif --- btw, I am not comparing the spec/number of airbags/2,0vs2.4/resale value/safety...lah (if want to compare...the CR-V costs more than Forester upfront, hard to compare lol), just comparing service charges of these local available 2.0 to 2.5 AWD or 4WD-lah wink.gif

This post has been edited by clickNsnap: Sep 7 2016, 11:02 PM
Beebeej
post Sep 7 2016, 11:10 PM

97 posts

Seriously if one starts to worry about high maintenance cost in 10 years times then I would suggest go for a more affordable car . Like the saying goes ' If you can afford a Mercedes or a BMW you don't ask the cost to run per km.'
Pay for a little bit more to enjoy the luxury of driving a top notch road hugging and safer suv for which you won't regret !! smile.gif

TSs@ni
post Sep 7 2016, 11:10 PM

Gambar Di Lesen Kereta Saya
2,843 posts

QUOTE(clickNsnap @ Sep 7 2016, 10:47 PM)
If you compare the forester 2.0i (118k with 3 years free service) and 2.0ip (145k with 5 years free service), minus the additional 2 year service worth roughly 4k... there will different of 23k, these 23k can be fund for servicing your forester many more years...of course trade off with those advance features-lah. Think LESS is MORE... less feature, less problem of fixing advance features in the future. I hardly uses the auto-cruise and paddle shift in mine xv, I don't mind without them and get more safety features smile.gif

I've settled with mine xv with only free labour service for 5 years, need to pay the parts (about 8k for 5 years/100k km)...no choice lol, since I paid discounted price for the xv, about 30k cheaper than forester 2.0i, hope the car can last me more than 10 years hahaha...  rclxm9.gif 

btw, personally, I think the forester 2.0i is a better buy, I will choose the forester 2.0i over the xv, if I can afford it.
Hmmm...sorry, a bit hard to compare the service charges in the overseas, bro! I was comparing the service charges between the AWD or 4WD available in Malaysia, btw, I think the X-trail 2.5 is a 4WD not FWD, must be something wrong with http://www.tceas.com site, maybe I am wrong  sweat.gif

If you take a look at Honda CR-V 2.4, it cost about RM10k to cover 1st 1,000km to 200,000km service (according to their site... https://www.honda.com.my/model/maintenance/crv?id=36 ) It is 50% cheaper than the Subaru smile.gif --- btw, I am not comparing the spec/number of airbags/2,0vs2.4/resale value/safety...lah (if want to compare...the CR-V costs more than Forester upfront, hard to compare lol), just comparing service charges of these local available 2.0 to 2.5 AWD or 4WD-lah  wink.gif
1 thing that I notice is that the price of Honda engine oil is really cheap.
ADJ
post Sep 7 2016, 11:29 PM

2,921 posts

QUOTE(s@ni @ Sep 7 2016, 11:10 PM)
1 thing that I notice is that the price of Honda engine oil is really cheap.
that's because the price quoted is based on the cheapest SN 10W30 mineral oil. you can choose to upgrade to SN 5W30 semi-synth or SN 0W20 fully-synth, and top up the difference.
clickNsnap
post Sep 7 2016, 11:42 PM

541 posts

QUOTE(Beebeej @ Sep 8 2016, 12:10 AM)
Seriously if one starts to worry about high maintenance cost in 10 years times then I would suggest go for a more affordable car . Like the saying goes ' If you can afford a Mercedes or a BMW you don't ask the cost to run per km.'
Pay for a little bit more to enjoy the luxury of driving a top notch road hugging and safer suv for which you won't regret !! smile.gif
Poor man like me spending hard earned $ to buy car, must look high & low, up & down ma... btw, I am quite sure subaru car's service cost is more than any japanese brand cars service cost, due to low market share in our car industry.
TitanRev
post Sep 7 2016, 11:50 PM

QUOTE(clickNsnap @ Sep 7 2016, 11:42 PM)
Poor man like me spending hard earned $ to buy car, must look high & low, up & down ma... btw, I am quite sure subaru car's service cost is more than any japanese brand cars service cost, due to low market share in our car industry.
Actually it's not really really expensive. dont worry too much if not you won't be able to enjoy the car to its fullest.
clickNsnap
post Sep 8 2016, 12:22 AM

541 posts

QUOTE(TitanRev @ Sep 8 2016, 12:50 AM)
Actually it's not really really expensive. dont worry too much if not you won't be able to enjoy the car to its fullest.
Thanks! No turning back...already bought the car. Cannot worry so much now, just enjoy the ride smile.gif

This post has been edited by clickNsnap: Sep 8 2016, 12:43 AM
littlefire
post Sep 8 2016, 08:16 AM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(clickNsnap @ Sep 7 2016, 11:47 PM)

I've settled with mine xv with only free labour service for 5 years, need to pay the parts (about 8k for 5 years/100k km)...no choice lol, since I paid discounted price for the xv, about 30k cheaper than forester 2.0i, hope the car can last me more than 10 years hahaha...  rclxm9.gif 

Hmmm...sorry, a bit hard to compare the service charges in the overseas, bro! I was comparing the service charges between the AWD or 4WD available in Malaysia, btw, I think the X-trail 2.5 is a 4WD not FWD, must be something wrong with http://www.tceas.com site, maybe I am wrong  sweat.gif

If you take a look at Honda CR-V 2.4, it cost about RM10k to cover 1st 1,000km to 200,000km service (according to their site... https://www.honda.com.my/model/maintenance/crv?id=36 ) It is 50% cheaper than the Subaru smile.gif --- btw, I am not comparing the spec/number of airbags/2,0vs2.4/resale value/safety...lah (if want to compare...the CR-V costs more than Forester upfront, hard to compare lol), just comparing service charges of these local available 2.0 to 2.5 AWD or 4WD-lah  wink.gif
Most parts service are the same as the engine (Even thoughs ours 2.0, but oversea the engine technology is the same but just higher cc) and drive-train (AWD/4WD) in same category. The website is a reference for new users to estimate the cost of owning. I found it quite near to what we have here regarding the maintenance and repair cost. smile.gif
littlefire
post Sep 8 2016, 08:24 AM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(clickNsnap @ Sep 8 2016, 12:42 AM)
Are you sure? brows.gif Mazda service is also not that cheap also, but are given 3 years free service also for new car.. How about Lexus, Infinity, Acura? Those Japanese cars are even low volume compare to Subaru.. Lately July 2016 Subaru sales even beat Kia & Hyundai.. Subaru sales are going up and up due to better packaging and value nowadays.. But what i know Subaru service parts are really quality stuff, can google a lot to do research.. You pay what you get bro.. nod.gif With the latest offer which include 3-5 years free service package, why not? icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by littlefire: Sep 8 2016, 10:33 AM
littlefire
post Sep 8 2016, 10:40 AM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(ADJ @ Sep 8 2016, 12:29 AM)
that's because the price quoted is based on the cheapest SN 10W30 mineral oil. you can choose to upgrade to SN 5W30 semi-synth or SN 0W20 fully-synth, and top up the difference.
Yup, not only Honda, Nissan is doing that also. They will quote for you the normal mineral oil, if you want longer service interval they will recommend the fully-syn oil.

Anyway all Subaru engine oil are fully Syn and latest is from Shell (Previous Castrol Edge) either 5W-30 or 5W-40 and can last 10,000km before next change.. thumbsup.gif

This post has been edited by littlefire: Sep 8 2016, 10:41 AM
clickNsnap
post Sep 8 2016, 10:59 AM

541 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Sep 8 2016, 09:24 AM)
Are you sure?  brows.gif Mazda service is also not that cheap also, but are given 3 years free service also for new car.. How about Lexus, Infinity, Acura? Those Japanese cars are even low volume compare to Subaru.. Lately July 2016 Subaru sales even beat Kia & Hyundai.. Subaru sales are going up and up due to better packaging and value nowadays.. But what i know Subaru service parts are really quality stuff, can google a lot to do research.. You pay what you get bro..  nod.gif With the latest offer which include 3-5 years free service package, why not?   icon_idea.gif
Didn't know about Mazda cx5 service charges...but tak boleh compare the subaru with Lexus, Infinity and Acura...lah - these are the premium japaneses car brand.

For those owner who owned premium car like Lexus...they dont care about $ to maintain their car... smile.gif

This post has been edited by clickNsnap: Sep 8 2016, 10:59 AM
clickNsnap
post Sep 8 2016, 11:00 AM

541 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Sep 8 2016, 09:16 AM)
Most parts service are the same as the engine (Even thoughs ours 2.0, but oversea the engine technology is the same but just higher cc) and drive-train (AWD/4WD) in same category. The website is a reference for new users to estimate the cost of owning. I found it quite near to what we have here regarding the maintenance and repair cost.  smile.gif
Noted bro! But i still think we should compare locally... smile.gif

LongExp
post Sep 10 2016, 09:56 PM

474 posts

after observing the long discussion of which car/brand has lower maintenance cost, allow me to share my 2 cents.

if one want to buying an over RM100k, choose a car you like whether is just brand and/or technology with minimal concern on maintenance cost. Regardless what the SC going to charge for maintenance, the tyre size for these range cars will be 17" or 18" is going to cost a lot more. if i have such concern, I would look for much cheaper car as low as below 70k which will save me 30+k.

This post has been edited by LongExp: Sep 10 2016, 10:22 PM
clickNsnap
post Sep 10 2016, 11:08 PM

541 posts

QUOTE(LongExp @ Sep 10 2016, 10:56 PM)
after observing the long discussion of which car/brand has lower maintenance cost, allow me to share my 2 cents.

if one want to buying an over RM100k, choose a car you like whether is just brand and/or technology with minimal concern on maintenance cost. Regardless what the SC going to charge for maintenance, the tyre size for these range cars will be 17" or 18" is going to cost a lot more. if i have such concern, I would look for much cheaper car as low as below 70k which will save me 30+k.
Agree. I was just sharing the subaru service cost that higher than similar range of awd & 4wd. Hope this help the potential subaru buyers aware the after sale service cost of a subaru. I have no regret of getting a XV, just hate myself no $ to buy the Forester smile.gif

This post has been edited by clickNsnap: Sep 11 2016, 12:39 AM

492 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.1425sec    1.15    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:14 PM