QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Dec 13 2017, 09:03 AM)
will failed upgrade brick the router?
Not really, but internet will stay disconnected till you reboot the router.Cheap Asus Wifi Router Alternative, Huawei WS880 & Others
Dec 13 2017, 12:39 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
736 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Ipoh |
QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Dec 13 2017, 09:03 AM) will failed upgrade brick the router? Not really, but internet will stay disconnected till you reboot the router. |
Dec 13 2017, 08:59 PM
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Dec 13 2017, 02:14 PM) Re-download the firmware again and only update the firmware with a laptop / pc that's connected directly to the router using an ethernet cable Done upgraded to 380.69_0.Don't use wireless to run the update Maybe the file that I downloaded on this morning got problem. Thanks. |
Dec 17 2017, 08:22 PM
QUOTE(lati0s @ Dec 17 2017, 03:48 PM) Hi there sifus. Easy enough. If Dlink 850L as main router ( by default DCHP server enabled)Asking for suggestion for my home network setup. Currently I have two router/modems : 1. D-Link DIR-850L (Provided by TM) 2. Huawei WS880 (XWRT-VORTEX) (Main router connected to BTU) My current setup is : <BTU>-----<WS880>-------(Cat5e Cable)-------<DIR850L> a) I've disabled the 5ghz for the WS880 and only enabled 2.4ghz for downstair usage. b) Used the DIR850L as a access point upstairs. Only enabled the 5ghz band as all of my devices upstairs supported 5ghz. My only problem is with the DIR850L as access point, the 5ghz signal will suddenly drop even though using it on the same floor and very not satisfied with the performance. What I am trying to do is to switch position : <BTU>-----<DIR850L>-------(Cat5e Cable)-------<WS880> What do I need to do with the WS880, use is as Repeater or AP Mode ? Hopes my explanations are clear. Thanks For WS880, one of method. 1) Goto LAN, LAN IP, Set IP address that does not clash with 850L, example 850L is 192.168.1.1 and WS880 is 192.168.1.2 2) Goto LAN, DHCP server, No → Enable DCHP Server. 3) connect the cable to any lan port except wan port. 2nd method can be, using wizard and connect to wan port. 3rd ...if above fail let discuss again. |
Mar 3 2018, 11:54 AM
QUOTE(sepulse @ Mar 3 2018, 07:23 AM) Anyone have wifi dropping issue with this router? No issue, me having 2 is 2 different house. Stable so far.I have 2 of these and both flashed to xwrt merlin. Weird thing is only 1 have wifi dropping issue. The radio channel will be auto disabled after a few mins. Which firmware version you are running with? I rmb 2 or 3 version before the lastest have wifi issue for me. |
Mar 12 2018, 07:07 PM
I think he, Vortex did mentioned if security updates, he will still support.
For sure new features if out of the question. Also from.the forum, seem like new firmware for R7000 will jump away from 380 series. |
Apr 6 2018, 08:28 AM
QUOTE(neuromancerx @ Apr 5 2018, 07:08 PM) I dun think we could switch direct.If my memory serves well here, must reset NVRAM. Previously, I need go into CFE emergency boot to clear NVRAM before can flash Tomato. Not very good with configurong tomato therefore I went back Merlinwrt. |
Apr 6 2018, 07:11 PM
QUOTE(neuromancerx @ Apr 6 2018, 04:10 PM) yes must reset NVRAM. my context of seamless is changing the firmware via the same GUI, without going back to CFE mode Not sure it will work, I think I did that at first place and ended router hang after reboot from flashing. Resolved into CFE to clear NVRAM from there and flashing again. Likely I did something wrong here. |
Apr 13 2018, 01:01 AM
Apr 16 2018, 09:33 PM
Anyone here experience in get from Amazon in some sort of bulk, like 3-4 units in a go? I think you could save alot from the shipment fees.
May 23 2018, 10:02 AM
Jul 24 2018, 06:39 PM
QUOTE(sepulse @ Jul 24 2018, 09:57 AM) my router wifi keep turning off. need to enable radio manually every few mins. Have you try reset your router?tried changing the wifi channel for both 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz but it doesnt helps. anyone know any workaround for this? flash to tomato or default firmware? ![]() My suspect here maybe due to firmware update. |
Jul 25 2018, 01:06 PM
QUOTE(sepulse @ Jul 25 2018, 08:38 AM) i tried reset, even NVRAM reset. flashed to previous firmware. but the problem still there. wifi will auto turn off in a few mins. Did you see anything unusual on the system log?Maybe clip and share here for the expert can help. Seem like hardware issue here, what is 5ghz temperature? If very high, try disable 2.4ghz and see if this get you to run longer before turning off? |
Sep 14 2018, 08:57 PM
QUOTE(Granit3Grey @ Sep 14 2018, 08:51 PM) Oh well, time to shopping for a better router What is your wifi setting in WS880?Thanks Kiding. Do let me know if you found something as what you did with WS880. Very much appreciated. And what connection speed is showing on yoir S8+ ? This could be problem witj wifi setting. |
Sep 17 2018, 04:36 PM
QUOTE(Kiding @ Sep 17 2018, 04:27 PM) Tested with CAT6 cable, my laptop to the switch is 1Gbps, but speedtest is still reaching 210Mbps, and 1 cpu core at WWS880 router reach almost 100%. NAT setting?[attachmentid=10025491] Check under LAN - > Switch Control - > NAT accelerationg - > Auto Edited. Did you have QoS running? Should disable to test again. This post has been edited by muncheno: Sep 17 2018, 04:40 PM |
Oct 1 2018, 09:06 PM
Time just upgraded my 100mbps to 500mbps.
Using Huawei WS880 router and tested with Huawei P20pro on 5Ghz WiFi. My Speedtest Result DL 324 Mbps UL 431 Mbps Will test LAN later. Just back from work. Tired. |
Oct 1 2018, 09:35 PM
Oct 2 2018, 09:52 PM
QUOTE(Wan @ Oct 2 2018, 09:33 PM) Huawei WS880 R u saying ur DNS have been hijacked?380.62 Just noticed this afternoon that I can't access even google.com and a few other sites.Then I tried redcafe.net and the browser prompt me to install some app from gstatic or something. Checked the router, and in Advanced Settings > Lan > DNS and WINS Server Setting > DNS is set to 199.168.99.27 and another ip I forgot to save. In WAN dns settings I set it to google dns. Not sure how long its been that way. If yes, u better reset ur router and check ur networking. |
Oct 13 2018, 09:16 PM
Hi anyone have experience on getting tplink router from taobao?
https://m.intl.taobao.com/detail/detail.htm...id=576366431854 How reliable, would you think? TPLINK WDR8650 at RMB 549 for AC2600. However I believe it will stay in Chinese firmware. |
Oct 13 2018, 09:59 PM
Mar 22 2019, 04:43 PM
QUOTE(deadgriever @ Mar 22 2019, 12:09 PM) Guys..just bought a used ws880. The problem is the router never powered back itself after a power loss/blackout. I have to push the button to power on manually. Is it normal behaviour for this router? Try change power adapter. The one come with huawei seem unstable. |
| Change to: | 0.0882sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:57 PM |