USD/MYR v4

AVFAN
post Aug 12 2016, 02:26 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Aug 12 2016, 01:04 PM)
Crude oil price went up even higher at 43.49.
yes, that is due to saudi talking up the price with "we may discuss at next opec meeting".

but that oil support for rm is offset by a strong $ after some fed guy said last night rate hike "soon" is still realistic.

also, rather weak gdp nos....

Malaysia’s economy grows 4.0pct year-on-year in Q2

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Aug 12 2016, 02:29 PM
nexona88
post Aug 12 2016, 04:18 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,445 posts

BNM governor Datuk Muhammad Ibrahim said the current volatility affecting the Malaysian ringgit, as well as regional currencies, will persist in the near-term, with the volatility seen as the new norm for the ringgit.

Muhammad said regional currencies are currently reflecting the strength of the greenback, which has performed strongly over the past few months.

http://www.theedgemarkets.com/my/article/b...?type=Corporate
zacknistelrooy
post Aug 12 2016, 09:04 PM

1,033 posts

Ringgit strengthening a bit after weak US data.
TSwil-i-am
post Aug 12 2016, 11:12 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Aug 12 2016, 10:20 AM)
console.gif  console.gif

U can have your wish now, 4.1 or more !  tongue.gif
Hope my wish come true next week
TSwil-i-am
post Aug 12 2016, 11:13 PM

10,001 posts

Still holding on to 4.00 mark
langstrasse
post Aug 13 2016, 12:36 AM

~ Have a Vice day ~
1,588 posts

Folks,
Some time back I read about the presence of a max limit on transfers in foreign currency (I can't remember if it's for inbound or outbound or both).

When doing a TT transfer of USDs from a foreign bank account to a USD bank account in Malaysia (CB), is there a maximum above which Bank Negara needs to be informed etc.?

According to CB website you need to comply to BNM's Foreign Exchange Administration rules:
https://www.citibank.com.my/english/deposit...al-transfer.htm

But from the link below from BNM, (see section 2.9 for Residents), it doesn't appear like there is a limit for TTs)
http://www.bnm.gov.my/microsites/fxadmin/n...1_Residents.pdf

Could someone knowledgable on this subject please assist ?
EDIT: My query is solely about limits imposed (if any) by BNM, not by commercial banks.

This post has been edited by langstrasse: Aug 13 2016, 12:39 AM
TSwil-i-am
post Aug 13 2016, 07:26 AM

10,001 posts

Last traded at 4.023x
Ramjade
post Aug 13 2016, 07:38 AM

24,344 posts

QUOTE(langstrasse @ Aug 13 2016, 12:36 AM)
Folks,
Some time back I read about the presence of a max limit on transfers in foreign currency (I can't remember if it's for inbound or outbound or both).

When doing a TT transfer of USDs from a foreign bank account to a USD bank account in Malaysia (CB), is there a maximum above which Bank Negara needs to be informed etc.?

According to CB website you need to comply to BNM's Foreign Exchange Administration rules:

But from the link below from BNM, (see section 2.9 for Residents), it doesn't appear like there is a limit for TTs)

EDIT: My query is solely about limits imposed (if any) by BNM, not by commercial banks.
I think they will ask you if money > rm50k. Just tell them for kids edu/investment/savings abroad.
TSwil-i-am
post Aug 13 2016, 07:48 AM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 13 2016, 07:38 AM)
I think they will ask you if money > rm50k. Just tell them for kids edu/investment/savings abroad.
Aiyo...
Your reason(s) is very shallow la
Showtime747
post Aug 13 2016, 08:36 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(langstrasse @ Aug 13 2016, 12:36 AM)
Folks,

Bro, repatriate money back to malaysia there is no limit. If the amount is big, then your bank will ask you what is the source of fund (eg. export, salary, investment income etc) and they report back to BNM. As long as the money is from legit source, then no problem and no limit

If it is your company, and you export tens of millions RM per year, then you need to make periodical report to them

However, if it is the other way round where you send money out of the country, then there is some requirement to observe depending on the purpose
bbgoat
post Aug 13 2016, 08:55 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Aug 12 2016, 11:12 PM)
Hope my wish come true next week
now my turn to say good luck to u ! laugh.gif
sandkoh
post Aug 13 2016, 08:59 AM

817 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 13 2016, 07:38 AM)
QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Aug 13 2016, 07:48 AM)
Aiyo...
Your reason(s) is very shallow la
tun, he ask about from foreign bank back to malaysia. not other way round.
nexona88
post Aug 13 2016, 09:36 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,445 posts

Should be no limit as u bring back money..
If bnm or banks asked, just inform the source..
Why worry if legal money..
bbgoat
post Aug 13 2016, 11:03 AM

6,614 posts

Crude oil still going up by >5% in 1 day ! biggrin.gif
nexona88
post Aug 13 2016, 11:19 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,445 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Aug 13 2016, 11:03 AM)