Tires Discussion Thread V3

HalseyFrangipane
post Sep 30 2021, 11:07 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Sep 30 2021, 07:27 PM)
I too never do the often-pronounced practice of tyre rotations since installation of my respective tyres .....
meaning the 4 tyres on my Avanza are today still in their original location since installation.

Besides, my previous set of 105-110k km XM2 (Front axle) had a residual tread depth of about 2 mm, well higher than the factory recommended criteria of replacement upon reaching tyre wear indicator at 1.6 mm depth.

Your 40k replacement of Goodyear was likely at a tread depth well very much higher than 1.6 mm tire wear indicator recommended of factory, just my speculation.

I think majority of car owners on this board and general public are brain-washed to have their tyres replaced at say, 3-4 mm of residual tyre tread depth for whatever insurance/feel shiok reasons which imo is contrary to recommendations of ALL tyre manufacturers and hence I humbly consider the actual practice a wasteful consideration.

[attachmentid=10993879]

Tyre manufacturers should be smarter right?
If you want to save money, then yes, you can use it until 1.6mm. It's definitely sufficient enough for day to day commute.

But do know that the less tread depth, the less grip you have in the wet / more prone to aquaplaning.
tawaubata
post Oct 1 2021, 12:03 AM

95 posts

For 195/50 R15, between XM2+ or PS3 (since PS4 don't have 15) which one to go? CC6 no good now?

Current tire Kruizer at 20k usage, usage okey for me but want more quiet.
amscouzach57
post Oct 1 2021, 06:14 AM

525 posts

Anybody tried UHP tyre from Maxxis before? Maxxis Victra Sport 5?

Saw online the price for 245/40R19 is only RM544 per piece.

Currently using Falken Azenis FK510 & am quite happy with it.

Current value for money tyres in my wishlist for future reference:
1. Falken Azenis FK510
2. Hankook Ventus S1 Evo3
amscouzach57
post Oct 1 2021, 06:21 AM

525 posts

QUOTE(tawaubata @ Oct 1 2021, 12:03 AM)
For 195/50 R15, between XM2+ or PS3 (since PS4 don't have 15) which one to go? CC6 no good now?

The best choice for me would PS3 if you prefer good traction & handling.

A good alternative would be Maxxis Victra I-Pro. They are available in your tyre size.

The grip levels are similar to PS3, it is less noisy but the wear rate was claimed to be faster.

Most important is the price is about rm150 per piece (some place can get cheaper). PS3 price is about rm230 per piece.

I'm using this tyre on my Persona right now. 195/55R15 size. Very impressed indeed.
6UE5T
post Oct 1 2021, 05:34 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(MichaelJohn @ Sep 30 2021, 02:01 PM)
Hi guys, just surveying for new tires for my MyVi 1.3 X when it reaches 70K on the odo. Still using the factory Bridgestone Ecopia 175/65R14 tires.

Heard that Michelin XM2+ is good but would like to hear other opinions on brands and tire sizes as well smile.gif Thanks
Try Dunlop Sport J5 or Yokohama Blue Earth.
XM2+ is good but overpriced.

QUOTE(zeng @ Sep 30 2021, 07:27 PM)
I too never do the often-pronounced practice of tyre rotations since installation of my respective tyres .....
meaning the 4 tyres on my Avanza are today still in their original location since installation.

Besides, my previous set of 105-110k km XM2 (Front axle) had a residual tread depth of about 2 mm, well higher than the factory recommended criteria of replacement upon reaching tyre wear indicator at 1.6 mm depth.

Your 40k replacement of Goodyear was likely at a tread depth well very much higher than 1.6 mm tire wear indicator recommended of factory, just my speculation.

I think majority of car owners on this board and general public are brain-washed to have their tyres replaced at say, 3-4 mm of residual tyre tread depth for whatever insurance/feel shiok reasons which imo is contrary to recommendations of ALL tyre manufacturers and hence I humbly consider the actual practice a wasteful consideration.

[attachmentid=10993879]

Tyre manufacturers should be smarter right?
Duration depends on tire type, car type, driving style. Rotation also depends on car type and driving style. Yours is Avanza with rwd so usually the tire wear is more balanced then FWD. But FWD usually will chew up fronts up to 50% faster, so better do rotation for FWD cars.

Cannot say all will last over 40k km. But yes I also agree that you can still use until 1.6mm tread depth or even less as long as you're mindful when the roads are wet and adjust your driving accordingly with higher alert for quick reactions just in case the car hydroplanes.

CC6 is crap tires. Between XM2+ and PS3, surely get PS3 cuz XM2+ price is close to PS3 yet it's lower category tire than PS3. IMHO XM2+ is overpriced and not worth it. Aside from PS3, in this size I'd highly recommend these 2:
1. Maxxis Victra I-Pro, only around rm140-150/pc, the best value for money now!
2. Bridgestone Potenza RE004, around rm180/pc, probably better in the dry than the Maxxis or even PS3!

This post has been edited by 6UE5T: Oct 1 2021, 05:35 PM
AbdulZakri P
post Oct 1 2021, 06:33 PM

Probation

QUOTE(kaliku @ Jul 11 2016, 11:07 PM)
Any recommendations for 195/55/r15 tyres below rm200 each that provides good comfort and noise reduction?
I am using Dunlop. Very good
cyapd
post Oct 2 2021, 01:50 AM

Who am I?
1,489 posts

If your budget is limited to XM2+, I’d go for re004.
tawaubata
post Oct 2 2021, 04:52 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(AbdulZakri @ Oct 1 2021, 06:33 PM)
I am using Dunlop. Very good
What model is that?
Confession
post Oct 4 2021, 09:05 AM

727 posts

Currently on a set of Goodyear ATM2 (185/65/r15), looking for recommendation is there any better ones out there around the same price range? Or should I just stick to this. Thank you.
amscouzach57
post Oct 4 2021, 09:36 AM

525 posts

QUOTE(Confession @ Oct 4 2021, 09:05 AM)
Currently on a set of Goodyear ATM2 (185/65/r15), looking for recommendation is there any better ones out there around the same price range? Or should I just stick to this. Thank you.
Dunlop SP Sport J6. Been reading good reviews for this tyre as well
MichaelJohn
post Oct 6 2021, 01:46 PM

Pan Paka Pan <3
2,514 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Oct 1 2021, 05:34 PM)
Try Dunlop Sport J5 or Yokohama Blue Earth.
XM2+ is good but overpriced.
Thank you thumbup.gif notworthy.gif
littlefire
post Oct 6 2021, 02:26 PM

2,712 posts

QUOTE(MichaelJohn @ Oct 6 2021, 02:46 PM)
Thank you  thumbup.gif  notworthy.gif
I think Dunlop J5 already replace by J6, ask for the J6 model.
Anyway i am using Yokohama BlueEarth ES32 for my Kelisa, it is also a good choice for daily comfort drive.
Yokohama might be pricier compare to Dunlop due to imported.

6UE5T
post Oct 6 2021, 03:46 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Oct 6 2021, 02:26 PM)
I think Dunlop J5 already replace by J6, ask for the J6 model.
Anyway i am using Yokohama BlueEarth ES32 for my Kelisa, it is also a good choice for daily comfort drive.
Yokohama might be pricier compare to Dunlop due to imported.
Ah ya should be J6 now but J5 can still be had probably a bit cheaper still.
AbdulZakri P
post Oct 12 2021, 01:20 PM

Probation

QUOTE(tawaubata @ Oct 2 2021, 05:52 AM)
What model is that?
Need to check, cant remember. Your profile picture dam awesome tawaubata thumbup.gif and made me laugh.
free2d
post Oct 27 2021, 05:39 PM

72 posts

Time to change my Dad HRV tire soon.
OEM size is 215/55R17 17x7 rim Dunlop Sport Maxx 050. Can i upsize to 225/55R17?
If 225 more size options. Looking at MC6, T005A or Yoko( But yoko dont know which one)
Grip, comfort and quiet.
Thx...
6UE5T
post Oct 27 2021, 08:57 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(free2d @ Oct 27 2021, 05:39 PM)
OEM size is 215/55R17 17x7 rim Dunlop Sport Maxx 050. Can i upsize to 225/55R17?
If 225 more size options. Looking at MC6, T005A or Yoko( But yoko dont know which one)
Grip, comfort and quiet.
Thx...
Still can
Scissorshand
post Oct 29 2021, 02:12 PM

1,691 posts

QUOTE(free2d @ Oct 27 2021, 05:39 PM)
Grip, comfort and quiet.
Thx...
Why not buy same size goodyear efficientgrip? Fits all 3 criteria
free2d
post Oct 29 2021, 08:35 PM

72 posts

I ended up with Primacy 4
chrischiang
post Oct 30 2021, 06:57 PM

1,081 posts

hi any sifu tried both PS4 and hankook s1 evo3 before?
is there significant diff that can tell from this 2 tyre?

coming from 225/40/18 ps4.. thinking to switch to cheaper tyre, economy no good..
6UE5T
post Oct 30 2021, 10:59 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(chrischiang @ Oct 30 2021, 06:57 PM)
hi any sifu tried both PS4 and hankook s1 evo3 before?
is there significant diff that can tell from this 2 tyre?

coming from 225/40/18 ps4.. thinking to switch to cheaper tyre, economy no good..
Can read this for reference, got both tires in comparison tests. I'd say go ahead try the S1E3, you won't go wrong with it.

https://www.autoexpress.co.uk/features/9185...es-buy-now-2021

62 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Top

0.0337sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:31 PM