Tires Discussion Thread V3

chrischiang
post Jun 10 2018, 02:04 PM

1,081 posts

Hello.. im looking fot 205/50/16.. been eyeing on ps3 and fleva v701...
do you guys know the pricing for the tyres? I went to one of the shop.. the guy told me that v701 is nationwide out of stock.. and push me for getting ps4.. may i know the price range for those tyre.. so i would know im not being chop when they offer price
chrischiang
post Jun 11 2018, 10:30 AM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Jun 11 2018, 09:15 AM)
yes v701 is out of reach in the market.have difficulties finding this tyres too.ps4 is around rm 360+-
Thanks bro.. too bad was planing to change during this free tax period.. might consider hankook v12 if the price different is huge as quite alot mentioned v12 and v701 having quite similar performance..

may i know ps4 for RM360+- is around KL area?

chrischiang
post Jun 21 2018, 05:11 PM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Jun 18 2018, 06:39 PM)
around rm 360 in central malaysia.
if north malaysia and east area sure expensive.
yup..im from penang.. ps4 for 205/50/16 they quote Rm430/pc... would you mind to share which shop selling Rm360.. i might consider travel to KL to change.. thanks!
chrischiang
post Jul 23 2018, 07:47 PM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(yh28 @ Jul 21 2018, 07:48 PM)
Hi all, currently using Goodyear GT3 175/65/15 on Honda City GM6 stock wheel due for a tyre change, if I upsize to 185 range or 195/55/15 will it be too wide from stock sizing?
Any recommendation for comfort/silent usage, having the thoughts of RE003 in mind, but don't think it will silence enough since it is more on performance side, budget around 200 per piece, thanks in advance.
up 1 size to 185 is good.. try not to fit in 195.. honda city e/s spec ori rim 15 inch 5.5jj only... imagine you have size 8 feet and wearing size 10 shoe?

as for re003 if you wan comfort/silent this is a no go.. re003 is a performance tires.. and alot of feedback re003 perform not so well in wet.. last note for re003 : treadwear 220
chrischiang
post Jul 24 2018, 04:55 PM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(netboy @ Jul 24 2018, 02:31 PM)
Hi all,

Any recommendation for 215/45/17 tires for Honda Civic? Budget around ~300-350 I guess?

Currently using RE003 for 2 years. Time to change soon.
you can look for hankook v12 i believe should be within your budget range.. If you could raise your budget a little.. i would suggest you take ps4.. my friend just change his somewhere near seremban for 380/pc
chrischiang
post Sep 4 2018, 05:03 PM

1,081 posts

any recommendation for 205/55/16? price range 250...
chrischiang
post Sep 4 2018, 05:44 PM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Sep 4 2018, 05:38 PM)
Get the Hankook V12 Evo 2 like this, best value for money:
https://www.mudah.my/Tayar+205+55+16+hankoo...ea-67335048.htm
bro.. this is city drive car my sis driving.. dont need such performance tires.. that why i ask for price range 250... any other recommendation?
chrischiang
post Sep 5 2018, 09:33 AM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Sep 4 2018, 06:07 PM)
This is the best value for money tires and it's only rm20 over your budget and maybe you can even try bargain a bit. It's UHP category tires yet the price is similar to lower category mid-range tires and the comfort and noise level can match or even beat those mid range tires. Any other cheaper will not be so good/big drop in performance for just a little difference in price (for example Toyo DRB, Goodeyar NCT5, BS Ecopia, Dunlop D05, Continental CC6, etc2.) so not really worth it.
bro.. as i mentioned.. i dont need such UHP tires.. dont need to hard sell it.. Rm20 X 4 is Rm80 and that klang valley price.. im not going to get that price in penang..

like when i change my ps4, in penang Rm380 for 205/50/16, in KL ppl can get Rm350... that the different..

Im looking for eco tires... a lady who drive in city and wont go beyond 120km/h thanks.
chrischiang
post Sep 5 2018, 01:54 PM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Sep 5 2018, 10:38 AM)
can consider bridgestone ecopia ep300/goodyear nct5 inside your budget.is good enough for normal style driving.
QUOTE(6UE5T @ Sep 5 2018, 10:53 AM)
Hmm yeah outside Klang Valley will be much more expensive. Then probably just go with some that I mentioned above, maybe particularly the Dunlop D05 or Goodyear NCT5.
thanks i check for ecopia ep300/dunlop d05... not a good fans for nct5(honda city ori tires which really bad)...

i dont see anyone recommend cc6 guess im not going to get cc6 within my budget...

thanks all sifu...
chrischiang
post Sep 5 2018, 05:14 PM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Sep 5 2018, 03:17 PM)
Can share why you feel the NCT5 is really bad?

CC6 is Continental's lowest model so not recommended coz poor grip performance typical of low end eco tires, should be even worse than NCT5.
Will consider CC6 because in lowyat alot recommend cc6..

lol wait until you have 2 pair on ur car.. nct5 really bad in term of aquaplane..

got my car and on the way driving to tires shop to change rims and tires, it was heavy rain and i drive 60km/h pass through suddenly my vsc light turn on..

changed 17 rims on v12, it serve me quite well for a year, downsized to 16 on ps4.. ps4 best tires im using so far..

chrischiang
post Apr 27 2021, 07:05 PM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(seatux @ Apr 27 2021, 10:44 AM)
Is it okay for 185/60 R15 (Swift)?
would suggest u go for primacy 4 instead of re004... re004 really has low treadwear.. you gone botak real soon..

QUOTE(g88 @ Apr 27 2021, 12:11 PM)
215/45/17

Michelin PS4 vs P4 vs Conti MC6 vs UC6

Can someone share the pros and cons if you are using one of this tyre now ?

Heard Michelin Made in China now ?? How about Conti ?
go with ps4 if dont have budget constraint... you will never regret with this.. i just changed my 2nd set last month.
MC6 is 1 rank lower than ps4.. not to mentioned uc6..

made in china or made in thailand really doesnt matter... you pay for what you get... china aso having good product..
should skip the mindset china = tak boleh pakai..
chrischiang
post Apr 28 2021, 09:46 AM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(pandikar @ Apr 27 2021, 08:10 PM)
You used RE004 before?

How many km before it went botak?
i used re003 3 years before... both treadwear rating are the same so i guess wont be much diff from there...

40k++ for re003.. dry was good, wet not so and getting nosier and nosier..

topup abit more for ps4, i got around 55k++ for ps4, dry and wet are good.. now on 2nd set ps4...
chrischiang
post Oct 30 2021, 06:57 PM

1,081 posts

hi any sifu tried both PS4 and hankook s1 evo3 before?
is there significant diff that can tell from this 2 tyre?

coming from 225/40/18 ps4.. thinking to switch to cheaper tyre, economy no good..
chrischiang
post Nov 1 2021, 04:40 PM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Oct 30 2021, 10:59 PM)
Can read this for reference, got both tires in comparison tests. I'd say go ahead try the S1E3, you won't go wrong with it.

https://www.autoexpress.co.uk/features/9185...es-buy-now-2021
thanks! read the review seem promising.. going give it a try
chrischiang
post Jun 27 2022, 04:08 PM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(TVWatcher @ Jun 26 2022, 01:18 PM)
Hi, I need to change my tyres - size 265/35 r18.
Looking at Falken FK510 or Continental MC6 or Hankook S1evo3.

Any advice which is better? Also where can I get these at good price in Subang/PJ/Shah Alam area? My regular shop no stock. Thks.
fk510 or s1e3... mc6 is not same par with the other 2...

i changed my s1e3 after call the number 13th hankook master in KV list.. u can try to call and check

0.0244sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:47 PM