Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V3),, ASK HERE for recommendations

lsm1991
post Jul 12 2016, 09:42 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(dark90 @ Jul 12 2016, 09:09 AM)
Is like the difference between a Booger and a Golden Shower.

Its that bad huh?  ok..
well..... proton has never been great in the engines or in the quality department......... the non-turbo model is underpowered (my opinion), the turbo model is alrite i guess(if you are not a speed freak, its good enough). Fc for the campro aint great from what i hear, the turbo models get better mileage in town AND long distance(again proton isnt gona win any awards in the engine department frugality or performance wise). Built quality and the materials in the interior aint great, cheap plastics like pretty much the other protons and after a few years they tend to rattle and creak (solvable if you put in the effort)

imo they are pretty good where the chassis is concerned, handling and safety is actually very good for for a car in that segment's pricerange. These 2 aspects are where the preve pulls ahead of its competitors

This post has been edited by lsm1991: Jul 12 2016, 09:43 AM
lsm1991
post Jul 12 2016, 12:06 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jul 12 2016, 11:26 AM)
1. Brand : Any exp p1 p2 and conti
2. Budget : up to 100
3. New/Used/Unreg : new
4. Specs : <2.0L
5. Transmission : auto, prefer 6 speed 
6. NA or FI :  any
7. Type : ??
8. Remarks : RV is not my priority. My order 1, FC 2, Space, 3, Maintenance friendly, 4,Maintenance Price, 5, Reliability + practically, 6, Design. 7, Long term use* I seldom change car unless its up to 10 - 15 years old.

-current ride is vios 07, from family.
-my mind thinking of 1 Mazda2, 2 flunce(huge rebate and 5influnce), 3 Mitsu attrage, 4, Mitsu Lancer.

Mazda I don't like the cramping space, internal design, but external design is nice. And from what I know the maintenance fees is "impressive"

Fluence I don't like the external design, FC. What I like is the 5influence aftermarket service.

Attrage is kind of old. And After the Mitsu saga, brand shaken. And underpowered.

Lancer is good, but yea. 123k seems imposible to me.

Ant other good car around the town?

Thanks all sifus!!!!!!
Mazda
-fancy car, as you mentioned, looks great, as you also know, its small
-fc is good, i really dont think the maintanance will be terrible

Fluence
-this is technically a conti.... hmm.gif
-but its basically sushi in the form of a croissant
-less common, which is a pro and a con, pro is its unique, con is that exterior pieces might be alittle more exp to buy if you are involved in an accident (but you have insurance for that matters)
-i personally think it looks pretty
-largest of the bunch in your list here
-am going to claim that this will be the most expensive car to buy/run here, larger car, tax

Attrage
-the attrage is kinda meh now, does not look pretty, not really loaded with many goodies, basically being outperformed by its newer rivals.

alternatives:

City
-one of the best allrounders out there

vios
-you know this well, same as ever with a new dress

Lancer is good, but yea. 123k seems imposible to me.
-potong inspirak is the solution if you want a lancer.....

am ignoring all kimchi models~(elantra cerato)
lsm1991
post Jul 12 2016, 01:13 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(andrewyu2005 @ Jul 12 2016, 12:56 PM)
But  i heard that  expertise said  that vvt is the best engine in proton right now. But till now,you still say cfe is better and more refine and realiable than vvt right now.
what are you on about this time.... bangwall.gif

pls show me where in the world did i mention that it is better, more refined, or even more reliable than vvt......... pls find where i ever mentioned that....

*heck i would never in the right state of mind ever label a proton designed engine 'refined'*

now i will mention this tho..... whichever 'expert' claimed that the vvt in the proton engines is great is probably high on some stuff.....
this technology has been commonly used for the past 15-20 years.... if that's the best proton can do, i ant got high hopes for their engines sweat.gif
random examples: bmw's had vanos longlonglonglong ago, the toyota celica had it PLUS lift technology......
even the cps seem like a joke compared to the much older dinosaur vtecs, mivecs and vvtli..... (power wise)

ahh: you edited the expert to carsome huh~~ sure... give any random guy an expert title experts and they are experts.........

This post has been edited by lsm1991: Jul 12 2016, 01:15 PM
lsm1991
post Jul 12 2016, 03:45 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jul 12 2016, 03:07 PM)
I take flunce into my consideration because of the Nissan sylphy and Xtronic CVT. but yea, FC, tax and other really taking up a lot.

I ruled out Vios because of the 1NZFE. I might as well no need to change car if I buy current vios. Unless I can wait the new engine but its CVT. I don't know their CVT as good as Nissan or not...

I ruled out Honda because of too much variation. I usually go for heist spec and change car in around 10 or 15 years usage like current one. Mid spec lacking toys high spec 93K, which make me think M2>HC.

I try to rule out attrage also because the FL is coming. But don't know when lol. And I can take the remaining 30K do something else lol and they rebate 12k too!

last resort if pick p1, I will also go for SS premium.

Looks like M2 is the best B seg.

BUT BUT BUT. Mazda Demio is the "Supermini". THe more I look at the more I felt it is very small. damnnnnnnnnnn
vios... no point tukarlah unless you are one of those guys who must change cars after x no of years......
toyota has been using cvt's for quite a while.... reliability sama je when compared to nissan's cvt so should be fine (u have to find out what oils they use, afaik nissan uses something a little bit more exp)

city is a good car imo you should reconsider this, just ignore the other variations since you will go for the top spec anyway

suprima is alright but.... its not really japanese while the inspira is mostly japanese
-good safety features, performance ok, looks alright, rides nice and for you.. its larrrrge

mazda 2 is more of a small sporty car.... u really have to check if its large enough for you. This is the smallest (or 2nd smallest) in your list....
lsm1991
post Jul 12 2016, 04:18 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(andrewyu2005 @ Jul 12 2016, 04:15 PM)
why do you like suprima s? what is it's advantages over iriz mt?
again... why compare these 2... everyone has asked you the same thing over and over again... why cars from completely different segments....

why not just compare the iris vs a maybach or... mayeb even a chiron... or why not a honda cup? cause they are completely DIFERENT! doh.gif
lsm1991
post Jul 12 2016, 11:02 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(screwed @ Jul 12 2016, 10:17 PM)
1. Brand : Kia Sportage
2. Budget : <90k
3. New/Used/Unreg : Used
4. Specs : 2.0
5. Transmission : AT
6. NA or FI :  NA
7. Type : SUV
8. Remarks : Not quite sure if it's worth it to pay 800-900 monthly for used Sportage, or should i better get a new one, or different make. I like SUV.

I dont care much about handling, performance etc and my knowledge about cars is limited. But being loyal to myvi for the past 10 years, i think i deserve for an upgrade.

But in long run, I still hesitate about spare parts, maintenance cost, tires, etc. I'd probably use this car till I die.
QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jul 12 2016, 10:44 PM)
I believe you do this decision in a hurry because Kia sport tage isn't a brand...

SUV handling important.... XV new fit your budget tho.
aiyah missed the russ swift demo/display models by 1-2 months... that was a reallly good deal..... brows.gif
lsm1991
post Jul 13 2016, 10:01 AM

309 posts

understated cars ehh?? I think there are a few.... but these are price unfairly below market in its segment

right now? if its in great cond, this is kinda worth it in my eyes and and two or 3 others that are old, more exp to mantain, 100% impractical but me likes

hmmm.... see the kind of car i like? brows.gif

This post has been edited by lsm1991: Jul 13 2016, 10:04 AM
lsm1991
post Jul 13 2016, 06:15 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jul 13 2016, 05:59 PM)
Well, actually I can afford Fluence, but I may not have that money to run it.... First the FC. No doubt 2.0 will higer FC than a 1.5 correct?

I live in klang so, both SC also near me. One of the reason why M2 let me reconsider abit is the safety features, seem outdated.

Running a 2.0 japs isn't cheaps also correct?

And running a 1.5 also isn't cheaps nowadays.

Yea, attraged I ruled out already. But the price so tempting haha. Is it really A seg? Same as my vios size only.

Afte think so much its better to save the few k to used on M2 or city.

City airbag, cvt and batt problem solved?
2.0 fc might not actually be higher... cause you dont need to push it so hard to move about. The thing that will make that fc go up, is the fatter heavier body. if you ask me... main costs come from the tax, insurance blabla, and maybe engine oil only... rest of it isnt very different (if you take into account similar engines)

lsm1991
post Jul 13 2016, 10:29 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(K.A.A.LFC @ Jul 13 2016, 10:08 PM)
Budget 50k-60k

Choice:2010-2015 Inspira,CITY 2013(Facelift),Iriz..Preve(new),Vios(2013)

Which is suit more for fresh grad?First time car user,frens regret buy preve,said used inspira much better and easy to make-up convert

Inspira parts are much easier than preve,iriz right?And  similar too in terms cost of maintainance? Engine oil,brake pads,etc etc
why dont you mention exactly which models...

fresh grad... save ur $, dont convert convertlah....

used inspira
- will cost more to maintain, if you start modifying, even more so.
- me like this car, pretty decent if you ask me (look for a stock non-abused unit, generally, stock = less likely to be abused)
-i have a hatred of all cars that are kitted but have no go... same applies to those with straight pipes which scream like hell is unleashed but go nowhere. if its kited like an evo, it better be as powerful as an evo... but thats just me ranting.gif

new preve (i assume campro)
- is depressing... i just dont like it so im gona skip this (admitedly senang jagalagh, simple and horrible as hell engine)
used preve cfe
- alright under 40k for a 3yo used unit, cfe helps abit... more power better fc
- problem is with proton qc....
lsm1991
post Jul 13 2016, 10:53 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(K.A.A.LFC @ Jul 13 2016, 10:33 PM)
New PREVE exec vs 2014 1.8 Inspira....

2.0 inspira roadtax gonna cost more,dont want,

preve cfe turbo problem alot,so out of list too

prefer convert and easy well maintain car
would still pick the inspira over the preve..... (i have a soft spot for the inspira)

about the roadtax figures,
1600cc rm90
1800cc rm280 (plus 190)
2000cc rm380 (plus 100)
the sicnificant jump is between the 1.6l and 1.8l.... 2.0l isnt actually that much more than the 2.0l.... if that amount is considered a problem, best you stick with the smaller engines

whatever problem the cfe has the campro has as well.... only issue the cfe had was the cooler hose which has been fixed~
the campro is underpowered.... weak engine + heavy body, not a good combination.... (preve is very fat at 1.3 tons)
lsm1991
post Jul 14 2016, 12:13 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(K.A.A.LFC @ Jul 13 2016, 11:57 PM)
And whic is better in terms of fuel comsumption?
really depends... but assuming mixed driving, i would say the best would be the inspira followed by the cfe then the campro.... simply because the campro is so so underpowered. It has no torque down low so you really have to push it hard (forcing you to uss more fuel) to get it going especially if you have a load.

The campro is frankly is not a very advanced engine, i would go as far as to claim that there are many engines over 10 years older which incorporate more advanced technologies icon_idea.gif

some figures for you. Note that the preve is a mix of both the cps and the turbo (assume that the campro is pulling those figures down) while the inspira is a mix of the 1.8 and 2.0 (i know the 1.8 and 2.0 manage very similar figures)
http://www.fuelly.com/car/proton/preve
http://www.fuelly.com/car/proton/inspira
lsm1991
post Jul 14 2016, 10:02 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jul 14 2016, 08:15 AM)
First car of your life? Still studying?

P1 or p2.

Both easy maintained.

P1 can go for persona. 40k only.

P2 axis or myvi.

Simple.

Inspira maintain wil high cost. Preve also
fresh grad i think? hehe

inspira is good but i agree.... maintanance can be tougher.

cheapo iriz, maivee, axia, saga, persona, boleh dah...... ppl say if you are in sales u need to drive a nice car? i duno about thatlah.

when it comes to fresh grads, I always offer advice contradictory to what i did biggrin.gif <= am genius bought a 20 yo pretty car haha

edit: e_X if u can wait, the perodua bezza is coming out soon... should be a very decent car. am not that convinced that a 1.0 can lug it around properly tho, but that remains to be seen.

This post has been edited by lsm1991: Jul 14 2016, 10:07 AM
lsm1991
post Jul 14 2016, 11:18 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Jul 14 2016, 11:06 AM)
would be another land whale with micro heart like the attrage  laugh.gif
that i agree.... 1.3 should be alright kut..... but the 1.0.... oh my....
lsm1991
post Jul 14 2016, 03:04 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Jul 14 2016, 02:54 PM)
mazda 6 2.0 second hand 2013-2014 vs new civic turbo.
Thoughts anyone ?
This is car is for family and long distance driving.
Both have same amount of interior space but mazda 6 has less power.
hmmm dif segment... mazda should quite abit larger...... just go view both i guess...
lsm1991
post Jul 16 2016, 12:57 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Jul 16 2016, 12:43 PM)
I know that , but the civic has as much interior space as the mazda 6. Also the ride and handling has also improved for the civic. 
This is like comparing an apple which is as big as a watermelon. Different and yet roughly the same.
kinda true.... went to see the civic, its a roomy car, if im not wrong, around 50L dif between the 2 in terms of interior space..... which do you like better?
both are very pretty cars, both come laoded with safety, just that one is newer and isnt exactly proven at the moment
lsm1991
post Jul 16 2016, 01:05 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jul 16 2016, 12:57 PM)
Oops. Its a typo. Should me fluenc can buy but the fc and road tax seems abit high for me. Somewhat they discontinued it and replaced with megene? I am not so clear about it.

Next is when telling my parents about fluency they kind of object it. What to do haha. They are deciding factor also. Actually I keep thinking the pros over m2 is it just space? If yes, seems not worth because I always drive alone.

But actually is kind of weird no seeing much m2 otr compared to city. And I like something unique which not everyone having. Don't know why haha. That's why I take both cold car into consideration.

Besides finance is main point also. After long thinking,  20k is pretty much, if chosen over Renault.

Need your much guidance in automotive field haha
if you are paying for it, i dont think your parrents really have much of a say in this, your money mah, anything wrong also keluar ur pocket haha. If they are helping pay or something then well, i think u better just drop the fluence... laterone, lets say something happens, they will harp about it all the time mega_shok.gif

if you really like the mazda, go for it! since you dont really have passengers, space should not have been a concern in the 1st place (at least you can still pick passangers up when the need arises, my car is too cramp, backseats work for legless, headless mutant humans only)

as for why you dont see so many m2's compared to hondas, well, the honda is a better 'overall' package, its a clever design packed with the latest tech and comes with lots of toys hence why its so popular
lsm1991
post Jul 16 2016, 01:30 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(nabelon @ Jul 16 2016, 01:07 PM)
Been on the hunt for cars for quite some time now. So many choices in second hand market ! Cant decide as c segment b segment d segment all overlapnin pricing  !
i have a solution for you....ask yourself
1)Can i afford the d segment running/maintenance costs?
if no well obviously you can just give up on the idea, if yes continue to question2
2)Do i need the space
if yes, then you need a d seg or bigger, if no you may continue to question 3
3)Why do i want a d segment
if you can convince yourself you want/need one, get one! otherwise why consider getting one?

QUOTE(andrewyu2005 @ Jul 16 2016, 01:19 PM)
ok for now, hi, i am back i will stick with proton iriz 1.6 exec mt but perodua bezza makes me to rethink about the car that i am choosing right now which is proton iriz 1.6 exec mt and it's engine is is toyota vios's engine even though it is 1.0-1.3 litre but i still have to wait for new persona and new saga to see what engine are they using
which expert told you it is using a vios engine this time..... 1.0 and 1.3 are not even the same engines

proton,s 1.3 and 1.6 campros are basically twins with dif internals (crank shaft, pistons, that stuff), so yes one can call them basically the same engine (ecu is also the same) but this and the vios... NO

EDIT:grammar

This post has been edited by lsm1991: Jul 16 2016, 02:30 PM
lsm1991
post Jul 16 2016, 02:35 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jul 16 2016, 02:22 PM)
Well, yea they are actually paying it. They wanted to buy me a new one last year but I refused because I think that current ride still can be used then why go get new one. But I was wrong, I never know that my sis who drive it for the past few years, we give her a good condition car and she never bother to maintain it properly. End up, when I am using it, my parent need to change so many compartment. Tires, water tank, battery, absorber rear, shaft, suspension, belt, mounting, bulb, eo, auto oil, sparks plugs, thermostats, air filter, scratch marks at rear and front bumper, dents from and back which ketuk back with poor workmanship, we asked is it dented before she says no well its pretty obvious women....
Initially my plan was using it until I get a job then only get myself a new ride. End up last month they offered me to change new car.....

My opt now will still maz2 and city. Will test drive it only decide. Thanks for the head up.
macam tu, maybe can just forget the fluence, i guess you are a non married young fella so, no real need for such a big car anyway......

actually it sounds like you have done alot of repairs on the vios.... why not keep it around for a while since its fine now. Sounds like an older car so, u wont lose that much in resale even if u keep it around anyway.

QUOTE(andrewyu2005 @ Jul 16 2016, 02:29 PM)
thank you so much for your complement.
dont think that was a complement......
lsm1991
post Jul 16 2016, 05:44 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(andrewyu2005 @ Jul 16 2016, 04:49 PM)
lsm1991, i need your help because i was attacked by jason lcians who keep on
looking down on proton cars
How is that bothering me? and what on earth would lead you to think that I would care....

enjoy yourself....
QUOTE(andrewyu2005 @ Jul 16 2016, 05:40 PM)
Japan Car. why dont you buy my favourite sedan which is perodua bezza.
i didnt know the bezza was under 30k..... and i did not know that the bezza falls under the b/c segment..... bangwall.gif
lsm1991
post Jul 16 2016, 05:49 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(ykk3 @ Jul 16 2016, 04:50 PM)
1. Brand : Prefer Japan or korea
2. Budget : <30k
3. New/Used/Unreg : used, better 2011 and above
4. Car type: b segment, c segment
5. Engine: any
6. Specs: any
7. Capacity: any
8. Transmission: Auto
going to be frank with you...... i dont think there exists a decent japanese b/c segment newer than 2010 for below 30k, and in my opinion, any korean b/c car under 30k isnt really worth getting

zenix already answered a similar question recently.... (just roll a few pages back and check) but newest car in that list was like... 2009-2010? (iirc)

30 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.2725sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:39 AM