QUOTE(vulgaregg @ Aug 24 2010, 01:18 AM)
are you sure you got a confirmed offer from IMU or u just got an offer to be interviewed??? COs u have to pass the interview before you are confirmed a place in IMU. it's two completely different things you know.
Added on August 24, 2010, 1:22 am
Salem town is only max 30 minutes away from campus!!!
wherever you choose, it solely depends on your own hardwork!
IMU and PIDC teaching styles are completely opposite.
IMU = Self Study ,lots of distractions , high living cost
PIDC = Lots of lectures just like high school , not much distractions, super low living cost and with a whole lot of Malaysian's living together life in India isn't that difficult actually.
Added on August 24, 2010, 1:26 amYeap.. Have been there for the past 4 months.
Personally, I am enjoying myself in India.
Lecturers are pretty good except for biochem but that's probably due to the subject being really dry. I dont think lecturers play a huge role anyway, for a course like dentisty 80% depends on your own effort and determination to study anyway. Be prepared to do lots of drawings cos they love diagrams and neat answers for exams. You need really good practical skills for carving and dental material classes.
Facilities are just so-so. Cant expect much when you're India but basic essentials are ensured like clean distilled water, aircond (the local student hostel DO NOT have airconds), fridge, fully furnished room (cupboard, bed, sheets, chairs, study tables), you even have a cleaner lady who will be there everyday to clean your rooms if u want to. Transport is also provided in the morning and at the end of class. even if u miss the bus it's only a 10-15 minute walk back to the hostel. Wireless internet is sucky at times but still more than enough to survive.
Text books and dental materials are all provided when u arrive.
Whereas for food, if u can take spicy food then you wouldn't have a problem at all, if you do not then your choices are limited but still bareable.
Coming to India for dentistry has been the best decision i made. I have no regrets at all.. The distraction level here is very low so you will concentrate on your studies. The huge diff between IMU and PIDC is that in IMU it's pretty much a SELF STUDY style of teaching where you only have few hours of lectures a week. On the other hand, in PIDC you will have lectures from 9am-4pm from monday to friday.
I would say that almost the whole of my batch does not regret choosing coming to India and even two of them transfered from IMU to PIDC.
btw.. town IS NOT 1-2 hours away. Town is only a 30 minutes Auto (taxi) ride. LIVING COST in india is super cheap. meals here are super cheap and you can eat without having to think twice about the price.
just post up any other questions and i'll answer them when i'm free.
Thanks for the feedback on studying in India, but meh, bias review towards other universities.... By others I meant IMU.. Lol...Added on August 24, 2010, 1:22 am
Salem town is only max 30 minutes away from campus!!!
wherever you choose, it solely depends on your own hardwork!
IMU and PIDC teaching styles are completely opposite.
IMU = Self Study ,lots of distractions , high living cost
PIDC = Lots of lectures just like high school , not much distractions, super low living cost and with a whole lot of Malaysian's living together life in India isn't that difficult actually.
Added on August 24, 2010, 1:26 amYeap.. Have been there for the past 4 months.
Personally, I am enjoying myself in India.
Lecturers are pretty good except for biochem but that's probably due to the subject being really dry. I dont think lecturers play a huge role anyway, for a course like dentisty 80% depends on your own effort and determination to study anyway. Be prepared to do lots of drawings cos they love diagrams and neat answers for exams. You need really good practical skills for carving and dental material classes.
Facilities are just so-so. Cant expect much when you're India but basic essentials are ensured like clean distilled water, aircond (the local student hostel DO NOT have airconds), fridge, fully furnished room (cupboard, bed, sheets, chairs, study tables), you even have a cleaner lady who will be there everyday to clean your rooms if u want to. Transport is also provided in the morning and at the end of class. even if u miss the bus it's only a 10-15 minute walk back to the hostel. Wireless internet is sucky at times but still more than enough to survive.
Text books and dental materials are all provided when u arrive.
Whereas for food, if u can take spicy food then you wouldn't have a problem at all, if you do not then your choices are limited but still bareable.
Coming to India for dentistry has been the best decision i made. I have no regrets at all.. The distraction level here is very low so you will concentrate on your studies. The huge diff between IMU and PIDC is that in IMU it's pretty much a SELF STUDY style of teaching where you only have few hours of lectures a week. On the other hand, in PIDC you will have lectures from 9am-4pm from monday to friday.
I would say that almost the whole of my batch does not regret choosing coming to India and even two of them transfered from IMU to PIDC.
btw.. town IS NOT 1-2 hours away. Town is only a 30 minutes Auto (taxi) ride. LIVING COST in india is super cheap. meals here are super cheap and you can eat without having to think twice about the price.
just post up any other questions and i'll answer them when i'm free.
This post has been edited by hunter1012: Sep 27 2010, 10:29 PM
Sep 27 2010, 10:28 PM

0.0129sec