41 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Bottom

Home Theatre Home Theatre Projector Talk, Epson TW700 Transformers Movie pic pg 33

dirtrun
post May 4 2007, 04:55 PM

3,136 posts

Hehehe,

On de AE1000 1080p PJ , IMO , if you are going HD source(BR or HD DVD) then go for it, if not - even upscaled SDVD ... well to me not worth it la - just to watch S DVD's...
BTW Pls PM me de price dat they offer you ... who knows maybe I can help you sell at a profit....

Cheers
Dirtrun

This post has been edited by dirtrun: May 4 2007, 04:57 PM
timothyy
post May 4 2007, 05:09 PM

Do Not Underestimate the "Pawa" of the Dark Side
4,504 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ May 4 2007, 04:55 PM)
Hehehe,

On de AE1000 1080p PJ , IMO , if you are going HD source(BR or HD DVD) then go for it, if not - even upscaled SDVD ... well to me not worth it la - just to watch S DVD's...
BTW Pls PM me de price dat they offer you ... who knows maybe I can help you sell at a profit....

Cheers
Dirtrun
KAKAKA... thats the thing.
If I upgrade to AE1000, I'll be spending thousands more as I will be getting at least BR or HDDVD player. Then, I'll be buying many many HD discs and such...
At the end, I end up spending more.

dirtrun
post May 4 2007, 05:27 PM

3,136 posts

BR cheapest player is de PS3 and Tosh is de default HD DVD and which you gonna choose - or get both .... wak bottomless pocket lo...

Hehehe
Dirtrun
timothyy
post May 4 2007, 06:36 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ May 4 2007, 05:27 PM)

BR cheapest player is de PS3 and Tosh is de default HD DVD and which you gonna choose - or get both .... wak bottomless pocket lo...

Hehehe
Dirtrun
Dirtrun

OK, I am getting confused again. Kekekeke...
Now, I need to get my deal fast before they make me liveless.

Anyway...

Your TW700 is similar to Epson PowerLite Pro 810 in the USA?
TSjasonlky
post May 5 2007, 02:23 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ May 4 2007, 06:36 PM)
Dirtrun

OK, I am getting confused again. Kekekeke...
Now, I need to get my deal fast before they make me liveless.

Anyway...

Your TW700 is similar to Epson PowerLite Pro 810 in the USA?
Let me weigh in on this....

I mentioned earlier that if I am buying a projector today, I would go for a 1080p resolution projector. If anything, just to guard against the investment of the initial outlay. 1080p is very quickly becoming the default. And the beauty of it is that you do not have to plonk another handful of dosh for HD or BR just yet. You can still wait another 6 months to a year then decide what to do on that front. But all the time you are safe in the knowledge that your projector is ready to go 1080. If you get 720p projector then if 6 months down the line you want to go HD/BR.... the initial outlay for the 720p projector is most probably sunk, plus you have another outlay to get a 1080p projector. Granted you may be able to get a 1080p at today's 720p prices... but there is no guarantee.

So in the end you may be paying more. That said, I am not sure if I would choose the Panny... go shop around. Not sure what your dealer carries.... Note that all 1080p do not have the high lumen output compared to the current crop of 720p.

TW700 is the same as the 810.
timothyy
post May 5 2007, 08:25 AM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(jasonlky @ May 5 2007, 02:23 AM)
Let me weigh in on this....

I mentioned earlier that if I am buying a projector today, I would go for a 1080p resolution projector.  If anything, just to guard against the investment of the initial outlay.  1080p is very quickly becoming the default.  And the beauty of it is that you do not have to plonk another handful of dosh for HD or BR just yet.  You can still wait another 6 months to a year then decide what to do on that front.  But all the time you are safe in the knowledge that your projector is ready to go 1080.  If you get 720p projector then if 6 months down the line you want to go HD/BR.... the initial outlay for the 720p projector is most probably sunk, plus you have another outlay to get a 1080p projector.  Granted you may be able to get a 1080p at today's 720p prices... but there is no guarantee.

So in the end you may be paying more.  That said, I am not sure if I would choose the Panny... go shop around.  Not sure what your dealer carries....  Note that all 1080p do not have the high lumen output compared to the current crop of 720p.

TW700 is the same as the 810.
Yeah... spent much time in AVS last night/this morning. Now, eyes are panda eyes.
I think the 810 is quite reliable. Heard of any problem? I've been reading the whole thread on 810 until like page 3x... the only problem I heard was on the iris motor noise, slight convergence.

Jason... you in town? Can I drop over?
shipal
post May 5 2007, 01:12 PM

Validating
247 posts

Why not go to your dealer and do a shootout comparison with few models, instead of doing all that research? What choices of projectors do they have?

Maybe can shootout the Epson, Panny, Infocus, Benq, etc... will be fun to see.
timothyy
post May 5 2007, 01:28 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(shipal @ May 5 2007, 01:12 PM)
Why not go to your dealer and do a shootout comparison with few models, instead of doing all that research? What choices of projectors do they have?

Maybe can shootout the Epson, Panny, Infocus, Benq, etc... will be fun to see.
shakehead.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif
You really not following the whole situation. Sometimes wonder whether you are just trying to add your count sign0014.gif

Anyway... its a Panny dealer.
crazyconsumer
post May 5 2007, 01:54 PM

Big Spender
673 posts

Bad luck on the panny experience.

If Panny dealer, why are you considering Epson?
timothyy
post May 5 2007, 04:36 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(crazyconsumer @ May 5 2007, 01:54 PM)
Bad luck on the panny experience.

If Panny dealer, why are you considering Epson?
When u only got "No" choice... where else can you go?
Ask them to get you a multimedia projector?

What is happening now is the dealer will try to use his best Jalan to make back his profit. So, he might get from another dealer at lower price and then try to sell to me.
dirtrun
post May 5 2007, 06:21 PM

3,136 posts

Hi Bro Tim,

One step at a time ... like bro Jason say settle your Pj issues first then only look at sources...

IMO, like I said before at this point in time 720p is enuff for wat we wanna use it for ( SDVD) and I do not deny de idea of getting a 1080p PJ now might deem future proofing, at least for 2 yrs or so but I believe de batch of 1080p Pjs now are a little low on lumens (de next genre will increase dis, without a doubt) so if you are using in a living room (well anything with no lite control) you would be better off wif de current 720p PJs...

I have oso noticed from a neighboring country - those who have bought 1080p PJs are also running HD sources...

Wah this weekend Bro Tim cannot sleep very well lo...hehhehe
Dirtrun
crazyconsumer
post May 5 2007, 06:30 PM

Big Spender
673 posts

That's exactly what we are all thinking and saying ..... if you have other choices to consider, look around and check out the demos. Why restrict to Epson? Your decision is only based on forum, not own eyes?

QUOTE(timothyy @ May 5 2007, 04:36 PM)
When u only got "No" choice... where else can you go?
Ask them to get you a multimedia projector?

What is happening now is the dealer will try to use his best Jalan to make back his profit. So, he might get from another dealer at lower price and then try to sell to me.
timothyy
post May 5 2007, 06:41 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(crazyconsumer @ May 5 2007, 06:30 PM)
That's exactly what we are all thinking and saying ..... if you have other choices to consider, look around and check out the demos. Why restrict to Epson? Your decision is only based on forum, not own eyes?
Boss, thats the problem Malaysia la.

For my preference... actually Panny AX100 was the one but you can call it lucky or you can call it bad luck... But I got to move on.

The next closest to AX100 is Panny TW700. But actually, if you look at it (through readings), the spec is better than AX100.

Now, what other models or brand I can consider?
Optoma-110% out. If you read my previous posts, I mentioned it quite a number of times.
BenQ-Where to find?
Sanyo-Not bright enough.
Mitsubishi-Not bright enough.
The rest? All not at the same par with these.

So... where else I can go?
dirtrun
post May 5 2007, 07:27 PM

3,136 posts

Hahaha,

Demos ... maybe in KL got la... those in smaller towns - got la : Sanyo Z1 or IF4805 still being demoed... u want ax100 got, u pay deposit I order for you...

Tat leaves forum opinions and thank god for tat...
Dirtrun
psp _BOY
post May 5 2007, 08:00 PM

I've been lying wide awake paralyzed
1,978 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ May 5 2007, 06:41 PM)
Boss, thats the problem Malaysia la.

For my preference... actually Panny AX100 was the one but you can call it lucky or you can call it bad luck... But I got to move on.

The next closest to AX100 is Panny TW700. But actually, if you look at it (through readings), the spec is better than AX100.

Now, what other models or brand I can consider?
Optoma-110% out. If you read my previous posts, I mentioned it quite a number of times.
BenQ-Where to find?
Sanyo-Not bright enough.
Mitsubishi-Not bright enough.
The rest? All not at the same par with these.

So... where else I can go?
Basically u want something that can accomodate your 120" screen. Hmm, Even if you get a low lumens projector (1200<) If u have a good light controlled room, It wouldn't be a problem, although lots of contrast is sacrificed. Blacks turn Black-grey.
shipal
post May 5 2007, 09:22 PM

Validating
247 posts

Yep, timothyy is right. Only Epson and Panasonic is the best. rolleyes.gif

Go get Epson then. whistling.gif
timothyy
post May 5 2007, 10:34 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ May 5 2007, 07:27 PM)
Hahaha,

Demos ... maybe in KL got la... those in smaller towns - got la : Sanyo Z1 or IF4805 still being demoed... u want ax100 got, u pay deposit I order for you...

Tat leaves forum opinions and thank god for tat...
Dirtrun
No need to mention other town... even in KL...
I called up Epson a few times. The sales ppl even got to find out the price for me. He mentioned "Not many units sold, so I got to find out the price for you, oh... I got it... its RM6698.00"

I was like blink.gif blink.gif blink.gif

Then, he gave me some reseller numbers that can help me. So, I called. 1 number keep on engage. 1 number no people pick up (at 4.30pm) and another one... Yeah... got people picked up... rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif But then, its a house number.

shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif

So... thats the thing. I guess its good that the Panny dealer gonna help me to buy. I have less hassles.

QUOTE(shipal @ May 5 2007, 09:22 PM)
Yep, timothyy is right. Only Epson and Panasonic is the best. rolleyes.gif

Go get Epson then.   whistling.gif
Yeah yeah!!! WHATEVER!

Added on May 6, 2007, 10:49 pmJason... thanks for the review. It was an eye opener.

Sorry to cause your kid to cry just now.

It was great and nice of you to let us intrude into your lovely house. You got a dream home there.

Your AV room gonna rock soon.

Thanks again.

notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by timothyy: May 6 2007, 10:49 PM
TSjasonlky
post May 6 2007, 11:01 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ May 5 2007, 10:34 PM)
Jason... thanks for the review. It was an eye opener.

Sorry to cause your kid to cry just now.

It was great and nice of you to let us intrude into your lovely house. You got a dream home there.

Your AV room gonna rock soon.

Thanks again.

notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Not a problem dude. Glad to finally put have a face to go with a name. It is a pleasure to have met your lovely wife too. Don;t worry about my kid.... they get bumps and bruises all day long!!!

My AV room still got a long way to go, sorry for the mess.... diden even have proper place for you to sit.

Cheers
Xplicit
post May 7 2007, 02:04 AM

Question....
Where do you guys buy those big projector screen?
how much does it usually cost??
timothyy
post May 7 2007, 09:03 AM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(jasonlky @ May 6 2007, 11:01 PM)
Not a problem dude.  Glad to finally put have a face to go with a name.  It is a pleasure to have met your lovely wife too.  Don;t worry about my kid.... they get bumps and bruises all day long!!!

My AV room still got a long way to go, sorry for the mess.... diden even have proper place for you to sit.

Cheers
It was more than enough for me.
Now, I have tougher time ahead. Like I mentioned earlier... Panny-no SDE. Epson... SDE is obvious. Panny-Discoloration problem. Epson-No problem.

Haiz...

cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
QUOTE(Xplicit @ May 7 2007, 02:04 AM)
Question....
Where do you guys buy those big projector screen?
how much does it usually cost??
I made mine from Black out cloth. Cheapest and reliable. Yeah, you don't get the best but heck... its only about 20% of those in the market.

41 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0252sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:34 PM