8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

The Official Blu-ray Thread v17, Check 1st page 1st post for value FAQ :)

fadthil
post Apr 8 2020, 09:18 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

ayoo... everyone here talking about 4K player, OLED tv etc. but we're stuck with MCO... possibly extended summore, how...?? sweat.gif doh.gif how to go and survey, test-drive, demo... huhu blush.gif
fadthil
post Apr 9 2020, 06:24 AM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Apr 8 2020, 11:39 PM)
just get a xbox one. it is the cheapest player one can buy.
similar case to blu-ray... i bought PS3 because it was the cheapest blu-ray player i can afford at that time when i first starting up (that's about 13 years ago cool2.gif). but it has its downside as it does not have the features and enhancements of a standalone player. but i get what you mean... nod.gif
fadthil
post Apr 10 2020, 06:13 AM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Apr 9 2020, 07:32 AM)
Not really. pretty much it has all the necessary functions to play a 4k blu-ray disc i would say and cheapest in price. just get the Xbox One S or X
Only downside is that it has no dedicated control like PS3 that you can buy to use it like a remote control. You need to use the controller as remote.
Given its price, it is certainly best value for money 'player' comparing to any other options around.

Yeah, i use my PS3 as blu-ray player only and I do not have any other blu-ray player. I bought a sony official remote control for PS3 to be used as blu-ray player remote control but end up i dun really use it. I use my game controller afterall. Not a big issue seriously.
Most people will just use the play, pause, forward or backward functions when they watch a 2 to 3 hours movie seriously. At most they change the audio or subtile track.
oh i didn't know that, thanks for the info... i'm not that familiar with Xbox as i'm not really a gamer. that's to show also that i bought my PS3 just for the sake of blu-ray playback. and yes... i did buy the remote controller for bluray navigation blush.gif

QUOTE(westlife @ Apr 9 2020, 07:32 AM)
The best parts about game console as player is that they are very durable also.
My PS3 is still working even now.
I have not bought a Xbox one S/X yet becos I have yet to own a 4K blu-ray discs. However, they will certainly be my first choice if I need to own one.
oh i guess you are lucky, as my experience is not the same as you. my PS3 was the earlier batch (the fat one), it was not released in m'sia yet at that time. i thought i was lucky enough because most people suffered the lens problem after only 1 or 2 years, but mine was all good... until it ended up with the YLOD after 6-7 years of use! doh.gif and that was in 2015 when it just refused to boot when switched on.... btw i still have that PS3 on my deck collecting dusts. still unsure what to do with it – whether to get it fix (which may cost a bomb now?) or just leave it to rot since i already have a standalone bluray player rclxub.gif
fadthil
post Apr 10 2020, 06:19 AM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(tripleB @ Apr 9 2020, 08:26 AM)
I also used a PS3 as a Bluray player back in the day. But I think the example is not the same as using Xbox One S/X. PS3 did not have the ability to bitstream lossless audio for example. In that regard it's not as good as a standalone player.
you are right... this was one of the downside of having a PS3 as a blu-ray player as opposed to a standalone player... but i guess Xbox has done a better job especially when it comes to playback 4K content and have its features but with a cheaper price tag! nod.gif
fadthil
post Apr 10 2020, 03:45 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

bros tripleb, westlife & andrewtst – i agree with all your opinions on this subject! rclxms.gif

one of your earlier post; bro westlife why you were disappointed Sony did not allow 4K UHD playback on their PS3 Pro – i think Sony found out that one of the reasons the previous PS3 conk-out with regards to the lens issue is because it kept re-adjusting its lens when different media being loaded into the PS3 – games > DVDs > Blurays > games > Blurays > DVDs etc in continuous pattern. so maybe that's why until they figure out all this can be worked out, then they'll allow playability for all disc media in its PS... and in this case their upcoming PS4. but that's just my view... it could be totally out of context. i like when they can include 4K on games console and not just on standalone.... these will drive non-gamers to adopt to 4K without having to dig deep into their pocket for a standalone player to enjoy one... and who knows might start to jump into gaming since they already have a console! whistling.gif

other issue (apart from the ones listed out by bro westlife) that will cause unlikely popularity of 4K UHD bluray adopters among general consumers is that there is no significant difference between Full HD (1080p) to 4K (2160p)... unless you have a massive screen size tv or projector that can amaze the eye. we as cinephiles or technophiles probably can tell the difference, or knows them technically, bit rates bla bla... but not the general consumers! it's not night and day... unlike the comparison between DVD (480p) to Bluray (1080p) which is quite a big leap! flex.gif

but just my 2-cents.... sweat.gif
fadthil
post Apr 10 2020, 10:24 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(tripleB @ Apr 10 2020, 05:36 PM)
It's no longer enough just pushing resolution. There needs to be a 'hook' or gimmick when pushing new tech in general. VCD was actually worse than VHS in terms of imaqe quality, but it was easier to use. No rewinding, CD media is more versatile, and it lasted longer. Laserdisc was the best home format in the 80s, but it was too expensive for mainstream acceptance.

DVD came at a time when it was cheap enough for mass market adoption. Early on, a lot of DVDs came with extra content like behind the scene features, cut content, movie trailers and such. This was on top of better video and multichannel digital sound. It was perceived as better than VHS and VCD in every way. This was the 'hook' it had early on.

When HD DVD was still around, it really gave a fight for the home entertainment marketshare. I actually backed HD DVD between 2007 - 2008, just up until Bluray won the format war. Anyway, both formats helped define the HD era of movies. Full HD resolution and lossless audio became standard. Yet Bluray never reached the popularity level of DVD. There just wasn't enough difference to convince the majority of people to make the jump.

Today, 4K Bluray is facing an even tougher challenges. In addition to legacy formats like DVD still around, there are also challenges from Astro and the various streaming providers. They even support 4K resolution now. There's just not that much appeal in owning movies on 4K Bluray when it's already "good enough" for most people. The only 'hook' 4K Bluray has is Dolby Atmos / DTS X output, and maybe HDR.

I continue to support 4K Bluray (and Bluray too) of course, since I want to watch movies in the best possible way. I just hope the format continues to be supported well into the next generation.
i second your statement! i really hope physical media won't die and extinct in the near future.... because of streaming, digital files and all that. i miss those days going to Sg Wang Plaza and browse R1 DVD new releases – this is long before i know how to shop online sweat.gif Looking at the cover designs, the sleeve note and also can smell the print ink of the packaging!! laugh.gif

while i have not started collecting 4K disc yet, i've already collected around 400+ DVDs (well i must admit some are not "ori"), 200+ Blurays and 1 HD-DVD title laugh.gif ! i'm sure some sifus here have way more collection than i am. but my point is, i'm a big fan of physical media... although i do have netflix too. When Samsung announced they're stopping to produce 4K UHD Bluray player early last year... my interest to try out 4K fades a bit wink.gif
fadthil
post May 28 2020, 11:06 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

has anyone tried or made orders from amazon.com recently? kinda troublesome when only selected items (in this case only some titles of blu-ray & 4k UHD) are allowed to be shipped to our address.... pffft blush.gif blink.gif blush.gif
fadthil
post May 29 2020, 03:37 AM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ May 28 2020, 11:15 PM)
Use priority shipping than anything can be ship over. Just have to pay more
no bro, it's not about the type of shipping preference, but the titles themselves... wink.gif a notification popped-up telling me my selected item cannot be shipped to my address... even before asking me to choose which shipping mode!?! for example : the gentlemen blu-ray can be shipped to my address but not bad boys for life bluray doh.gif rclxub.gif
fadthil
post May 29 2020, 07:32 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ May 29 2020, 07:12 AM)
I tried to select bad boys for life is able to deliver to selangor with premium delivery
maybe it's because your account already pre-saved the premium delivery option; thus all good to go. but that is not the issue here.

the issue here is why only certain titles can and certain titles can't be shipped eventhough both using the same shipping mode... and in this case not priority shipping. i guess i will seek amazon customer service for answers wink.gif
fadthil
post May 29 2020, 11:42 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

ok, just had a chat with amazon's customer service.

due to the current pandemic covid-19 situation, amazon only offers limited shipping method to our beautiful m'sia boleh rclxub.gif so that option for buying blu-ray (which is not an essential item) is only via 'amazon global priority shipping'!! but this option is similar to the 'expedited shipment' as it charges similar fee rates.

so, in other words... this is not a 'normal' priority shipment which could've costs a bomb! sweat.gif

oh well, looks like will wait for this to go back to normal before making my next order... wink.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
fadthil
post Jun 6 2020, 04:38 AM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(munchoong @ Jun 4 2020, 11:50 AM)
I can afford to wait smile.gif

Most likely no Black Friday shopping this year then...
haha... but black friday is still about 5 months away! i hope by then they will revert the shipping back to its original options when this pandemic issue recedes nod.gif
fadthil
post Jun 11 2020, 02:01 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(dex-brz @ Jun 6 2020, 08:16 PM)
not only limited shipping options...but very slow dispatch and delivery now...zzz
hahaha... tell me 'bout it! probably we just wait-lah... patience is a virtue whistling.gif
fadthil
post Jun 14 2020, 05:04 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

finally... and officially, they're closing down for good after more than 3 decades! yes, that's right, SPEEDY VIDEO IS CLOSING DOWN FOR GOOD bye.gif

they're having final promotion (cut n paste from their facebook post) as below:
Blu Ray
New Release 20%
7 For RM35 (Old Movie)
1 For RM10 (selected titles)

4K HD
New Release 20%
1 For RM149
2 FOR RM199

DVD ENGLISH / Cartoon MOVIE
New Release Buy 1 Free 1
2 For RM30
7 For RM35
10 For RM10 (Speedy Product)

DVD Marvel, Disney & TVB Box Set
2 For RM30

English Drama
7 For RM35

InnoformMedia DVD English/Education/Cartoon
10 For RM10

CD Import Normal Price 20%

Multimedia China Drama Box Set
Buy 1 Free 1

Multimedia TVB Box Set
2 For RM30

Speedy China Drama, & Taiwanese Drama Box Set (Old Drama)
7 For 35

CD Audio China Stock
2 For 30 (Normal Disc)
2 For 40 (LP Disc/ Black Disc)

Accessories / Toy / CD Wallet / Cleaning Fluid (CD, DVD)
Buy 1 Free 1

Blu Ray mix and match with Dvd 7 for RM35 selected title

Buy one free one mix & match
New release blu Ray
New release Dvd
China box set
New release tvb series

2 for RM30
Tvb Hong Kong series old title
Disney cartoon
Marvell cartoon
English series new title

btw, you can check out these stores below (are the ones left now i guess) offer the promo above:

Klang Valley :
1. Ekocheras Mall
2. Ampang Point
3. AEON Cheras Selatan
4. AEON Rawang
5. AEON Bukit Tinggi
6. IOI City Mall
7. One Utama Movie Magic
8. Subang Parade
9. AEON Alpha Angle

Outside of Klang Valley:
10. AEON Bandaraya Melaka
11. Mid Valley South Key
12. AEON Tebrau
13. Star Parade
14. AEON Seremban 2

do update what you purchased or experienced there here... good luck! biggrin.gif
fadthil
post Jun 14 2020, 05:07 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

my nearest and accessible outlets are at Subang Parade and One Utama. the last time i checked not much interesting on sale titles... well except the new releases la which they just announced! blush.gif
fadthil
post Jun 17 2020, 04:19 AM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(Hartigan @ Jun 16 2020, 10:39 AM)
Well I heard that they will keep the good and rare titles for online sales, not sure it's true or not, since their current official website was like shakehead.gif
you might be right, they're not going to let go their new & best-sellers with simply offering dirt cheap price... but having said that, the sale of newer 4K & blu-ray titles with only 20% off might be correct because it is not that cheap if compared to amazon's black friday sale prices for example... hmm.gif and yeah, i agree.... their website is one of the shittiest, i think the titles they offered in there were not updated in months. imagine only 43 blu-rays & four...you heard it right; only four 4K titles available to be sold!?!! doh.gif
fadthil
post Jun 17 2020, 04:25 AM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

btw, i just went to the 1utama outlet on monday to check it out... and i was surprised, the queue is so long and winding to enter... shocking.gif i decided to cancel my visit to the store! just like the long queue built up at MPH stores (also closing down cry.gif ) a few weeks ago near subang
fadthil
post Jun 17 2020, 11:45 AM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(Hartigan @ Jun 15 2020, 10:16 AM)
I'm quite sad after received this news yesterday morning, guess that it's really the time to move on...
Anyway can't beat the physical media store shopping experience, those were the days...
likewise... although i’m not really a “speedy” type of person, i share your sentiments regarding physical media in-store shopping experience; it can’t be compared to the ‘straightforward’ online shopping. i guess we will miss those shelf browsing excitement... and that goes to buying CDs too blush.gif
fadthil
post Jun 17 2020, 08:37 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Jun 17 2020, 10:18 AM)
go earlier and be the 1st in the queue  biggrin.gif
or wait until closing time then queue should be lesser
hey bro, long time no hear, what’s up...?

actually i wasn’t expecting speedy; of all shops to have such a big crowd queueing to get in! i guess people are still interested in physical medias (CDs and toys too... tongue.gif) when they’re on sale! laugh.gif

fadthil
post Jun 21 2020, 06:57 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Jun 18 2020, 08:35 AM)
hey bro, been hiding at home and watch Netflix only.
My bluray player is full of spider web since not open for few months now.
Kind of lazy to open the disc and put in disc each time watching movie.
Too used to Netflix with just few button press and can watch movie already  tongue.gif
ya lah, same here too... watching netflix is much easier to access. but while there are pros, there are also cons too. like yesterday, since jumanji next level just being added to netflix, so i planned to binge watch all three jumanjis... but to my surprise, jumanji welcome to the jungle has already been removed..!! doh.gif
fadthil
post Jun 21 2020, 06:58 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jun 18 2020, 09:29 AM)
More specific, human just love anything on sales. 😝
or more specifically... malaysians? laugh.gif

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0495sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:42 PM