The Official Blu-ray Thread v17, Check 1st page 1st post for value FAQ :)

fadthil
post Sep 24 2022, 12:55 AM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

haha... it's nice to be back here after being nearly two years absent! just checking-in to see if this forum is still alive. oh well it still does! rclxms.gif

just curious what are the patterns of all of us here on whether we're still actively collecting physical media like before; since nowadays becoming very2 slow aka too many streaming services (which in ways are good), shipping fees have changed at amazon to some degree post-pandemic (bad when there's no more standard shipping hence becoming more expensive with global expedited mode being the cheapest option, but good when it becomes faster in terms of delivery durations) and our ringgit being very weak especially now and soon inflation is forthcoming! sweat.gif

are you guys still actively buying at amazon.... or if there are other places (websites) with better prices and as reliable as amazon's? for me, i'm in a bit of financial crisis especially after pandemic... and will only buy if prices are really worth the while like during black friday sales (not sure if this year's will still be good, last year's and the one before were meh... blush.gif ) would appreaciate anyone's thoughts on this.

btw, i still love physical media and quite jealous when i see collectors in the states go blu-rays and 4ks hunting on their respective youtube channels weekly...
fadthil
post Sep 25 2022, 01:54 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(XxLCxX @ Sep 24 2022, 06:02 PM)
For me, my last BF sale was back in 2019 and ever since the pandemic + changes in media consumption, I'm leaning towards digital media now.

But once in a while, I'll still pop in a Blu-ray for the unrivalled A/V experience in comparison to streaming ❤️
absolutely agree with you there... the prices, our budgets, shipping fee increments, weak currency etc have turned me off a bit on the purchases of physicals, and we don't even have any brick & mortar stores here in m'sia to go to for options (speedy being the last store to closed down; wished we have walmart, target or best buys here... blush.gif well, not that our stores here before offer anything like from the US laugh.gif ) and with the digital media / streaming... absolutely can't match the quality of stand-alone AV from physicals nod.gif

as for me too, i'll pop in my blu-ray once in a while for the supplementaries / behind the scenes stuff as our streaming services here don't offer some of those like in the US... except only on youtube sweat.gif

This post has been edited by fadthil: Sep 25 2022, 02:00 PM
fadthil
post Sep 25 2022, 01:57 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Sep 25 2022, 06:57 AM)
All my blu-ray is for decoration now. 🤣 I never touch for it like 3 to 4 years already as I already transfer all to digital format and dump inside Plex.

Occasionally will buy one or two but once buy it is inside Plex and the actual physical disc is again put for decoration. 😂
owh that's interesting... what is plex? i've googled it, isn't it something like an online streaming / digital service too? hmm.gif how does it work bro? you mean you uploaded your digital files from your physical medias there and you made it something like a netflix but with your own collection? i'm intrigued...
fadthil
post Sep 25 2022, 10:08 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Sep 25 2022, 02:18 PM)
Plex mainly is a database platform to store all your local film / song and you can multi platform playback at your PC, Mac, Smart TV (So far it is support by all famous branded like Samsung, LG, Panasonic, Sony and etc), TV Box (Android TV, Google TV, Apple TV), Mobile and etc.

The online streaming part is new features from Plex which show mostly B class firm or independance film and also plenty of free live-TV channel.

Not upload but hosting yourself, you can make it public so you can stream back at others places or make it locally only.

Then you will have a very nice interface to browse the content (you can use the default select cover, background or use your own one).

Example of the interface

TV/TV Box Interface / HTPC Interface

PC Interface (for organize your Film Database)
wOw, that's impressive... rclxms.gif are all those your collection? great! so do you upload all your digital files (movies) into plex, is that how it works? it uses your hard disk space or plex's cloud space? i wont have the knowledge or gears to do this but this is really amazing... thanks bro for sharing! thumbup.gif
fadthil
post Sep 25 2022, 11:47 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Sep 25 2022, 10:19 PM)
I use my own HDD space, Plex did not host anything and don't have it own cloud service, I think that is the reason Plex is legal and never have any legal issue.
But Plex do support Cloud Sync to cloud storage providers such as Box, DropBox and Google.

I only put it locally, I not even share out as public. No one can access my collection except me. Haha!

Some information sharing:

• Plex is quite heavy, it only work nice in Nvidia Shield TV Pro. All format is supported include Dolby TrueHD and no transcode is required.
  • It work ok at Apple TV 4K Box and no sound issue as Apple auto transcode all audio to Multi channel PCM, due to this they is no Dolby Atmos in Dolby TrueHD as Apple not support it.
  • It work ok with Chromecast with Google TV but not support Dolby TrueHD due to the box limitation, so you need to transcode it. You need to change the setting at settings and it is kind of troublesome.
  • It work very shit in TV platform, I had try at Samsung, LG and Panasonic (not android TV) and all running freaking slow for this new interface and mostly cannot play actual Blu-ray / 4K Blu-ray format but only stream quality format.

If you only use for PC and then should be no issue as I even load my main database server at my old laptop - Intel® Core i7-6700HQ which is already 6 years ago and run fine, off course this laptop is kind of old and the GPU Nvidia GTX 970m is not really capable to run 4K UHD films which will skip frames with 100% CPU load. 😅 For newer PC or any GPU with RTX 20xx shouldn't be any issue playback 4K UHD films.
interesting, btw can i ask, how many shows (or titles) have you uploaded onto your PLEX platform, that include series if any too...? hmm.gif
fadthil
post Sep 26 2022, 06:55 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Sep 26 2022, 02:19 AM)
Not sure, didn't check. Haha!

The Plex is just a platform act as film database. They is no upload. It will retrieve the film from your local store or cloud.
ok i get it... it acts as a software to organise and play your file contents from your remote computer or hard disk, right? sorry, i am new to this... usually will just play my content direct from player or watch digitally via streaming services
fadthil
post Nov 3 2022, 08:32 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

so anybody here planning to buy any physical media (4Ks, blu-rays, DVDs) during Black Friday later this month? Or you guys already stop buying since economy is bad and Ringgit very weak now... hmm.gif for me I'm torn... Ringgit very weak, financial this year also not so good but if my favourite titles dropped prices like crazy and offer really good deal, then I'll be cursing later if I skip and not buying sweat.gif because I have not been buying any physical medias during non-Black Friday season ever since 4-5 years ago! blush.gif

On the other hand, I hope the titles I wanted won't be on sale or won't be too cheap so I won't feel too bad afterwards whistling.gif
fadthil
post Jul 19 2024, 01:10 AM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

Does anyone still buying physical media (dvd, blu-ray, 4k) around here? The last time I bought from Amazon was at the end of 2022 black friday! whistling.gif I just found out that Amazon now offered free shipping to Malaysia when you purchased and reached certain amount... not sure what's the catch though sweat.gif
fadthil
post Jul 19 2024, 11:00 AM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Jul 19 2024, 07:46 AM)
No catch. USD49 minimum spend. Just ordered few items last night 😁
alright... that's great, thanks for sharing! btw can i ask... since there's also this feature "Estimated Sales Tax to be collected", our items won't be held back for further tax from our Customs anymore right? hmm.gif and when you made that purchase last night, did you choose to pay in USD or converted to RM with the added "exchange rate guarantee fee"? Which one is better or your preference?

8 Pages « < 6 7 8Top

0.0524sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:31 PM