QUOTE(the_registered @ Feb 6 2007, 06:18 PM)
That's what I asked you, dude... "What plugs are ur bro using now, dude?"Nissan Sentra CLub, LYN Sentra User
Nissan Sentra CLub, LYN Sentra User
Feb 7 2007, 09:25 AM
2,115 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Petaling Jaya |
Feb 8 2007, 12:44 PM
QUOTE(Mingson @ Feb 8 2007, 07:04 AM) Seems like my car's white smoke, engine choking problem has disappeared after changing back to OEM plug cables and got power improvement some more... Nice... A lesson learned here today... High performance cables are TOTAL BULLSHIT! |
Feb 10 2007, 09:51 AM
QUOTE(justin78 @ Feb 8 2007, 03:44 PM) I totally agree with you. I once used a set of performance cable before and my symptom is worst than you, where my car will choke like hell when the engine is started. Hmm, glad to know that there's another person here who agrees with me on the stupidity of performance plug cables... Once change back to stock cable, every thing back to normal. The technician said the cable got power leakage. |
Mar 9 2007, 09:51 AM
QUOTE(justin78 @ Mar 9 2007, 09:38 AM) Hi every one out therre, Long time no post here liao...Who knows where to buy a wired mesh front grill for n16? If anyone know where to buy, please post the info here. Thank you. The grill is like the photo attached: ![]() This grill looks really nice... The finishing is surprisingly nice too... |
Mar 29 2007, 03:13 PM
QUOTE(happychai @ Mar 26 2007, 12:18 AM) my fren said if original then cost price is around 18 You are right, those fakes are selling at 15-16. Original one is impossible to be around that price range. The cheapest I can get so far is RM33.if those selling 15-16 are the Grade A palsu filter with all logo and chop same with the original 1.... but i not sure how true is it, but he is doin selling spare part 1 Oh yeah. I just serviced my B14 this past Sunday, changed engine oil to "MOTUL 4100 Turbolight" 10W40 semi-synths. Also changed new air and oil filter (all original). After that, there's a significant improvement in power. |
Mar 30 2007, 10:22 AM
QUOTE(kaizer @ Mar 29 2007, 11:05 PM) Guys, RM33 for the ori filter is crazy man... I've been buying from PH Auto (SeaPark) for RM16 a while now. All their Sentra filters comes with a Japanese markings. I think they parallel import it from Thailand? Not sure, but it's definately ori. I've been buying from PH Auto as well for years, mate. Mr. Beh charged me RM33 for the Ori air filter... Am I being conned? If Sentra's replacement is here, it's going to be Slyphy. That's the replacement in Japan. TC is bringing in a limited numbers of Teana is for sale. RM2XXk man... BTW, Fuga is of the Infiniti range, same as Lexus is to Toyota. Way above our bread and butter Sentra range, IMHO. Not sure about the Sentra replacement coming in or not. But TC had brought in the City/Vios killer, the Latio 1.5 sedan. It will be launched very very soon. QUOTE(rooonie @ Mar 30 2007, 09:40 AM) Castrol is Castrol... MOTUL is in a class of its own, mate. If you check out Nismo, they are also using MOTUL in their racing cars. This post has been edited by Vanquish: Mar 30 2007, 10:23 AM |
Mar 30 2007, 04:11 PM
Apr 19 2007, 02:09 PM
Took my B14 to my mech fren last Saturday. My B14 is spewing tons of white smoke periodically while driving...
My mech fren initially suspected that the brake servo might be faulty... But after he changed the brake servo and cleaned the throttle body, the car is still spewing white smoke when he tested it... Now, he is suggesting that I change the engine... And there's one unit of the SR16VE halfcut going for RM3000 (it's cheap becoz the halfcut is missing the instrument panel, so nobody wants to buy it). I'm now contemplating on what's the next best course of action... Sigh... |
Apr 21 2007, 09:51 AM
QUOTE(rooonie @ Apr 20 2007, 01:32 PM) have u ask him to check piston ring/rim (i'm not sure how to pronouce)...?? Piston ring changed oredi 6 months ago. Engine oil level is normal, that's why we are puzzled by that at first. Then we realized it's the camshaft and valves that are causing the problem.how about ur engine oil??? will it drain ur engine oil until empty?? juz my opinion... QUOTE(Mingson @ Apr 20 2007, 08:08 PM) Yeah, if you sponsor me the SR16VE N1 version, it'll be very very easy for me. This post has been edited by Vanquish: Apr 21 2007, 09:51 AM |
Apr 27 2007, 04:10 PM
This thread is very quiet lately...
May 8 2007, 11:57 AM
QUOTE(lot101 @ Apr 29 2007, 01:55 AM) 1.5, 1.6 or 1.8.......dun buy hotbits yet.....research abit before committing. There are some custom guys who do a V. good job. Ah, Nissan Sentra expert, lot101 finally posted something here... Hehehe...Plenty can be done to these engines, its all a question of $$$$$. If 1.8 duh..go SR20DET lo or SR20VE. If 1.6 then SR16VE. QUOTE(kaizer @ Apr 30 2007, 02:08 AM) I'm a member there. Why? If you want good exhaust systems, try Sebring and Borla.Added on April 30, 2007, 2:10 am Err... I think he's asking about modding the original engine, not changing it though... There's currently 2 choice, ready made. Hotbits and a chapalang brand (local). Hotbits is better from performance point of view as it's mandrel bent which should offer better flow that the crush bend chapalang brand. That's in theory. I haven't seen a back to back dyno sessions for both. |
May 27 2007, 02:09 AM
![]() ![]() Finally found the Pulsar VZ-R (SR16VE NEO VVL) halfcut! |
May 27 2007, 12:24 PM
QUOTE(sledgehammer @ May 27 2007, 11:51 AM) yo bro, nice halfcut u found!! Yeah, transplanting the dashboard also, if not, no point to buy the halfcut, I'm driving a B14, so no mod is required, just one to one swap as the B14 shares the same mounting points as the N15... are you going to transplant the dashboard as well? how much does this halfcut costs u? QUOTE(andrewL @ May 27 2007, 12:13 PM) ouch... mayb im still new to cars and havent found the acquired taste for halfcuts...... but my heart aches to see the car.. Halfcuts no need acquired tastes wan woh... This post has been edited by Vanquish: May 27 2007, 01:36 PM |
May 28 2007, 01:34 AM
QUOTE(andrewL @ May 28 2007, 12:23 AM) @vanquish Yeah, one man's sweet is another man's poison, mate... No one expects you to like this kinda thing... And I find your statement to be very, very rude... If you got nothing constructive to say, please keep it to yourself.that looks like a pile of thrash to me... anyway, does any1 know anything about tuning up sentras? and did u noe that the sentra will be phased out by i think next month(IIANM) so it would not compromise the sales of the new Latio Tuning up the Sentra? Well, I got a word of caution... Don't ever fcuk with the cam shafts/cam timing of the engine unless you have an expert mechanic who knows a lot about Nissan engines... Sentra will not be phase out anytime soon, ETCM oredi announced that the Sentra will continue to be on sale alongside the Latio... QUOTE([ r u g a ] @ May 28 2007, 01:06 AM) guys i wana ask something regarding Sentra b14 chassis structure.. I don't quite get what you mean by "joint part"... Perhaps you can elaborate a bit more...is there any joint part between the front and back door? actually i go for a used car shop today to get one..i check out that and boss say is ntg..he say is not my job to inspect the car bla bla bla..he say surely can pass puspakom.. so i found out theres two joint part above the front and back door..other thing all looks well.. i know some car are orignally like that like wira which have a factory joint part at the Apillar area.. pls clarify for me.. Added on May 28, 2007, 1:41 am QUOTE(sledgehammer @ May 27 2007, 11:51 AM) yo bro, nice halfcut u found!! This halfcut costs me RM6+K... are you going to transplant the dashboard as well? how much does this halfcut costs u? This post has been edited by Vanquish: May 28 2007, 01:41 AM |
May 28 2007, 09:13 AM
QUOTE(andrewL @ May 28 2007, 02:27 AM) @ vanquish Aduh sorry... really didnt mean to sound rude... meant it in a very joking manner only.. pls dont take it to heart and i just read NST's automobil section of the paper, i seriously know i saw the official statement saying that all variants of sentra except the 1.6manual will phase out to prevent competition with the Latio... ps: why doesnt any1 in malaysia pimp up the look on their sentra? all sentra on the road i see is totally stock.. unlike most Vios and City I read about it on Paul Tan's site, perhaps Paul made a mistake when he wrote his report... I personally felt strange why would they still continue the Sentra line becoz the Latio is using 1.6 and 1.8 liter engines instead of the rumoured 1.5 liter... Not many people pimp up their Sentras becoz most of the people who buys a Sentra are usually those who had oredi have a family or those in their late 30s and above, typically those who are not so inclined in pimping their rides... Vios and City different as their buyers are more of the younger crowds. |
May 28 2007, 11:20 AM
QUOTE([ r u g a ] @ May 28 2007, 11:11 AM) ok..well monocoque chassis usually comes in a piece right.. I'm a B14 owner and as far as I know it doesn't have the so-called "stitch points" or welding points in those area you mentioned... Hope this helps...but not all car build all the part together like roof and frontal part of the car to the chassis..means the front crash zone is build to the chassis by stitch weld to the chassis either to the strut area or till A pillar area.. my question is.. does the original sentra B14 has this stitch area above the door close to A pillar area and rear door above the Door area too? means if u open the rubber thing,you can see theres 2 different piece of stacked and joint together metal.. |
May 28 2007, 02:57 PM
QUOTE([ r u g a ) ,May 28 2007, 01:00 PM]ok thanks..so i can comfirm that shop owner trying to cheat me buying kereta potong.. Dude, if you're really serious about getting the car, go do an X-Ray on the car lar, that way u sure will know if the car kena potong before or not... Just spend some money there to get a peace of mind loh...sumore is fren recommendation..disapointed le i wonder why jpj pass the car earlier.. And go PUSPAKOM, not JPJ for these kinda checks... This post has been edited by Vanquish: May 28 2007, 02:57 PM |
May 29 2007, 11:43 AM
Jun 2 2007, 01:07 AM
QUOTE(andrewL @ Jun 1 2007, 10:25 PM) feedback time (advise and opinions welcome): 1) Looks like ur car needs alignment. Remember to check toe and camber setting as well.i just took my SG-L on a 140kmph ride on kesas highway and i found out that i) the car tends to suave quite a lot to the left. ii) RPM needle tends to 'jump' between 4 to 6 when press the accelerator iii)the road seems very smooth, but my car seems to bump around and go bouncing. (from wat i heard, sentra is supposed to give a smooth ride) wat do you guys think? could it be an allignment and suspension problem? and take note, my car is almost brand new, only 300km old.. 2) Ur Sentra is running on Overdrive gear which is weak when going up hill, hence it drops down to 3rd gear to get back up to speed. 3) Since ur car is brand new, there shouldn't be any problems with your absorbers and springs. This bumping and bouncing could be caused by bad alignment of the front wheels. Also, check all your tyres for irregular wear... This post has been edited by Vanquish: Jun 2 2007, 01:08 AM |
Jun 4 2007, 09:32 AM
QUOTE(andrewL @ Jun 2 2007, 04:43 PM) @vanquish Toe and Camber (and Caster) are settings found on wheel alignment, which is related to the suspension...thx for feedback, but i turn my OD off whenever i go corners, overtaking, and going uphill............. coz it allows me to continue pressing the accelerator non-stop ekkk, wats a toe and camber? how to check ah? sorry, im todely noob in this, just started driving few months ago Find out more about Wheel Alignment here... QUOTE(andrewL @ Jun 2 2007, 07:32 PM) hmmmmph... I think it would be a nice idea to have a TT session... our LYN sentra club never had a TT before rite? but first, we need more sentra users to join us QUOTE(kaizer @ Jun 4 2007, 03:37 AM) That's not a real 4-pot, it's those caliper covers that's available in accessories shops such as Brother's or Eneos... |
| Change to: | 0.0466sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:33 PM |