13 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

USA Stock Discussion v8, Brexit: What happens now?

xander2k8
post Jan 1 2023, 06:48 AM

4,645 posts

QUOTE(Peenix99 @ Jan 1 2023, 01:47 AM)
I sold off merck in December. Yep solid gains but as it was a take over I didn't want to keep it for too long. I've mostly been watching individual biotechs as I'm not adept enough at trading them (bad experience)
KALA ran so hard and seeing how this sector if you get in early it runs so hard I've been examining my approach to them basically getting in early as possible when range expansion starts.
You should have keep on holding on Merck for long term as it is solid company

Don’t trade Biotech because if you don’t understand the business will easily get burned

The best is study and buy ETF of biotech like XBI for risk mitigation purposes
xander2k8
post Jan 2 2023, 08:28 PM

4,645 posts

QUOTE(ChAOoz @ Jan 2 2023, 12:07 PM)
What goes up must come down.

Just did a quick consolidated net worth calculation across my portfolio.

Im down 43% for this year, compared to dec 2021 close. Most of my holdings are tech and growth so not surprising there.

Hope 2023 will be better.
With Tesla dragging you down?

QUOTE(Peenix99 @ Jan 2 2023, 12:57 PM)
Ouch.

China/HK turn to go up....

Tech still has more room to correct in my opinion.

Goodluck bro.
Don’t buy China/HK just because of CNY 🤦‍♀️

CNY will be subdued and you should wait March until Xi being confirmed for 3rd term and the subsequently policy meeting in order to ride on the plan for the country then
xander2k8
post Jan 3 2023, 04:48 AM

4,645 posts

QUOTE(Peenix99 @ Jan 3 2023, 03:03 AM)
Lol aite...

Any site recommended for getting financials for hkex and American markets. Im currently on koyfin and I'm not renewing my subscription because it doesn't have China data.
HK you need to ask others as I don’t trade much on it

For US, most of the financials I’m getting it from many traders and sources but mostly i getting it from my paid sources from Sofi, Newedge and Barrons

This post has been edited by xander2k8: Jan 3 2023, 04:50 AM
xander2k8
post Jan 3 2023, 02:46 PM

4,645 posts

QUOTE(wongkheong86 @ Jan 3 2023, 09:05 AM)
but Teladoc still down
Teladoc not a healthcare stick per say but tech stock masquerading as one 🤦‍♀️

Healthcare stocks are the ones involved in it like UNH, Merck,Lilly etc
xander2k8
post Jan 4 2023, 04:32 AM

4,645 posts

QUOTE(wohoo @ Jan 3 2023, 09:04 PM)
How about semiconductor?
Buy if you believe long term

Only company I will buy in that sector ASML
xander2k8
post Jan 5 2023, 08:46 PM

4,645 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Jan 5 2023, 10:59 AM)
You know, I think the bulls are too eager for a rate cut.. we haven't even gone a month where the Fed would at least hold it steady while we wait for better data. 

Last month we got 50bps, heck at least wait for Fed will slow it down to 25bps first..

Maybe Fed should spike another 50bps to make the Bulls puke out more when it sees another couple of points ticked up in inflation due to high demand of goods/services again in December.  devil.gif
Not even bumper season this December judging by the inventories so don’t expect inflation to ticked up 🤦‍♀️ Amazon numbers will tell you so, deliveries are low and iPhone sales lagged due to i14 pro max shortage

Cash balance sheet is getting higher as ppl are saving with treasuries giving our close 5% and recession anticipation
xander2k8
post Jan 6 2023, 04:34 AM

4,645 posts

QUOTE(ChAOoz @ Jan 5 2023, 09:10 PM)
Yup and with that the reactionary action from Amazon to cut even more workers.

So i believe recession is more or less on the table this year. The important question is how fast we snap back.

Will it be like covid V recovery or do we take the long path back due to tigher monetary condition
Recession is already here the question is now whether is mild or severe

It will not be V shaped for sure 🤦‍♀️ because the Fed is data dependant and when they act is lagging action hence no V shaped no anticipation around

Data is lagged by a month and it is upon the forecast we are looking and for sure the forecast been wrong for years
xander2k8
post Jan 6 2023, 07:36 PM

4,645 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 6 2023, 08:49 AM)
Your wish might come true. biggrin.gif

Sometimes I feel farking funny that low unemployment is a bad news and for the market. The world is crazy.  rclxub.gif
Seems like good data news become bad

While bad data news become good 🤦‍♀️

Market too much gyration going on
xander2k8
post Jan 12 2023, 06:40 PM

4,645 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 12 2023, 09:01 AM)
CPI report tonight before market open.

Will it better than WS predict at 6.6%? Need a surprise for green.
Market already priced in better or equal data

QUOTE(TOS @ Jan 12 2023, 09:33 AM)
WSJ MARKETS: CREDIT MARKETS
Forget Core CPI, Market Pros Are Searching for Supercore Inflation
More investors are paying greater attention to services inflation and labor-market data

https://www.wsj.com/articles/forget-core-cp...share_permalink
Yes supercore inflation particularly healthcare services inflation

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 12 2023, 10:17 AM)
Is Biden know the number already?

Macam green for me.  brows.gif

"Biden to deliver remarks on inflation and the economy at at 10AM EST, after the CPI numbers come out at 8:30AM"
Not green but stagnant turning red now

Biden timing is just standard reply for PC as always in order to shore the economy 🤦‍♀️ He is on warpath now as by year end debt limit ceiling hit again with his nonsense stimulus for war again 🤦‍♀️

xander2k8
post Jan 13 2023, 05:50 AM

4,645 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 12 2023, 10:15 PM)
Many said FED increase probably another 25 BPS for a last time. And stop after that.
Short term. Gain good %.

Need to give angpau la.  cry.gif
I doubt one time 25bp 🤦‍♀️

More like 50bp in Feb and another 25bp probably in May

They will keep on raising rates unless Core CPI falls below Fed rate 1st then only the hikes will stop

The signal is most likely when Core CPI falls below 5.2% then we will see Fed pause for a long time
xander2k8
post Jan 13 2023, 10:14 PM

4,645 posts

QUOTE(Peenix99 @ Jan 13 2023, 08:10 PM)
Oil. Making lower price tho...
China demand still infancy as reopening still is ramping up

Will foresee 100bbl come end of Q3
xander2k8
post Jan 19 2023, 05:32 PM

4,645 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jan 19 2023, 04:25 PM)
So,... no more 0.25 bps on Feb 1st ??? Since he's sick,....

0.25 basis points means 0.0025% 🤦‍♀️

25 bp is already baked in now we will see whether 50bp is strong enough to voice in

Even he is sick the show must go on 👏
xander2k8
post Jan 20 2023, 06:14 AM

4,645 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 19 2023, 06:46 PM)
Today sure rally.
Where got rally dropped instead 🤦‍♀️

The rally is gone for a while till Fed meets

QUOTE(oOoproz @ Jan 19 2023, 07:05 PM)
I feel more like 0.5%, it will be interesting if it still maintain 0.75% since Powell insisted he will not do soft landing so soon, bringing down inflation is his only target now, 2 weeks to go then  hmm.gif
Won’t be 75 already as the last time in Dec was 50🤦‍♀️

Most likely will maintain 50 and hold for next 2 if CPI drops below 5 and then follow by another 25 twice this year
xander2k8
post Jan 20 2023, 04:38 PM

4,645 posts

QUOTE(ChAOoz @ Jan 20 2023, 08:42 AM)
Im guessing probably 25bps x2 first half of the year. Pause to see how market and economies take it then either no more hike or another double 25bps which bring the terminal to around 5%+ and that should be the last.

But nobody really knows till we see more data on inflations and jobs.
Won’t be 25 come Feb as it is signal for the market to rally as already priced in

50 is the most likely if the Fed wants to signal policy consistency and decision and then followed by 25 twice

If they go 25 the next round March numbers inflation is bad they are trouble again to raise rates 🤦‍♀️

So better consistent messaging with 50 and then jawbone lower by 25

Rates not an issue the debt ceiling drama is bigger issue and will bound to be raised but with whole lotta drama as always
xander2k8
post Jan 20 2023, 08:27 PM

4,645 posts

QUOTE(ChAOoz @ Jan 20 2023, 07:44 PM)
As for 25bsp, i think the terminal rate is important and i think they will loosen the grip abit to try for the best scenario which is a soft landing while keep inflation in check.

As for the debt ceiling, yeah planning to prepare some money to enter.  The last round during the 2011 crisis i think S&P lost around 15%, which is quite a good discount considering everything in hindsight.
If you look back the last time during the 70s and 80s that was the biggest mistake the Fed makes loosening the grip too early hence after that it took almost a decade for inflation to go down

This round is the same because got oil shock so if JPow and gang learn from history don’t release the grip otherwise it will be same scenario and stagflationary for a long time

No point having soft landing when having a short sharp severe recession is better play to cool down the economy 🤦‍♀️ With China going to expansionary mode now Oil won’t be as cheap and shouldn’t fall below to 70 range now
xander2k8
post Jan 22 2023, 02:48 PM

4,645 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 22 2023, 02:30 PM)
The drop is not that bad or too low now. Higher high since mid oct. Ma50 cross 150 and no more slope down.

Unless the fed raise 75bps. The market is already expecting 50-25bps.
25bps is already given and baked in price

50bps is still not in place for some hence market is mixed now

75bps is overtightened as based on the dot plots not possible in the next meeting

We won’t see 75bps unless CPI goes up to 8% and above
xander2k8
post Jan 24 2023, 04:40 PM

4,645 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Jan 24 2023, 12:27 PM)
It will still be 25bps hike, but he will talk tough.
25bps already priced in the question everyone is asking when the pivot is happening 👏
xander2k8
post Jan 25 2023, 02:33 AM

4,645 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Jan 24 2023, 10:32 PM)
Wow what happened to US markets. So many stocks halted trading...

Extreme movements... Visa shot up. Mastercard and Nike plunged... TSMC, Unilever and Novo Nordisk ADR also halted...

Erratic movements. Must be the quant traders and algos good work... laugh.gif

EDIT: Stocks released from halt. Back to normal pricing.

https://www.cnbc.com/2023/01/24/many-new-yo...ical-issue.html
Exchange order price issues 🤦‍♀️

Only affected those with high volumes trading

QUOTE(ChAOoz @ Jan 25 2023, 01:32 AM)
Nyse software related issues. Wonder will they rollback on the trades that has gone through or not for those deal done at crazy prices
Order can’t even place or execute so how on earth those trade gone through 🤦‍♀️
xander2k8
post Jan 26 2023, 02:46 AM

4,645 posts

QUOTE(Tanchunhao92 @ Jan 25 2023, 11:20 PM)
The USD exchange rate has been crazy recently, unfortunately my average cost to exchange USD is relatively high as I only entered in recent years. I only buy index fund but yikes it is still painful to look at. The market need to have outstanding performance to compensate the loss from foreign exchange, then it will only generate a meaningful return.

Anyone mind sharing your experience on the impact of foreign exchange rate on your portfolio?
FX spread is nothing compared to your buying price 🤦‍♀️

Don’t look at FX as the swing is only minimal as compared to your index funds as you bought at the highs

Give you a good example I bought BRK.B at the bottom last year while our RM depreciating near the bottom last year yet I am still in green now and same goes with Apple I bought early this year while the RM was at 4.40 yet am I still green at the moment

The key is don’t look at your index fund too often and just buy and hold if you got conviction on it

Btw what index fund are you talking about?

QUOTE(ipohps3 @ Jan 25 2023, 11:24 PM)
although painful to look at diminishing returns. but for the long term still prefer stronger ringgit. looking at 3.8.
Dream on getting to 3.80 as RM is already reaching fair value at 4.20

Anything below now at rm4.18 considering bonus as the country is not growing even though unemployment is below 4% 🤦‍♀️

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 26 2023, 12:35 AM)
Think long term. Don't look at short term Forex movent.
Yeah FX losses in spread is only 15% either way max while long term gains in selecting the right picks already cover with the right span of things

Usually 1st year gains is to cover FX spread while anything after that is consider compounding gains 👏

This post has been edited by xander2k8: Jan 26 2023, 02:55 AM
xander2k8
post Jan 27 2023, 06:57 PM

4,645 posts

QUOTE(adam1190 @ Jan 27 2023, 04:21 PM)
is the rising oil prices a cause of concern where inflation will remain high?
Not really because gas prices already dip

Question is now whether inventory as they have too much SPR in the market now and whether this winter will be key as by then with Europe low inventory and China full reopening by Q3

13 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0458sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:56 PM