9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

USA Stock Discussion v8, Brexit: What happens now?

Hansel
post Nov 1 2022, 12:58 PM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Nov 1 2022, 12:03 PM)
should just go for 1% or more rate hike.. make it faster in taming inflation. Keep delay doesn't help.. economy all in bad shape already anyways.
I think they're trying to go for a soft landing,... or at least,.. even if a Recession does come, they wouldn't want to be held accountable.
Hansel
post Nov 2 2022, 01:59 PM

9,348 posts

I was telling some fellow passengers in the plane,.......

1) If Mr Powell gives favourable news tonight, then news have leaked-out all over the world that the Feds is going to adopt a wait-and-see approach after this.

2) If Mr Powell continues to say : "we're going to keep at it" tonight.... then all of us got it wrong !!!!!!

3) And finally, if Mr Powell says,... we'll continue to be data-dependant", then,..
Hansel
post Nov 2 2022, 03:23 PM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 2 2022, 02:13 PM)
maybe neutral until after the midterms... what are you betting?
I still believed in the SGD. I'll continue my campaign there. In the last few days, the major US Indices have closed lower now and then,.. Futures bounced up and down,... BUT the SGX has been climbing.

The SGX does not seem to be following the US lead,...
Hansel
post Nov 2 2022, 08:30 PM

9,348 posts

Tonight,... Mr Powell will hint that The Feds will open the door to a downshift,... but not to have an easy monetary conditions yet at the present moment !

The 'downshift talk' is the one jacking the mkts up off and on.
Hansel
post Nov 3 2022, 08:59 AM

9,348 posts

Bros,... I sat up last night and watched everything,... I looked at his face,... and the faces of the media personnel asking questions.

Mr Powell the rates must continue hiking but,.... he too reiterated more than once, there must come a time to stop, and he said he has mentioned this many times earlier.

I think,.... some mkts may not fall this momirng even after the falls in the US Indices early this morning.
Hansel
post Nov 3 2022, 11:19 AM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 3 2022, 09:29 AM)
Yeah... look at turkey... hyper inflation... high interest rates... yet it's market keeps going up and up... smile.gif

been watching it go up a year liao... hahaha...
I got no data or logical analysis to backup my words above, bro,... just gut feel from years of 'meditating in front of my notebook, in front of my Bloomberg terminal, and sitting quietly in my office dreaming',........ unsure.gif hmm.gif
Hansel
post Nov 3 2022, 11:20 AM

9,348 posts

One thing I know is : the mkt always gets it wrong,...so, I might think of doing the opposite...
Hansel
post Nov 3 2022, 09:23 PM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Nov 3 2022, 03:50 PM)
All 3 played out nicely in fact πŸ‘
Thank you, bro,... this gives me more confidence to believe in my predictions,.... thumbsup.gif

The mkt today is hard enough,...

Averaged-down on Mapletree Industrial Trust today,... queued 2.14 at 11.30 am,... at that time, the price was swinging betw 2.16 and 2.17,... then at 4.44 pm, I got the sms'ed text in my phone,... matched,...
Hansel
post Nov 3 2022, 09:28 PM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(umboy @ Nov 3 2022, 06:20 PM)
For those of us who started investing for the past 1 year, our portfolio are all red
I'm still green now,... console.gif

AT 23% green now,... but many ctrs are in the red. The only ones holding me up are UMS, Parkway LIfe REIT, DBS, Mapletree Logistics Trust and Frasers Logistics & Commercial Trust. All other ctrs are RED....
Hansel
post Nov 3 2022, 09:29 PM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Nov 3 2022, 09:25 PM)
Aish, I queue too low.

Hopefully tomorrow can get

🀀
I think lowest today was 1.12,... sad.gif ,... too bad I couldn't catch at this price.
Hansel
post Nov 14 2022, 05:28 PM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(MystiqueLife @ Nov 14 2022, 04:44 PM)
Why did SGD/USD dropped against MYR today?

USD dropped because market feels Feds are slowing down the rates hike, but what about SGD?
Off the top of my head, SGD tracks USD's performance. The thing to watch for now is how much will the SGD hold against the MYR now,.... This day will come after the SGD has run-up. The secret lies in whether the SGD will weaken all the way down again.
Hansel
post Nov 15 2022, 09:47 AM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(tkwfriend @ Nov 15 2022, 02:31 AM)
let see, it will take at least 3 month to 6 month before pivot

they dont increase interest this month, next month reduce, in history never happen.
I think the above happened during pandemic times back in 2019 or 2020, right ? Or they straight-away decreased 'this mth' after increasing the previous mth...
Hansel
post Dec 5 2022, 02:23 PM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 2 2022, 08:38 PM)
I think my BIP will also be affected. Damn la. Not sure if 15% Canada tax + another 10% from US side.

Hansel any ideas?
I was the first to request for a list of affected ctrs from Tigers,... it is interesting that this discussion is only starting to take place here today. I believed all listed partnerships originating in the USA will be affected.

Tiger Brokers will be as unsure as you and I are,... I think, Tigers will just want to avoid any ctr that is uncertain. You can chk with Investor Relations of BIP if you wished to,...

Hansel
post Dec 5 2022, 07:11 PM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 5 2022, 02:39 PM)
That's what I am planning. But I am sure they will give a reply consult your tax adviser. Lol. Typical corporate reply.
Then you'll have to trust your knowledge and experience to help you decide on the next best course of action, bro,.... Frankly,.. if your current profit position is above 10%, can hold... Otherwise,... take profit or cutloss,...
Hansel
post Dec 5 2022, 08:52 PM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 5 2022, 07:22 PM)
Cause I am ok with paying 15% Canadian tax. I am not sure if t there's another addition tax on top of that or not. No thanks to biden.
15% to CRA,... the new PTP law for the IRS.
Hansel
post Dec 21 2022, 02:30 PM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Dec 20 2022, 07:23 PM)
End of Yen monetary easing policy and pivot to switch to a new flexible quasi tightening policy

No choice BOJ have to make this move otherwise hyperinflation and Japanese govt is broke from funding their new defence policy to counter China
Yes BOJ change policy to pivot to more flexi tightening regime

Those FX traders who shorting JPY is running for the hills now
People on twitter are the last person you need to hear such news from πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ It is only good for entertainment πŸ‘
Yes,... I am one of them,... my pair is AUDJPY, a few tranches held for many months and rode the up-swing. Then taken profit tranche by tramche,.. and I sold my last tranche a few weeks ago. But,.. still sold too early,...

Could have caught a few more pips, which are valuable to me because of my big amt,.. and very high leverage,... mega_shok.gif

But okay-lar,.. need to be contented in life,...
Hansel
post Jan 19 2023, 04:25 PM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Jan 19 2023, 02:32 PM)
Just in time
So,... no more 0.25 bps on Feb 1st ??? Since he's sick,....

Hansel
post Feb 4 2023, 07:27 PM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Feb 4 2023, 04:13 AM)
Recession because of inflation and job wage growth is stagnant

Don’t look at the headline numbers but the details πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ

Wait next month data as it will be revised lower because this set of data seems miscalculated big time
Emm,... I like your theory,... hmm.gif

How are you able to hypothesize that this set of data (for December 2022) has been miscalculated ? What is your basis ?
Hansel
post Feb 6 2023, 06:34 PM

9,348 posts

Our discussion in the above is flawed. I shld not be talking abt December,.. shld be talking abt January numbers for additional jobs created under NFP. And the number for December was also under-reported,... it shld be 226k (if my memory serves me right),....
Hansel
post Feb 6 2023, 06:35 PM

9,348 posts

So,.. the number of jobs created are flying.

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.3752sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:13 PM