9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

USA Stock Discussion v8, Brexit: What happens now?

Hansel
post Jul 17 2022, 10:53 AM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 17 2022, 10:46 AM)
I still buy and hold. This part never change since I started unless there's a change in fundamentals. Only difference is I sell options as my own DIY dividends.

I have moved on from die die must buy dividend company to buy any good quality companies regardless if they pay a dividend or not.

I still stand by what I said and write. Options have supercharged my journey and will continue to do so. I would not been able to buy so much shares this year if I never get started on my options.
Many is subjective. Many to you may be peanuts to others.

You must be the most intelligent options player in the world. I saw many gotten their hands burnt in recent blogger articles. You are the only one winning. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif True or not ?
Hansel
post Jul 17 2022, 11:11 AM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 17 2022, 10:55 AM)
I wouldn't invest in debt. You don't know what stuff they are doing behind the scene.
I would rather go Brookfield infrastructure or just put it into apple. Safer than investing in companies which invest in debts.
Well only if you do silly things. In the long run, the house always win. And if you are a seller, you are the house.
If you are the buyer than good luck.

Ans :[COLOR=red] Let's see how my PFLT turns out in one year from now.  smile.gif No need to talk too much here.

PFLT pays every month ! And I get my money faster for reinvestment.

If only I am the best intelligent investor.
I am not the best. There are better people than me. But I am satisfied with my return to generate min 10-15%p.a of free money. No need to be super greedy. If cukup makan enough for me. Enough to generate 1-2x my monthly salary/month, enough for me to generate sufficient cash to buy companies when they are on sale. Good enough for me.

Hansel
post Jul 17 2022, 11:16 AM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 17 2022, 11:12 AM)
At the expense of junk debt/risky debt? No thank you. Not for me.
Times have changed today ! But,.. like I said earlier,... let's see in one year from now,....no need to talk too much !
Hansel
post Jul 22 2022, 02:07 PM

9,348 posts

August has no mtg. If the CPI rdg runs away again in August, the Feds can't act for that mth and will need to do more in September, otherwise, inflation becomes deeply-imbedded in the economy and there will be more risks to the Feds.

The Feds shld raise by 100 bps next Wednesday to play a 'safer' game. Otherwise,... chances of a US Recession will be even higher.
Hansel
post Sep 6 2022, 03:03 PM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Aug 25 2022, 03:48 PM)
If wanna diversify into dividends then buy malaysia dividend stocks like Maybank, local REITs.
OR Singapore REITs (pick the good ones).

US is for growth stocks. Those that offer high dividends not worth it for US. We focus on returns for US stocks.
Err,... no bro,... I am now testing on a US dividend stock called PFLT.

Monthly payout,... still running well,....

If this ctr can 'tahan' the rising rate environment, then it will do well when things reverse.
Hansel
post Sep 13 2022, 10:24 AM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Sep 9 2022, 02:37 PM)
waiting for master's instruction...

with unprecedented drought and flooding... and energy crisis... inflation gonna fly...
QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 9 2022, 11:57 PM)
Some WSJ reads:

MARKETS: HEARD ON THE STREET

AT&T’s Dividend-Loving Investors Are Dialing the Wrong Number
Telecom giant’s media spinoff has made its dividend more secure, but at what cost?

https://www.wsj.com/articles/at-ts-dividend...share_permalink

I like the last line.

https://www.wsj.com/articles/new-tax-on-sto...share_permalink
Bro DWRK,... my AUDJPY pair are really flying,... saw you here and yuo reminded me of my pair that I'm still holding on to.

Bro TOS - AT&T is not a good choice to use as a divdiend-paying ctr to keep, if you study the fundamentals closely. I studied 'T' as one of my first ctrs to go into for US dividend-payers. This 'A' is something like Telstra of Aust.. could have been good many years ago,... but no more after that. Need to be very careful in stock-picking.

Hansel
post Sep 13 2022, 10:31 AM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Sep 12 2022, 09:43 PM)
NEIN, NO MORE CHEAP BARGAIN

😭
Yeah, the mkt is finding all possible reasons for it to rally,... there is still a lot of money waiting at the side;lines,.. waiting to deploy,...

My problem is : tho' the mkt keeps rising, they have not risen to my earlier buy prices till today. I am still in the red on my Tesla, NVidia and ABNB. Guessed I entered too early on my second round of TSLA bets.

I am in the red too for my PFLT,... but my monthly dividends has more than covered my capital loss,... for now,...
Hansel
post Sep 13 2022, 11:20 AM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Sep 13 2022, 10:56 AM)
lucky I didn't panic sell when my Tesla and Amazon were dropping last week..  laugh.gif
I did same mistake for my Google stocks before the split. Bought at 140 a stock, now their value only 110  sad.gif
Next time once Fed first announce interest rate hike / quantitative tightening, best wait 6 mths+ before start buying new stocks. Before that time stock prices can fall by a lot.

During bull market once we suspect it is reaching it's peak (inflation going up).. best to slow down in buying too.

Good to go through this also, so the next bear cycle we will know what to do.
All these are cycles, bro David,... I guessed an investor does not have much opprotunities to experience all cycles in his lifetime,.. to be able to capitalise on the opportunities of a cycle. The only way he can profit is IF he has reliable guidance from someone who has gone thru the cycle, and who has accurate observations. What we are experiencing today are multi-year events,... events and economic numbers that break records dating back 20 - 30 years ago. I have not started investing back then. I was still earning my seed money.

And I didn't have guidance till today. I had to do everything by myself,... and I supposed you had to do so too.

So,... we have to do it the hard way,... by experiencing the cycles ourselves. Then only would we know what to do when the cycle comes again.

That;s why,... I've always been curious why that Ramjade fella claims he can make so much money from Options. TThe mkt turns and changes so rapidly,...
Hansel
post Sep 13 2022, 11:25 AM

9,348 posts

I will add one more thing here : People who bought into certain US stocks when they were very low,... eg Tesla would definitely be still in the green today,... BUT if they do not take profit,... the risk is always, TSLA may ereach back their holding prices.

I know of many of my friends who entered TSLA at very low prices and are today,... 'laughing at me/us' cos I'm in the red now,... giving-up all my gains which I made earlier from the first split.

I have bought early too,... but for SG REITs, WHICH PAY OUT DIVDIENDS TILL TODAY, RAIN OR SHINE, IN THE SINGAPORE DOLLAR.

So,... which is better,... I've always asked myself,....
Hansel
post Sep 13 2022, 05:05 PM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Sep 13 2022, 11:46 AM)
i stopped monitoring the pair for you because home run liao... also pissed off looking at it for not buying any... hahaha...
Appreciated your earlier help then, bro,... YOu can bet on another pair down the road,...
Hansel
post Sep 13 2022, 05:15 PM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Sep 13 2022, 12:54 PM)
I have SG reits too... they are more for consistent dividend plays, and good to have for a diversified portfolio.

for US growth stocks need a longer time horizon, when need the money one day only sell after much paper profits. In the long run I still feel US stocks will outperform whatever dividends we would earn from SG reits.

I read where people say don't time the market, but like major events of what Fed is doing now.. good to have some timing also on when to enter. Else if suddenly need the money, selling them in deep red would be worse.

Planning to put some stop loss also once I had made more for my US stocks (in case another big down swing again like what we witness in January). SG/MY don't have capital gains tax for US stocks, just need pay broker a bit of fees if use IBKR for buy/sell. So ok to set that.
I too have capital appreciation on my REITs, but I do not take profits on them unless I wished to adjust my hldg size. Due to my 'buy early' behaviour, till now,... my portfolio is still at a 40% green status. I remembered at the depth of the CV-19 issue back in 2020, the lowest I touched was -5%,....

I agreed with your paras 3 and 4,...
Hansel
post Sep 30 2022, 05:28 PM

9,348 posts

Like now,.. recovered a bit, all my SG REITs are green,... but will this performance hold for tomorrow ? I am still leaning onto the fact that the Feds will still hike by another 0.75% x 2 this year.
Hansel
post Oct 8 2022, 02:24 PM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Oct 7 2022, 11:42 PM)
Arrgh... crap. On the gains since Monday gone. Now back to tiny fraction for this week.

Damn.. the bears are strong. Oil back above 90 again.  Darn the OPECs and Russians.  mad.gif
QUOTE(ChAOoz @ Oct 8 2022, 02:21 AM)
Samsung amd with their revisions as well as hot payrolls number.

Bear is taking over Q3 earnings season
Bros,...

As of end this morning (KL/SG Time), US Mkts ended the week at 2% up for the Dow, so it's still a positive from the earlier rises in the week tho' the US Indices dropped badly for the Friday session..

Emm,... Payrolls number was below expectation last night, but the Unemployment number was the one that would motivate the Feds to increase faster. Next Thursday's CPI NUmber is the one to watch for,... and we have a whole slew of numbers to watch before the coming Feds Mtg on Nov 4th..
Hansel
post Oct 9 2022, 01:13 PM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(lamode @ Oct 8 2022, 05:10 PM)
The upcoming CPI data is for Sept, i think won't be too bad.
However, brent oil is up about 15% this week and looks like going to break $100 again! the CPI for OCT gonna be ugly.  mega_shok.gif  rclxub.gif
I predict the CPI for September will be 8.1% at the lowest for September, to be reported at 8.30 pm out time coming Thursday. Cann't be lower than 8.1%.

The for Oct, which will be reported in NOvember, will rise back to 8.3% to 8.4%.

Above predictions are for the year-on-year basis.

Added : The coming CPI will be the second-last most impt datapoint before the next Feds Mtg on November 1st to 2nd... The MOST impt datapoint will be the CorePCE rdg at end-Oct...

This post has been edited by Hansel: Oct 9 2022, 01:15 PM
Hansel
post Oct 15 2022, 12:30 PM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 15 2022, 12:03 AM)
Yesterday bull trap. Lol.
QUOTE(square2 @ Oct 15 2022, 11:22 AM)
could be a bear trap too  laugh.gif
For myself,.. I'll buy when the mkt goes down.
Hansel
post Oct 15 2022, 01:36 PM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(square2 @ Oct 15 2022, 12:57 PM)
abobe at 250  nod.gif

msft at 185  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
Watching now, bro,... biggrin.gif

Watching now,... biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

But in a high interest rate environment, these techs may not reach back their previous high-flying prices anymore. Their valuations would have been reduced a lot due to higher borrowing costs.
Hansel
post Oct 15 2022, 02:42 PM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(bellion @ Oct 15 2022, 01:46 PM)
As a chartist, the overall trend is down for all stock sectors until a free fall capitulation happens which would signal a bottoming process.  Hence, if you trade on a short term basis, short every move up to resistance levels such as moving averages.
How do we identify that it is a free fall capitulation process at the said moment ?
Hansel
post Oct 15 2022, 05:59 PM

9,348 posts

Tq for the input, gentlemen,...
Hansel
post Oct 25 2022, 04:35 PM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Oct 25 2022, 10:37 AM)
bought the stocks too earlier after Fed announced tightening / raising interest rates.. should have waited.
It is true the saying "don't fight the fed".

next time if another tightening happens, will stop buying stocks, instead buy ETFs that short on treasuries. See how much these ETFs have went up this year thanks to the Fed:

TTT, TMV, and TBT
https://etfdb.com/etfs/bond/treasuries/#etf...der=desc&page=1
How abt SQQQ ? This is inverse of the Nasdaq, and weighted three times, right ?
Hansel
post Oct 29 2022, 06:03 PM

9,348 posts

I was telling my freinds yesterday,... hmm, if Mr Powell says he will adopt a look-and-see attitude on Thursday morning at 2.30 am,... and subsequently,...still increases by 0.75%,....

Those who have not bought-in will really miss the plane, not only the boat.

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.7369sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:20 AM