QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 12 2025, 05:04 PM)
Yes to that. I have a lot of short positions to close.USA Stock Discussion v8, Brexit: What happens now?
USA Stock Discussion v8, Brexit: What happens now?
Oct 12 2025, 07:52 PM
4,143 posts Joined: May 2005 |
Oct 12 2025, 09:32 PM
413 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: area 51 |
VIX was at around 22 on Friday when the market closed. It is such a contrast compared to the April Liberation Day when it hit over 50 with the tariff hike by Trump. Do you think VIX will spike further with this new tariff hike? Maybe a couple more points but I don't think it is that bearish as compared to the last one. However it's definitely a time to buy the dips. ![]() Hastebreak liked this post
Oct 12 2025, 11:40 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
167 posts Joined: Jan 2012 |
QUOTE(engineer @ Oct 13 2025, 12:32 AM) VIX was at around 22 on Friday when the market closed. It is such a contrast compared to the April Liberation Day when it hit over 50 with the tariff hike by Trump. Do you think VIX will spike further with this new tariff hike? Maybe a couple more points but I don't think it is that bearish as compared to the last one. However it's definitely a time to buy the dips. VIX and TLT options as defensive hedge...![]() (But do not take my word for it, do your own analysis |
Oct 12 2025, 11:51 PM
167 posts Joined: Jan 2012 |
Oct 13 2025, 08:12 AM
17,018 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
Trump TACO again. So short the drama.
QUOTE Stock futures rise after Trump hints at backing off from new China tariffs US stock futures rose Sunday after President Donald Trump said, “Don’t worry about China,” following a sell-off on Friday. Dow futures were up 0.8%, S&P 500 futures rose 1.04% and Nasdaq futures climbed 1.34%, as of 6:32 p.m. ET. Stocks closed sharply lower on Friday after Trump threatened an additional 100% tariff on Chinese goods, slated to take effect on November 1. That would bring duties on imports from China to 130% — not far from the 145% rate imposed at the height of the tariff war. The S&P 500 and Nasdaq posted their worst day since April. The Dow posted its worst day since May. But on Sunday afternoon, Trump appeared to hint that he may not follow through with his tariff threat, posting on Truth Social that “it will all be fine!” Trump told reporters on Air Force 1 that China’s President Xi Jinping is “a great leader” and they have “a great relationship.” The comments were a shift from last week, when he said China was “becoming very hostile” after Beijing on Thursday ramped up export restrictions on critical rare earth minerals, which are used to produce consumer electronic products. Beijing on Sunday threatened to impose countermeasures against the United States if Trump doesn’t back down from his tariff threat. “China’s stance is consistent,” China’s commerce ministry said Sunday in a statement posted online. “We do not want a tariff war but we are not afraid of one.” Another round of tit-for-tat tariffs would undo the progress made during months of meetings between Chinese and US officials. It’s unclear if Trump could back down from his tariff threat ahead of the November 1 deadline, stirring uncertainty in the market similar to other tariff announcements where Trump has “chickened out.” Speaking to reporters Sunday on Air Force One, Trump said, “Let’s see what happens,” when asked about the November 1 deadline. During an appearance on Fox News’ “The Sunday Briefing,” US Trade Representative Jamieson Greer said that the US was “not notified” in advance of China’s increased export restrictions, although a spokesperson for China’s commerce ministry said that “relevant countries and regions” were notified. |
Oct 13 2025, 09:05 AM
QUOTE(ozak @ Oct 13 2025, 08:12 AM) No surprise there ![]() This post has been edited by engineer: Oct 13 2025, 09:36 AM Jukaicot liked this post
Oct 13 2025, 10:39 AM
18,400 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
Meanwhile insiders have made billions. dwks and wongmunkeong liked this post
Oct 13 2025, 02:35 PM
317 posts Joined: Mar 2013 |
QUOTE(engineer @ Oct 13 2025, 09:05 AM) China can maximize pain on ordinary Americans by tanking their hot stock market. All they have to do is provoke Trump, and Trump will self inflict more pain. When the stock market crash, Americans will lose trillions, much more than what their government can collect in tariff duties. And, Americans won't blame China: they blame their own president for starting the trade war! |
Oct 13 2025, 04:23 PM
QUOTE(swiss228 @ Oct 13 2025, 02:35 PM) China can maximize pain on ordinary Americans by tanking their hot stock market. All they have to do is provoke Trump, and Trump will self inflict more pain. When the stock market crash, Americans will lose trillions, much more than what their government can collect in tariff duties. And, Americans won't blame China: they blame their own president for starting the trade war! Looks like Trump is on the losing end. The only way is for him to play nice... like what he always did - TACO! swiss228 liked this post
Oct 13 2025, 05:15 PM
3,019 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
i am hella pissed, i skipped a week's earning...
Oct 13 2025, 06:14 PM
3,500 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
Apparently quite alot of insider have an idea of what trump would say / post.
There has been big positional trade prior to the announcement and closed out as soon as the announcement is out.. |
Oct 13 2025, 09:57 PM
3,593 posts Joined: Apr 2019 |
QUOTE(john123x @ Oct 13 2025, 05:15 PM) will you continue this week your strategy? Looks like the dip’s already over... one of the fastest recoveries... Jukaicot liked this post
Oct 13 2025, 10:45 PM
52 posts Joined: Dec 2021 |
Market is rebounding again .too bad I haven't finished doing shopping .last week added some to my TMDX, PTEN ,MSOS position and today I bought PAYO which is undervalued and from what I read and researched.
Oct 13 2025, 10:45 PM
5,475 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
A lot of people kena potong steam. at least my friends are
Oct 13 2025, 10:47 PM
Oct 14 2025, 12:31 AM
Oct 14 2025, 06:58 AM
4,143 posts Joined: May 2005 |
QUOTE(Jukaicot @ Oct 14 2025, 12:31 AM) Not really if you know the game and have the holding power. I hedge using call options for my shorts.Cannot compare equities with crypto la. Crypto investments is the one I’m holding forever cause I don’t really understand it. So I just buy and forget about it. This post has been edited by Barricade: Oct 14 2025, 07:37 AM Jukaicot liked this post
Oct 14 2025, 10:18 PM
353 posts Joined: Dec 2024 |
Haven't posted here for eons. Here's something to read for leveraged ETF holders: https://www.ft.com/content/f34c6b4c-f9d7-43...56-bdba477b33fd Use a paywall bypass if needed. Jukaicot liked this post
Oct 14 2025, 10:49 PM
QUOTE(TOS2 @ Oct 14 2025, 10:18 PM) Haven't posted here for eons. Here's something to read for leveraged ETF holders: https://www.ft.com/content/f34c6b4c-f9d7-43...56-bdba477b33fd Bigger gains and bigger loss.scary .I personally stay out from this oneUse a paywall bypass if needed. |
Oct 15 2025, 05:00 PM
Powell hints on the endgame of the QT policy. Also he believes that there will be 2 more rate cuts. Looks like market will be flooded with amber of liquidity and looking for assets to invest in. Stock market will likely to go higher in this case. Maybe we will see S&P to hit 7000 end of the year. noien liked this post
| Change to: | 0.0233sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:01 PM |