812 Pages « < 667 668 669 670 671 > » Bottom

USA Stock Discussion v8, Brexit: What happens now?

Ramjade
post Jan 29 2024, 07:23 AM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(swiss228 @ Jan 27 2024, 04:06 PM)
US stocks are extremely volatile, not for the faint hearted or those with funds earmarked for retirement. Why not invest in US S&P etfs? I think they make a better proposition compared to gold. Just asked Daim.
Recently, I started investing in SPLG: apparently a s&p index etf with one of the lowest exp ratio.
Anyone here invest in s&p etf? Or any other US index etf? Please share your experience. Thank you.
Depends on what you choose la. Railroad, visa/mastercard, Costco, Microsoft extremely stable.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 29 2024, 07:34 AM
swiss228
post Jan 29 2024, 08:47 AM

319 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Jan 29 2024, 02:18 AM)
Still got a way down till cybertruck numbers comes up
It is not as volatile as you think 🤦‍♀️ if you buy the right stocks

Why bother putting US index ETF as you get tax 🤦‍♀️ while there is so many Irish domiciled which are lower in tax
The tax you referred to: is it capital gains tax or dividends tax? I trade CSPX as well, but the US domiciled s&p etfs trading fees are lower. So, if one is a trader, that would be an advantage.
swiss228
post Jan 29 2024, 08:53 AM

319 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 29 2024, 07:23 AM)
Depends on what you choose la. Railroad, visa/mastercard, Costco, Microsoft extremely stable.
The problem here with US stocks is it's very tempting to take profits. Once you take profits, and the stocks move higher, it's highly unlikely that you want to buy again cos you might risk losing back the gains you made earlier. That's what happened when I traded Visa/MC and Costco.
With s&p ETFs, you are more likely to buy and hold. At this moment in time, this seems to be a better strategy.

Ramjade
post Jan 29 2024, 12:15 PM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(swiss228 @ Jan 29 2024, 08:53 AM)
The problem here with US stocks is it's very tempting to take profits. Once you take profits, and the stocks move higher, it's highly unlikely that you want to buy again cos you might risk losing back the gains you made earlier. That's what happened when I traded Visa/MC and Costco.
With s&p ETFs, you are more likely to buy and hold. At this moment in time, this seems to be a better strategy.
Taking profit is trader mentality. If you invest for long term, don't bother with taking profit. I already have few bagger in US market. Not going to take profit. Let it run. Water your flowers. Don't pull out your flowers.

If you itchy hand, once reach 100% profit take it and let the remaining run.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 29 2024, 12:16 PM
ozak
post Jan 29 2024, 12:29 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(swiss228 @ Jan 27 2024, 03:58 PM)
I take the opposite view. I short TSLA after the results were announced. As the share price is large, I shorted only 5 shares
Care to let us know at what price you intend to load TSLA at?
I don't have the price and don't time the market.

The market now is top and might pull down anytime. With the TSLA dip now, if S&P pull down it will go down further. ~10%.

But this week also alot of important companies announced earnings. The market might go up further if positive earnings.

Let's wait for the clear sign.

QUOTE(swiss228 @ Jan 27 2024, 04:06 PM)
US stocks are extremely volatile, not for the faint hearted or those with funds earmarked for retirement. Why not invest in US S&P etfs? I think they make a better proposition compared to gold. Just asked Daim.
Recently, I started investing in SPLG: apparently a s&p index etf with one of the lowest exp ratio.
Anyone here invest in s&p etf? Or any other US index etf? Please share your experience. Thank you.
If you compare to Bursa.

I get use to US market. So no feeling about volatile.

AAPL is not volatile while TSLA is.

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Jan 29 2024, 02:18 AM)
Still got a way down till cybertruck numbers comes up
It is not as volatile as you think 🤦‍♀️ if you buy the right stocks

Why bother putting US index ETF as you get tax 🤦‍♀️ while there is so many Irish domiciled which are lower in tax
Kidding? Depend CT?

CT production is still very low and unprofitable even this yrs. But is almost sell out for this yrs production as what TSLA said. But TSLA didn't tell the number.
xander2k8
post Jan 29 2024, 12:43 PM

4,689 posts

QUOTE(swiss228 @ Jan 29 2024, 08:47 AM)
The tax you referred to: is it capital gains tax or dividends tax? I trade CSPX as well, but the US domiciled s&p etfs trading fees are lower. So, if one is a trader, that would be an advantage.
Dividends tax and why on earth trading ETF 🤦‍♀️ when ETF are instruments to buy and hold

If you wanna trade on the actual stocks itself

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 29 2024, 12:29 PM)
I don't have the price and don't time the market.

The market now is top and might pull down anytime. With the TSLA dip now, if S&P pull down it will go down further. ~10%.

But this week also alot of important companies announced earnings. The market might go up further if positive earnings.

Let's wait for the clear sign.
If you compare to Bursa.

I get use to US market. So no feeling about volatile.

AAPL is not volatile while TSLA is. 
Kidding? Depend CT?

CT production is still very low and unprofitable even this yrs. But is almost sell out for this yrs production as what TSLA said. But TSLA didn't tell the number.
You will be suprised with cybertruck gross profit 🤦‍♀️ even production numbers are small and given it is even sold out for next year which will be the year they are ramping cybertruck and 25k affordable Tesla which most likely will go up to 30k once IRA monies dried out
ChAOoz
post Jan 29 2024, 08:09 PM

3,502 posts

What an underperforming year shakehead.gif , especially against the benchmark.

Lucky have to be accountable for no one but myself, if not i would have suffer same fate as all those china bull managers.
ChAOoz
post Jan 29 2024, 08:28 PM

3,502 posts

QUOTE(ChAOoz @ Jan 7 2023, 08:28 PM)
Last year before the AI boom.
ozak
post Jan 29 2024, 09:53 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(ChAOoz @ Jan 29 2024, 08:09 PM)

What an underperforming year  shakehead.gif , especially against the benchmark.

Lucky have to be accountable for no one but myself, if not i would have suffer same fate as all those china bull managers.
Still buying China stock?
ozak
post Jan 29 2024, 09:57 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Jan 29 2024, 12:43 PM)
You will be suprised with cybertruck gross profit 🤦‍♀️ even production numbers are small and given it is even sold out for next year which will be the year they are ramping cybertruck and 25k affordable Tesla which most likely will go up to 30k once IRA monies dried out
Elon said during Q3, Tesla might dig his own grave with CT.

ChAOoz
post Jan 29 2024, 10:58 PM

3,502 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 29 2024, 09:53 PM)
Still buying China stock?
Only kweb for now if the discount is attractive enough.
xander2k8
post Jan 30 2024, 11:26 AM

4,689 posts

QUOTE(ChAOoz @ Jan 29 2024, 08:09 PM)

What an underperforming year  shakehead.gif , especially against the benchmark.

Of course you underperform 🤦‍♀️ you are still buying at KWEB lows for almost 2 years going into the 3rd year soon

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 29 2024, 09:57 PM)
Elon said during Q3, Tesla might dig his own grave with CT.
Said only 🤦‍♀️ remember Elon always wrong since the days he started buying Twitter till now
ozak
post Jan 30 2024, 11:36 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(ChAOoz @ Jan 29 2024, 10:58 PM)
Only kweb for now if the discount is attractive enough.
Didn't adjust your portfolio? Probably you're hardcore China stock.

Recently I read some fund sifu experience and investment managers like BlackRock already abandoned the china market. Most are frustrated by their tune.
ozak
post Jan 30 2024, 12:04 PM

17,021 posts

Google looks like an all-time high.

Time to take some profit. thumbup.gif
xander2k8
post Jan 30 2024, 02:51 PM

4,689 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 30 2024, 11:36 AM)
Didn't adjust your portfolio?  Probably you're hardcore China stock.

Recently I read some fund sifu experience and investment managers like BlackRock already abandoned the china market. Most are frustrated by their tune.
Look at the past year how many major funds has already closed their office started with Vanguard

The fund outflow is real unlikely to change 🤦‍♀️ unless CCP President is pro economy like Jiang Ziamin
ChAOoz
post Jan 30 2024, 09:56 PM

3,502 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 30 2024, 12:04 PM)
Google looks like an all-time high.

Time to take some profit.  thumbup.gif
Google reporting later tonight along with microsoft
ChAOoz
post Jan 30 2024, 09:56 PM

3,502 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 30 2024, 11:36 AM)
Didn't adjust your portfolio?  Probably you're hardcore China stock.

Yea went too deep in china stock, im a sucker for value trap.
ozak
post Jan 30 2024, 11:42 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(ChAOoz @ Jan 30 2024, 09:56 PM)
Google reporting later tonight along with microsoft
Ya. Maybe buy rumor and sell the news.

Anyway, I choose to wait.
yok70
post Feb 1 2024, 06:40 PM

12,698 posts

I need more correction to enter, hopefully another 8-10% from here. After yesterday's pretty good drop, current futures are in green. I hope the green won't last, Apple please helps out by announcing a disappointing quarter results tonight laugh.gif
Medufsaid
post Feb 1 2024, 07:39 PM

3,499 posts

sell deep out-the-money (cash secured) puts. if it drops to the price u want, good for you. if it doesn't drop, you still get the keep the premium

812 Pages « < 667 668 669 670 671 > » Top

0.0232sec    0.90    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:04 AM