25 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

USA Stock Discussion v8, Brexit: What happens now?

Ramjade
post Sep 27 2016, 10:38 PM

24,334 posts

You forgot to add:
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 27 2016, 07:27 PM)
well, we have this situation:

.. saudi pushed production to record highs.
.. saudi has enough reserves to burn a few usdbil everyday for a few more years for its economy.
.. iran and iraq not back to pre-sanction production levels.
.. libya and nigeria still battling rebels to get back to normal production.
.. venezuela on verge of economic collapse, algeria struggling.
.. russians know everything and what else is happening, what next to come.
.. americans go easy - shale is there, forever, to be used whenever whenever required.
.. >3bil bbls in excess crude now sitting on land or water, drifting, buying time, incurring costs.
.. China's mystery oil stockpiles could be a 'wildcard' for markets

so, what to expect?

.. saudi's "i will cut or freeze" will not impress the rest as they are not stupid, will not fall for bait.
.. venezuela and algeria will keep talking up the price - that's all they have been doing and can do - with some success, so far.
.. big oil cos., refineries, traders, hedge funds will need to adjust.

we will see the same farcical circus over and over until... crude goes <40 again for a while.

then, all will wake up and shelve their selfish motives, get on with it.

but will not be very successful since shale, nuclear and other alternative energies will be there.

in short, the glorious days of mighty petro$ and obscene money throwing is over. just like kodak went bankrupt when the digital age came.
*** above is just my observation, not liable for any action that failed as a result. laugh.gif
Source: http://www.cnbc.com/2016/09/27/chinas-myst...markets-sp.html
Ramjade
post Oct 11 2016, 11:05 PM

24,334 posts

What just happened? How come dow drop so much all of a sudden?
Ramjade
post Oct 20 2016, 08:56 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(zacknistelrooy @ Oct 20 2016, 08:36 PM)
US initial jobless claims 260K vs 250K estimate

Dollar index not moving.

Draghi :
Actually, if ideal what will happen with the result above?
USD weaken, decrease chances of rate hike?
Ramjade
post Jan 7 2017, 02:02 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(Mikeyz @ Jan 7 2017, 12:40 PM)
Hi all
I am a newbie in learning how to trade and I would like to know what are the best brokerage company I can open up an account from a minimal capital of just USD1k?
Hope you guys can guide me as a newbie to startup in the trading world.thanks
I did approach some US based brokerage company but they do not accept non-US residence clients . 😓
Try Interactive Broker (cheaper for long term) or TM Ameritrade Asia
Ramjade
post Jan 31 2017, 12:33 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jan 30 2017, 10:20 PM)
Just wondering guys, what's the cheapest platform to trade American stocks from Malaysia? I am looking online, the Malaysian options are too expensive ($25 per trade), while the American options seem to require $2,000+ minimum account balance.

Maybe I am missing something. I would like there to be $10 fees per trade, and zero requirement of account balance.
First have you read everything which sifus here and FSM said? To trade in US market, you will need like min USD10k. If min USD2k is out of your option, I think it's better you start slow.

It's unwise to lose all the USD10k one shot considering that you have just started working.

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Jan 31 2017, 12:12 AM)
Here comes the dip... bears coming out to play.  rclxms.gif
Wonder how big the dip will be? hmm.gif And the effect towards Asian markets.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 31 2017, 12:34 AM
Ramjade
post Jan 31 2017, 07:37 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jan 31 2017, 12:44 AM)
Can say if US/EU dip Asia will benefit?
Oh ya. I forgot to mention if you are investing in the US straight, any dividend you gained will be taxed 30% cause you're an Alien.

Yes. Asia and Eu stocks will drop. That is why now Yen, gold, bonds are increasing.
Ramjade
post Feb 7 2017, 09:25 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Feb 7 2017, 08:49 AM)
Ram

So far, I have not experience any withholding tax from US authorities investing in stocks. 
Have you signed the W BEN8 forms ?
QUOTE(prophetjul @ Feb 7 2017, 11:14 AM)
If you have send in the W BEN8 forms to declare that you are not a US citizen, etc, you should not be subjected to US taxes due to the tax treaty with Malaysia.
https://www.irs.gov/individuals/internation...rs/tax-treaties
https://www.irs.gov/individuals/internation...x-treaty-tables
http://www.knowthymoney.com/2011/07/how-to...-malaysian.html
My MIS....Malaysia does NOT have a tax treaty with US, therefore the W BEN8 declaration form.
I think it's better to move our discussion to here. According to people here, US stocks will kean 30% with holding tax regardless you fill the WBEN8 form. That's why people use Ireland as a proxy as Ireland only kena 15% tax.

Also it's shown here that SGans will also kena charge the 30% tax.
http://www.turtleinvestor.net/get-to-know-...ithholding-tax/

Anyone here can conform that Malaysians will kena 30% with holding tax even if they fill up the WBEN8 forms?
Ramjade
post Feb 8 2017, 08:02 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Feb 8 2017, 04:41 AM)
Ramjade, I think that 30% withholding is for DIVIDENDs distribution. Not, capital gains right?
They should not withhold anything for capital gains for non-citizens.
I said everything traded on the US market will kena the 30% tax on dividend, but prophetjul no as long as one submitted the WBEN8 form. So I am confused.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Feb 8 2017, 08:04 AM
Ramjade
post Feb 8 2017, 02:07 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Feb 8 2017, 01:53 PM)
You are correct. The WBEN8 just give you the status of foreign status, therefore not subject to capital gain but IS subject
to flat rate of 30% tax/withholding on DIVIDENDS.

But, if you have a lot of dividends and should not be taxed as high as 30%, then,
it is possible to claim them back by filing 1080NR by April 15th of each year.
The taxable rate is still subject to your total income (that's your dividends) for the filing status.
Best check with a US tax law accountant.
So complicated.
Ramjade
post Feb 23 2017, 11:10 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(ILoveLalat.net @ Feb 23 2017, 10:54 AM)
Not sure if it is a good place to mention here. TDAmeritrade Asia ask for a foreign tax identification number in the W8-BEN form, but I do not have any tax number as of now.

Can I just leave it blank first then submit the application?
I can answer you the question. Just provide them proof why you cannot give tax no. I did that when open SG account.
Ramjade
post Feb 23 2017, 11:17 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(ILoveLalat.net @ Feb 23 2017, 11:13 AM)
Ah, I see then. Thanks for the clarification.  thumbup.gif
But not sure if it work with ang moh or not. tongue.gif you don't have income tax? If got income tax, just give them income tax no with proof.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Feb 23 2017, 11:17 AM
Ramjade
post Feb 23 2017, 11:08 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(helo @ Feb 23 2017, 10:40 PM)
Sorry to interrupt anyone knows what's the best platform to trade hongkong exchange?
http://www.chiefgroup.com.hk/en/

Opening account from Malaysia require commissioner of oath to verify all documents.
https://the-international-investor.com/comp...omparison-table
Ramjade
post Feb 25 2017, 01:59 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Feb 25 2017, 01:48 PM)
This week been very strange... while Crude been in same range and hitting the higher range,
Energy stocks been going down.

While the majors been hitting all time highs, small caps started retreating. Same goes for Transport.

I don't like this at all... it becoming disconnected. Have a feeling something bad is about to happen soon.  hmm.gif
Signs of correction?
Ramjade
post Feb 28 2017, 08:03 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 28 2017, 03:05 PM)
tue night 9pm (local 10am wed), trumps speaks.

financial markets waiting on this - tax reforms, china... mexican wall, border tax...

if he fails convince, we might see a mighty correction. tongue.gif
If he manage to convince the market? What happen next? Bulls keep running, stagnant? hmm.gif
Ramjade
post Mar 4 2017, 11:41 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Mar 4 2017, 10:09 PM)
Just read an article, if you pass away, you are liable to pay 40% of your US assets as estate taxes. This is also applicable for non residence. This includes stocks, reits, etf, real estate etc.

Preety steep tax if it is true... Hmmm.

Cant link the article cause i am on mobile now.
QUOTE(podracerx1 @ Mar 4 2017, 11:28 PM)
Inheritance tax is one easy tax for gomen to collect. It won't be a surprise, be end will introduce inheritance tax after next ge.
Just start distributing income when alive lo.
podracerx1, where did you get this info?

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 4 2017, 11:41 PM
Ramjade
post Mar 6 2017, 10:18 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Mar 6 2017, 10:06 AM)
Yup! Gotta to be aware of it. It may or may not affect everyone.

If you think Death-Taxes is headache for non-residents, the death-taxes are NIGHTmares for US Residents.
For US residents, each state may also tax the deceased individual beneficiaries if it is not handled properly.

But, there are ways to put things in order (while you are alive) so that the IRS (Fed) and the Dept of Revenue (from local State) won't cause you much harm.  Usually, this is for people who are millionaires..  (US total over $1 mln) but in some state, over $500k depending on which state that person was last reside. biggrin.gif

Best is to consult the an accountant who is familiar with US taxation laws.
ut I don't see any news about Death Tax in Malaysia...
Ramjade
post Mar 7 2017, 02:28 PM

24,334 posts

prophetjul, if it's for US, better use a US stock broker.
Ramjade
post Mar 7 2017, 02:46 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Mar 7 2017, 02:35 PM)
Just saw this!    icon_question.gif
I think this only apply if you have >USD60k.
Ramjade
post Mar 7 2017, 03:02 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Mar 7 2017, 02:58 PM)
ProphetJul,

Be sure open Joint Accounts.  Make sure the survivors can access accounts remotely and can easily transfer money.
If possible, setup a trust account. Don't let it go to probate courts or fight IRS later.
But if say the parent die, then the son/daughter withdraw everything, won't the IRS come for the tax after they found out that the parent is dead?
Ramjade
post Mar 9 2017, 02:53 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(nubye @ Mar 9 2017, 02:36 PM)
Hi guys, I read some of you guys recommended using US brokers for US stocks. May I ask are the rates better than Malaysian brokers and if yes, any US brokers to recommend? I've searched famous ones like Vanguard, but that requires US bank accounts, etc which is very troublesome.

I'm currently using CIMB as my broker, lowest brokerage I can find so far. I'm fairly new to the whole thing so any friendly advice is appreciated.

Thanks!
See here.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3396549/all

Yes. Usually that's how it is. Using a local broker (that country broker) will be cheaper in the long run. Why?
1) the country broker usually charge cheaper commission
2) the exchange rate for dividends
3) no maintenance fee (some foreign broker require you to do certain transactions a month or else they start charging you)

Note: I do not have any experience with US broker.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 9 2017, 02:53 PM

25 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0322sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:07 PM