31 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Speedrent, Guarantee Deposit Scheme (ask opinion)

samkps
post Apr 12 2016, 08:40 PM

15,454 posts

QUOTE(satrianeo-x @ Apr 12 2016, 08:25 PM)
Ah I see. That's quite a bit ain't it at 60% per annum.
On the other hand, I would rather not rent to someone who can't fork out the deposits.
10% is according to the owner as in Post #22 and Post #23
wheimeng
post Apr 12 2016, 09:04 PM

792 posts

Thanks for all the feedback, I try to respond to every query possible because this helps us to strengthen our business case.

@max_cavalera – we are raising money now ☺

@cybertechmkteo – we are very transparent. We launched 3-4 weeks ago, and on a very low profile manner. So far we closed a few deals. On ½ month rent – by using Speedrent, landlord and tenant deal direct without hiring agent. The 1-month commission is saved. We encourage landlord to incentivize tenant to rent direct. From tenant POV, rent through agent or direct? I think it’s an easy choice.

@natman – yes, it’s 3 months, just like your cash deposit buffer period. There is tenancy agreement. And if they move out in a month, our guarantee kicks in. there is no charges to owner.

@jianninety – it’s a trend that younger generation prefer lifestyle. Just because they pay less 10% does not necessary equate to 10% savings in bank, but I don’t deny your logic. We are currently thinking of NCD sort of discount, if good payment record, following years will get reduced rates. The vision is to build a safe, transparent and automated rental platform where everyone be a good actor.

@samkps – you rightly pointed – regardless how nasty tenant, whether you get cash or speedrent scheme, your risk exposure is the same. And we are raising $ from investors to make sure we have great credibility. Speedrent pays on time regardless if we successfully charge credit card or not. I personally put in RM500k into it to get this running, so hopefully it’s sufficient. We will have ways to deal with defaults later on.

@maraippo @satrianeo-x – I’m not sure if you have kids, but I suspect my kids will have problem saving money because it’s just hard to save now. But do I think my kids would be bad tenants? I don’t think so. It’s just an unstoppable trend. I do know many people voice the same opinion and I respect that. Point taken.

@psyduck89 – just residential only.

@shadow_walker – why not? ☺

@kira90 well, even if it’s not through speedrent, we still can do it somewhat.

@hello hello - wink.gif

natman
post Apr 12 2016, 09:54 PM

2,908 posts

QUOTE(wheimeng @ Apr 12 2016, 09:04 PM)
Thanks for all the feedback, I try to respond to every query possible because this helps us to strengthen our business case.

@cybertechmkteo – we are very transparent. We launched 3-4 weeks ago, and on a very low profile manner. So far we closed a few deals. On ½ month rent – by using Speedrent, landlord and tenant deal direct without hiring agent. The 1-month commission is saved. We encourage landlord to incentivize tenant to rent direct. From tenant POV, rent through agent or direct? I think it’s an easy choice.

@natman – yes, it’s 3 months, just like your cash deposit buffer period.  There is tenancy agreement. And if they move out in a month, our guarantee kicks in. there is no charges to owner.

@jianninety – it’s a trend that younger generation prefer lifestyle. Just because they pay less 10% does not necessary equate to 10% savings in bank, but I don’t deny your logic. We are currently thinking of NCD sort of discount, if good payment record, following years will get reduced rates. The vision is to build a safe, transparent and automated rental platform where everyone be a good actor.

@samkps – you rightly pointed – regardless how nasty tenant, whether you get cash or speedrent scheme, your risk exposure is the same. And we are raising $ from investors to make sure we have great credibility. Speedrent pays on time regardless if we successfully charge credit card or not. I personally put in RM500k into it to get this running, so hopefully it’s sufficient. We will have ways to deal with defaults later on.

@maraippo @satrianeo-x – I’m not sure if you have kids, but I suspect my kids will have problem saving money because it’s just hard to save now. But do I think my kids would be bad tenants? I don’t think so. It’s just an unstoppable trend. I do know many people voice the same opinion and I respect that. Point taken. 

thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  good one i hope you a great success ahead

@hello hello - wink.gif
ycs
post Apr 12 2016, 09:55 PM

4,223 posts

at which point can a landlord evict or consider the tenant as defaulted during your few failed times to swipe their CC?

is their any physical verification checks by your staff of the tenant?
mthc
post Apr 12 2016, 09:58 PM

4,525 posts

Do we get to choose what kinda tenant we rent to?

This post has been edited by mthc: Apr 12 2016, 09:59 PM
max_cavalera
post Apr 12 2016, 10:11 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(wheimeng @ Apr 12 2016, 10:04 PM)

@natman – yes, it’s 3 months, just like your cash deposit buffer period.  There is tenancy agreement. And if they move out in a month, our guarantee kicks in. there is no charges to owner.

@hello hello - wink.gif
Ok bro seeing ur explanation and 1 of ur worker explaination honestly its a good and sustainable business module...pls proceed and make a bang out of it....

I know theres thousands if not millions of landlord/houseowner out there that always face this late rent problem and with ur autodebit feature on time obviously can eliminate our fears 👍🏻😊
max_cavalera
post Apr 12 2016, 10:13 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

Lol now i think i even willing to find my own tenant that ask him register thriugh speedrent lol...

I thiught of the same idea back then but u guys are the winner as the 1st to do it
Takuro82
post Apr 12 2016, 10:23 PM

451 posts

Currently speedrent only cover area around Klang Valley?
Where is the area of app user cover?
To success you need a lot of user to improve your rate of success. And also help to landlord to have better chance to rent out their property
wheimeng
post Apr 12 2016, 11:18 PM

792 posts

@ycs – 3 consecutives failure = termination, and can start to evict. We don’t perform verification at the moment; everything is between landlord and tenant. We are try to keep as a payment platform.

@mthc – yes, we play a role of payment processing only. The actual is still between you and tenant.

@max_cavalera – thanks for your support, and we need more!!! biggrin.gif

@takuro82 – yup, that’s why we need to get more support, and raise $$ to fuel the growth. We are mainly focusing in Klang Valley at the moment.

Check out our launch video last year: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4uKO0AQRuyQ

cheahcw2003
post Apr 12 2016, 11:30 PM

5,379 posts

It is a brilliant idea. At time, I had a potential tenant from Speedrent, she was not able to pay the 2.5 months deposit, but didn't materialized as the tenant could not afford to pay the 2.5 months in one go. If this scheme launched earlier i would be able to close the deal.

propertybbb
post Apr 12 2016, 11:36 PM

2,663 posts

Speedrent ll know whether biz model works in months to come. As many have many cc nowadays , to stop one is easy. But to tenant and landlord now...surely it is good news.

This post has been edited by propertybbb: Apr 12 2016, 11:37 PM
wheimeng
post Apr 12 2016, 11:40 PM

792 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Apr 12 2016, 11:30 PM)
It is a brilliant idea. At time, I had a potential tenant from Speedrent, she was not able to pay the 2.5 months deposit, but didn't materialized as the tenant could not afford to pay the 2.5 months in one go. If this scheme launched earlier i would be able to close the deal.
In your opinion, would she make a good tenant? Did you think she was financially 'bad'?

Just want to see what you thought about unable to pay deposit.
max_cavalera
post Apr 12 2016, 11:41 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(wheimeng @ Apr 13 2016, 12:18 AM)
@ycs – 3 consecutives failure = termination, and can start to evict.  We don’t perform verification at the moment; everything is between landlord and tenant. We are try to keep as a payment platform.

@mthc – yes, we play a role of payment processing only. The actual is still between you and tenant.

@max_cavalera – thanks for your support, and we need more!!! biggrin.gif

@takuro82 – yup, that’s why we need to get more support, and raise $$ to fuel the growth. We are mainly focusing in Klang Valley at the moment.

Check out our launch video last year: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4uKO0AQRuyQ
Oh yeah u know why i support ur idea? Coz last time i was con got fella wanna rent from me say he works as exec bla bla bla...then turns out hes an odd job worker....cook i think...then after 2 month mia no more pay rent...naand run away stealing mah washingg machine and other tenant shoes...

So if upfront you guys request credit card autodebit u indirectly screen the tenant 1st...cc minimum income oso at least 2k-2.5-3k....and its not easy to approve cc banks only approve if ur decent working guy with credible proven salary...

I dunwan get cheated again by tenant saying hes an exec and turnout another jobless bum/failed guy and go steal mah house stuff again 😁👌🏻
propertybbb
post Apr 12 2016, 11:43 PM

2,663 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Apr 13 2016, 12:41 AM)
Oh yeah u know why i support ur idea? Coz last time i was con got fella wanna rent from me say he works as exec bla bla bla...then turns out hes an odd job worker....cook i think...then after 2 month mia no more pay rent...naand run away stealing mah washingg machine and other tenant shoes...

So if upfront you guys request credit card autodebit u indirectly screen the tenant 1st...cc minimum income oso at least 2k-2.5-3k....and its not easy to approve cc banks only approve if ur decent working guy with credible proven salary...

I dunwan get cheated again by tenant saying hes an exec and turnout another jobless bum/failed guy and go steal mah house stuff again 😁👌🏻
Risk transfer. smile.gif yet no need to pay premium like insurance. The another side pay the insurance premium for u.

This post has been edited by propertybbb: Apr 12 2016, 11:43 PM
MrHunter
post Apr 13 2016, 12:06 AM

740 posts

QUOTE(wheimeng @ Apr 13 2016, 12:40 AM)
In your opinion, would she make a good tenant? Did you think she was financially 'bad'?

Having the depo does reflect the financial strength for sure. You may ask banker on those who can pay higher upfront payment for car loan compare to lower group. Statistic doesn't lie. But your side has leveraged on credit card auto debit which mitigated yoir risk in certain extend. Tenant ll borrow more via cc for sure going forward. With rental also can pay via credit card, it ll make the gen Y cc debt to go higher, definitely. They may not terminate the card until really everything gone wrong as they may still want to pay rent via credit card as source to enjoy life and to have roof on top their heads. Your estimation of 5 to 10pc of bad apples could be a bit of optimistic. Being involved in behaviour credit scoring works, and if I set the income n age group right (guess your customer segment), 10 to 20pc ll be a more realistic. 10pc fees charge cannot even cover your more 1.5months when default happens in his last two months not to say if happen in early month. Well, not to be worried, the expected loss equal to PD x EAD x LGD. PD part you cannot do anything as you don't do filtering for ppls who take up this scheme, but you can think more to mitigate your risk on EAD and LGD part. Smart fella like you guys surely can resolve it. Simply asking for two cc accounts instead of one will easily help on your LGD part. Good luck. No matter what, it is fantastic idea! Speedrent rock!

This post has been edited by MrHunter: Apr 13 2016, 01:01 AM
cheahcw2003
post Apr 13 2016, 12:07 AM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(wheimeng @ Apr 12 2016, 11:40 PM)

I am not sure if she is a good tenant? It is a 50:50 ball game.
The best thing is she can pay the rent that I requested, which was around RM2500 pm.

My unit ended up tenanted for RM1900pm, the tenant negotiated down with the 1 year advance rental payment.
So these 2 are the extreme cases. Landlord either take the risk with higher rent or lower rent with minimal risk.
icemanfx
post Apr 13 2016, 05:38 AM

21,456 posts

This business model attract low credit rating tenants, landlord has no incentive to evict defaulter until after 3rd month rent is paid, will last until cash for guarantee payment to landlord is burned out.

If this payment platform fold, landlord will leave without any protection.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Apr 13 2016, 08:34 AM
ManutdGiggs
post Apr 13 2016, 06:46 AM

13,757 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Apr 13 2016, 05:38 AM)
This business model attract low credit rating tenants, landlord has no incentive to evict defaulter until after 3rd month rent is paid, could last as long as reserve is available to pay landlord.

If this payment platform fold, landlord will leave without any protection.
U r no longer property owner so join sked. U r high credit rating Tenant who pays the 4k maintenance fee for owner.
kochin
post Apr 13 2016, 08:24 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

i think you guys missed the point.

speedrent is essentially a platform or medium for landlord/tenant.

this zero downpayment scheme is an added feature or option which tenant/landlord can choose. it's not mandatory.

it's always good to have more options in the market. it's up to the people to choose.

wheimeng, might need your help in the future. got some ideas to bounce. kekeke.
HarpArtist
post Apr 13 2016, 08:31 AM

3,838 posts

i like the idea hmm.gif but i must say speedrent as the guarantor in case of no deposits, sounds dangerous to both speedrent and the landlord? sorry to ask but speedrent really can swallow the losses if many tenants abuse the feature?

31 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0219sec    0.12    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:50 AM