8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Celcom Data Roaming Scam, IS "roaming partner" A TRAP????

TSadam7979
post Apr 11 2016, 05:36 PM, updated 9y ago

26 posts

Here is my story.

My parents went to China last week. While I am dead sure that the "Data roaming" option on his Galaxy Note 4 is turned off, few days after his vacation he received this:

And soon he hit his credit limit and his line was barred.

After he returned to Malaysia I called up Celcom careline to find out what went wrong, the answer I got was "sorry, this month's bill still not yet generated. You have to wait till the bill cycle". (What the hell.....) Fine, i'll wait.

So, bill came, and I saw this:

GREAT! So I lodged a complaint via their customer self service portal. 2 days later this is what I got:

So, I called 1111 to follow up on the case number to only find out that the case was actually already closed without further notice/discussion!
Immediately I requested the agent to file an appeal for me over the weekend, and today I login again into customer self care portal and it's again, closed without contacting me or any response:

To further "convince" myself, I traveled to Stulang Laut, Johor Bahru and did this:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jK1tVJiT26g

Basically what I did was after making sure data roaming is turned off, I connect to one of the so called "celcom roaming partner"'s network and tried to fool around before switching back to home network. The result?

And, it seems that I'm not the only victim
http://www.complaintboard.com/celcom-l2392.html

and L Ng quoted an example of this happening (http://www.iphoneincanada.ca/carriers/rogers/fido-charging-iphone-data-roaming-setting-off/) and the Telco operator admitted its their fault and made a refund.

The next experiment I'd probably do is connect to CELCOM ROAMING PARTNER and this time, even with "cellular data" turn off before I turn to MCMC for help...

UPDATE 12/4/2016 5:15pm
Wrote to CFM and in less than an hour after i furbished CFM with all the details:

RM0 RM144 rebate has been approved and will be reflected in ur next month's Celcom bill. Stay connected on the fastest network. TQ

BRAVO CFM!

UPDATE 15/4/2016
As advised by grazy, i tried again at the same spot, same roaming partner, local data on, but network "3G or below" only, and VOILA! no charge.

Obviously Celcom needs to fix this shit ASAP.

This post has been edited by adam7979: Apr 17 2016, 12:10 AM
TiF
post Apr 11 2016, 05:39 PM

1,192 posts

ok, time to port out everyone.
adiwarna
post Apr 11 2016, 06:48 PM

2,669 posts

thats why onexox not allowed data roaming
kurangak
post Apr 11 2016, 06:52 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

if u use 4G, it still gonna transmit a small amount of data, even when u turn data transfer/roaming.

some forummer suggest to switch to 3G line in order to avoid this hassle... i cant remember who... i think its OKLY ?

This post has been edited by kurangak: Apr 11 2016, 06:53 PM
westbowl
post Apr 11 2016, 06:56 PM

QUOTE(adiwarna @ Apr 11 2016, 06:48 PM)
kit2
post Apr 11 2016, 06:59 PM

2,289 posts

welcome to malaysia!

*all* telcos are the same..mcmc is sleeping...so port to where? smile.gif
nexona88
post Apr 11 2016, 07:10 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,521 posts

someone mention bring / use old school phone.

mean those basic phone. No surfing internet / WhatsApp etc. capabilities. confirm no Data Roaming problem
Chrono-Trigger
post Apr 11 2016, 07:12 PM

BY SELF ONE IS DEFILED AND PURIFIED
4,310 posts

even if data roaming is off, your phone still handshake with the roaming telco.

I tried to use u mobile once at Brunei , cellular data on, roaming off - the iPhone data usage will register "data roaming :few kB)

but u mobile didn't charge me a single sen for it.

I think this is just a confirguration issue on the celcom network. I know for one that you need to disable your voicemail if you travel overseas on celcom.

issues like this make me hesitant to return to celcom

This post has been edited by Chrono-Trigger: Apr 11 2016, 07:20 PM
kit2
post Apr 11 2016, 07:23 PM

2,289 posts

QUOTE(Chrono-Trigger @ Apr 11 2016, 07:12 PM)
even if data roaming is off, your phone still handshake with the roaming telco.

I tried to use u mobile once at Brunei , cellular data on, roaming off - the iPhone data usage will register "data roaming :few kB)

but u mobile didn't charge me a single sen for it.

I think this is just a confirguration issue on the celcom network.
umobile postpaid now gives 50mb for data roaming, so you are safe for now.

once i was using umobile prepaid abroad, topped up my card online, then turned on my phone to check balance....
and then shocked to find all my credit gone!

This post has been edited by kit2: Apr 11 2016, 07:25 PM
uexpress
post Apr 11 2016, 07:34 PM

187 posts

I also kena, last month was overseas to HK when came back my bill kena RM1++.
I lodged a complaint via their customer self service portal too and get the same email reply. As usual when overseas i always switch off data, and before i'm at oversease the TTDI staff where i activated my roaming tell me must use celcom partner smartone which i did but end up kena charge.

Let me know if you want to complain to MCMC i will join.

wil-i-am
post Apr 11 2016, 11:16 PM

10,001 posts

Suggest TS to lodge complaint with MCMC
nexona88
post Apr 11 2016, 11:32 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,521 posts

QUOTE(kit2 @ Apr 11 2016, 07:23 PM)

once i was using umobile prepaid abroad, topped up my card online, then turned on my phone to check balance....
good for Umobile to give some quota for data thumbsup.gif
victorywp
post Apr 12 2016, 03:41 AM

V.I.P
11,741 posts

so that time you managed to get all your credits back?
UN1T3D
post Apr 12 2016, 08:19 AM

847 posts

QUOTE(adiwarna @ Apr 11 2016, 06:48 PM)
Also no data roaming on Altel, BuzzMe, Friendi, Merchantrade, Tron and XOX .....
TSadam7979
post Apr 12 2016, 08:32 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(uexpress @ Apr 11 2016, 07:34 PM)
I also kena, last month was overseas to HK when came back my bill kena RM1++.
I lodged a complaint via their customer self service portal too and get the same email reply. As usual when overseas i always switch off data, and before i'm at oversease the TTDI staff where i activated my roaming tell me must use celcom partner smartone which i did but end up kena charge.

Let me know if you want to complain to MCMC i will join.

called up 1111 again last night and quarreled with them for over 20 minutes before they created another ticket number for me. If i managed to claim my money back i'll share my report number here so that you can quote and ask for the same refund. Good luck to you and me.
lingseng91
post Apr 12 2016, 08:36 AM

73 posts

oh mai..gonna pull out my sim before going SG next week............LOL
UN1T3D
post Apr 12 2016, 08:38 AM

847 posts

Rather unfortunate that umobile no longer offers free 50mb data roaming for prepaid nor postpaid .....

TSadam7979
post Apr 12 2016, 08:52 AM

26 posts

*Deleted*

This post has been edited by adam7979: Apr 12 2016, 11:09 AM
TSadam7979
post Apr 12 2016, 08:54 AM

26 posts

some reported here that they managed to claim back the money after approaching MCMC and/or CFM. Looks like it's useless to approach celcom.

shame on you celcom, another example of "double standard"
kit2
post Apr 12 2016, 11:29 AM

2,289 posts

QUOTE(UN1T3D @ Apr 12 2016, 08:38 AM)
Rather unfortunate that umobile no longer offers free 50mb data roaming for prepaid nor postpaid .....
oh yes...checked website again and it's gone now..
easy money for telco...umobile finally gotten smarter eh?

QUOTE(victorywp @ Apr 12 2016, 03:41 AM)
so that time you managed to get all your credits back?
no, that time i thought it was a bug with my phone...
until i got hit again with another phone and with another telco's prepaid.

This post has been edited by kit2: Apr 12 2016, 11:33 AM

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0235sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 09:02 PM