75 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Bottom

So you're interested in ARCHITECTURE?, An academic guide to become an Architect

TSazarimy
post May 16 2007, 07:37 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

it's broadband, but it's a broadband that is being shared by about 300-400 PCs over one network.

they block all the ports that we use for P2P. so basically there's no way around it. they block ALL the unused ports too, so there's no point scanning for those either.

and yes, it is compulsory for ALL students to stay in college. u gotta to appeal and appeal and appeal to NOT stay in college wink.gif. ask justin on how he finally managed to get away with it.
xtracooljustin
post May 16 2007, 11:12 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

i didnt really get around the rule... rules r still rules and all UTM students after the 2003 intake must stay inside.

if u wanna stay outside... be prepared to pay both side. i manage to appeal but just for 2006/2007 year. i got 2 more years so im prepared to pay the hostel fees for these 2 years... mind u, its about RM500 per sem for hostel. Thats Rm2000 down da drain if i hav to pay the hostel fees. But we'll c how things turn out.

Benefits of staying outsides? we r not limited to the 12am curfew and if we feel bored or sien, mamaks r just a stone throw from where we stay. heck, clubbing and socializing is possible if ur staying outside.

Although Streamyx sucks... its still a life saver when ur staying outside if ur addicted to the internet.

Last but not least, i got shaded parking for my beloved car if i stay outside rclxms.gif and also able to give my car the TLC it needs evy week nod.gif
BridgestoneRE711
post May 16 2007, 11:45 PM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

wa .. RM2000 ... means u have been suffer inside few quite some time .
btw , architectural course , average spending per month of the assignments are how much .
i have been in LUCT for 1 sem , for 1 sem spend more than 1.3k ... my friend lah . not me ... how about YouTeeAmm?
xtracooljustin
post May 16 2007, 11:57 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

u dun really spend much on assignments... just printing and then binding it which itself doesnt cost much.

however design works which require large format printing can go up to about Rm200 for each major project...depending on how many projects u have a sem.

basically, my expenditure is mostly on living expenses, like petrol, loan repayment, bills, rent and the occasional book purchases. dun really spend a lot on my studies until towards the end of the sem when all ur assignments r due and the submission of ur major project.

well this is based on me staying outside and studying in a local uni in JB. so dun use this as a basis for comparison as each n evy one's expenditure is different.
TSazarimy
post May 17 2007, 12:00 AM

10,672 posts

RM500 is quite standard for 4 months: RM125 per month for accommodation, water+electricity included. typical 3 bedroom single storey house in taman univ is about RM400 - RM500 per month. if u share with 3-4 other students, it goes to about RM100-RM125 without including water+electricity+transport.

there're pros and cons, but as far as i know, UTM is the only university in msia that could house the entire student population on campus. i know UPM is going for that as well soon, as well as UiTM. i'm not sure if UM is gonna ever house their students on campus, and neither will USM.
BridgestoneRE711
post May 17 2007, 12:33 AM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

so , is the hostel single or share room with other people .
the problem i am concerning is architectural students will spend alot of time doing the projects , so would it be a better idea to stay in hostel ?
how about the food ?
xtracooljustin
post May 17 2007, 12:47 AM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

QUOTE(BridgestoneRE711 @ May 17 2007, 12:33 AM)
so , is the hostel single or share room with other people .
the problem i am concerning is architectural students will spend alot of time doing the projects , so would it be a better idea to stay in hostel ?
how about the food ?
well most of the rooms are twin shared... with bout 3 feet distance btw both beds. Thats about as much space u can get in the room. However, there is a common area on each floor of the hostel unit which should be large enough to accommodate large format works like ours. but remember, hostels also have a common toilet and they are usually not clean due to the number of ppl using it.

In my case, i have the whole living and dining room to use. This is esp critical when Im rushing for submission and printing using A3 print outs to form a A1 or A0 drawings. I can spread the whole drawing on my clean house floor.

unless u have a craving for spicy malay food, you'll be bored of uni food in a couple of weeks. and beware of the various cases of food poisoning wink.gif

This post has been edited by xtracooljustin: May 17 2007, 01:15 AM
BridgestoneRE711
post May 17 2007, 12:49 AM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

ok , let say UTM , how is the hostel alike ? i mean . does it loko like an apartment . or purely a place for sleep only .

at the same time , about the tools to buy during the admission. what i am concern is the text books required . do we need much text book ?
TSazarimy
post May 17 2007, 01:20 AM

10,672 posts

okay, that is a wrong question to ask an architect or architecture student biggrin.gif

the answer u'll get is "the hostel's crap".

but in actual fact, if u've lived in any 2ndary school hostel or PLKN camp, it's waaay better than those.

again, i shall repeat:

WE DONT USE TEXT BOOKS!
the_aki
post May 17 2007, 01:29 AM

129 posts

Hold on, the hostels in UTM is not only compulsory for First Years?? It's compulsory for everyone :S?
xtracooljustin
post May 17 2007, 01:50 AM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

unfortunately... yes.

like Azarimy said, UTM is prob one of the only local uni that makes it compulsory for all students to stay inside. there are exceptions, you can stay outside if you're married or ur family members stay in JB itself.
BridgestoneRE711
post May 17 2007, 02:14 AM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

so , does that mean i should get married ASAP ? hehehe
TSazarimy
post May 17 2007, 02:41 AM

10,672 posts

even if u get married, there are accommodations for couples too, and they still make u stay inside biggrin.gif. but it's more lenient especially if u already have a house and have been deemed "settled down". but i cant imagine u'd do that just to escape and have ur own broadband to run p2ps to download porn...
xtracooljustin
post May 17 2007, 02:45 AM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

QUOTE(BridgestoneRE711 @ May 17 2007, 02:14 AM)
so , does that mean i should get married ASAP ? hehehe
easiest is to move ur whole family here. well just ur parents will do... just that ur parents gotta find another job over here hmm.gif

worth considering. but anyhow, do try living in hostel for one year to find out wats it like. then if u got the financial capability, try living outside for a year. Then u'll b in a better position to compare. If ur unhappy staying outside, you can always move back to the hostel thumbup.gif no big deal.
BridgestoneRE711
post May 17 2007, 04:07 AM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

isk , die die also want to make ppl sleep inside . sigh .
let say it is 12am , does that mean all ppl must sleep at 12am ?
somehow architectural student will be quite busy one right ?

TSazarimy
post May 17 2007, 05:56 AM

10,672 posts

what justin meant by 12am is that students are not allowed to go in or out of the campus between 12am and 6am. UTM campus is huge. it's roughly 12sqkm (4km x 3km) and it's about 4 times the size of UM. technically it's a whole city by itself.

so imagine it's a medieval city complete with city walls and main gates. the gate closes at 12am and opens at 6am. but u're free to do almost whatever u want inside. u wanna lepak studio until 3am or whatever is totally up to u. nobody's gonna check what time u sleep. but the usual security details will always roam about and run a routine inspection to make sure all is safe and sound.

just like u dont go lepak2 in a dark alley with ur friends, u dont do that in the campus. there's a 24 hour study area near the library where most non-FAB students hangout after midnight, but architecture students have their own hangout - the studio.
BridgestoneRE711
post May 20 2007, 03:36 AM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

btw , wat are the common software used by architectural students out there ?
TSazarimy
post May 20 2007, 04:53 AM

10,672 posts

thank you for bringing back the discussion to architecture education instead of life in UTM. there are 4 categories that u should know about, and what they do.

drafting softwares

these are softwares u would use for draftmanship. they are not for 3D modelling or rendering, but plainly, to produce a legible drawing that using the standard visual communication language amongst those in the built environment. u use these softwares to produce plans, sections, elevations etc.

autocad and all its cad variations, minicad, vectorworx etc.

3D modelling and rendering softwares

these softwares let u model and render ur design in 3D. commonly used to produce "artist's impression" (or rather, designer's impression) of the design. end product is a series of perspectives as well as walkthrough animation.

3Dsmax, sketchup, 3dsviz, maya, microstation, lightwave etc

vector based DTP

where people commonly use DTP softwares to publish books or magazines, architects use them to compose their dwgs into a poster, commonly sized A1-A0.

illustrator, flash, coreldraw etc.

raster processing softwares

in these softwares, architecture students use them to manually render, touch-up, or convert a dwg into a presentable end product. images commonly produced in 3D softwares are improved in these softwares.

photoshop, painter, ms paint etc.
KVReninem
post May 20 2007, 09:07 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ May 20 2007, 05:53 AM)
thank you for bringing back the discussion to architecture education instead of life in UTM. there are 4 categories that u should know about, and what they do.

drafting softwares

these are softwares u would use for draftmanship. they are not for 3D modelling or rendering, but plainly, to produce a legible drawing that using the standard visual communication language amongst those in the built environment. u use these softwares to produce plans, sections, elevations etc.

autocad and all its cad variations, minicad, vectorworx etc.

3D modelling and rendering softwares

these softwares let u model and render ur design in 3D. commonly used to produce "artist's impression" (or rather, designer's impression) of the design. end product is a series of perspectives as well as walkthrough animation.

3Dsmax, sketchup, 3dsviz, maya, microstation, lightwave etc

vector based DTP

where people commonly use DTP softwares to publish books or magazines, architects use them to compose their dwgs into a poster, commonly sized A1-A0.

illustrator, flash, coreldraw etc.

raster processing softwares

in these softwares, architecture students use them to manually render, touch-up, or convert a dwg into a presentable end product. images commonly produced in 3D softwares are improved in these softwares.

photoshop, painter, ms paint etc.
azarimy, how about archicad? maybe you miss out smile.gif
TSazarimy
post May 20 2007, 09:17 PM

10,672 posts

well, i'm pretty sure archicad goes under etc lol.

anyways, archicad goes under drafting softwares, although they have the ability to produce 3D models and rendering as well, much like autocad, vectorworx and the others.

75 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.0249sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:25 AM