if anyone here is driving there and needs road direction give me a buzz. Will be more than happy to lead you all there... via phone of cos
So you're interested in ARCHITECTURE?, An academic guide to become an Architect
Apr 27 2007, 04:15 PM
1,602 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: KL/SG |
nearest LRT station is probably the Damai station. Still, there's no other transport from Damai to UTM KL. grab a cab from there.
if anyone here is driving there and needs road direction give me a buzz. Will be more than happy to lead you all there... via phone of cos |
Apr 27 2007, 04:36 PM
116 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: Kuching |
QUOTE(katunX @ Apr 27 2007, 04:02 PM) QUOTE(LeoDaVinci) Does anyone know where is UTM KL City Campus located? I'll be flying to KL tomorrow. Since I'll most probably stay at Bukit Bintang, I wanna know how long does it take to go to UTM City Campus. Any hotel nearby? UTM KL located at Jalan Semarak, it should be near from Chow Kit or Kampung Bharu area and also near KLCC...there should be many hotels on this area...I'm not sure whether there is any hotel near Jalan Semarak itself.. I think I'll stick to Bukit Bintang then... |
Apr 27 2007, 06:15 PM
3,429 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: alor star • selangor • skudai |
i yesterday did a joy ride to UTM City campus .
leo , if you want to meet up .. call me 012-5930232 . perhaps we can meet up at city campus . |
Apr 27 2007, 08:17 PM
4,261 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
QUOTE(BridgestoneRE711 @ Apr 27 2007, 03:21 AM) i would suggest i wud buy a lappie. i dun wanna move a whole bulky desktop to the campus and move it back! moreover, my desktop is so outdated (pentium 4) i dun think it wud handle intensive graphics rendering either. i wud need to upgrade the whole system if i insist on using the desktop. 2G of RAM standalone graphic card intel C2D processor , or possible , use ur desktop now .. then year end buy the Quad Core . sometimes mobility is really important and it's for convenience sake. moreover, i do not own a lappie, so it's time to hunt for one. btw, is quadcore going to lappies soon? if yes, when? if it's going to lappies this yr, i wud wait. but if not, i think i'll hunt for a core 2 duo. i think it's blazing fast enuff to handle most works. QUOTE(LeoDaVinci @ Apr 27 2007, 03:25 PM) Added on April 27, 2007, 3:30 pmI just came back from Penang on Wednesday. One of the interviewers asked me if I receive offer letters from both UTM and USM, which one will I go. Arghhh....such tricky question. I hesitated for a second or so and answered I'll go to UTM as the course offered is 5 years. Then they said in USM also 5 years bah. Arghhhh....speechless. I guess I've ruined the interview. Duh~ u shud've said USM! u know, u must flatter them in this case. honesty will ruin u sometimes! QUOTE(BridgestoneRE711 @ Apr 27 2007, 06:15 PM) i yesterday did a joy ride to UTM City campus . aren't u sked of getting spam sms? leo , if you want to meet up .. call me 012-5930232 . perhaps we can meet up at city campus . |
Apr 27 2007, 08:24 PM
people viewing architecture topic are educated , if someone were to spam me , i would say they are low end cheap fellow who is trying to get cheap attention .
Apr 27 2007, 08:29 PM
haha.
hey can u answer me regarding the quad core issue? |
Apr 27 2007, 08:53 PM
QuadCore is obviously a two Core2Duo ...
think it as ... imagine core 2 Duo is actually two 2.0Ghz running together . maybe if there is load work , got 2 processor work togehter . so that the load will be lesser for each one . Core 2 Quad is 4 core , something like two C2D ... means u got 4 2.0Ghz processor running together . it doesn't mean faster . but it is a lot smoother . |
Apr 28 2007, 07:57 AM
5,369 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
[quote=azarimy,Apr 21 2007, 06:04 PM]
UTS? university technology sydney? i dunno, coz i didnt follow them closely. i dont quite understand, what is going to be changed? as far as i know, australian univs comply to RIBA, means it's either 3+2, or 4+1 for part 2. which degree are they changing into a 3 year system? 1st or 2nd degree? hey azarimy, i am refering to this http://www.futurestudents.unimelb.edu.au/c...rsediagram.html as you can see, instead of all tat long years, it is shorten already. i am not sure UTS(tech sydney) is applying tat new model too or all the g7 uni will do so. sorry for that late reply. |
Apr 28 2007, 04:24 PM
10,672 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: shah alam - skudai - shah alam |
looking at the diagram, i believe this is quite similar with the one UTM has right now. and to be more specific, the 3+2 programme of architecture is already embedded in the melbourne model, so i'm not sure what's the argument was about.
here's how it works for architecture, in layman's terms: i. u take ur undergrad architectural degree for 3 years. ii. u now have two options: a. to continue for a 2 year (minimum) professional architectural degree. b. to continue for a 0.5 year (minimum) non-professional degree or post-grad diploma or masters. ofcourse, in other models, the option to continue for a non-professional degree is not in the book, but it doesnt mean the option's not there. as i've explained earlier in this topic, even if u've studied 6 years in architecture, doesnt mean u'll end up as an architect. it's matter of choice and what u want to do with ur life. so u might just use ur professional architectural degree for a non-architecture job, OR u can take a different degree to suit whatever u pursue. |
Apr 28 2007, 11:51 PM
2,659 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Miri, PJ & KL |
Just finished my exam. Sorry for not posting replies bout the computer stuffs...but seems like BridgestoneRE711 already answered them.
You know...the weird thing about technology...when UM started the school, everyone did manual. Then people start using computer and everyone goes "WOW". Real world uses lots of those as well, so it became the focus of the students. Then, everyone starts using computer and neglect manual. Then, someone uses manual, and everyone goes "WOW"...but of course the practicing world outside still relies heavily on computers. Well, even if you're good at computer, design doesn't come from the cursor and screen. It comes from the mind and the hand manifest them the quickest and prettiest...For people seriously thinking of taking up architecture...brush up on your sketching skills |
Apr 29 2007, 12:11 AM
tomorrow interview at city campus ..
all the best to me ! |
Apr 29 2007, 12:20 AM
that's true. computer is just a tool, like pencils or a brush. yeah, the computer can give more than just drafting perfect lines. but we're not training to become draftperson or 3D modeler. the ability to design shouldnt be hindered by ur tool. an architect is a master of his tools, not a slave.
Apr 29 2007, 03:15 AM
QUOTE(clayclws @ Apr 28 2007, 11:51 PM) Just finished my exam. Sorry for not posting replies bout the computer stuffs...but seems like BridgestoneRE711 already answered them. Maybe u can recommend me some nice lappies since u're in this field for quite some time. I bet u know much more. Any pleasant/unpleasant experiences with any brands, specs out there, hope u can point it out. THX.You know...the weird thing about technology...when UM started the school, everyone did manual. Then people start using computer and everyone goes "WOW". Real world uses lots of those as well, so it became the focus of the students. Then, everyone starts using computer and neglect manual. Then, someone uses manual, and everyone goes "WOW"...but of course the practicing world outside still relies heavily on computers. Well, even if you're good at computer, design doesn't come from the cursor and screen. It comes from the mind and the hand manifest them the quickest and prettiest...For people seriously thinking of taking up architecture...brush up on your sketching skills And btw, wat kind of specs are u using? Brand? Model? How are the exams of architecture course being implemented? Drawing tests? Or theory tests? QUOTE(BridgestoneRE711 @ Apr 29 2007, 12:11 AM) I've got the topic of the drawing. U wanna know? BTW, I've heard that things get stolen in university campus and even hostel rooms very often. This freaks me out seriously. I dun wanna see my lappie get stolen when I havent used it till I puas! This post has been edited by europology: Apr 29 2007, 03:19 AM |
Apr 29 2007, 03:33 AM
QUOTE(europology @ Apr 29 2007, 03:15 AM) BTW, I've heard that things get stolen in university campus and even hostel rooms very often. This freaks me out seriously. I dun wanna see my lappie get stolen when I havent used it till I puas! yes it happens very often... esp if ur those type that do work in studio bcos the studio is such a public place. lots of things get stolen... from laptop, LCD monitor, wireless adapters to my friend's fighting fish nowadays though most laptop and LCD monitor are secured using Kensington locks. not sure bout their effectivenes. in hostels, be sure to lock ur rooms before u sleep. there hav been cases of ppl randomly opening doors of hostel rooms. If they happen to find an unlocked door n ur sleeping til kingdom come, they just walk in n grab watever they can. if ur a girl, its quite often to lose ur bra or panties |
Apr 29 2007, 03:43 AM
QUOTE(xtracooljustin @ Apr 29 2007, 03:33 AM) yes it happens very often... esp if ur those type that do work in studio bcos the studio is such a public place. lots of things get stolen... from laptop, LCD monitor, wireless adapters to my friend's fighting fish bras and panties? nowadays though most laptop and LCD monitor are secured using Kensington locks. not sure bout their effectivenes. in hostels, be sure to lock ur rooms before u sleep. there hav been cases of ppl randomly opening doors of hostel rooms. If they happen to find an unlocked door n ur sleeping til kingdom come, they just walk in n grab watever they can. if ur a girl, its quite often to lose ur bra or panties gosh those thieves! shud start installing cctvs in every room then! may them get striked by lightnings or hit by cars on the street! I've heard that in USM hostels, a single key is able to open up multiple locks! GOODNESS!!! now making me think thrice whether purchasing and bringing own lappie is a wise choice or not... This post has been edited by europology: Apr 29 2007, 03:46 AM |
Apr 29 2007, 03:54 AM
u can bring... but bring it wif u everywhere... toilet as well
since 2nd yr i ve been staying outside campus and so far i ve lost nothing if u can afford it, try staying out of campus after da first yr. its much safer, makes u more independent and da freedom! |
Apr 29 2007, 04:09 AM
how to bring it to the toilet? goodness! headache...
maybe shud ask some frens to look after our things b4 we leave... well, they got to be trusted thoug, otherwise... |
Apr 29 2007, 04:58 AM
theft occurs when there's an opportunity with a dose of luck (on the thief's side). if u deny the opportunity, it wont matter how big a luck the thief can harness.
most of the theft occurs due to the carelessness of the owner. just treat it this way: if u're careless, u WILL lose something (laptop, girlfren or even ur ubat gigi). some of the high-end laptop locks work pretty well in hindering the thieves. when they see the lock, they wont bother to pick it. this is ur first win. but like i said before, dont give them opportunity. for a relentless thief, no matter how strong a lock u have, they can crack it if given enough time (either by picking the lock or sawing through it!). another thing: a thief cant steal what they dont know. i find that this is applicable to almost any situation. advertising ur stuff (like leaving ur handphone on the dashboard of ur car) is asking for trouble. remember: deny them the opportunity or even the knowledge of it. |
Apr 29 2007, 02:21 PM
just passed my inteview .
met leodavincci just now .. hahahha ... quite a good fellow . got pic .. anyone wants ? i put frank gehry and I.M.Pei as the architects which is internationally recognize . and the interviewers were impressed with my knowledge on the frank gehry hahah .... i think not much ppl know about him . btw , frank gehry is a damn cool guy . |
Apr 29 2007, 02:53 PM
good on you...
hope to c u at UTM next semester. ur persistence in going forward wif da appeal finally pay off Added on April 29, 2007, 2:56 pm QUOTE(azarimy @ Apr 29 2007, 04:58 AM) although this is unlikely... i believe a few of the theft are committed by a fren of the person whose stuff was stolen.dun quote me on this... but i know of a case where a guy stole his fren's jajan business money. This post has been edited by xtracooljustin: Apr 29 2007, 03:43 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0245sec
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:56 PM |