This post has been edited by europology: Feb 14 2007, 01:56 AM
So you're interested in ARCHITECTURE?, An academic guide to become an Architect
Feb 14 2007, 01:55 AM
4,261 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
bridgestone, u're interested in archi too?
This post has been edited by europology: Feb 14 2007, 01:56 AM |
Feb 14 2007, 09:58 AM
129 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: In front of the pc....? |
QUOTE(azarimy @ Feb 13 2007, 10:37 PM) how did u come to that conclusion? ohh sorry- thanks a lot ^^!!!i said, "landing a scholarship has lower probabilities", which anyone with math proficiency would know it is between zero and 79%. JPA doesnt differentiate between courses, which would mean u'll be competing against all time favourites - medicine, law and engineering. JPA scholarship have a working contract for a period of time, and in there arent many jobs in the government sector for architecture graduates, other than teaching or working in JKR. hey, dont get me wrong, there are still chance for u to go overseas. u didnt ask me about LOAN. if you're taking LOAN means you hvta pay back by yourselves or parents? |
Feb 14 2007, 06:42 PM
3,429 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: alor star • selangor • skudai |
europology ,
i am in LimKokWing now . interested lah ... u dont know meh ? classmate also dunno . Added on February 14, 2007, 6:45 pm QUOTE(the_aki @ Feb 13 2007, 01:04 PM) I finished my SPM last year and thinking of pursuing my studies in matrics or STPM (or maybe Taylor's diploma but I dun think I hv the $$) my advise is to go to STPM provided u are not willing to spend much . . In your opinion, which is a better route?? Especially if I want to go oversea- . Does wtv I learnt in both STPM and Matrics will help me throughout my studies in University (locally and oversea) ? . How much is the probability of me getting a place/scholarship in Aus/Eur universities of architecture with a good STPM's result(let's say 4As)? p:ss//I want to take design architecture (not the QS one) thanks in advance taylors is kinda expensive , same to limkokwing . but for limkokwing , u can save RM17K just for skipping foundation and their requirement to skip it is simply easy to skip . for taylors , u can skip for 1 semester only . but on the brighter side is , STPM does let you learn more , knowledge u nver need to use , but u will be more understanding with the stuff of the surroundings . This post has been edited by BridgestoneRE711: Feb 14 2007, 06:45 PM |
Feb 14 2007, 08:10 PM
10,672 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: shah alam - skudai - shah alam |
QUOTE(BridgestoneRE711 @ Feb 14 2007, 06:42 PM) europology , correction, taylor's doesnt require u to go through foundation to study diploma in architecture. it's the same if u take diploma in architectural technology (non-part 1) in LUCT.i am in LimKokWing now . interested lah ... u dont know meh ? classmate also dunno . Added on February 14, 2007, 6:45 pm my advise is to go to STPM provided u are not willing to spend much . taylors is kinda expensive , same to limkokwing . but for limkokwing , u can save RM17K just for skipping foundation and their requirement to skip it is simply easy to skip . for taylors , u can skip for 1 semester only . but on the brighter side is , STPM does let you learn more , knowledge u nver need to use , but u will be more understanding with the stuff of the surroundings . the_aki: it doesnt really matter who pays back the loan, as long as JPA gets it back. if u're good child, then u pay them back when u start working. if u wanna be a prick, then dont pay back, and ur parents cant, they'll declare ur parents bankcrupt. easy lah. |
Feb 19 2007, 04:37 PM
244 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
Can I still apply to study UTM's Diploma of Architecture now? By what methods because I'm clueless. A friend of mine already applied to enter one of UTM's diploma programme thru school counsellor. But I wasn't aware about it that time, therefore I have no idea how can I apply.
Feb 19 2007, 06:49 PM
u can apply using the online UPU application. it should be under program pengajian diploma (PPD) UTM KL.
Feb 20 2007, 03:20 AM
If I were to sum up for non-bumiputra, the likely destination to study architecture with Part 1 & 2 is UTM, in Malaysia apparently. Is it possible to perform a credit transfer to study abroad after obtaining the diploma? I'm referring to UTM's.
Feb 20 2007, 06:23 AM
i. for architecture, as far as i'm concerned other than UiTM, all IPTAs are open to upto 50% non-bumi. that's basically half bumi, half non-bumi. even if the number varies, it shouldnt be more than 60% bumi. which to sum up, non-bumi choices for architecture (for part 1 and 2) in IPTAs are UTM, UM and USM.
ii. yes, UTM diploma have long standing reputation especially in UK and aussie universities. but it entirely depends on how u score on critical subjects. the more As u score during diploma, the more credits u can transfer. the amount and category of subjects to be exempted varies from universities, so it is dealt as case-by-case basis. |
Feb 20 2007, 05:42 PM
Thank you very much, azarimy. I'd like to use my actual examination results to apply, if I'm not mistaken the deadline is 10 days after the release of results correct? I hope it won't be too late.
Feb 21 2007, 09:33 PM
482 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
If I had known about this forum about 3 or 4 years ago....I might have been studying architecture now.
Feb 21 2007, 09:46 PM
oh its never too late to start.
some people had their 'callings' quite late. but that didnt stop them from becoming famous architects. |
Feb 21 2007, 10:31 PM
765 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: In front of my PC monitor |
Feb 21 2007, 10:57 PM
QUOTE(maniac_rage @ Feb 21 2007, 10:31 PM) Architecture is SeniBina, right? And where does UTM do their architecture program? Is it at the main campus in Skudai or at the City Campus in KL? yes, senibina is BM for architecture, and sometimes spelled as seni bina. tehnically the same thing.UTM's main school of architecture is in skudai, where they run the architectural degree, masters and phd programmes. UTM KL is just for the diploma in architecture programme. |
Feb 25 2007, 06:14 PM
1,604 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: Penang |
azarimy,
I need your advice here. I'm waitin for my SPM result now, so currently I have 2 choices. Whether continue my study through Matriks or IPTA. I prefer to get into IPTA (diploma) and my first desirable course would be Architectural. Which uni should I take? UiTM or UTM? Which has the higher advantages? QUOTE(azarimy @ Feb 20 2007, 06:23 AM) ii. yes, UTM diploma have long standing reputation especially in UK and aussie universities. but it entirely depends on how u score on critical subjects. the more As u score during diploma, the more credits u can transfer. the amount and category of subjects to be exempted varies from universities, so it is dealt as case-by-case basis. from your statement I can summarize that UTM is foremost prominent than any other local uni that offers Diploma. But from what I've read since the first post in this thread:UiTM > 4 years UTM > 3 years UiTM grads will automatically accredited with part 1, while UTM diploma is not. So can you elaborate more on this matter? Ok lastly, what is the best option to continue our degree? Local uni or overseas? Cause from what I've seen most of student they continue their degree in overseas, Aussie is the famous one. |
Feb 25 2007, 07:34 PM
QUOTE(MaGNiFiCo @ Feb 25 2007, 06:14 PM) azarimy, ur figures are correct. uitm 4 years, utm 3 years. with a part 1 diploma, u are qualified to work as an architect assistant, while with a non-part 1 diploma, u're a technical assistant at the most. job spec although similar, varies in responsibility and the range of projects that u can do. salary wise, not much different. architect assistant usually earns RM100-RM400 more than technical assistant.I need your advice here. I'm waitin for my SPM result now, so currently I have 2 choices. Whether continue my study through Matriks or IPTA. I prefer to get into IPTA (diploma) and my first desirable course would be Architectural. Which uni should I take? UiTM or UTM? Which has the higher advantages? from your statement I can summarize that UTM is foremost prominent than any other local uni that offers Diploma. But from what I've read since the first post in this thread: UiTM > 4 years UTM > 3 years UiTM grads will automatically accredited with part 1, while UTM diploma is not. So can you elaborate more on this matter? but the catch is, not many firms are willing to differentiate between the two. to most, architect assistant and technical assistant is virtually the same. hence the common tendency to lump both together as one post. advantage for UTM dip holder is that even with a non-part 1 diploma, they'll be earning the same with an architect assistant. but ofcourse, based on the year of study, UiTM diploma has more experience and practical knowledge than UTM diploma holders. this is especially true bcoz a 6 months practical programme is included in UiTM diploma, whereas in UTM, they'll only be doing their practical training during degree. UiTM diploma has also the added knowledge of hi-rise construction, whereas in UTM, hi-rise is an exclusive subject for the degree programme. all in all, it boils down to cost+duration. UiTM is ofcourse one of the cheapest universities in the world. moreover, they're currently working on their RIBA accreditation, which would be sometime this year. UTM on the other hand would be expecting RIBA accreditation in 2-3 years time. QUOTE Ok lastly, what is the best option to continue our degree? Local uni or overseas? Cause from what I've seen most of student they continue their degree in overseas, Aussie is the famous one. the reason why architecture students prefer to study abroad is not always bcoz overseas are better. it's the exposure to other architectures than malaysian is the most important part. those who studied architecture entirely overseas will miss the msian architecture scene, which would be hard for them to catch up once they come back. full local studies would mean u will have minimal exposure to other architectures other than what u see in books. so getting a taste of both worlds is currently the best course of study in architecture.so why go to australia? coz it's cheaper than UK. why not go to other countries? coz of the language. why not go to US? coz of the different education system that makes it hard to transfer credits, hence adding more years of study unless u're there from 1st year. i would really recommend all my students to study abroad after diploma/1st degree. UTM for example, have about 5-8 students continuing in the UK and about 10 to australia annually. it is also important to know that msian architectural degree (part 2) is internationally accepted. dont let what's happening to other unfortunate courses blind u into seeing that msian architectural degrees are crap. |
Feb 25 2007, 10:26 PM
148 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
azarimy,
are u sure limkokwing's program has part 1 recognition? oh yea, theres another route for luct diploma(3 years)->1st degree(entry into 2nd year)->2nd degree(not offered by luct) |
Feb 25 2007, 10:33 PM
1,604 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: Penang |
QUOTE(azarimy @ Feb 25 2007, 07:34 PM) but ofcourse, based on the year of study, UiTM diploma has more experience and practical knowledge than UTM diploma holders. this is especially true bcoz a 6 months practical programme is included in UiTM diploma, whereas in UTM, they'll only be doing their practical training during degree. UiTM diploma has also the added knowledge of hi-rise construction, whereas in UTM, hi-rise is an exclusive subject for the degree programme. So I'm certainly will go with UiTM. Im not focusing to get a job soon after I finish my diploma. |
Feb 25 2007, 11:21 PM
QUOTE(jamesngui @ Feb 25 2007, 10:26 PM) azarimy, well, LAN and LAM have accredited LUCT with part 1 based on batch of students. they will continue to do so until they grant LUCT full accreditation for part 1. look at it as pending part 1 recognition. based on other schools like UIAM, it should take them about a year or two to get the full recognition.are u sure limkokwing's program has part 1 recognition? oh yea, theres another route for luct diploma(3 years)->1st degree(entry into 2nd year)->2nd degree(not offered by luct) |
Feb 26 2007, 01:46 AM
1,602 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: KL/SG |
QUOTE(azarimy @ Feb 20 2007, 06:23 AM) i. for architecture, as far as i'm concerned other than UiTM, all IPTAs are open to upto 50% non-bumi. that's basically half bumi, half non-bumi. even if the number varies, it shouldnt be more than 60% bumi. which to sum up, non-bumi choices for architecture (for part 1 and 2) in IPTAs are UTM, UM and USM. my current batch is approx 105 ppl. including me only 16 are non bumi. what gives?This post has been edited by xtracooljustin: Feb 26 2007, 01:48 AM |
Feb 26 2007, 02:38 AM
u're in the 5 year batch now, right? the new system?
hell i dunno. when they were in 1st year, there were slightly more bumis, but i think the matrics:STPM ratio is about 50:50. how did it get down to 17? i have no idea. what happened to the rest of them? did u ask? |
| Change to: | 0.0261sec
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 11:35 AM |