17 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Bottom

INTEL P4/PM 478/479 THREAD, >>V3<<, The Journey Continues Here!

raymond5105
post Jul 5 2007, 08:50 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(pengster @ Jul 5 2007, 07:13 PM)
so far for my P4P800x i can only change the divider between 1:1 and 5:4 by changing the DDR speed.if i want 1:1 then i have to set it to DDR266 in the bios.if i want 5:4 i have to set to Auto. laugh.gif btw thats when using a pair of DDR400 rams.
now im having a weird problem with a pair of DDR400s.sometimes can boot up sometimes nothing at all.once it booted up and ran for 2days then suddenly came out the BSOD  sweat.gif all those at stock clocks too.
Wao,so weired.Problem will only comes after 2 days using. sweat.gif Is it the bios itself not so stable?

Between,i have something to share with you about my 3D mark 03 on my 9550.See the pictures below.You will get shocked. rclxub.gif

raymond5105
post Jul 5 2007, 10:39 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(pengster @ Jul 5 2007, 09:10 PM)
hmm.means mobo's gonna die soon? laugh.gif
yeah exactly.very weird.but i've updated my bios from v1009 to v1010.003 thats dated 29/3/2006.its the latest i can find.and it says BETA BIOS in the website too.will test it out soon.

and 17k in 3dmark03 with a 9550? shocking.gif are you sure that's not a glitch or something?200+fps for Troll's Lair and 150+fps for Wings of Fury. blink.gif

btw what version of omega drivers are you using?
edit : now i've successfully booted into windows with 2xKVR400s with the latest bios.will let it run overnight to see if the BSOD still happens or not.
Haha,the OMEGA driver i found out is no good one. Sucks in playing CNC3. mad.gif I updated the omega driver to the 3.8.36 version also the same problem.Looks like the ATI card is not so stable in playing game. doh.gif Last time i played Carbon also it can't stand the o/c speed and jumped back to default speed in the half of my game. mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif
raymond5105
post Jul 6 2007, 08:48 AM

5,341 posts

raymond5105
post Jul 6 2007, 10:48 AM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(rainingzero @ Jul 6 2007, 08:57 AM)
today already my last day of this training.finished doing my report already....so, got time to play with my rig, itchy hand already......
Your proc is running on stock or o/c already? biggrin.gif
raymond5105
post Jul 6 2007, 04:32 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Jul 6 2007, 03:46 PM)
shocking.gif  shocking.gif  shocking.gif  shocking.gif  shocking.gif  shocking.gif

i better put my 7300GT to sleep already...lol. the most i can get for it only at 10k+ a bit.  blush.gif should be something wrong with the driver. hmm.....are you watching the troll's lair running? hows the fps?? is it really higher than the wing fury's framerate??
I was leaving my computer to run the benchmark while i went out for dinner. doh.gif doh.gif So i'm not sure about this.Sucks la ATI.

QUOTE(BurgerRI @ Jul 6 2007, 04:06 PM)
17k for a 9550xt...thats pretty impossible...glitch in the benchmark app or your rig...too darn high...
Normally the 3D mark 03 should be around 4.5k only on my pc.ATI driver not stable one. doh.gif Play game also not syok,will hanged a while then only continue.Sucks.
raymond5105
post Jul 6 2007, 09:31 PM

5,341 posts

What's NGO drivers?From where i can get it ?
raymond5105
post Jul 9 2007, 01:07 PM

5,341 posts

I found out my RAM is preety hot too when playing games. I have put the heatspreader on them. sweat.gif
raymond5105
post Jul 10 2007, 08:47 AM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Jul 9 2007, 11:48 PM)
Really..? cry.gif So bad.. My GC upgrading bubble gone! So, as if i wanna get this card, i gota push more juice from my current procs to support the GC? blink.gif
What about considering the 7600GT ?Your system won't bottleneck so much on the graphic card or perhaps the 7800GS if you want.
raymond5105
post Jul 10 2007, 05:20 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Jul 10 2007, 01:18 PM)
Hm.. Do consider before, but seems hard to get at my place for the AGP version. cry.gif Because i plan to put a final boost for my current rigs before i upgrade it. Or perhaps will using this rig until the last day of their life spent. drool.gif
Its the only way to push my procs in oder to match the 78/79 Series? Hm.. So bad.

Btw, im having problems with going beyond 3.45Ghz now. Anyone know whats the problem? I've loosing the ram timing from previous 2.5-3-3-6 to 3-4-4-8 in order to hit 3.52Ghz, but my system failed after 5mins of orthors with priority 9. shocking.gif PC restarting. Tried 4 times, all 4 time same thing happened. icon_question.gif
Oh,i see.I guess are you using 2.8V on your Vdimm right ? Actually no problem of bottleneck but is just that the video card maybe cannot be fully utilize only. biggrin.gif Usually i don't try on PRIME,but play games like Carbon,Warcraft,and Tiberium Wars to see my pc hanged or not. tongue.gif

QUOTE(rsangel @ Jul 10 2007, 04:46 PM)
Mine currently is P4 2.4b on GIGABYTE GA-8PE667 PRO smile.gif
Welcome to S478 club. rclxms.gif
raymond5105
post Jul 10 2007, 08:21 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Jul 10 2007, 07:44 PM)
Just home from work! LOL! Oh yea.. Do consider before lower range gc. But cos it will gona be mine last boost for current rig ma, so plan to get something good. drool.gif But not sure current system can support or nt. hmm.gif

Yup.. 3.45Ghz is perfectly normal. Run on this speed for pass 3 months and nothing happen. Prime with Orthos with Gromacs core @ priority 9 for 12hrs plus still alive. But just thing get mess up when i push another 5mhz.

Ic.. Thanks for telling kabukiawie. Will try to adjust abit later on. Hehe.. 3.0E dead at 3.45Ghz..? hmm.gif I think this procs should be can go further then 3.4ghz.
Oh yea ray, i was running on default vdimm. 2.8v at this moment. didnt touch the vcore and vdimm yet. So, how much do i need to adjust? 0.5v? Heh.. First time touch vdimm and vcore, so better ask before do. cool.gif

Added on July 10, 2007, 7:47 pm@pengster

lol.. Im temporary working at pc shop, i spotted the Galaxy 7900GS Standard version dealer price only 5xx. Thats y i plan to grab it lo.. for 76 series.. 4xx can get already lo! brows.gif
Yuo can set the vDimm at the bios there.Usually will have options like increment 0.5v.Maybe set to 2.8v will boost the RAM a bit.Where you find the 7900GS for RM5xx only?256bits and 512MB RAM ?
raymond5105
post Jul 10 2007, 10:13 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Jul 10 2007, 08:28 PM)
Weird... Guess is my cap-palang PSU (i-Cute) cos the restarting. Test 2 time just now. With 3.52Ghz, 2.5-3-3-6 ram timing, 2.85 Vdimm setting. Prime 1st time 2mins after AUTOMATICALLY pc restarting with any notice or warning, and no error detected during priming process.

2nd time, same setting. 7mins after prime PC restart AUTOMATICALLY agian. Gosh.. Guess is the power supply not stable. Right? Correct me if im wrong.

@raymond5105,

Hm.. The 7900GS is 256mb vr, not the 512mb version. Galaxy type. From what i read from the list, is come with galaxy fan, so i assume is the standard version. Not the Zalman version. At where i find the price? Haha.. At my current working place lo. Saberkas.. Need place order for that card. Due they dont keep stock.

Edit: Should be THIS 7900GS from Galaxy if im not mistaken.
WAh 7900GS only RM5xx only, brows.gif brows.gif THe most high end AGP card,are you going to get this ?CAn't imagine the card's performance on S478.

QUOTE(sang_karim @ Jul 10 2007, 08:32 PM)
@kabukiawie
i oradi change the fan to blowing downwards but the temp rise until 47C  sweat.gif ..so just change back to normal at open back the front bays cover  laugh.gif ... so cpu temp around 40C-41C and mobo temp around 35C .... will clean the dust frequently la...  laugh.gif .. then just try to oc abit la to see how the temp....change the bus speed at bios .. restart ...then the AI Booster tell me need to restart ... so i restart and ..it's back to normal with 200MHz bus speed.... so confius la this mobo  rclxub.gif ..then just try window OC using AI Booster ... try Performance Mode +10% .... bsod  doh.gif ... maybe my 350W psu not enough juice la ...  wink.gif .. so just run stock speed la... wink.gif
Don't use the AI Booster,use the manual one is better. biggrin.gif
raymond5105
post Jul 11 2007, 08:29 AM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Jul 10 2007, 11:25 PM)
LOL. Kuching lo.. Cannot tell the shop name here.. Later if the tauke see this thread then i been ired ar! Haha! Yea.. Planning now. Have to place order for this card. Will tell you guys after i grabbed it! rclxms.gif
Do you organize a bulk here ah ?I think there might be some members interested. tongue.gif Anyway,using standard fan is ok as long as the card is not hot,elese just change the fan to zalman fatality. drool.gif drool.gif

QUOTE(rsangel @ Jul 11 2007, 02:44 AM)
Well i got a question....

Can a P4 EE 3.46 HT beat the AMD 64 x 2 3800+ ????

Coz i'm consider to upgrade from my P4 2.4 to either one of them...

Abit K9NS board =_="

advise pls sad.gif
Hi fren,both are not same category,cannot be compare.One is using HT and another one is dual core. wink.gif Hard to compare,i think both on stock performance maybe par on some applications.
raymond5105
post Jul 11 2007, 09:51 AM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Jul 11 2007, 09:18 AM)
if I were you....I would go for X2 anytime smile.gif
Go along with the technology, I wouldn't use back old architecture anymore
Agree with you.Take the newer technology always.

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Jul 11 2007, 09:27 AM)
Noted...laugh.gif 1.7V for Northwood...kekeke....
actually 40-41C is not bad la. Remember you are using PresHott. Just keep an eye to the load temp. 50C is not bad. no oc??

Can you disable the AI Booster?? then oc manually in bios.

haha.....try tidy up the cables la... yours better than mine as i cant put 80mm fan at the back and no place for any intake. so just open up the side panel. hohoho.........Luckily not so dusty.
Northwood go until 1.7V... sweat.gif I think is very high already.I'm not dare to go so high.Besides,The AI Booster can be disable by switching to manual only.
raymond5105
post Jul 11 2007, 12:58 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Jul 11 2007, 12:13 PM)
I pushed mine to 1.9V just to boot at 3.6Ghz on air on my old 2.4B, who dares to join me? XD
That's insane,1.9v on the Northwood core with air cooling. sweat.gif sweat.gif I only put max 1.575v on my core only,not even dare to go 1.6v. notworthy.gif
raymond5105
post Jul 13 2007, 10:40 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(rainingzero @ Jul 13 2007, 02:22 PM)
just a simple spec only:

P4 3.2E (artic freezer4)
Intel 865perl mobo  doh.gif
2*512mb transcend
80 gig WD, samsung Dvd drive,
zalman 400 wat silent PSU
Galaxy 6600gt AGP
(waiting for my 7800gs and TR xp90  smile.gif )

edit:typo
USing INtel board cannot o/c one wor...Have to get another mobo.Between the Transcend RAM good or not ?
raymond5105
post Jul 14 2007, 08:35 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(pengster @ Jul 14 2007, 02:15 PM)
damnit.after using the latest BETA bios from Asus for a week with no problems at stock,i tried to oc it back to 2.7Ghz and the exact same problem happened again - "Bad bios checksum" and i cant boot up till i removed one of my ram. doh.gif

do you guys think other mobo bios like the P4P800,P4P800Deluxe or P4P800E-Deluxe will work with this P4P800x? laugh.gif laugh.gif
Definately not,it's totally different bios for different mobo.I afraid later u flash the wrong one and make your mobo kong.

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Jul 14 2007, 04:53 PM)
i afraid it cant....coz other p4p800 support raid etc. p4p800x is the most basic 1. Just my point of view. i still using 1009 official. so far so good. maybe you can try that
I'n also using this version bios.THat's the latest version bios it has for this mobo.So far my proc can o/c stable on it.
raymond5105
post Jul 15 2007, 08:45 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Jul 15 2007, 07:34 PM)
Hm.. I not sure whats happening. But seems i could reach 3.5Ghz by slowly increasing the FSB. If jump from big gaps, sure the system get crazy. Btw, both ram was running on D43 chips and same timing. Now hitted 3.5Ghz with problem.. laugh.gif
Oh such a good practice on this. biggrin.gif I haven't try this before.Well it's a nice result hitting 3.5GHz thumbup.gif
raymond5105
post Jul 16 2007, 09:56 AM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Jul 15 2007, 09:20 PM)
LOL.. It wasnt a good "practice" anyways. Takes alot of time.. Just like testing patient. Up 1 or 2 mhz then load into windows, run pcmark05 to ensure the system is fine. And then repeat the same step agian.. shakehead.gif Wish could hit 3.6Ghz or more.. drool.gif
brows.gif It's not a good practice as it needs long time to burn in the PC nut in long time it would be benefiting to you as your proc can go higher than your desired speed. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(k!nex @ Jul 16 2007, 12:43 AM)
seriously though, the MSI Neo2 series dun hv problems wif RAM compatibility.infact its quite good for normal use.but OC wise,its not as good as Asus.my Neo2-S hardly hit 250FSB stable for everyday usage.

Anyone tried Transformers:The Game wif P4 478?mine during stages is ok.but the cutscenes are laggy though.i'm sure not GC problem.proc slow. loading also slow.

Added on July 16, 2007, 12:51 am
Neo-2-S is not really a mobo for good o/cing.Ligh o/c on it is still acceptable.

if u upgrade to 7800GS also, u'll only get better 3rdMark.overall gaming also wont hv a so significant performance gain.ur proc is bottlenecking the 7800GS.if wan upgrade,the best for p4 is only 256MB 7600GT DDR3 if wan minimise proc bottleneck(unless u hv p4 gallatin)
I think if his 3.2GHz proc can o/c to higher speed it won't be a problem of running 7800GS. Better GS of course will gain more FPS in gaming.In his case the bottleneck still have but it's not as bad as running a proc at 2.0GHz.
raymond5105
post Jul 16 2007, 03:52 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(rainingzero @ Jul 16 2007, 01:32 PM)
7800gs wont bottlenecking P4 3.0 above as there is no prob reported from user so far. but if x1950pro agp do bottlenecking ur proc, even p4 3.4 also can't correlated with this gc....

edit:performance of 7800gs just on par with 6800ultra, that's y it's not a burden to P4 soc 478 to maximize during gaming. just 7800gs do improve interm of power consumption and heat produced which it use lesser watt and produce lesser heat compared to 6800ultra.
Yes,mulut99 is using 7800GS here. biggrin.gif We can ask opinion from him.I've a friend who's running on Athlon XP1800+ with 7800GS according to him. sweat.gif
raymond5105
post Jul 17 2007, 08:44 AM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Jul 16 2007, 11:46 PM)
Weird.. My ram timing was on 1:1 ratio. Maybe need to tighten more. Currently running on 2.5-3-3-8. Will to tighten it to 2.5-3-3-6 and see how. I tried with CL 2 before, end up my pc cannot boot. Need to reset bios. sweat.gif
Your Super PI 1M is kinda high on 3.5GHz.Well you RAM timing is considered tight for me as i'm running at CL3.I tried on CL2.5 which didn't affect my SUPER PI result much.As shinjite said,CL2 is not recommended for Hynix chips.

17 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0410sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:52 PM