INTEL P4/PM 478/479 THREAD, >>V3<<, The Journey Continues Here!
raymond5105
Apr 2 2007, 09:17 AM
I think if the mobo doesn't support HT on 800FSB,then the proc will be detected in other way round.I guess should be 18*166= 3.0GHz. Now in LYN,thre are a lot of mobos selling new with 800FSB and HT support.
raymond5105
Apr 4 2007, 01:15 PM
QUOTE(edministrator @ Apr 3 2007, 01:28 PM) hey bro, sorry to have offended you, just wanna clarify that I never said anything about stupidity, etc, or purposely 'spam' to gain post count, i just got carried away in stating my personal opinions. never meant any disrespect. will stick to thread title next time. no hard feelings, k? i will b more sensitive in future postings.  Just wanna add, I do believe current mid range to high end AGP cards are able to breathe in new life for our s478 rig, or to extend the capabilities of our rig. That's why I got myself a 7600GS AGP for my P4 3.06Ghz in the first place. Anyway, back to the s478 topic, here is an interesting temperature chart taken from xbitlabs with P4 HT enabled and disabled, and found an increase in temp when HT disabled (especially in idle mode).  more detailed info on the following site for reading pleasure, just wanna share it with all the s478 enthusiasts here. I wonder if the result also reflects the users that have non HT P4 cpu? http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu/display/p4-temp.htmlInteresting review. I know that the P4 procs will insert idle cycle into the processors when the proc is overheated. About the condition on HT enable and disable,this is the first time i see the temperature result on them.The burn-in Sandra will causing higher temp on HT enable compare to the HT disable while in gaming is the other way round.
raymond5105
Apr 4 2007, 04:08 PM
QUOTE(edministrator @ Apr 4 2007, 03:52 PM) many reported decrease of few fps with HT on, I think due to reserved cpu cycles for other process. Even HT on, you are still on one CPU, only 'virtually' OS detected 2 cpu. simple experiment is run a 3d game and one mp3 ripper/dvd encoding at the same time. Sure still lag... I did this experiment before long time ago. I was playing C&C Zero Hour and did encoding job at the same time,i found that my system was no lag but will slow down only with terms and condition my system was overclocked. You can try by yourself,you will see the difference there.
raymond5105
Apr 5 2007, 09:56 PM
Wao cool,30capper 3.0C.Why not go into overclocking?I think should be very easy to get 3.6GHz with your board.Besides what type of RAM chip are you using ?Good RAM can push up your clocking also.
raymond5105
Apr 8 2007, 01:36 PM
Hey guys,do you all realise that the fluatuating of vCore can causes more heat?For example like suppose the vCore is operating at 1.55v,but it fluctuates to 1.5v or 1.52v. I notice that this kind of condition really makes the casing inisde feels very warm. If you increase a bit on the vCore to compasate the lost in vCore to 1.575v,the actual reading of the vCore will be around 1.55v. Then the tempeature inside the casing is also cooler.
raymond5105
Apr 8 2007, 01:54 PM
I just found this one out,qiute interesting.I was also shocked with it.Don't know you all have this kind of experience or not. Imagine that the processor have to operate at lower voltage to acheive same speed with the norminal voltage,which one is more comfortable to do so? Hehe,another situation is just like applying the formula of P=VI into our processor.Less voltage draw then have to provide more current to acheive same power.
raymond5105
Apr 8 2007, 03:29 PM
QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Apr 8 2007, 03:24 PM) Hmm....something new to know. mean more vcore it cooler? mine normally reported higher in cpuz like i set 1.5 it show 1.55+-  then fluatuated when stress it. Normally it will drop around the vcore i set in bios +- just back from pikom. Really upset, almost nothing new there. Bought a 19" lcd and just set up.  now set mine to stock speed. a bit slow and the temp is almost the same as i run at 3.2GHz.  You went to Penang PC fair ?Anything specialoffer there?Wehn stress your Vcore drops...seems like the PSU is fluctuating when loading.My PWM will run cooler if i compensate the loss of voltage on it. The PWM will draw less current on the mosfet,less current less heat.
raymond5105
Apr 8 2007, 06:07 PM
I am actaully from KL,but now working in Penang.This time PC here i am not going as i got nothing want to buy.Somemore the place here is just too small and it makes the place super crowded.Here the stuff also not really much as KL there as no many vendors here.Here got limit brands and models selling only,hard to get those high end stuffs from here.
raymond5105
Apr 8 2007, 08:19 PM
QUOTE(dj2004 @ Apr 8 2007, 06:19 PM) hey guys im back  raymond5105 i wanna ask u ur hynix ram is double sided or single? Actually i am talking on my IC7-G mobo,it fluctuates abit. I believe other motherboard will also have this kind of problem.Main concern is the PSU,how good is it. My RAM i think should be double sided as it's 512MB per stick.Any problem with my RAM ?
raymond5105
Apr 9 2007, 09:49 AM
QUOTE(dj2004 @ Apr 9 2007, 04:45 AM) hmmm cuz i just bought my hynix rams i bought 1gb 512mb x2 but its single sided it still cant do fsb ratio 1:1 it can reach 230mhz but after 1 day it restarts..can ya like tell me whats the prob acctually  the old rams cant even reach fsb ratio 1:1 What are the chipsets on your RAM there?Mine is Hynix BT-D43,but mine one cannot go > 230MHz even in loose timing.But < 230MHz i can run at 3-3-3-5.This is kinda weired for me.Mine is confirmed duoble sided even it's with the copper heatsink on it,yesterday i just double check with it.I'm not sure the single sided or double sided does affects on the o/c or not. @fylon,your proc + your GC can run 3D mark 05 at 3200++ consider quite good already.Between i have the same GC with you,i just tested with 3D mark 03 last time and manage to get 4400+ . If got time i will try to run on 3D mark 05 and see. This post has been edited by raymond5105: Apr 9 2007, 09:52 AM
raymond5105
Apr 9 2007, 11:45 AM
QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Apr 9 2007, 10:28 AM) i thought pcmark05 is different with 3dmark05. Confuse already. @fylon actually with 300MHz oc dont really can feel the different. if you benchmark or running heavy program then you will notice it slightly faster than stock like loading time, responsiveness etc. Haha,ya i have read the PC Mark 05 and 3D mark 05 wrongly.  Anyway,i don't think the 3D mark 05 will be acheiving 3000+ since it's just a 9550.
raymond5105
Apr 9 2007, 05:47 PM
QUOTE(k!nex @ Apr 9 2007, 04:41 PM) Hi all,i'm newcomer here. my specs: P4 Northwood 2.4C HT @ 2.53Ghz FSB 210Mhz with stock Vcore and cooling 512*2 Kingston DDR 333 at 2.5-3.3.7 @stock MSI Neo 2 865 PE MSI GeForce 5600 128Mb DDR OC@ 357/605 Chaplang PSU 450W i'm so envious of u all. i dunno how to raise the CPU multiplier like u guys  Actually we are not raising the multiplier,we are increasing the FSB.Your 2.4C got much potential to go 3GHz at least.
raymond5105
Apr 11 2007, 10:18 PM
QUOTE(k!nex @ Apr 11 2007, 01:11 AM) i'm an MSI mobo user,i found out tht its hard to overclock and performance only so so.when it POST it sometimes stuck at MSI logo screen for sometimes and i need CTRL+ALT+DEL.same wif one of my fren.both of us were using MSI NEO2 865 PE. i do agree tht ASUS mobo is good for overclocking during my experience wif my S370 Pentium3.even wif stock config,the mobo has already overclocked ur processor and RAM by a small margin.thts y ppl say ASUS board has good performance. but then during the time i bought my P4 rig,only MSI has 8X AGP support mobo in my area.i'm was staying in Ipoh back then.thts y i bought MSI. anyways, u guys think such device call "Auto Voltage Regulator" will help abt voltage fluctuations? Good questions,i'm also looking for this answer.AVR can regulate the voltage first before sending in to our PSU.Stable voltage can let the PSU deliver better supplies to our deivces,but don't know is there anyone here using the AVR or not.
raymond5105
Apr 12 2007, 10:16 PM
Thanks guys.I think that the direct current supply from TNB is always lower than its' rated one,guess later might get one of them to regulate the supply before goes into PSU there.
raymond5105
Apr 13 2007, 02:41 PM
QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Apr 12 2007, 10:56 PM) for what i think is that avr only stabilize the current from socket to psu. psu and mobo also play important part in this issue. crap psu or mobo may fluctuate especially then more voltage than stock is apply especially when oc. raymond5105, your house current having problem?? This one i am not sure,but i think that the current provide must have +/- one.Got no idea how to check it out.Danger to use multimeter to check.
raymond5105
Apr 14 2007, 11:08 AM
QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Apr 13 2007, 11:42 PM) no la, i mean obvious current not table. My area some time can notice quite obvious, especially you can feel suddenly the light turn dull a bit then back to normal, sometime even worse that it dull for few seconds.  Lucky i have avr that my pc doesnt down follow the current. What to do, my area is categorized as 'senior citizen'. if want really safe, get good avr, plug to good ups, then to true power branded psu with highend solid cap mobo. Everything will be fine then.  Wao cool,your light in the area will be dull for a few seconds ?  Really dangerous,the worst case i met before was just 1s maximum. @serewen,PC mark is more stressful on the CPU in most test.But if the memory timing tuned is not suitable then will also causing restart too.
raymond5105
Apr 18 2007, 08:55 PM
QUOTE(k!nex @ Apr 17 2007, 07:52 PM) ok.now i wanna confirm wif u guys wat RAM i hv.i've 2 pieces of RAM here the oldest on is written on chip: hynix 319A HY5DU56822BT-J the newer one is written on chip: Kingston D3208DH1T-6 0339PT05 so how much can i do actually?can reach 250Mhz on RAM?currently 225Mhz running stable.  Your BT-J can goes very high frequency on 1:1 divider.Saw some people can do 250MHz easily. This post has been edited by raymond5105: Apr 18 2007, 08:56 PM
raymond5105
Apr 19 2007, 04:36 PM
QUOTE(shinjite @ Apr 18 2007, 10:10 PM) BT-J and D43 is the same, just that BT-J for DDR333 and D43 for DDR400 and performance DDR500 rams Added on April 19, 2007, 1:25 amTesting my proc at 3.52Ghz and priming, and boy this proc really needs a lot of voltage to stabilise..... I see a lot of people manage to get 250MHz @2.8v. I myself haven't tried before,must try this if have chance.How many volts on the RAM are you applying on 3.52GHz proc ?
raymond5105
Apr 20 2007, 09:13 AM
QUOTE(k!nex @ Apr 19 2007, 09:17 PM) raymond,can u tell me how u manage to clock ur northwood so high?u using 5:4 divider or 1:1?wats ur RAM freq currently at wat Vdimm?and proc Vcore how much u can go? i'm quite puzzled here.currently i pushed my 2.4C to 2.81 already at 233Mhz FSB at 1:1 divider.Vcore 1.55,Vdimm 2.6.currently very stable.i tried pushing my FSB to 240 but the heat goes up 5 degrees at least when idle.anyway it wasn't stable.den tonight i tried 1.565 Vcore ,FSB at 250, Vdimm at 2.8.running 1:1.it can POST but stucked at Windows XP welcome screen. i think my PSU is the culprit here.normally i've Vcore fluctuations between 1.488 -1.536 at idle. kabukiawie,do u play C&C3 tiberium wars?if u do play,den can it run at 'High' settings wif ur 7300GT smoothly?i'm quite interested in getting a 7300GT also.but do it require the usage of a 12V power from the PSU for AGP version? Actaully i am running on 1:1 divider with my proc. My RAM currently is running on 229MHz as the RAM is limiting me to go higher. 5:4 never tried before and still dunno how much more it can goes.My RAM is using 2.8v with lost timing and Vcore is using default voltage but as it's fluctuating i increase the vcore to 1.575 rather than 1.55v to make it stable at 1.54-1.55v. @shinjite,TCCD can go high on AMD platform while will perform so so perofrmance in Intel platform.I think that TCCD is not really famous in Intel side as their chipset doesn't like TCCD very much. This post has been edited by raymond5105: Apr 20 2007, 09:16 AM
raymond5105
Apr 21 2007, 12:21 PM
QUOTE(k!nex @ Apr 20 2007, 06:34 PM) i saw ur second rig wif a hynix BT-J,y dun u try put it in ur main rig and push it higher.mine can easily hit 233Mhz at 2.6Vdimm.i tot D-43 is supposed to be same as BT-J ?ur RAM shud be able to push higher.Mine is still under burn-in test for a few days more.make ur timing 3-4-4-8 den try go higher, i quite interested to see wat u can do since u've a 3rd party cooling for ur proc. Added on April 20, 2007, 6:38 pmNorthwood stock Vcore supposed to be at 1.525 isn't it? u pushed to 1.775..!!i was like OMG  i read somewhre inside dis forum tht northwood max shud be at 1.6V at most only. if not,the proc cant last long. My BT-J is running on the Asus mobo.But the problem is i cannot set 1:1 divider there.So i can do anything but run in 5:4 divider which is able to run on 3.315GHz stable.My BT-D43 is not the same with the BT-J,if just to compare the BT-J i believe can do even better than my Bt-D43.  My BT-D43 is limitting me. I didn't try to burn in the RAM,so don't know what's the limit on it. Have you all guys run the CINEBENCH before ? added in comment This post has been edited by raymond5105: Apr 21 2007, 01:04 PM