11 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

INTEL P4/PM 478/479 THREAD, >>V3<<, The Journey Continues Here!

pengster
post Apr 10 2007, 06:26 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Apr 10 2007, 09:30 AM)
i using air zeon 450 watt psu. i know it is not branded but it is quiet and better than my aopen 300watt psu before. Normally it fluctuate 0.05+- for vcore. as for 12v it wont stay below 11.5v. I hate that my mobo always report higher than what i set for it in bios. like i set 1.45v it shows 1.52v in cpuz. doh.gif it will drop to 1.45+- when i stress it but fluctuate as expected.
hmm..not bad what still can OC to 3.2Ghz+ laugh.gif

same lah mine also fluctuates like 0.05v+- and set in bios 1.55v and shows 1.6v+- in cpuz.
pengster
post Apr 10 2007, 09:01 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

yeah even i have a pure power PSU and it still fluctuates like crap doh.gif

i'd rather use back my old MSI 865PE mobo.much better. laugh.gif
pengster
post Apr 10 2007, 09:40 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

lol sorry if what i said seemed like i was blaming it on the PSU. laugh.gif fluctuating is bad,isint it? sad.gif

seems that all? Asus s478 mobos have this problem hmm.gif
pengster
post Apr 11 2007, 07:57 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Apr 11 2007, 12:02 AM)
Pengster, your MSI mobo is more stable than current p4p800x? i wonder that all 865 mobo having this issue. sometime i have to stress the cpu the get the exact vcore reading. idle vcore reading is crazy high. i set at 1.5v it sometime can up to 1.6v in cpuz. rclxub.gif

Last time i blame on cpuz reading is inaccurate but mbm5 return me almost the same result. but anyway, system is stable. Just i dont really feel nice as i know that fluctuate voltage is harmful to all components in pc. hmm.gif
same here lah.idle the vcore goes up and down like mad laugh.gif

if i remembered correctly i think my msi mobo was more stable then my this asus. unsure.gif

QUOTE(k!nex @ Apr 11 2007, 01:11 AM)
i'm an MSI mobo user,i found out tht its hard to overclock and performance only so so.when it POST it sometimes stuck at MSI logo screen for sometimes and i need CTRL+ALT+DEL.same wif one of my fren.both of us were using MSI NEO2 865 PE.

i do agree tht ASUS mobo is good for overclocking during my experience wif my S370 Pentium3.even wif stock config,the mobo has already overclocked ur processor and RAM  by a small margin.thts y ppl say ASUS board has good performance. but then during the time i bought my P4 rig,only MSI has 8X AGP support mobo in my area.i'm was staying in Ipoh back then.thts y i bought MSI.

anyways, u guys think such device call "Auto Voltage Regulator" will help abt voltage fluctuations?
hmm..last time when i was using the Neo2V i could easily oc from 2.4Ghz to 2.8Ghz without any changes in vcore/vdimm/timings etc. laugh.gif

now this P4P is quite good also lah just that have to find the sweet spot. smile.gif
pengster
post Apr 12 2007, 07:51 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Apr 11 2007, 10:18 PM)
Good questions,i'm also looking for this answer.AVR can regulate the voltage first before sending in to our PSU.Stable voltage can let the PSU deliver better supplies to our deivces,but don't know is there anyone here using the AVR or not.
im currently using an AVR too..a really old one.i think its 2 or 3 years old already laugh.gif

and im not even sure if it works to stablize the voltage.vcore still jumps alot due to the mobo.
pengster
post Apr 16 2007, 06:40 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

@kabukiawie

i see that you've changed from ur Ti3 to 7300GT tongue.gif how's the performance?
pengster
post Apr 19 2007, 09:41 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Apr 17 2007, 12:13 AM)
dont know yet, now downloading 3dmark03, 05. hmm... hope my cpu wont bottleneck it. laugh.gif
@k!nex
ops, i thought yours is 3ghz. tongue.gif if your 2.4C can get to 3ghz, then mine really far behind. haha....high fsb and HT helps alot. 

1:1 will be the best performance as ram and fsb are synchronized. even at lower clock it can outperform or on par with 5:4 setting on higher speed(ofcoz not too far the different like <200mhz). Really not bad for a pc2700 ram perform at 221. what is the chip anyway?

add vdimm may help to increase the stability. hows the cpu temp at that speed?
i doubt your proc will bottleneck lah.already oc-ed to 3.2Ghz laugh.gif anyway nice scores there smile.gif

QUOTE(serewen @ Apr 17 2007, 06:18 PM)
Hey, any of you are still using the stock HSF? Or a 3rd party ones?
im using Ultra90 biggrin.gif
pengster
post Apr 23 2007, 08:13 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(V-Zero @ Apr 23 2007, 03:12 PM)
Thanks for the warm welcome. Actually it can go beyond 2.8.

I've tried once, with looser memory timing and some voltage bumping, it can reach 3.4~3.5 no problem.

But since I'm using all stock cooling solution, 2.8 is good enough.
wow a P4 2Ghz can reach up to 3.5Ghz blink.gif that's amazing laugh.gif on stock cooling some more.thats a gem dude biggrin.gif
pengster
post Apr 26 2007, 05:16 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

actually what does modded bioses do?optimum settings etc to increase performance? unsure.gif laugh.gif

hmm.now intel price cut already.E6600 around rm650+ nia laugh.gif very tempting lah.feel like upgrading.advice guyz? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by pengster: Apr 26 2007, 05:17 PM
pengster
post Apr 27 2007, 09:31 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(colinwong89 @ Apr 26 2007, 05:37 PM)
Well, a modified BIOS could increase overclockability on a motherboard by editing romsip tables, unlocking hidden options, etc. That was for the NForce2 series boards though. smile.gif

I wouldn't mind an E6600 if it was free biggrin.gif
QUOTE(shinjite @ Apr 26 2007, 07:36 PM)
The main thing of a modded BIOS is to unlock hidden options. Stability terms is depends on your overclock settings and skills smile.gif

kabukawie : Most of the programs will fully utilise the 1mb cache of the prescott.yup its true that high FSB is better, but not much of a difference in Sandra benchmarks and SuperPI, those more towards raw clockspeeds. PCMark likes FSB as well as 3dmark smile.gif
ooh okay...understand now.too bad no modded bios for P4P800x laugh.gif wont mind trying.haha

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Apr 27 2007, 08:58 AM)
nice words from colinwong89. i will welcome free E6600 as well. laugh.gif
if you have the cash then there is no harm upgrade to c2d. thumbup.gif but it seems the price will drop pretty soon when the new chip is out.
agreed. sandra likes raw clockspeed. 3dmark/pcmark loves high fsb and tight memory timings. But what i read from some old reviews that northwood and prescott with same 800fsb perform neck to neck at the same clock speed. Just the heat from prescott is 'superb'. Ofcoz, if proper cooling, mobo and ram is provided, prescott can  go beyond 4ghz where northwood hardly reach 4ghz due to its chip's limit.
the price drop makes it very tempting to upgrade.lol.but now i dont do much gaming so still got the patience to wait a couple more months laugh.gif
pengster
post Apr 28 2007, 12:03 AM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(skylinegtr34rule4life @ Apr 27 2007, 11:36 PM)
yeah same here laugh.gif i m even willing 2 sell off my 4 mths old k800i just 2 pump more cash 4 major upgrades but at the same time i still not willing 2 depart the k800i wo rclxub.gif so should i sell it off or not ah i wondering 4 days dy sad.gif
but your rig is pretty powerful leh.7600GS,2GB rams,Xtreme music,7.1 system etc laugh.gif

wont mind having that setup too tongue.gif
pengster
post Apr 28 2007, 12:18 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

After playing around with the settings in my bios,managed to improve my SuperPI 1M score.now its 56s compared to last time 58s smile.gif still at 2.7Ghz though.

pengster
post May 4 2007, 08:19 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ May 4 2007, 09:17 AM)
wa....it seems that more 478 user shifting.

damn, my mobo doesnt support 7300gt. sad.gif waste my $ only. when plugin, the system become not stable even oven stock. At 1st i suspect psu not enough juice, borrow a 500w true power psu still same. reinstall windows 3 times still same problem, tried 3 different forceware, change new ide cable, switch ide channel and tried boot from sata/ide, reinstall cpu, take out all pci card, flash bios etc. even i rma the 7300gt 1 to 1 still having the same prob. Haiz....wasted 2 weeks to troubleshoot.

when put my g3 in everything stable even with oced cpu. I really have phobia with new gc already.
cant support the 7300GT?thats weird.perhaps its the mobo's fault? unsure.gif

should be able to use what.even my 6800GS can work with the P4P800x.
pengster
post May 4 2007, 09:55 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ May 4 2007, 09:14 PM)
yalo, maybe mobo is dying liao... cry.gif  cry.gif maybe last time the 9800pro spoiled have more or less leaving some bad effect to it. hmm.gif weird things is that the g3 i use is fine. not a sweat al all.  unsure.gif 
what to do...use till its last drop finish lo.... sad.gif i didnt see there is any cap that leak or gain fat. Maybe some tiny damage already on the mobo. As lng as it dont give me any prob, running on stock also will serve me well already.
mine more syok oso useless, my fsb not even pass 200. Unless i have a 800fsb cpu like C or E. i wont feel any huge performance different with few second 1m superPI in real performance. Dont really care already. just hope that it can last till next year at least.  wink.gif
yeah that could be a factor too.so now your running on stock + 7300GT?still not stable ah. unsure.gif

hmm.something's wrong with my pc now.at idle 100% cpu usage.this happened after i played and changed some settings in my bios. sweat.gif
pengster
post May 24 2007, 09:41 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

Whoa.looks like i've been gone for too long already laugh.gif

QUOTE(BurgerRI @ May 9 2007, 04:27 PM)
Those who are OC'ing your P4's whats your load temps?
mine's 43c load at 2.7Ghz from stock 2.4Ghz and 1.575v from stock 1.525v smile.gif

now that my exams are over,its time to play with my pc again biggrin.gif
pengster
post May 28 2007, 03:02 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

after changing the fan on my ultra90 to a Delta FFB,the temps i got are 33c idle and 39c full load with prime95 running. laugh.gif still clocked at 2.7Ghz though.

only thing is its damn noisy.
pengster
post May 29 2007, 06:19 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ May 29 2007, 05:47 PM)
I think before migrate to C2D ,we can still survive for another 3 years.
by that time Vista most probably has matured enough for all of us to use it laugh.gif 3 years down the road DX10 too will have gone mainstream.

and that means we have to get more capable comps sad.gif
pengster
post May 30 2007, 03:39 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

actually i don't mind sticking to my P4..just that sometimes during intense gaming the low fps really gets to my nerve.that's when i wish for a C2D + 8800GTS laugh.gif laugh.gif
pengster
post May 30 2007, 06:52 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(colinwong89 @ May 30 2007, 05:29 PM)
@pengster
What graphic card are you currently using with your P4?

@kabukiawie
Sleep in the dustbin? I smell a new motherboard coming up laugh.gif

Underclocking might save a lot of power and might make your processor last longer, but I always prefer to run my PC at max speed. biggrin.gif
running on a 6800GS AGP.but a slightly crippled version,that's the 128MB 128Bit one.

and unfortunately i like eye candy sad.gif
pengster
post Jun 3 2007, 09:08 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

yeah.even my 6800GS bottlenecks with my P4 @ 2.7Ghz. laugh.gif

whoa nezla selling off his proc already. blink.gif

11 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0501sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled