11 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 >Bottom

INTEL P4/PM 478/479 THREAD, >>V3<<, The Journey Continues Here!

pengster
post Jul 10 2007, 07:27 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Jul 9 2007, 11:09 PM)
Wow.. Nice monsta cooler! rclxms.gif Haha! Bigger then my Hyper6+! Maybe tidy up ya casing and wire can help reduce few degree of ya temp! biggrin.gif Mine full load hit around 46-50'c with 15% OC.

Btw guys, i got some question wana ask. Its about GC. Im currently planning to put a final boost on my rigs. Plan to change my GC to either Galaxy 7900GS Zalman Edition or XFX7800GS Extreme. drool.gif  but i wander will my procs bottlenecking the card? P4 3.0E now @ 3.45Ghz.. blink.gif
imho its not really worth it to get a 7800/7900 agp series.too expensive.can even reach rm1k sweat.gif

a 7600GT AGP would be sufficient and its only around rm500+ laugh.gif

@raymond5105
lol thats what i do too.lazy to run prime so i just test with games. laugh.gif
pengster
post Jul 12 2007, 09:53 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Jul 10 2007, 07:44 PM)
Just home from work! LOL! Oh yea.. Do consider before lower range gc. But cos it will gona be mine last boost for current rig ma, so plan to get something good. drool.gif But not sure current system can support or nt. hmm.gif

Yup.. 3.45Ghz is perfectly normal. Run on this speed for pass 3 months and nothing happen. Prime with Orthos with Gromacs core @ priority 9 for 12hrs plus still alive. But just thing get mess up when i push another 5mhz.

Ic.. Thanks for telling kabukiawie. Will try to adjust abit later on. Hehe.. 3.0E dead at 3.45Ghz..? hmm.gif I think this procs should be can go further then 3.4ghz.
Oh yea ray, i was running on default vdimm. 2.8v at this moment. didnt touch the vcore and vdimm yet. So, how much do i need to adjust? 0.5v? Heh.. First time touch vdimm and vcore, so better ask before do. cool.gif

Added on July 10, 2007, 7:47 pm@pengster

lol.. Im temporary working at pc shop, i spotted the Galaxy 7900GS Standard version dealer price only 5xx. Thats y i plan to grab it lo.. for 76 series.. 4xx can get already lo! brows.gif
whoa.7900GS at RM500+?thats freaking cheap wei. thumbup.gif grab it if you have the chance man.and you need a better PSU.Icute aint known for their stability. laugh.gif

QUOTE(shinjite @ Jul 11 2007, 12:13 PM)
I pushed mine to 1.9V just to boot at 3.6Ghz on air on my old 2.4B, who dares to join me? XD
on air cooling?thats mad weih.can boot into windows and do tests? laugh.gif

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Jul 11 2007, 03:05 PM)
i want to join, too bad the mobo didnt have the option to set till 1.9v XD
yalah.our mobo stuck at 1.6v max sad.gif
pengster
post Jul 13 2007, 08:48 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Jul 12 2007, 11:37 PM)
since its that cheap, why dont you get 1?? laugh.gif hohohoho......

yaya...our budget mobo is like that. now i not really into hardcore oc. just can  run faster then i satisfied liao. tongue.gif

@sang_karim
ever try run at 5:4?? maybe can score higher like 230+fsb. i think its better than now 211fsb. worth a try. smile.gif
lol here in kl where can find a 7900GS AGP for around rm500? laugh.gif and no point lah.i'd rather save that cash and use it later when i move on the C2D.lol.now im still running on stock.lazy to oc tongue.gif

QUOTE(shinjite @ Jul 12 2007, 11:51 PM)
can boot into Windows to run CPUZ & capture a print screen
Benchmarks all can't run, due to the fact that the IS7-E's voltage flunctuates like mad on load, but to boot into Windows on air with 3.6Ghz last time was like mission accomplished for me smile.gif
thats good already wei.from 2.4Ghz to 3.6Ghz on air cooling thumbup.gif maybe with WC can hit 4Ghz laugh.gif

QUOTE(sang_karim @ Jul 13 2007, 05:04 PM)
if 400W is enough....i'm thinking of silverstone 400W .. what do u guys think?  unsure.gif
yeah the Silverstone Strider 400w should be sufficient for your rig.as long as it has stable rails then it'll be fine.
pengster
post Jul 13 2007, 10:29 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(rainingzero @ Jul 13 2007, 09:13 PM)
bought it for rm70 at garage sales section....don't have money to buy a new one la...
thats quite a bargain for a great cpu cooler weih. laugh.gif
pengster
post Jul 14 2007, 02:15 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

damnit.after using the latest BETA bios from Asus for a week with no problems at stock,i tried to oc it back to 2.7Ghz and the exact same problem happened again - "Bad bios checksum" and i cant boot up till i removed one of my ram. doh.gif

do you guys think other mobo bios like the P4P800,P4P800Deluxe or P4P800E-Deluxe will work with this P4P800x? laugh.gif laugh.gif
pengster
post Jul 15 2007, 12:59 AM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Jul 14 2007, 04:53 PM)
i afraid it cant....coz other p4p800 support raid etc. p4p800x is the most basic 1. Just my point of view. i still using 1009 official. so far so good. maybe you can try that
haha if i can then it would be sweet..i was using 1009 before this but it gave me problems.can't run DC with 2 stick of KVRs.now with the beta bios 1010.003 its able to run with 2 sticks KVR400. unsure.gif

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Jul 14 2007, 08:35 PM)
Definately not,it's totally different bios for different mobo.I afraid later u flash the wrong one and make your mobo kong.
I'n also using this version bios.THat's the latest version bios it has for this mobo.So far my proc can o/c stable on it.
lol wonder if i should do that rolleyes.gif not bad,yours can oc till 3.3Ghz+.mine stuck at 2.7Ghz with 1009 bios.

This post has been edited by pengster: Jul 15 2007, 01:00 AM
pengster
post Jul 15 2007, 04:43 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

all my rams are Kingston KVRs leh..and before using the P4P800x,it worked well without problems with the MSI Neo2-V 865PE.

now everything is alright at stock.will try to oc again and see what happens again laugh.gif
pengster
post Jul 16 2007, 10:00 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(k!nex @ Jul 16 2007, 12:43 AM)
seriously though, the MSI Neo2 series dun hv problems wif RAM compatibility.infact its quite good for normal use.but OC wise,its not as good as Asus.my Neo2-S hardly hit 250FSB stable for everyday usage.

Anyone tried Transformers:The Game wif P4 478?mine during stages is ok.but the cutscenes are laggy though.i'm sure not GC problem.proc slow. loading also slow.

Added on July 16, 2007, 12:51 am

if u upgrade to 7800GS also, u'll only get better 3rdMark.overall gaming also wont hv a so significant performance gain.ur proc is bottlenecking the 7800GS.if wan upgrade,the best for p4 is only 256MB 7600GT DDR3 if wan minimise proc bottleneck(unless u hv p4 gallatin)
yeah no wonder lah.but last time with my MSI mobo i reached 2.88Ghz whereas my this Asus mobo reached 2.7Ghz only.wont boot up at 2.8Ghz.looks like i havent found the sweet spot yet. sweat.gif
pengster
post Jul 17 2007, 10:39 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Jul 16 2007, 11:09 PM)
@Pengster
really weird your case. P4 B, right?? hahaha.....want to buy my 2.4A?? :lol:simply can clock to 3GHz prime stable at all stock. tongue.gif kidding
@fylon
easy only, since you work at computer shop, just plug in a [4 testing unit and play games la.... laugh.gif then you will know hows the different. hehehe
yalah.needs alot of tweaking. laugh.gif and no point getting another 2.4Ghz proc.if want also aim for 3.0E or smth biggrin.gif

now my rams are currently running at 1:1 divider,timings 3-3-3-8 [stock] slowly will push it higher. biggrin.gif
pengster
post Jul 19 2007, 07:38 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Jul 19 2007, 05:01 PM)
Ah.. Hm.. For that i really dont know about. TCCC chip only require low voltage ar? Hahah.. Dint know that.. Hm.. The procs, rams and mobo was all 2nd hand item. Which i bought from one of the forumer here. Count me lucky lo. :lo:

Btw, guys, Antec UPS good? I saw there were few lying on my shop which cost 4xx for 480watts. So costing.. Collect dust lo.. No ppl wanna buy. Haha.

Edit: Typo
for rm400+ then its not really worth it lor.for rm350 can get a Silverstone Strider 560w already.which i think is better lah laugh.gif
pengster
post Jul 20 2007, 08:19 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Jul 19 2007, 10:14 PM)
@sang
Haha.. Not really! My stupid iCute wont allow i go more then 3.5Ghz with tight timing. So i just decrease the speed down to 3.5Ghz with 1:1 ratio. My next target? Hehe.. 79GS FTW! laugh.gif The card will arrive by end of this month, but guess gota wait until next month then can own it. Currently on tight budget. cry.gif

@k!nex
Yup.. My SuperPI for 1M is 40s and 512mb is 18s. Abit slow i guess. Due my ram cannot run on 1:1 ratio on 3.7Ghz. Then i lower it down to 3.5Ghz.
Try with 3-4-4-8 timing and hit 3.7xGhz. But ram ratio is 2:3 sweat.gif Btw, anyone try PCmark05 before? Mine rigs only score 3.5k+ only. sweat.gif
whats your SuperPI 1M score when using 2:3 divider? unsure.gif

QUOTE(shinjite @ Jul 20 2007, 01:38 AM)
DDR1 normal is 2.6V
eh.i thought its 2.5V? unsure.gif laugh.gif
pengster
post Jul 21 2007, 01:11 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Jul 21 2007, 11:23 AM)
My RAM has the RAM heatspreader and it's in blur colour.The exterior looks exactly like Hyper-X but just that don't have any labels on it. sweat.gif I found out the RAM spreader is hot too when fully loading. sweat.gif I suspect this phenomena has limiting me from going higher speed with stable. sad.gif
So sudden you proc died...Not too bad using 3.0E on LGA 775.Your Intel mobo is going to be on sale ?
from what i've read and heard,those ram heatspreaders don't really work.unless you pair it up with a fan laugh.gif

now both my rams have copper heatspreaders on them and its hot already even though im not doing anything intensive.
pengster
post Jul 21 2007, 03:38 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Jul 21 2007, 02:11 PM)
IF like that maybe later i will try to remove the RAM spreader to see how's the performance.Never tried before since i got the RAM from forummer.As my previous experience,my DDR333 RAM wasn't hot even it was on full loaded.
QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Jul 21 2007, 02:21 PM)
like pengster said, use a mini fan to blow n it will be a better idea. i think mostly the ram is not hot, but the heatspreader "collect" the heat from your hfs has heat up your ram. Maybe try run without the spreader or add fan. I dont know how true it is. Dont frame me, it just my 2 cents.
yeap what kabukiawie says is true smile.gif and raymond,i dont think its a good idea to remove the heatspreader as it will rip off the labels on your ram thus voiding ur warranty sweat.gif best thing is to buy a ram cooler from AllnGap or smth laugh.gif

and now my rams are running at DDR270 @ 2.65v and its hot to the touch. laugh.gif
pengster
post Jul 22 2007, 08:32 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Jul 21 2007, 06:15 PM)
Wah.. So fast sold off already? Why dint tell us here? Hahah.. tongue.gif Yea.. LG775 P4 all is 64bits module. LOL!

@pengster

Im so envy u could reach 270Mhz for ya ram! bruce.gif
QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Jul 21 2007, 11:54 PM)
Pengster finally hit 270fsb?? thumbup.gif 270 * 15 = 4050GHz!!!!! drool.gif

Mine running 235fsb 188 ram 5:4 and running at 2-3-3-7 tongue.gif try run for few days to see how it works.
QUOTE(colinwong89 @ Jul 22 2007, 12:34 AM)
Wow, 270FSB, real sweet. My D43s could only run at 260FSB with 3.3v pumped in. tongue.gif

About heatspreaders, I don't know if it actually works or anything, but I used to put individual heatsinks on each of the RAM chips and put a RAM cooler over it. It did cool down things though biggrin.gif
yo guys its not FSB270 weih.its just DDR270 which means FSB135 laugh.gif if really can hit FSB270 i'll be jumping already.hahaha 4Ghz club laugh.gif

now with the latest beta bios for my P4P800x and 2x KVR400s i can only push the fsb up slowly.2mhz at a time.if i try 140mhz or 150mhz straight come out bad bios checksum doh.gif

btw kabukiawie,how do you boot up to safe mode with ur P4P800x?
pengster
post Jul 24 2007, 06:59 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Jul 22 2007, 09:07 PM)
safe mode???? windows safe mode?? unsure.gif

or you said boot to default setting in bios after fail?
yeah boot into safe mode.cause i tried the usual F8 and it asked me which device to boot up from. sweat.gif want to change my usb poll rate laugh.gif

QUOTE(fylon @ Jul 22 2007, 09:43 PM)
LOL.. Wellcome to old sch thread! laugh.gif As u had read from guru's around here, i guess ya roughly whats OC is what's the thing u really need. Just for me, i will suggest u get a good and stable power supply before u start any OC job. biggrin.gif
Lol.. I thought is was 270Mhz! Thats incredible! I wish i could get to 4Ghz as well. But unfortunately my cap palang UPS and ram stopping for hit that target! sweat.gif
then why don't you get a good PSU?and try to hit 4Ghz laugh.gif
pengster
post Jul 25 2007, 10:33 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Jul 25 2007, 08:41 AM)
ez la......just dont press the f8 that early, press f8 after the boot screen and before the windows loading bar come out. wink.gif
oh.okay got it already. laugh.gif silly me.just changed my USB poll rate to 500Hz which means it has a 2ms lag instead of the default 8ms. tongue.gif
pengster
post Jul 27 2007, 08:34 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

yeah like what shinjite said.less delay/lag between presses on the mouse etc laugh.gif usually for mouse and keyboard.

im not sure about the external hdd though.but changing the poll rate makes the cpu usage slightly higher.
pengster
post Jul 28 2007, 12:47 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Jul 28 2007, 10:25 AM)
since you are using razer mouse, should be good for you la...haha....

googling for the information on usb pool rate....searching......brows.gif

btw, do you guys think that northbridge cooling is important?? any tips for cheapskate cooling?? my northbridge is hotter than my cpu right now. i think of modify a small fan to blow to it. too bad the xp120 is just above the bridge sink. ...hmm.gif......
yeah my NB gets quite hot too even with slight oc-ing.maybe you can try to use a better thermal compound on the NB heatsink?

and doesn't the XP120 blows downwards?that should provide some airflow to the mobo already.maybe change to a better fan? laugh.gif
pengster
post Jul 28 2007, 11:52 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Jul 28 2007, 03:17 PM)
i have put ac5 on it before. and yes, my hfs blow downwards. Problem is most probably the heat from xp120 has absorb by the sink. sad.gif i think put a better fan wont have much effect. i try mod a small fan and blow it see how it works. tongue.gif
whoa.with AS5 still and fan blowing downwards still hot? sweat.gif and i thought the XP120 was supposed to help in the NB cooling as advertised laugh.gif
pengster
post Aug 1 2007, 11:34 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Jul 29 2007, 12:19 AM)
its actually not too hot la. just like cpu 26c, nb 32c. the max only up to 42c. its almost the same as cpu load temp. rclxub.gif

just thinking of if put 1 more fan on it will help to cool it down or not.....it seems the gap between the nb sink and xp120 is very2 close. i hardly put my finger in the gap. sad.gif
you call that hot? laugh.gif cpu 26c is like.aircon edi weih. laugh.gif now my nb temp is around 35-36c on idle.thats after i used the Ultra90 and changed the TIM on the NB. sweat.gif last time when i was using a blow-down heatsink my nb temp is like 33c. sad.gif

11 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 >Top

0.0250sec    0.99    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:36 PM