INTEL P4/PM 478/479 THREAD, >>V3<<, The Journey Continues Here!

pengster
post Aug 2 2007, 10:19 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Aug 2 2007, 12:27 AM)
haha...not really in acon room la....laugh.gif

now running at 3.36GHz idle 26C, nb temp 33C. not bad la...my pressy and nb temp last time the coolest is still around 35C+- idle. Just thinking of cool the nb down. now cpu dont have the temp problem i think. biggrin.gif
@plankton
if you want to build a new 478 rig as a htpc then its a waste. if everything is ready left suitable mobo then its fine. i would suggest that get a matx mobo, then get a tv card or cheap gcard with svideo. icon_idea.gif
thats when i was using my old CM Aero4 heatsink laugh.gif now went up to 35c already. sad.gif

QUOTE(k!nex @ Aug 2 2007, 04:02 PM)
for ur mobo, the best u can do is only 2.75V for ur Vdimm and 1.575V for Vcore?its an Asus...how come so limited?shud be able to clock 240+FSB easily.its ur proc hang or it auto reboot when u do orthos in an hour??auto reboot means Vcore not enuf or Vcore fluctuates too much.if hang,for my pc is coz my RAM overheat.its quite hard to get a good fan RAM cooler even in kl.too expensive.FYI, my Vdimm is 2.85V most of the time.mobo can go till 3.3Vdimm.
me and kabukiawie's P4P800x's has a maximum of 2.68v on the vdimm laugh.gif laugh.gif
pengster
post Aug 3 2007, 09:24 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Aug 2 2007, 10:49 PM)
yalo....cry.gif cry.gif max only till the minimum of theirs. at least till 2.8v la cry.gif.....over 3v then we called it extreme.  laugh.gif

but so far i quite satisfied with my puny p4p800x.smile.gif serve me well for few years. this october will be the 3rd birthday for my 478, rclxm9.gif
damn sad lah 2.68v.wonder whats the max Vdimm for my old MSI mobo laugh.gif

so far have been using my s478 for 4 years already.quite satisfied with it if not for the poor oc-ing im getting.will try to cool down the rams and see if there's any improvement. biggrin.gif
pengster
post Aug 11 2007, 12:01 AM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Aug 3 2007, 11:48 PM)
kidding nia la.....haha...i thought you are setting up for your htpc. now using it as dual screen. cool.....
hahahahaha,,,,,,,me pokai liao, so just stay with my 19". next target wait till got cash then think...laugh.gif
@pengster

your ram very hot??i think is the ram compatible that hold you back in oc. Just my RM0.02. icon_rolleyes.gif
yeah my ram gets hot even on idle.damn those copper heatspreaders.i really need AllnGap's ram coolers.haha thinking of getting them real soon.i suspect thats the problem. sweat.gif

QUOTE(edministrator @ Aug 4 2007, 08:27 AM)
bought it direct from dell RM1900 with 5 years extended warranty, setting up dual screen, 24" for movies+PS2 and TV channels while 19" as primary for PC daily usage.  brows.gif

Added on August 4, 2007, 8:40 am

having the 3.0HT with the P4P800 really makes huge difference compared when i am using my ex-rig, the 3.06 with intel i845 (non HT+DDR266). for example, when doing scanning with my old scanner (parallel port), CPU usage shoots to 100% and i can barely do other stuff with the ex-rig, while with current P4P800, everything went off fast and i can even multitask in between due to the load balancing done by HT (opened up task manager and saw 50% usage in each virtual core). even though it is not dual core, but the HT does speed things up, i still remember viewing a video with kabukiawie few years back, by THG on HT vs non HT rig, and shows the HT significantly faster in certain rendering applications and multitasking.

the DELL 24" is a good investment due to the first class quality panel and its vast input capabilities, can use it for many functions. the current offer stands at RM1849, while the 27" is RM3199 and 30" is RM4999, so i would say the 24" is a sweet spot for its price vs size+performance. it is a day and night comparison to TN panels in viewing angles department and color contrast.  laugh.gif

as requested, the cpu-z screenie:
[attachmentid=271970]
haha im still on old school 17" CRT laugh.gif now targeting Dell's entry level 22" WS.no cash for anything above that already sad.gif

QUOTE(k!nex @ Aug 4 2007, 11:15 PM)
if ur old mobo is a MSI Neo2 series wif 865 chipset,den ur max Vdimm i can confirm is 3.3V. problem is,MSI mobo OC capability not so good no matter how high u set voltage.mine hit the wall at FSB 245.
hmm..3.3v?i did'nt notice that when i was using my old Neo2-V.now im not sure if it's still working or not.and until now my P4P800x wont let me go past 2.7Ghz while last time on my Neo2-V i reached 2.8Ghz without any major tweaks.so now i want to retest my MSI mobo. laugh.gif

QUOTE(sang_karim @ Aug 5 2007, 11:44 AM)
just test and the 20GB WD consider faulty coz mobo  can't detect ...  doh.gif ... now i'm joining kabukiawie with side panel open ...  laugh.gif ... so lazy to put it back now ....  wink.gif
hey my side panel's off too laugh.gif cant close it cause the heatsink blocking the side fan.haha

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Aug 6 2007, 09:40 AM)
hehe, downloaded 3dmark05 last night and bench at stock gc speed. get 4k. haiz....the hanging still haunted my gc at stock speed. tried dna driver, 94.24, 168.xx still the same. only downclock is the only solution.  doh.gif
[attachmentid=273362]
@GCI99

Welcome to this club.  rclxm9.gif

its normal for a prescott temp. but i think the temp can be reduce <50C idle.

watch your airflow in your case. like cabling etc. poor airflow can easily boost up the temp. clean the hfs if too dirty, and try apply a better thermal paste.

if all these still cant bring down the temp, its better you get a better cooler.  wink.gif just my 2 cents
wah.my 6800GS @ 475/1300 only managed 4101 marks in 3Dmark05 leh. sad.gif currently on NGO optimized drivers 93.81.
QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Aug 9 2007, 12:59 PM)
this is the only place for 478 users gather. laugh.gif

i googled on p4p8x last few days and found out that they get performance boost after flash it to p4p800 bios. the performance almost on par with p4p800. looks interesting. :)anyone have try that before?? like flash p4p800 to p4p800-se etc.
thats what i asked a couple of weeks ago tongue.gif wanted to try flash the P4P800x bios to the vanilla P4P800 bios or others.lol

and now my rig is down again.i think my graphic card short circuited doh.gif
pengster
post Aug 11 2007, 12:21 AM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Aug 11 2007, 12:14 AM)
get 1 ram cooler fan lo... haha...pancy2 bling bling.
get from dell have 0% installment ma, so not that heavy la.
i afraid to flash as the physical layout of p4p800x and vanilla is different. Dont really dare to try. if using p4p8x then i dare la.
your rig down again?? rclxub.gif
yeah planning to get it as soon as my test is over laugh.gif aiyah now its not my cash but my dad's and he definitely wont spend more then rm1k on a LCD.lols.

yup rig down again.few days ago tried to test my MSI mobo see if its working and didnt work properly.after attaching back the P4P800x my rig just wont start.i mean the fans and everything is running but there's no display and dont have the usual beep from the mobo. blink.gif
pengster
post Aug 11 2007, 12:40 AM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Aug 11 2007, 12:35 AM)
take out all the thing and reinstall again. maybe some of the parts are not fit in properly, especially ram and gc. wink.gif
yeah thats what i just did earlier this day.change all the rams,replug in the HDDs and power connectors and GC but still the same.

i might not have been careful when i tested out the old MSI mobo.cause i ran in barebones style laugh.gif
pengster
post Aug 11 2007, 02:19 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Aug 11 2007, 01:21 AM)
got spare gc to swap?? maybe just clear cmos may help. wink.gif
tried clearing the cmos and still will not POST.i had my old 9550 but my friend borrowed it already laugh.gif
pengster
post Aug 19 2007, 05:42 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(GCI99 @ Aug 15 2007, 03:40 AM)
[attachmentid=278778]

mad.gif  so ayam this mobo.. need to find asus p4c800-e deluxe i think .. 3d score so lap sap... blush.gif
rclxms.gif bye the way.. when our old school club s478 want do gathering??? i think some otai here can make a plan..hehehe thumbup.gif
hmm.you should be getting better scores with your 6800GT.mine 6800GS scored 10101 in 3dmark03.but my card's the 128MB 128bit oc-ed version.clocked at 450/1200 stock. smile.gif

QUOTE(shinjite @ Aug 15 2007, 02:35 PM)
For those who wanna OC, there are still some 512MB DDR400 D43 chips located at The Curve, shop name SBC. Very rare indeed
whoa.how much is one stick?those are some rare gems. laugh.gif

hmm.just checked with CTIAW and it says PAT-mode : Fully enabled.and my memory read bandwidth is 3548mb/s @ DDR274.
pengster
post Aug 20 2007, 02:04 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Aug 20 2007, 01:31 PM)
quite hard to fully enable the PAT la unless we do the bios flashing to hack the PAT. still looking for the comfirmation on flashing p4p800 bios to my puny p4p800x tongue.gif
thats weird.using CTIAW to check it says my PAT is fully enabled.and all i did was just enable memory acceleration in the bios laugh.gif

question : with fully enabled PAT its tougher to oc right?or am i wrong? unsure.gif
pengster
post Aug 21 2007, 09:56 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Aug 20 2007, 02:44 PM)
i know why you got full enabled PAT. Its because you are running <200fsb. my prescott last time also full PAT enabled with just 170fsb+-. too bad i cant make it till 200fsb. now running with 2.8C and oc a bit already exceed 200fsb. Even enable it using tweak865 also only manage to get partial enable. sad.gif
oh i see.no wonder lah. laugh.gif do you think i should disable PAT so that i can oc higher?currently with my 2xKVR400s i cant even reach 140fsb doh.gif
pengster
post Aug 21 2007, 10:37 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

okay this is weird.with PAT fully enabled and my rams running at DDR280 the bandwidth im got is 3459.8 mb/s.

and after i disabled my PAT the bandwidth changed from 3459.8 mb/s to 3493.7 mb/s

laugh.gif i get better bandwidth with PAT disabled laugh.gif
pengster
post Aug 22 2007, 05:25 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

with my P4P800x.fully enabled PAT makes my bandwidth go lower a little laugh.gif

btw i've just changed my P4P800x to my old MSI 865PE Neo2-V biggrin.gif
pengster
post Aug 23 2007, 12:08 AM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Aug 22 2007, 09:31 PM)
oh? any changes?? can oc more??

@raymond
hmm....its really sweet as you are running 4 sticks of ram and still manage to rock that high. thumbup.gif
have not tested the oc yet.just fixed all the stuff in and waiting for the ceramique to break in. laugh.gif at least now i have the option to push the vdimm up to 3.3v and vagp to 2v biggrin.gif
pengster
post Aug 23 2007, 04:15 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Aug 23 2007, 08:53 AM)
very nice. smile.gif it should help alot in your oc. you using artic ceramique??
haha.....addicted to overclocking is GOOD. :lol:we all kena overclocking virus liao. everyday spreading. hoho......
yeah i hope so.yeap using AS Ceramique.gonna get the new MX-2 soon and reapply biggrin.gif

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Aug 23 2007, 08:57 AM)
Yes i think my 2.6C can go at least 3.4GHz if the vDimm can set higher. biggrin.gif  But i'm not planning to swap it now as i have bring my IC7 to penang now.
vDimm to 3.3v and vAGP to 2v ? blink.gif  Doesn't they are too high ?
lol thats just the max settings that i can use for my MSI mobo.i won't even dare to put my Vdimm or Vagp at that volts sweat.gif
pengster
post Aug 23 2007, 08:15 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(KahLooN @ Aug 23 2007, 05:05 PM)
Well, if im not mistaken the VAGP doesnt concern much on the AGP card itself. This VAGP will supply sufficient voltage to the Northbridge for more stable system. smile.gif
QUOTE(overclockalbert @ Aug 23 2007, 07:57 PM)
remember that NB was the one controlling the AGP bus.
so adding up vagp will aid in that.
hmm thats good to know.but now i don't dare to up the vAGP cause my NB's hot already.whats the safe limit for the vAGP?
pengster
post Aug 23 2007, 10:12 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Aug 23 2007, 09:11 PM)
Guys,i found some info about the vAGP at the link below,it's stated as above.But don't know why i can't view all the pictures here. sad.gif

http://www.vr-zone.com/print.php?i=53
hmm.interesting.i cant load the pics either.i wonder if upping the vAGP really helps to stabilize the system at high FSB speeds.
pengster
post Aug 25 2007, 02:22 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(KahLooN @ Aug 24 2007, 01:26 AM)
I guess overclockalbert has help me out from my doubt.
@pengster
Well i would say in long run it will benefits. I myself not really test the difference from a low VAGP and high VAGP, but since it is proven I guess it is better. smile.gif
QUOTE(fylon @ Aug 24 2007, 12:22 PM)
Back from a long run outstation work! tongue.gif Hm.. About upping the vAGP, i do try before with my system. I dont know whether is true or not but i do feel the stability of increasing it. i upped mine from 1.5v to 1.6 and i could prime my rigs in 3.65Ghz, 1:1 ratio with Orthos priority 10 for 5hrs without shutting down. Before increasing the vAGP my system failed on priority 10 priming after 30mins priming.

Thats what i feel by upping the vAGP! drool.gif
wow thats great to know.hmm.i'll try to up my vAGP to 1.6v and see what happens laugh.gif

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Aug 24 2007, 03:36 PM)
hmm....it seems that now everyone is busying playing with vagp. I am out from the party...cry.gif cry.gif

@raymond
what vcore you use for your p4p800x?? i mean you set in bios. i currently set to 1.575v. dont know safe or not. hmm....temp is not a problem.
i would have been left out of it too if it wasn't for my MSI mobo that i thought was not working already. laugh.gif

QUOTE(colinwong89 @ Aug 24 2007, 05:23 PM)
For my board, increasing Vagp does help stabilise FSB. But most overclockers say that ATI graphic cards are very sensitive to voltage, because it puts more stress on the MOSFETs on the card.

To add salt to the wound, I replaced one of the MOSFETs on my 9700 PRO with a lower quality version because one accidentally got ripped out when I pulled the heatplate off laugh.gif

I just changed to a new LianLi aluminium case yesterday, temperatures definitely have dropped since my old casing. To add, I'm lovin' the brushed aluminium biggrin.gif

But since my new casing has no sideport to blow cool air directly to the processor, my processor fan rose from 2700 RPM to a warp-speed 4500 RPM! It spins so fast till the whole casing starts to rattle and vibrate. And to add, the fan now sounds almost like a tornado inside... sad.gif
which Ah Lian did you buy? brows.gif

btw,something just arrived in my mailbox today tongue.gif

pengster
post Aug 25 2007, 05:34 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

guys,look at my 12V doh.gif do you think its dangerous?

@kabukiawie
lol here it is

pengster
post Aug 26 2007, 07:09 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Aug 25 2007, 06:46 PM)
@pengster
ohmy.gif it is cool!!! any improvement?? can oc more??
thanks.haven't tried to push my proc yet with the mobo.will do it tonight smile.gif gonna try first with 5:4 divider.

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Aug 25 2007, 10:00 PM)
Your RAM cooler looks very nice,how much you bought the thing?Where you bought it from?

AllnGap's custom made LED ram cooler biggrin.gif there's also a 60MM version.

QUOTE(colinwong89 @ Aug 25 2007, 11:09 PM)
Actually my bro gave it to me since he had moved to laptops and the case was just sitting in the store room. It's a Lian Li PC-6085A. laugh.gif
Looks like it's from AllnGap's bulk. smile.gif

What fan is it equipped with? laugh.gif
it uses 2x 40MMx30MM Sunon fans thumbup.gif suprisingly its not noisy at all.could be drowned out by my other fans tho laugh.gif

guys,is 12.74v at the 12v rails something to worry about? unsure.gif

here's another teaser tongue.gif

This post has been edited by pengster: Aug 26 2007, 07:11 PM

11 Pages « < 9 10 11Top

0.0465sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:19 PM