5 o'Clock Club, Share your experience
TStheFIREman
Mar 17 2016, 02:25 PM, updated 10y ago

Inspired by the other thread of how long does it take you to office, Anyone of you here belongs to the 5 a.m. club (or earlier)? I had been waking up at 5 every morning since last week, it had been great. I had so much extra time to prepare myself to work. I also manage to read as there are no distractions from group chats, emails. However, I feel very tired at night and go to bed by 11pm, Used to be 1am On the other hand, I won't waste time on dramas and reddit at night anymore Hopefully I can continue with this habit. What do you do if you have the habit of waking up earlier?
azrilyp
Mar 17 2016, 02:30 PM
take a short nap during lunch or after office hours if want to stay up late.
aiskrimcup
Mar 17 2016, 02:31 PM
QUOTE(theFIREman @ Mar 17 2016, 02:25 PM) Inspired by the other thread of how long does it take you to office, Anyone of you here belongs to the 5 a.m. club (or earlier)? I had been waking up at 5 every morning since last week, it had been great. I had so much extra time to prepare myself to work. I also manage to read as there are no distractions from group chats, emails. However, I feel very tired at night and go to bed by 11pm, Used to be 1am On the other hand, I won't waste time on dramas and reddit at night anymore Hopefully I can continue with this habit. What do you do if you have the habit of waking up earlier? Am in 6 o'clock club. Try to have light sleep before lunch, u'll be refresh
Zot
Mar 17 2016, 02:34 PM
Just wake up. I'm on 5.20am club. Even weekend also wake up early. Once you get used to it, you will wake up just before alarm clock and probably you won't need it anymore.
Belphegor
Mar 17 2016, 02:36 PM
Well I set my alarm on 6.45am, 7am, 7.15am.  I have no trouble of stuck in jam while travel to work, that's why I do not need to wake up this early. Usually sleep at 11.30pm - 12am. But still don't think I have enough sleep. Gets tired after lunch.
LuisLou
Mar 17 2016, 02:48 PM

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Mar 17 2016, 02:36 PM) Well I set my alarm on 6.45am, 7am, 7.15am.  I have no trouble of stuck in jam while travel to work, that's why I do not need to wake up this early. Usually sleep at 11.30pm - 12am. But still don't think I have enough sleep. Gets tired after lunch.  try taking a power nap i.e about 30 mins to an hour during lunch time .. it will get you through the 2nd half of the day ! Works wonder for me
TStheFIREman
Mar 17 2016, 02:57 PM

QUOTE(azrilyp @ Mar 17 2016, 02:30 PM) take a short nap during lunch or after office hours if want to stay up late. Haha, I usually will hit the gym during my lunch time and grab a quick bite after that. Looks like i need longer lunch hours
TStheFIREman
Mar 17 2016, 02:58 PM

QUOTE(Zot @ Mar 17 2016, 02:34 PM) Just wake up. I'm on 5.20am club. Even weekend also wake up early. Once you get used to it, you will wake up just before alarm clock and probably you won't need it anymore. wow, what makes you to wake up so early everyday? what do you do after you wake up? what time you depart to work?
TStheFIREman
Mar 17 2016, 03:00 PM

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Mar 17 2016, 02:36 PM) Well I set my alarm on 6.45am, 7am, 7.15am.  I have no trouble of stuck in jam while travel to work, that's why I do not need to wake up this early. Usually sleep at 11.30pm - 12am. But still don't think I have enough sleep. Gets tired after lunch.  This is so me! Before this 5oClock routine that is.. But I usually will hit the gym during lunch time, so I dont get so tired after lunch. Oh, I also have light lunch only, heavy lunch just makes me sleepy.
TStheFIREman
Mar 17 2016, 03:01 PM

QUOTE(LuisLou @ Mar 17 2016, 02:48 PM) try taking a power nap i.e about 30 mins to an hour during lunch time .. it will get you through the 2nd half of the day ! Works wonder for me  Just curious, where do you sleep during lunch time? On work workdesk?
Zot
Mar 17 2016, 03:06 PM
QUOTE(theFIREman @ Mar 17 2016, 02:58 PM) wow, what makes you to wake up so early everyday? what do you do after you wake up? what time you depart to work? Just check weather forecast (like similar every day  ), drink water, take shower ...etc etc .. no need to rush. Leave to work at 6.20 ~ 6.30am drive slowly. Stop by place to buy breakfast ...bla bla ... Going back time sharp and drive at 110km/j Weekend, watch news on TV.... Well just need to wake up and do something for a while even if you fell asleep in front of TV, it does not matter. This will make you wake up alert on work day, actually.
maraippo
Mar 17 2016, 03:08 PM
Sunnah - take a nap before zohor (noon period) to be fresh for the rest of the day
Belphegor
Mar 17 2016, 03:14 PM
QUOTE(LuisLou @ Mar 17 2016, 02:48 PM) try taking a power nap i.e about 30 mins to an hour during lunch time .. it will get you through the 2nd half of the day ! Works wonder for me  My lunch time only 1 hour. 30 minutes, then not enough time for me to go out to grab lunch liao.  QUOTE(theFIREman @ Mar 17 2016, 03:00 PM) This is so me! Before this 5oClock routine that is.. But I usually will hit the gym during lunch time, so I dont get so tired after lunch. Oh, I also have light lunch only, heavy lunch just makes me sleepy. Honestly speaking, how to define light lunch? And my portion is quite large, so is abit hard for me to cut down to light lunch. I'll starve to death.
SUSsylar111
Mar 17 2016, 03:15 PM
Hmmm. Will productivity actually improve if you wake up at this time.
TStheFIREman
Mar 17 2016, 03:23 PM

QUOTE(Zot @ Mar 17 2016, 03:06 PM) Just check weather forecast (like similar every day  ), drink water, take shower ...etc etc .. no need to rush. Leave to work at 6.20 ~ 6.30am drive slowly. Stop by place to buy breakfast ...bla bla ... Going back time sharp and drive at 110km/j Weekend, watch news on TV.... Well just need to wake up and do something for a while even if you fell asleep in front of TV, it does not matter. This will make you wake up alert on work day, actually.  Good advice! I only turn on my alarm during weekdays, now i think I need to wake up at 5am also on the weekends, thanks bro for the advice!
TStheFIREman
Mar 17 2016, 03:25 PM

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Mar 17 2016, 03:14 PM) My lunch time only 1 hour. 30 minutes, then not enough time for me to go out to grab lunch liao.  Honestly speaking, how to define light lunch? And my portion is quite large, so is abit hard for me to cut down to light lunch. I'll starve to death.  I usually eat bread (subway or any bread from 7/11) or nasi lemak bungkus for lunch. Sometimes I'll just take green apple. Or just pre-prepared hard boiled eggs.
TStheFIREman
Mar 17 2016, 03:26 PM

QUOTE(sylar111 @ Mar 17 2016, 03:15 PM) Hmmm. Will productivity actually improve if you wake up at this time. I can't speak for the rest, but over the span of 1 week, i can feel the positive outweigh the negative of waking early
asusx
Mar 17 2016, 03:34 PM
to gain much energy during day...better wakeup at around 5....and take a bath....  .
SUS2feidei
Mar 17 2016, 03:36 PM
Do u feel tired/ lethargic around 2/3pm, after lunch?
TStheFIREman
Mar 17 2016, 03:45 PM

QUOTE(2feidei @ Mar 17 2016, 03:36 PM) Do u feel tired/ lethargic around 2/3pm, after lunch? Back then i used to feel tired after lunch, then I stumbled upon an advise to workout and eat less during lunch time, so I followed that advise and never feel tired around 2/3pm since. However back to the topic, I'm not sure whether did working out helps, but I dont feel tired at all during 2/3pm. But, i feel extremely drained during 10pm.