12 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Home Theatre Something you should know before buying a HDTV, LCD, Plasma, RP LCD, SXRD

TSAlamakLor
post Jan 11 2007, 09:38 PM

9,856 posts

65" 1080p Plasma
MSRP: 3500USD
Street Price: probably 3K USD
Availability: June 2007
http://reviews.cnet.com/8301-12760_7-96723....html?tag=promo

Hitachi P50H401 50" 1080p
MSRP: 2500USD
Availability: Feb 2007 (next month WTF drool.gif )

Pioneer and Panasonic will also have a few affordable 1080p plasma this year, mostly available in summer (July 2007). I guess it is definitely worth the wait for these 1080p TVs! rclxms.gif
htkaki
post Jan 17 2007, 05:24 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

then, the 720p LCD or plasma sld be cheaper by then. hehe

TSAlamakLor
post Jan 19 2007, 02:07 AM

9,856 posts

Even samsung LCDs have the SAME cloud issue as the Sony XBR:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread....8&page=11&pp=30

And most surprisingly...people are planning a class action law suit on Sharp for those crazy banding found on the Aquos laugh.gif these companies gotta stop selling F***ed up TVs.

I'm gonna sit tight and live with my 172x Monitor and see what's really good this year biggrin.gif

HOLY SH1T!!!! Sony V2500 46" 1080p
I can't stop laughing at people who bought these TVs and are being very proud of owning them haHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAH laugh.gif

This post has been edited by AlamakLor: Jan 19 2007, 02:17 AM
LittleGhost
post Jan 19 2007, 12:05 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

alamaklor, if we don't purchase LCD TVs, what other choices do we have? Good ol CRTS?
TSAlamakLor
post Jan 19 2007, 01:14 PM

9,856 posts

nope, just stick to whatever you have and wait for something this year biggrin.gif and plasma is far more perfect than lcd now imho
piscesguy
post Jan 19 2007, 02:11 PM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,965 posts

I think LCD technology is just good to use as computer monitor screen.
To use as a TV, LCD is still a long way to match up with CRT or even plasma. brows.gif
highlander8
post Jan 19 2007, 06:22 PM

124 posts

That's why I have just bought plasma right after a few round of survey........

So far very satisfied with plasma performance. Another friend of mine initially also thinking to get LCD but changed the mind after seeing Plasma. thumbup.gif
redken
post Jan 21 2007, 08:45 PM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Jan 19 2007, 02:11 PM)
I think LCD technology is just good to use as computer monitor screen.
To use as a TV, LCD is still a long way to match up with CRT or even plasma. brows.gif
More like LCD has not much left to turn and even less left to go.
kelvinyam
post Jan 22 2007, 11:14 PM

May beauty be everywhere around me
1,766 posts

My dad bought a 32" Sharp Aquos LCD and I couldn't see any banding. I even switch off the living hall light at night and look very hard on it. Nope, no banding on my unit.

Just one thing, ASTRO image sucks on this LCD.
sunauto
post Jan 23 2007, 12:56 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

Speaking of Sharp LCDs, it did receive very good reviews from CNET Singapore, could it be that our Sharp LCDs for Asian market is different from other regions? Even Hitachi and Toshiba were highly recommended too. I guess it's pretty subjective so I guess we just see and buy what we like than to rely on reviews alone. sweat.gif

QUOTE(kelvinyam @ Jan 22 2007, 11:14 PM)
My dad bought a 32" Sharp Aquos LCD and I couldn't see any banding. I even switch off the living hall light at night and look very hard on it. Nope, no banding on my unit.

Just one thing, ASTRO image sucks on this LCD.
saiga
post Jan 23 2007, 05:53 PM

Fear of the Dark
584 posts

QUOTE(highlander8 @ Jan 19 2007, 06:22 PM)
That's why I have just bought plasma right after a few round of survey........

So far very satisfied with plasma performance. Another friend of mine initially also thinking to get LCD but changed the mind after seeing Plasma. thumbup.gif
but cannot get plasma tv in RM4K range la sad.gif
tong1774
post Jan 23 2007, 06:32 PM

1,065 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Jan 23 2007, 12:56 AM)
Speaking of Sharp LCDs, it did receive very good reviews from CNET Singapore, could it be that our Sharp LCDs for Asian market is different from other regions? Even Hitachi and Toshiba were highly recommended too. I guess it's pretty subjective so I guess we just see and buy what we like than to rely on reviews alone.  sweat.gif
the 8 out of 10 point given in Cnet Asia is from a user, not the editor rating.
TSAlamakLor
post Jan 23 2007, 07:49 PM

9,856 posts

the easiest way to check for banding is to play some games on it biggrin.gif
sunauto
post Jan 23 2007, 08:35 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(saiga @ Jan 23 2007, 05:53 PM)
but cannot get plasma tv in RM4K range la  sad.gif
Can gua, maybe buy those Cap Ayam brands lor. sweat.gif

QUOTE(tong1774 @ Jan 23 2007, 06:32 PM)
Maybe the CNET Editor is AlamakLor so he dun wanna review a Sharp LCD lor. brows.gif I was just kidding. notworthy.gif

QUOTE(AlamakLor @ Jan 23 2007, 07:49 PM)
the easiest way to check for banding is to play some games on it biggrin.gif
What type of games should be play on it to test it? Ridge Racer?
sunauto
post Jan 23 2007, 09:04 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

Ohhhhh yahhhhh, just went to check CNET Singapore again, the review was indeed from CNET Editor, here's da link, http://asia.cnet.com/reviews/home_av/tvs/0...9272240p,00.htm

Editor's award somemore, dun play play. sweat.gif

QUOTE(tong1774 @ Jan 23 2007, 06:32 PM)
tong1774
post Jan 23 2007, 09:47 PM

1,065 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Jan 23 2007, 09:04 PM)
Ohhhhh yahhhhh, just went to check CNET Singapore again, the review was indeed from CNET Editor, here's da link, http://asia.cnet.com/reviews/home_av/tvs/0...9272240p,00.htm

Editor's award somemore, dun play play.  sweat.gif
I tot u are talking about this one.
Review?
redken
post Jan 23 2007, 10:23 PM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

QUOTE(saiga @ Jan 23 2007, 05:53 PM)
but cannot get plasma tv in RM4K range la  sad.gif
Haier got plasma at 3k+ wat. BTW, people shouldnt be talking about performance alone, more like performance/price ratio which is more rational. For instance if i had all the money in the world, i would get myself a new pair of eyes, with 100X zoom, nightvision, and gazillion hertz processor. Who needs a 2 dimension display anyway.
TSAlamakLor
post Jan 23 2007, 10:56 PM

9,856 posts

When testing it with some games, the game background should be very monotonous in color...it can be any color, but grey is most obvious...(actually light blue was most obvious for me...i.e. sky) when you pan the screen slowly...try to look at the screen as a whole and you can easily detect the banding. The banding can be very obvious or very faint and not particularly noticeable, but I have not seen a single LCD TV that does not have banding issue. If you don't see it, chances are you just couldn't see it...I might be able to show them to you if I was there tongue.gif

It wasnt easy to detect in Ridge racer. When you drift the car, it spins too damn much and there are alot of things going on in the background. I've found motorstorm the best game to test banding, but that's a ps3 title. I've read alot about ppl seeing banding with Splinter cell and FEAR as well.

Banding is very hard to detect in most movies.
saiga
post Jan 23 2007, 11:42 PM

Fear of the Dark
584 posts

just visited senq and take a look at the lcd tv from various brands. couldn't noticed any banding on Sharp Aquos... or izzit because my eyes automatically "enhanced" the picture? tongue.gif
sunauto
post Jan 24 2007, 12:14 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(tong1774 @ Jan 23 2007, 09:47 PM)
I tot u are talking about this one.
Review?
Hehehe, misunderstand aje, small matter ....... notworthy.gif

QUOTE(redken @ Jan 23 2007, 10:23 PM)
Haier got plasma at 3k+ wat. BTW, people shouldnt be talking about performance alone, more like performance/price ratio which is more rational. For instance if i had all the money in the world, i would get myself a new pair of eyes, with 100X zoom, nightvision, and gazillion hertz processor. Who needs a 2 dimension display anyway.
Haier ain't that bad, budget use lah but still quite decent for the price.

QUOTE(AlamakLor @ Jan 23 2007, 10:56 PM)
When testing it with some games, the game background should be very monotonous in color...it can be any color, but grey is most obvious...(actually light blue was most obvious for me...i.e. sky) when you pan the screen slowly...try to look at the screen as a whole and you can easily detect the banding. The banding can be very obvious or very faint and not particularly noticeable, but I have not seen a single LCD TV that does not have banding issue. If you don't see it, chances are you just couldn't see it...I might be able to show them to you if I was there tongue.gif

It wasnt easy to detect in Ridge racer. When you drift the car, it spins too damn much and there are alot of things going on in the background. I've found motorstorm the best game to test banding, but that's a ps3 title. I've read alot about ppl seeing banding with Splinter cell and FEAR as well.

Banding is very hard to detect in most movies.
Yeah, you're right about using FEAR and Splinter Cell, those games will show the banding flaws much more obvious, Call Of Duty 3, Need For Speed Carbon, Fatal Frame 3 can be used as well too but colourful games like DOAX2, Rayman Raving Rabbits, etc are best avoided, you're unlikely to notice the banding issues. Anyway, despite the flaws, I still prefer a LCD as it's brighter.

QUOTE(saiga @ Jan 23 2007, 11:42 PM)
just visited senq and take a look at the lcd tv from various brands. couldn't noticed any banding on Sharp Aquos... or izzit because my eyes automatically "enhanced" the picture?  tongue.gif
I guess you ain't buying what you see as normally they will use those kickass demos to get you hooked. You're less likely to notice these flaws if the demo was showing sexy girls with bikini. doh.gif

12 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.2613sec    0.80    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:56 AM