post Mar 21 2019, 04:46 PM

Small Potato
1,702 posts

Southampton bonus is in
guanteik
post Mar 21 2019, 11:53 PM

2,661 posts

Just wanted to share that today I tried to cancel off my M2Premier cards because I am offered CIMB WEMC. So I called the Customer Service and have my M2Premier cards cancelled. According to them, my points cannot be transferred to another cards which I am holding e.g. M2Platinum. All TP must be redeemed before cancellation and if I have any installments, the installments have to be settled.

It's new ruling though, since 20th Jan 2019. Last year, we still can transfer off our points away.
aspartame
post Mar 22 2019, 01:08 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(guanteik @ Mar 21 2019, 11:53 PM)
Just wanted to share that today I tried to cancel off my M2Premier cards because I am offered CIMB WEMC. So I called the Customer Service and have my M2Premier cards cancelled. According to them, my points cannot be transferred to another cards which I am holding e.g. M2Platinum. All TP must be redeemed before cancellation and if I have any installments, the installments have to be settled.

It's new ruling though, since 20th Jan 2019. Last year, we still can transfer off our points away.
CIMB WEMC good meh? Like nothing much also....why cancel M2P??? Some more annual fee 1.2k(waive if spend above RM1mil!!!)..less miles, dining 20%...maybe access to Golden lounge?

This post has been edited by aspartame: Mar 22 2019, 01:09 AM
bearbear
post Mar 22 2019, 01:19 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

I have seen people trying to cancel m2plat and request to tfr pts to m2premier but nvr the other way round

You are lucky they did not allow so
whyip1988
post Mar 22 2019, 07:48 AM

280 posts

such a waste if transfer to PLAT ,redeem to airmiles before termination of ur card is more better.
guanteik
post Mar 22 2019, 08:35 AM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Mar 22 2019, 01:19 AM)
I have seen people trying to cancel m2plat and request to tfr pts to m2premier but nvr the other way round

You are lucky they did not allow so
Like they told me, starting 20th Jan this year no transfer of points to other cards. Unless someone successfully done that after this date, I’ll go back and whack them
knwong
post Mar 22 2019, 08:42 AM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(guanteik @ Mar 22 2019, 08:35 AM)
Like they told me, starting 20th Jan this year no transfer of points to other cards. Unless someone successfully done that after this date, I’ll go back and whack them
My VI TP was automatically transferred to MU VI because Maybank auto cancel my VI - without informing me
fruitie
post Mar 22 2019, 09:20 AM

Rise and Shine
72,917 posts

QUOTE(guanteik @ Mar 22 2019, 08:35 AM)
People have been sharing the same too for M2Cards, they wanted to cancel their Visa/MC but points from these cards cannot transfer to AmEx anymore. Also from 20th Jan if I'm not mistaken. So, you better spend all before terminating your M2P.
guanteik
post Mar 22 2019, 11:26 AM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Mar 22 2019, 09:20 AM)
People have been sharing the same too for M2Cards, they wanted to cancel their Visa/MC but points from these cards cannot transfer to AmEx anymore. Also from 20th Jan if I'm not mistaken. So, you better spend all before terminating your M2P.
Spot on and that's right about not able to transfer the points over. Last year it was all fine... anyway, I’ve redeemed all my points into Enrich (that’s the only goodie about this card BTW) and moved on to CIMB.
digidigi
post Mar 22 2019, 11:30 AM

1,745 posts

QUOTE(guanteik @ Mar 22 2019, 11:26 AM)
Spot on and that's right about not able to transfer the points over. Last year it was all fine... anyway, I’ve redeemed all my points into Enrich (that’s the only goodie about this card BTW) and moved on to CIMB.
But ... the Cimb card better then m2p meh?
tarvalslain87
post Mar 22 2019, 11:38 AM

(•_•) / ( •_•)>⌐■-■ / (⌐■_■)
5,054 posts

Just wanna confirm that both my Amex and MU VI treat points are combined in my account right?

Another question is that can my wife Amex (separate account) points be converted to my krisyfler account as miles?
guanteik
post Mar 22 2019, 11:49 AM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(digidigi @ Mar 22 2019, 11:30 AM)
But ... the Cimb card better then m2p meh?
Yes, for me. Why?
Unlimited access to MAS Lounge, and my RM confirmed that I can even enter the First Class Lounge.
AF is not an issue because either M2P or WEMC I will get 100% waiver with spending requirements.
AMEX is not accepted everywhere and Maybank is only using AMEX Reserve so shine it's benefit RM1 = 1 miles.
Best when it comes to travel with USD1m (or 2m) protection. M2P only RM1M
Of course, Maybank is also simply giving out this card with some FD pledging, not really based on whether that consumer really can afford it. In other words, it's getting cheapskate.

These are my perceptions, and there's no perfect card for anyone. So don't get offended with my statements.

herc
post Mar 22 2019, 11:56 AM

Small Potato
1,702 posts

QUOTE(tarvalslain87 @ Mar 22 2019, 11:38 AM)
Just wanna confirm that both my Amex and MU VI treat points are combined in my account right?

Another question is that can my wife Amex (separate account) points be converted to my krisyfler account as miles?
Amex Reserve and MU VI treat points were kept under separate account, under your name, they can combine and redeem altogether.

If your wife Amex is under your supp card, it can only converted to principal account Krisflyer, which is you.

If it is her own account, then only to her own Krisflyer account. They cross match the account holder name.

This post has been edited by herc: Mar 22 2019, 12:00 PM
tarvalslain87
post Mar 22 2019, 11:58 AM

5,054 posts

QUOTE(herc @ Mar 22 2019, 11:56 AM)
Amex Reserve and MU VI treat points were kept under separate account, under your name, they can combine and redeem altogether.

If your wife Amex is under your supp card, it can only converted to principal account Krisflyer, which is you.

If it is her own account, and only to her own Krisflyer account. They cross match the account holder name.
Ah.. so if its her own account, she cant transfer her points to my kf account? Dang.. need to ask her to stop using and Ill apply a supp for her
nabnab12345
post Mar 22 2019, 12:12 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(tarvalslain87 @ Mar 22 2019, 11:58 AM)
Ah.. so if its her own account, she cant transfer her points to my kf account? Dang.. need to ask her to stop using and Ill apply a supp for her
Actually KF is about the only program in the world who does not match credit card name to KF name. So short answer is yes, your wife can transfer miles to your account.
Lego Warfare
post Mar 22 2019, 12:15 PM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(guanteik @ Mar 22 2019, 11:49 AM)
Yes, for me. Why?
Unlimited access to MAS Lounge, and my RM confirmed that I can even enter the First Class Lounge.
AF is not an issue because either M2P or WEMC I will get 100% waiver with spending requirements.
AMEX is not accepted everywhere and Maybank is only using AMEX Reserve so shine it's benefit RM1 = 1 miles.
Of course, Maybank is also simply giving out this card with some FD pledging, not really based on whether that consumer really can afford it. In other words, it's getting cheapskate.

These are my perceptions, and there's no perfect card for anyone. So don't get offended with my statements.
Well, points wise while spending overseas, M2P Visa gives you slightly better miles than CIMB. And even for local, mixture of Amex + Visa usage probably gives you similar miles conversion with CIMB WEMC.

Downside for CIMB is you are stuck with trash MAS or Air Asia only right? And anyway the travel insurance given by CC are usually not comprehensive. I usually buy my own travel insurance
tarvalslain87
post Mar 22 2019, 12:15 PM

5,054 posts

QUOTE(nabnab12345 @ Mar 22 2019, 12:12 PM)
Actually KF is about the only program in the world who does not match credit card name to KF name. So short answer is yes, your wife can transfer miles to your account.
Lol.. So which one is true? hmm.gif
guanteik
post Mar 22 2019, 12:20 PM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Mar 22 2019, 12:15 PM)
Well, points wise while spending overseas, M2P Visa gives you slightly better miles than CIMB. And even for local, mixture of Amex + Visa usage probably gives you similar miles conversion with CIMB WEMC.

Downside for CIMB is you are stuck with trash MAS or Air Asia only right? And anyway the travel insurance given by CC are usually not comprehensive. I usually buy my own travel insurance
Downside is only Enrich, so far that I knew of. And MAS is in trouble... so I'll see what's next. I do buy my own travel insurance as well though, but having that from the CC is a plus. I do like Maybank cards but now they are getting worse, not to mention, not having the ability to transfer the points and etc is a more downside.
tohff7
post Mar 22 2019, 12:26 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(guanteik @ Mar 22 2019, 11:49 AM)
Yes, for me. Why?

Don't want dwell on the benefits since different ppl have different circumstances. For e.g. having unlimited access to MAS Lounge is moot since you got entry when you book/redeem MAS business class anyway. That's why I value more Maybank VI 5x access to international PPL

On conversion miles and solely based on VI 2x TP

Oversea spend - WEMC is RM1 per miles (up to 150k miles per year), VI is RM0.90 per miles

Local spend - WEMC is RM2 per miles (up to 150k miles per year), then de-grade to RM4 per miles
VI at 2x TP = RM2.25 per miles with no cap

So yeah, there's your reason why other cards can't even come close to Maybank Visa Infinite...let alone the 5x TP for AMEX Reserve

712 Pages « < 219 220 221 222 223 > » Top

0.0197sec    0.76    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 12:30 PM