9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Fundsupermart.com v14, Happy 牛(bull!) Year

dasecret
post Jun 7 2016, 06:06 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Jun 7 2016, 05:20 PM)
Currently I am at 100% equity funds. I intra switched 3 of the equity funds into bond funds as per my earlier post. I will buy more bond funds.

What other funds to buy? It will be the usual suspects from the FSM Recommended List of Funds. Thus far, I still have KGF, EISC, CIMB Global Titans and Ponzi 2 in my portfolio. I also have an alternative investment fund which is not performing. I have 2 remaining China funds to switch out later.

If you have any good funds to recommend, please let me know. Otherwise I tikam-tikam sajalah.  smile.gif
Fuiyoh, 100% EQ.... and you still steady over the last few months notworthy.gif

With the remaining EQ funds you have I guess it makes sense to keep the proceeds in bond or cash

Other EQ funds in my radar that is doing better than its peers:
- Affin quantum aka ponzi 1.0
- RHB Asian income fund - a rock in the portfolio in the past few months

My bond + cash holding at the moment is about 10% and 20% respectively

dasecret
post Jun 8 2016, 02:30 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Jun 7 2016, 08:00 PM)
Paiseh, paiseh. Actually I sold off some bond funds earlier. Before this, I think I had maybe about 15% in bond funds.

Actually it is easy to remain steady for the past few months. Just don't log into FSM online or do it once every 2 weeks. Drown yourself in office work. biggrin.gif 

Thank you for your recommended funds. I also have the Libra Consumer and Leisure Asia Fund in one of my supplementary portfolios. I think is on Viagra and steroid. Over the last 1-2 months, suddenly the ROI spiked to 8.37%. Unfortunately I only invested a small amount in this fund.  sad.gif
Interesting choice of fund, how did it even got under your radar? tongue.gif
Did you try out the FSM portfolio simulator? Whats your portfolio volatility like?

It's a fun tool to work out what fund to add and to dump

dasecret
post Jun 8 2016, 05:15 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Jun 8 2016, 04:12 PM)
for your sake (and mine because i also have a substantial % in ponzi 2.0), you need to understand why there are ups and downs in a certain fund.
1) the myr has been strengthening since march, hence negative effect on ponzi 2.0. at the same time, the market wasn't going up by much. hence the drop
2) these 1 month the myr has been very volatile, weakening again, and market seems to be on the positive side. hence the rise.

don't start to celebrate cause it has been green for the past 1 month. we are supposed to be in it for the long term.
excluding my cash holdings in CMF2, my EQ:FI ratio has always been around 95%:5%... was abit down the last few months, but looking all green again... now why didn't i top up 2-3 months ago?
Actually the asset allocation rule should be applied at the total portfolio basis, including FD, property, stocks etc
So maybe you guys running close to 100% foreign EQ funds because there's an equal amount of FD, local stocks and properties ma

I also didn't top up for the past 2-3 months... scared ma blush.gif
dasecret
post Jun 9 2016, 10:08 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(lukenn @ Jun 8 2016, 08:14 PM)
Agreed, but should you actually put real properties into the mix? Reits and developer stocks I would definitely say yes, but to put an illiquid asset into the same category as assets with MTM value?
Hmm, maybe not in the MTM spreadsheet where one religiously rebalances

Being a bean counter, I'm thinking more of a statement of financial position (fka balance sheet), where it shows the assets and liabilities. It would be very glaring if you owns a car more expensive than your investments and every year losing on depreciation; or when you have almost all your money in own stay property which you won't be able to cash out

But I say only la, I don't prepare this also.... not sure if I'm ready to see how it looks like mega_shok.gif
dasecret
post Jun 14 2016, 10:17 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jun 14 2016, 09:35 PM)
cry.gif election cannot tahan lama... blush.gif
ada obat tak?  biggrin.gif
Seek professional help lor. For this returns may be better to chuck all into CMF, or better still, chase FD promo
dasecret
post Jun 14 2016, 11:11 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Jun 14 2016, 10:52 PM)
beginning of Jan Global EQ corrected....
from end Jan till now...his ROI is +4.37%....
I think it is better than FD.
I may be wrong, but I think he measures ROI from May 2013 at 9% and XIRR at 3.5%.

The only person who can clarify is yklooi
dasecret
post Jun 15 2016, 01:37 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Jun 15 2016, 12:12 PM)
Roller coaster ride is here again. I am comparing the performance of the 4 FSM accounts that I have.

For now, the account that is giving me the less heart attack is the one with the highest exposure to bond funds. The equity exposure is only 25.22%.

This account has among others, Eastspring Bond, Libra Asnita Bond and RHB Islamic Bond Fund. Smooth sailing. No stress. ROI from 3.32%, 5% and 4.48% respectively.

It also has RHB Asian Income Fund which just turned green with ROI at 2.22%. I just sold off RHB Asian Total Return Fund (too volatile for this particular FSM account). But in the long run, I suspect this account will lose to my other FSM accounts with more equity exposure.

Note : In the current market, for middle aged investors like us, maybe it is time to have a balance of 50/50 in equity funds/bond funds or 60/40?
hmm, interesting. What is the driver behind the different allocation strategy for the 4 different account? Can share a bit?

Perhaps an option would be now when market is volatile keep in FI and later on switch to EQ? Since you have credit ninja trick it doesn't cost that much $$, just a bit more time
dasecret
post Jun 15 2016, 01:42 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Jun 14 2016, 10:52 PM)
beginning of Jan Global EQ corrected....
from end Jan till now...his ROI is +4.37%....
I think it is better than FD.
It's not quite fair for you to only consider the rebound without considering the sharp fall right? It's like saying gold and general fund is a great fund with the 1 year returns without looking at 5 years annualised returns still negative

Even looking at XIRR from May 2013 till now is also 3 years only, a bit too early to say sure will or won't work. I respect uncle looi for being direct and honest with his portfolio returns, and hence returning a direct and honest comment that maybe he really look at his strategy if it's the right one when the result is less than desirable
dasecret
post Jun 15 2016, 04:52 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Jun 15 2016, 04:04 PM)
No special strategy. I am just a layman.

Account 1 - My own account. Major in equity and alternative investment funds. Recently I diversified some into bond funds.
Account 2 - My son's education fund. Combination of equity and bond funds. Doing monthly DCA.
Account 3 - PRS and combination of equity and bond funds. Doing monthly DCA.
Account 4 - My wife's money. So majority in bond funds. This account is capital guaranteed by Vanguard. Any profit she take. Any losses, I will absorb.

Technically I am not pumping fresh money into Account 1 and Account 4.

I agree with you. It may not be a bad idea to switch some money into F1. This is what I did for my Account 1. For the equity funds which overlap with each other or which I don't like anymore, I switched out to bond funds. But I don't think we should switch out completely from Equity Funds. Maybe at the worst case, still maintain at least 20% in Equity Funds then do quarterly VA or monthly DCA to buy more at low prices?
Yeah, don't think 100% FI is the way to go, similarly that 100% EQ also not the way to go

Wish someone would capital guaranteed my UT investment too tongue.gif
dasecret
post Jun 16 2016, 09:41 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(lukenn @ Jun 15 2016, 07:08 PM)
I can help build you a "capital guaranteed" structure, but not 100% pure UT. 😉😉
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 15 2016, 07:53 PM)
Expected returns?  Can beat amanah saham or not? brows.gif
QUOTE(lukenn @ Jun 15 2016, 09:31 PM)
It's around that region...
That's the thing isn't it? Capital protected would also mean limited upside, and if it's coupled with long lock in like those with savings plan, might as well take the chances of non-capital protected and enjoy higher returns... in the long run a well diversified portfolio would most likely outrun a capital protected scheme

Capital guaranteed is overrated IMHO, and yet people behave irrationally when they hear the term... that's where behavioral finance or marketing comes in
dasecret
post Jun 17 2016, 11:04 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jun 17 2016, 08:13 PM)
How much you need to pay for this switch (in percentage wise)?

Xuzen
Rm0 courtesy of Vanguard 2015. Have to use the long route for rhb funds though - eqt fund to rhb money market fund to cash management fund then back to whatever fund you want to buy. That would not cost the rm25 switching
dasecret
post Jun 20 2016, 11:41 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 20 2016, 11:27 AM)
My sis "makes" more % with her flexi-mortgage than cash mgt account, thus tough
RSP? Then you just rebalance every 6 or 12 months; less hassle for you also
dasecret
post Jun 20 2016, 11:47 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ May 20 2016, 02:15 PM)
Why is sales charge promo more important than where the market is?

Take Malaysia market for example
In the past 1 month it fell from 1,720 to 1,635 today. That's 4.9%. isn't that a much bigger discount than sales charge discount from 2% to 0.5% (lowest in FSM MY history)?

Why not buy now? If FSM offers 0.5% sales charge when the KLCI is back to 1,720. Worth it or not compared to now?

My 2 cents la  cool2.gif
QUOTE(David83 @ Jun 16 2016, 10:19 PM)
Who cares for the theme as long as the fund interested is under the discounted SC rate. whistling.gif
Obviously my comments have fallen on deaf ears ... yawn.gif
dasecret
post Jun 28 2016, 02:21 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 28 2016, 02:07 PM)
I also topped up GFT
wah, long time no see... aladdin fund seems to be reviving. Selling/keeping/adding?
dasecret
post Jun 30 2016, 10:41 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Jun 30 2016, 02:59 PM)
Confirm monitoring only this thread and participate in Chinese version. From mouth of FSM GM himself.
QUOTE(ykit_88 @ Jun 30 2016, 03:18 PM)
Cari forum. It's in Chinese.
Yeah, the folks in Cari get preferential treatment. The FSM rep replies kinda change tone over time. Recently when I read I was quite surprised that he indirectly kutuk the agents who sell funds by promoting 'dividend rates' and it's online platform rivalry for low balling in sales charge. Albeit it was technically wrong to say such thing. But I'm still surprised la. He is after all representing FSM to the readers
dasecret
post Jul 2 2016, 11:48 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Jul 2 2016, 11:40 AM)
According to Mr. Wong, it is because LYN FSM don't need any promotion (maybe got a lot of sifu here already hehe) whereas they need to promote FSM and online UT purchase in the Chinese forum.
Oh well. Another surprising thing with the Cari forum is, a lot of public mutual haters there 😂😂😂
And a lot of ppl understand distribution there. More than here. So don't underestimate the Chinese educated folks
dasecret
post Jul 5 2016, 10:53 AM

1,498 posts

So quiet the thread

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...and-Brazil-7253

We continue to favour the US High Yield segment despite risk assets having been hit by the result of the UK's referendum.

A reduction in exposure to the Asian bond and Asian High Yield segments in ones fixed income allocation could be appropriate at this juncture, with our preference for the exposure to be allocated to the short duration segment.

Anyone selling off their RHB ATR?

What is the US HY bond options in FSM MY?
dasecret
post Jul 5 2016, 11:38 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jul 5 2016, 11:29 AM)
This one seem to invest in sovereign bonds wor....
Anyway, went to FSM SG to look... not very exciting also even the latest recommended ones

https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/fundi...olnumber=TRE009

https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/fundi...B125&qfid=10554
dasecret
post Jul 11 2016, 03:09 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Jun 11 2016, 11:30 AM)
notice that RHB Islamic Bond's fund size double up in 6 months time to > RM100million. That causes the cash holding of the fund increased to 52%, performance also dropping. Perhaps the fund manager should temporary freeze  the new subscription until the 52% cash holding converted to bond investment  ?
The latest fact sheet showed lower cash position of 35%
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/admin...eetMYRHBIBF.pdf

The Maju expressway bond shd be the new addition.
But they now don't disclose the credit rating of the bonds confused.gif
dasecret
post Jul 11 2016, 11:03 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Jul 11 2016, 08:09 PM)
Can we find the credit ratings from rating agencies like RAM?

CIMB Group Holdings Bhd...
http://www.ram.com.my/4_1_1.aspx?catID=21f...=&g4id=&filter=

Special Power Vehicle...

KT Kira...

No rating for MEX, yet.
Good thinking, but retail investors have to do so much ke? Why can't they just include in the monthly fact sheet as voluntary disclosure?
The semi-annual and annual report would have it as part of credit risk profile disclosure. Just that the information would be many months delayed

9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0863sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:09 PM