Fundsupermart.com v14, Happy 牛(bull!) Year

T231H
post Jun 4 2016, 05:00 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(vincabby @ Jun 4 2016, 03:33 PM)
things to watch would be 'brexit' and 'grexit', rate hike in june which is this month, opec news which you should be hearing around now. I guess those are the big big things happening right now.

i have no predictions to give, all I can say is, hope i have enough covered for the volatility that will come about.
what a coincident ...just found this....(here is a concise)

3 upcoming market events and what investors can possibly do about them.
...... Fundsupermart.com June 3, 2016

A Possible Fed Rate Hike Soon…
The United Kingdom's European Union (EU) Referendum: "Brexit" Or "Bremain"?
MSCI's 2016 Review – China A Shares To Be Included?

What Can Investors Do?

At Fundsupermart, we advocate investors not to speculate or trade too actively in the short term when managing their portfolios in response to headline news and events. As highlighted in last week’s “Idea of the Week”, markets tend to be volatile in the short term, hence making knee-jerk reactions all the time may end up to be detrimental to one’s portfolio. Having adequate diversification is vital as one can minimise concentration risks. Other than remaining diversified across asset classes and geographic markets, investors can also go for defensive strategies (like long short funds) for equity markets that are seeing relatively-stretched valuation levels (like the US and Europe).

With regards to the Fed’s tightening policy, one can go for regions and markets that sport more attractive valuations, as markets that sport lower valuations provide a “margin of safety” for investors, helping to minimise the effect of a rise in the risk-free rate. Doing as such also places a long term investor in a favourable situation of allowing valuation multiples to revert back to where they are deemed fair – as multiples tend to revert to their averages across time. For our take and views of the various markets under our coverage, investors can check out our Star Ratings!

for more details on it....read...
https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/artic...6-Jun-16--11553

T231H
post Jun 5 2016, 11:06 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jun 5 2016, 11:04 AM)
I'll move the proceed to top up my 50% of remaining 2016 quota of my PRS fund: CIMB PRS Plus Asia Pacific Ex Japan Fund

With that, still got 59.1% in Asia ex Japan (not include China and India) excluding PRS funds.
wow...that is Heavy on asia pac.... thumbsup.gif
T231H
post Jun 5 2016, 06:12 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(aoisky @ Jun 5 2016, 05:45 PM)
Asia Pac ex Japan ?

any particular point of view ?
maybe this?....
Rather than chasing the market higher, we believe investors' attention should be focused on markets such as the Asia ex Japan regional market, China and Hong Kong which we continue to find more attractive and which sport much higher expected returns for investors. The three markets have a 5.0 Star "Very Attractive" rating.
http://www.fundsupermart.com.hk/hk/main/re...s-Brewing-11830

T231H
post Jun 7 2016, 12:45 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Jun 7 2016, 12:29 AM)
But i look this at different point of view, its like they help us DCA the distribution by buying back the fund at cheaper NAV price....and over the long term would this benefit in our favour or to u guys it doesnt make any difference at all?
what if the fund ROI keeps lacking behind its peers of similar objectives/mandate?
distribution or not, is of no issue....bcos it does not affect the value one has.
the fund may just keep on adding UNITS...but if the NAV growth keeps falling behind the peers......then???.
performance and risk ratios track records when compared with its peers of similar objective/mandate is more important
...that is my 2 sen

This post has been edited by T231H: Jun 7 2016, 12:59 AM
T231H
post Jun 7 2016, 05:25 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Jun 7 2016, 05:20 PM)
If you have any good funds to recommend, please let me know. Otherwise I tikam-tikam sajalah.  smile.gif
instead of tikam tikam....if can wait.......the new recommended fund lists will be out the next few weeks,..they will give their reasons for selecting them too...
T231H
post Jun 12 2016, 03:09 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(eugene88 @ Jun 11 2016, 10:06 PM)
Any ideas around which week will it be released?
based on this...if history repeats itself....soon...

T231H
post Jun 12 2016, 10:16 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jun 12 2016, 09:19 PM)
Wow... so many people invest in it in a short time!  :thumbsup:
Maybe just maybe....last yr govy tell dun invest overseas, bring back monies and other things....so they park there
T231H
post Jun 13 2016, 08:49 PM

5,143 posts

I've dumped all my remaining FSM funds. Total portfolio loss since I started in July 2014 is 5.8%. Not to bad actually but I think there are better 'investments' out there which can generate better returns in a shorter period of time.
hmm.gif 5.8% + 3.5% + 3.5% (2 yrs opportunity cost as in FD) = 12.8%. doh.gif

good that one had found it out now instead of some years later,,

rclxms.gif yes...to this statement "..... but I think there are better 'investments' out there which can generate better returns in a shorter period of time".

just bear in mind of this and do a proper application of ....?
Risk management is the identification, assessment, and prioritization of risks (defined in ISO 31000 as the effect of uncertainty on objectives) followed by coordinated and economical application of resources to minimize, monitor, and control the probability and/or impact of unfortunate events or to maximize the realization of opportunities.
Risk management’s objective is to assure uncertainty does not deflect the endeavor from the business goals....(I think this can this be applied to high risks investment too)

This post has been edited by T231H: Jun 13 2016, 08:50 PM
T231H
post Jun 14 2016, 10:52 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Jun 14 2016, 10:17 PM)
Seek professional help lor. For this returns may be better to chuck all into CMF, or better still, chase FD promo
beginning of Jan Global EQ corrected....
from end Jan till now...his ROI is +4.37%....
I think it is better than FD.

T231H
post Jun 14 2016, 11:09 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jun 14 2016, 11:00 PM)
Corrected? I'll prefer to use the term recovered.
this was published in early Jan....
it uses the term correction.....
These stock markets are in correction
http://money.cnn.com/2016/01/07/investing/...orrection-bear/

T231H
post Jun 14 2016, 11:23 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Jun 14 2016, 11:11 PM)
I may be wrong, but I think he measures ROI from May 2013 at 9% and XIRR at 3.5%.

The only person who can clarify is yklooi
yes, looking at his chart....he started in May 2013....
I was referring to the ROI growth from END Jan 2016 till now....which I think is >4% which is better than FD.

QUOTE(lukenn @ Jun 14 2016, 11:13 PM)
What are you using to track global equities?
nothing to track...there was a nervous wrecking tension in early January.....
just after the new year....for few weeks there was a never ending slides.....look at yklooi chart to see how it goes...
T231H
post Jun 16 2016, 07:37 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(hurtedheart @ Jun 16 2016, 07:18 PM)
If your sis purchase cash management fund in one go, say an amount which is targeted to be invested in a year, would that help to eliminate the need of her to transfer money to you whenever a purchase is desired to be made by you on behalf of her?
Beneficiary account can use the principal holder bank account to make purchases
rclxms.gif yes that is possible...but need to have 2 conditions...cash up front and to know how much is need to invest for that year.

perhaps, this is better? 2 choices which I did
if the amount is little....bank in to FSM a/c the money thru atm m/c
if the amount is large...bank in to FSM a/c thru the front counter with cash freshly drawn from the same bank
if the amount is larger?,,,have no experience with that..... biggrin.gif
T231H
post Jun 17 2016, 03:27 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(ssajnani @ Jun 17 2016, 12:43 AM)
Noob question here about Gold. It seems like Gold and US dollars have negative correlation.
So for a Malaysian investor, how do we benefit from increase in Gold price? If the price goes up, we lost on the exchange. So it almost cancels out right? Do we earn only if the increase in gold price is greater than the decrease of currency drop?
Sorry for the stupid question. Hope someone can explain me smile.gif
"Gold is generally quoted in US dollars per ounce of gold; so any fluctuations in the strength of the dollar are likely to be reflected in the dollar price of gold: when the dollar falls the gold price rises........ and when the dollar rises gold falls. The relationship is not exactly inverse, however, and there are times when both gold and the dollar rise or fall simultaneously."
http://www.incrediblecharts.com/economy/gold_dollar.php

"However, it’s important to understand that it’s possible for the U.S. dollar and gold price to increase at the same time. This can occur because of a crisis in some other country or region. This would cause investors to flock to safer assets—the U.S. dollar and gold. The U.S. dollar is also driven by many factors—like monetary policy and inflation in the U.S. vs. other countries. It’s also driven by economic prospects in the U.S. vs. other countries. Investors need to consider all of these factors."
http://finance.yahoo.com/news/why-gold-us-...-170016117.html

"One can blow up their entire account being wrongly positioned on a move like that while hoping for the old correlations to apply, even if it is only within a three-month period of time.
The point I am trying to make is that correlations come and go without any warnings. Unless you have the tools to be able to predict when those seeming correlations will cease, you had better know how to use stops on all your trading and investment instruments. Otherwise, you will be left holding a bag full of losses, while scratching your head and wondering what happened. It is for this reason that I always suggest one analyze each market on their own for their own merit, and to avoid using any seeming correlations or inter-market analysis as a heavily weighted tool in your investment analysis arsenal".
http://www.marketwatch.com/story/what-happ...tion-2015-04-10

This post has been edited by T231H: Jun 17 2016, 03:50 AM

T231H
post Jun 17 2016, 09:34 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(ssajnani @ Jun 17 2016, 09:24 AM)
Thanks for the input bro. I did come across some of these articles. Even though they are not exactly inverse, it's not unusual for them to move in opposite direction.
So for a Malaysian investor, this is not good right? We only benefit if they move in the same direction (appreciate) right?
some people want "counter balance" in their asset...just in case 1 asset drops the other will try to pull it up.
thus this reduces the portfolio volatility...just like some people have bond & Equities UTs in their portfolio
the growth rate on returns is not what they seek..they wanted to have less volatility in the returns
T231H
post Jun 18 2016, 10:57 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(aoisky @ Jun 18 2016, 10:45 AM)
article shared from FSM CIS

thanks for sharing this info

This post has been edited by T231H: Jun 18 2016, 10:58 AM
T231H
post Jun 21 2016, 08:56 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jun 21 2016, 08:45 AM)
Last week I read somewhere that the current chief of the central banking is going to resign or end term soon right?
guess so.....
India Loses Its Vital Central Banker
http://www.bloomberg.com/view/articles/201...-central-banker
http://www.bloomberg.com/gadfly/articles/2...ns-three-wounds
http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/201...unfinished-task

T231H
post Jun 24 2016, 09:25 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Arvinaaaaa @ Jun 24 2016, 11:48 AM)
Ho, do u guys think the recommended portfolio by fundsupermart is wise to follow?
got this from FSM...
About the Recommended Funds

With the huge array of funds available on the platform, the FSM Recommended Funds Report serves as a starting point for investors. The careful study of fund factsheets, prospectus and semi-annual/annual reports are essential reading for investors who are determined to take a more active role in selecting funds for their portfolio. Choosing the right fund to invest in is only one part of the investment process; a suitable asset allocation and the desired exposure to individual markets are critical considerations for a successful investment.

Recommended Fund Methodology
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...tormaincode=All
T231H
post Jun 24 2016, 09:48 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Jun 24 2016, 02:11 PM)
What a great buying opportunity for long term investors. UK unexpectedly exited EU.

Gold will rise, sterling dropping, worldwide share markets dropping in knee jerk reaction.....

Wah...what to buy in FSM? Recommendations???
You asked this afternoon...FSM replied just now.... biggrin.gif
The UK has voted to leave the European Union.
How Should Investors React?
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...-Wreck-It--7220

T231H
post Jun 25 2016, 09:59 AM

5,143 posts

amprecious metal...NOT my cup of tea biggrin.gif

T231H
post Jun 25 2016, 10:15 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(_azam13 @ Jun 25 2016, 10:05 AM)
Haha that one picture can explain lots of things and provide different perspectives.. whats your angle?
both long term and short terms....
long term...not a trend liked by a long term investor....
short term....it is already jumped up 70% since 22 Jan 2016 ...
will it go up?...yes... I think but only short term...just like what I think will happens to the stock markets.....they call it knee jerk reactions.
will I take the chance to make some extra profits during this short period of time while people knee jerked?
NO.....if I wanted to take chances in this short term.....I would do it with a 49% chances of winning my 100% bets, ...by "naik bukit genting"

This post has been edited by T231H: Jun 25 2016, 10:27 AM

10 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0834sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 01:19 PM