Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

blurcase
post Sep 11 2019, 09:42 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ Sep 11 2019, 05:25 PM)
anyway to reduce or prevent these dotted stains at exterior? washing could remove but somehow it will return the next day, not practical washing a daily driver everyday right hmm.gif
Are those spots etched to your windshield already? As far as I know, only etched spots will come back very quickly, when immediately after wash it may look clean but in actual fact its still there.

Try take a damp cloth and wipe over the screen, do u see the spots or is the water on the screen flat?
blurcase
post Sep 12 2019, 12:09 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ Sep 11 2019, 11:35 PM)
not etched into windshield, crystal clear after proper cleaning
yes, but others cars park nearby don't have this problem despite sharing the same environment 🤔🤔
When u use your wiper water mist and wiper to wipe, do they go away?
blurcase
post Sep 14 2019, 02:35 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(vyruzj @ Sep 14 2019, 11:00 AM)
Hi guys,

I have been using Osren HCS for almost 2 months and i notice each time after i used my mf cloth to apply and buff off, the mf cloth no longer can be used again. I mean it does not absorb water anymore and feel like there is a barrier preventing the water to be absorbed by MF. anyone with same experience? i usually top up HCS on my car once every two weeks with dilution ratio of 1:4 (hcs:water) and each time my mf will need to be thrown away...  sweat.gif
When I used it recently, it didnt happen to me, my towels were fine after machine wash and dry.

What did u do with the towels after apply and buff off?
blurcase
post Sep 15 2019, 12:25 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Sep 15 2019, 07:47 AM)
What is the best gloss enhancer product?
Erm, think gloss enhancing usually means wax, especially carnauba based wax. Is that what u are looking for?

QUOTE(Scissorshand @ Sep 15 2019, 10:49 AM)
Guys
Done 2 cars, just the roof, bonnet and windscreen. It's this still usable?

PS: this is PG clay 2
Erm, that looks destroyed. It cant clump back together and bits keep falling off, yes?

QUOTE(voscar @ Sep 15 2019, 11:37 AM)
strange Meguiar's quik wax (spray type) seems to lasts longer than Soft99 MetaClean cleaner wax. 1 month back I applied quik wax on my car, 1 panel have to clean-up using MetaClean due to the quik wax smearing and cannot buff off, looks like oily stained so have to use MetaClean to get rid of that...

for almost 1 month the car 24x7 outdoor never washed due to overseas trip and bad haze (actually lazy reason :0).

Yesterday 1st time wash after 1 month, most panels have reasonable sheeting when apply shampoo, just only the panel 1 used Metaclean and see the shampoo smearing effect to the body. Actually I forgot but keep thinking what's wrong with that panel only to recall that, haha.
Mmm, cleaner waxes are less on wax and more on cleaner function if not mistaken. At least spray wax is purely wax (even though watery and sprayable). Better to keep cleaner wax only for cleaning stubborn dirt stains that regular wash cant remove.
blurcase
post Sep 16 2019, 12:12 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(vyruzj @ Sep 15 2019, 07:46 PM)
Throw in washing machine with other MF cloth used for washing the car.
Hmm, perhaps try this, go Daiso and get a lint roller (a roller that has a a roll of sticky paper), roll it over the entire cloth 1-2 rounds from corner to corner covering the entire cloth, tearing off the paper when it comes non-sticky anymore. Do on both sides of the cloth.

Usually that's what I do to maintain my microfiber towels, just not sure if it will help in your case.

If that doesnt bring back the absorption ability, then unfortunately your cloth is having the same issue as a typical buff-off cloth used for coating, which is the coating harden on the cloth, and usually its thrown away. However, I wish to state that this shouldnt be the case, as coating's concentration of the "coat" itself is far more concentrated than HCS. I could be wrong.
blurcase
post Sep 16 2019, 10:44 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(vyruzj @ Sep 16 2019, 09:24 AM)
Will give the daiso lint roller a try bro.... Thanks for the advice smile.gif

Could it be that I applied wrongly? I wipe dry my car after wash and then I spray HCS on dry surface then wipe and buff with the MF. I did not spray on while the car is wet. And I did spray a few times on the MF to get it slightly damp...
Erm, as far as I got the instructions from Osren is dry application is only for the neat (undiluted) version of the HCS. That is considered the based coat. Subsequent coats that u wanna apply dry also should be undiluted, else if want to use as topper 1:4 then should be applied post wash while car is still wet. When I use it undiluted, I also spray on my towel instead of the panel to ensure even application.

However, I dont know why ur method should make the towels unable to further absorb water anyways.
blurcase
post Sep 16 2019, 10:20 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(Pugbunny @ Sep 16 2019, 09:52 PM)
Any recommendation for car detailing shops to clean the car sunroof in Klang Valley?

Currently, staying at an apartment, a bit inconvenience to clean the sunroof.
By cleaning sunroof u mean removing the water spots from the glass on the sunroof?
blurcase
post Sep 17 2019, 10:09 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(Pugbunny @ Sep 16 2019, 10:40 PM)
Not the glass.

More on Cleaning the dirt from the railings, gasket, putting grease.
Hmm, not sure if detailers would provide that kind of service. Cleaning part I think detailing shops can handle, but lubricating maybe not as generally not in detailing shop arsenal. Perhaps u could ask ur service center to clean? Just my 2 sen suggestion.
blurcase
post Sep 20 2019, 01:27 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Sep 20 2019, 09:38 AM)
It seems like Sonax BSD can’t beads off the rain like the first time ?

How long since application? How many times rain since? How many car washes since?

Generally the longer it is, the beading reduces.
blurcase
post Sep 20 2019, 02:47 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Sep 20 2019, 02:22 PM)
Application: last Saturday morning
Rain : twice in one week after the application
Car wash : once after the first rain washes
Perhaps consider topping up after the next 1-2 washes.
blurcase
post Sep 20 2019, 05:06 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(Kaffatsum @ Sep 20 2019, 04:04 PM)
Sadly, I've been neglecting maintain my car. Because of this and how my car is parked exposed to the environment all the time, some waterspots have started appearing all over my car.

Anyway to get rid of this chemically?
I do plan to do a paint correction at the end of the year, but want to see if any way to get rid of it before.
Try claying. Chemically, water spots can be broken down with acid, but got risk of harming paint if used imporperly.
blurcase
post Sep 21 2019, 02:45 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(archerite @ Sep 21 2019, 02:51 AM)
Hi guys, my five year old Ford Fiesta has some paint fading, in addition to stone chips. Not really serious issues as much as it is heartbreaking to see. Just wondering if it’s possible to touch up the areas or if a full respray is needed? I got some ezy touch up paint online which is the same as the color code, so just wondering if i can use that to apply to the affected areas.

Personally, yes, I would say the touchup pain helps. My wife black Toyota also had many of these stone chips, chips at the edges of the doors from hitting walls when open, etc. I did touchup paint and most of it are far less visible now.

Just know u need a very very fine brush (ideally go some art or stationary shop to get one) to be able to touchup just at the chipped spots.

QUOTE(mikko2 @ Sep 21 2019, 10:00 AM)
Guys how do you store Clay Towel?? Must be soak with clean water inside container or dry it lay flat (clay facing up) put in tupperware?
Previously when I used clay towels, I stored a bunch of them immersed fully in water in a container (those plastic biscuit containers that u get during festive seasons). Please do wash and rinse thoroughly first before submerging them for storage, and keep it in cool place away from sunlight.
blurcase
post Sep 21 2019, 11:39 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(archerite @ Sep 21 2019, 06:51 PM)
Based on your experience, does the touched up parts blend with the existing paint or you can clearly see the ‘pimples’ formed by the touch up areas?
Well, like it or not the paint that chips off would probably chip both clear coat and color coat layer at minimum, and those layers are quite thick in comparison to what u apply. Touching up the paint can blend the paint color fairly well, but the chip in part may still be somewhat visible when u are looking for the spot. U could try topping it further with the clearcoat touchup, then it could be slightly more level with existing paint and less noticeable at a glance.

Personally to me I find it more than enough for small spot touchups. I havent gone to the point of attempting to wetsand and repolish the touchup spot in attempt to make it fully blend in, though I have seen some videos on youtube to show that it is totally possible to completely blend touchup paint to existing paint.

It may not be the best, but definitely the most bang for your buck until u decide to do a complete respray or change car. Just my 2 sen. smile.gif

QUOTE(GBP56 @ Sep 21 2019, 08:28 PM)
I inherited this old car from my dad, and I notice that it gets dirty/cloudy even after one rain. Is it because of the old paint or something? Even after a car wash, gets dirty like with any water contact.

I drove a new white car previously, and don't remember it being dirty this fast. What can I do to perhaps reduce this cloudy/dirt effect? Some wax or spray I can just use at home?

Perhaps try to give your car a round of claying or polishing, or send the car for a good polish and see how it goes from there. Knowing many folks from our parents generation would only do very basic car care at the best of times, there could be much contaminants embedded on the paint surface causing this issue.
blurcase
post Sep 22 2019, 02:15 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(GBP56 @ Sep 22 2019, 12:24 AM)
Thanks, I'll try and send the car for those 15 step detailing. In the mean time, would you recommend anything that I can do after a normal car wash? I found some spray and wipe meguiar products online, but I'm not sure if it would even help. Ultimate Quik Wax, Ultimate Quik Detailer, or Ultimate Waterless Wash & Wax. Any of these products would help after a normal car wash?
Spray waxes should give u some basic protection against the weather elements for now. Perhaps worth to buy one and try.
blurcase
post Sep 23 2019, 12:26 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Sep 23 2019, 08:51 AM)
Hi guys, just to ask around - was trying Meg's HCW on a small portion of my bonnet last week, and I noticed it left streak marks after I tried to apply and buff. I was wondering how come the streaks seemed quite bad upon buffing and changing to a new dry MF towel doesn't help to remove the streaks.

Ended up I used a slightly damp towel to wipe down, and used another product on top of it for the streaks to go away.

Is it because I didn't remove prior products prior to application? I was using Fusso Coat Mirror Shine applied 7 days prior and didn't clay or perform IPA wipedown when I started to use HCW. 

Btw, the streaks are more visible on darker rides.

Wondering if my techniques are incorrect.
Perhaps u can try testing application on a naked panel vs Fusso Coated panel. I have read some spray sealants or waxes could streak even on their own, but it may be due to incorrect application process. Ur situation adds another factor to the mix that needs to be retested.

Did u also follow instructions from the bottle itself? Or perhaps check on youtube to see if anyone has similar issues?
blurcase
post Sep 23 2019, 06:45 PM

418 posts

Generally any application of protection, whether spray sealants, waxes or liquid/paste waxes, the best method is always to apply it as thinly as possible. Thick applications will cause the protection to harden thick, thus giving the streaking effect. This is from my experience.
blurcase
post Sep 24 2019, 11:28 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ Sep 24 2019, 11:00 AM)
how is this water beading? thinking to get paste or spray wax up next, any suggestion?
Paste wax used: Kiwami
Duration since application: 4 weeks
Number of wash since application: 4 times
Considering u washed 4 times since last application and weather condition in the last few weeks, I would say it still looks fantastic!
blurcase
post Sep 25 2019, 09:28 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(dog999 @ Sep 25 2019, 12:02 AM)
Yes if cheap coating is as durable as expensive why pay so much. I can say that cheap might turn yellowish after few years.  If got budget definitely go for Carpro cquartz 3.0 around Rm350 a bottle. Maybe my next new car haha. Most of the time i diy my car and learn alot from YouTube. I rather spend Rm1000 for detailing products and do it myself rather than pay Rm1000 outside to do the job . In the end.. feel satisfying after every wash hehe.
Welcome to the DIY enthusiast group! Yes, it is a steep learning curve when learning to DIY, but that is made much easier now with internet and youtube. smile.gif
blurcase
post Sep 25 2019, 09:58 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(budang @ Sep 25 2019, 09:49 AM)
Hi guys, may be a stupid question but what's the benefit of water beading? I had some coating installed to my car and the water beading effect is there but when the water evaporates, it still leaves a dirt spot on the paintwork.
From a technical standpoint (as how I understand it), water beading shows the surface of your car paint have high water repellent tension, thus instead of the water being flat all over your car, it beads up and rolls off easier from your car while driving. Unfortunately as water beads evaporate, due to its concentration (which also translates to concentration of minerals in the water on each bead), as the water dries off the minerals are left there and grabs onto your coating or paint surface.

Anyone has a different understanding, please share.
blurcase
post Sep 25 2019, 11:41 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(alvint89 @ Sep 25 2019, 10:25 AM)
Hi everyone. Complete noob here smile.gif

Getting my car in about 2 weeks, Mazda soul red. It's a used car, so needs a bit of care. I was planning to do coating, then read through these forums and realised it's not the best option.

For someone who has never done it before, may I know where to start? What to buy first? I scrolled the last few pages and realised everyone's in deep, so I'm a little lost haha. Thanks sifus!
Are u living in Klang Valley area? Best way to start from basics is to visit a detailing supplies shop like Osren. They will be able to get u setup very quickly.

Start with some washing and drying equipment. Then move on to some basic protection like sealants or waxes.

52 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Top

0.5326sec    0.90    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:26 PM